Ruth Dudley Edwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Ah, she's one of the journos that I don't even bother reading anymore. As soon as I see her name or picture, I just turn the page. I already know that I won't agree, so why spend the time reading the column. Eilis O'Hanlon is another one that I can't stand. Brendan O'Connor gets a read because he sometimes makes me chuckle, but he's a man in desperate need of a slap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I never thought i'd need a dictionary reading posts in AH. This thread has annoyed me, now I know that all the AH posters aren't just the Beavis & Butthead types I had profiled you all as. (I hope my profiling isn't offending anyone)

hahaha "bint".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Now, profiling. The civil liberties people scream about the wickedness of paying special attention to particular ethnic, religious or age groups. Rubbish. These days, apart from the odd Tamil Tiger, suicide bombers are Muslim, the vast majority are of Asian background, almost all are under 30 and most are still male. Keep security minimal for the rest of us and focus on the core group.

Thought the Tamil tigers had more or less gone out of business but I digress. Quite a lot of "mosts" in the statement above. You can be damn sure that in the event of the polices she advocates being adopted Al Quieda will within about half an hour be using recruits which dont fit into whatever stereotypes they use. They might even have them dressed up as nuns.
    ..Politically correct .....
    When one sees phrases like this its usually a good indication that what one is reading doesnt merit serious consideration. But on the other hand.......
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    She's anti-Bertie and anti-Blasphemy law. She might fit right in in AH.

Noone can be wrong about everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

i agree completley with this excellent article , its ludicrious to devote the same level of time to checking white european origin elderly women as it is to young middle eastern men when it comes to airline security

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

irish_bob wrote: »
    i agree completley with this excellent article , its ludicrious to devote the same level of time to checking white european origin elderly women as it is to young middle eastern men when it comes to airline security

in the US they check passengers who buy tickets a day or 2 before travelling too. on the boarding card there's an SSSS in one corner, that gives you the privilege of a separate screening and having your bags searched. not every bomber has to look like a young middle eastern man. she probably just bought her ticket a few days before travelling. maybe the dept of homeland security should asked her for advice when they were drawing up their regulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

heh heheh:D:D She sees through the red leftwing propagandists who ,whilst availing of our tax Euros with no compunction, feel it's their mission in life to diss the hard working taxpayer to support their scatterbrained theories whilst the rest of us actually work and produce things.

;);)

Might fool some ,lads, but ya don't fool me.;)

I'd stick to your 'toilet' threads, were I you.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    You can be damn sure that in the event of the polices she advocates being adopted Al Quieda will within about half an hour be using recruits which dont fit into whatever stereotypes they use. They might even have them dressed up as nuns.
    Indeed. In these circumstances, patterns are bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Nodin wrote: »
    I'd stick to your 'toilet' threads, were I you.

heh heh

A random swing aaand a hit!!!

Glad you recognised yourself ;)

heh heh

A random swing aaand a hit!!!

Glad you recognised yourself ;)

Hmmmmm......Was that recognition or psychic powers that made me to think that post was aimed at me...or the fact that you quoted me in it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Ruth Dudley Edwards is a hack who gets work because she spouts stuff that serves the interests/prejudices/obsessions of newspaper editors, proprietors and moneyed people in general.

She's not the worst example of this, but she ain't far off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

so wait.
    She's saying that people who "look like terrorists" should go through full security checks, so that she "a white, middle-aged woman" (obviously superior:rolleyes:) doesn't have to wait 5 mins doing the same?
    Ah God............................
    where do these idiots keep coming from???????????????

The funny thing is she looks like a leftist, pot smoking, fat, lesbian hippie! I think she should be randomly searched for possesion of drugs as she fits the stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

The funny thing is she looks like a leftist, pot smoking, fat, lesbian hippie! I think she should be randomly searched for possesion of drugs as she fits the stereotype.

defo mate you said it

so wait.
    She's saying that people who "look like terrorists" should go through full security checks, so that she "a white, middle-aged woman" (obviously superior:rolleyes:) doesn't have to wait 5 mins doing the same?
    Ah God............................
    where do these idiots keep coming from???????????????

you dont think its reasonable and logical that middle eastern looking men with arabic names are given higher priority when it comes to security checks over middle aged white women from ireland

Well, it is Dudley Edwards we're talking about. Maybe they want to know if the thing about the stick is true......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Would profiling not encourage the use of bombers who don't fit, say white middle aged women. Once the focus is placed on certain groups, those who seem to be most harmless would benefit from reduced security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

This thread just jumped out at me because this woman has been irritating me with her opinions for a long time now. My parents have been getting the Sunday Independent for as long as I remember and I always end up flicking through it just to torture myself. The whole paper is a rag. They put a small circuit of talentless Dublin socialites up on a pedestal and trumpet them as 'the beautiful' this and 'the talented' that. For example, despite already having 2 separate supplements for this fluff they still managed to put a story about Glenda Gilson being dumped on page 3 of the main news section of the paper this weekend.

Then there is the blatant right wing agenda that has been running through it for years. Back in 2002 almost all of the editorial staff (including Brendan O' Connor) were in favour of the US invading Iraq. Ex Sinn Fein party member Eoin Harris can't get through a column without moaning about his old party and simpering about Bertie who rewarded him with a seat in the Senate. And now all through this current economic climate they have been light on attacking the banks/property developers and instead heaping scorn on the Public Service. (the one exception to all of this is Gene Kerrigan, who's continuing involvement in the paper is a constant source of bafflement to me).

Ruth Dudley Edwards though is particularly odious. She's like a little Fox News right here in Ireland bending and twisting the news to fit her views. This weeks article was just one in a long line. Everytime I see her picture I can't help but think of the fictional character Dolores Umbridge. They'd have a lot in common actually. The only thing I can say in her defence though is at least she's being honest about her views. There are many more that share her beliefs in private which I presume is the reason why the paper is so damn popular.

Gene Kerrigan
    Only reason to even cast eyes in the direction of that paper. His column on the back page is always worth reading.

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭kpbdublin

Ruth Dudley Edwards wrote a fine biography of Padraig Pearse.

Nodin wrote: »
    Well, it is Dudley Edwards we're talking about. Maybe they want to know if the thing about the stick is true......

my post doesnt mentiond dudley edwards , ignore the messenger

kowloon wrote: »
    Would profiling not encourage the use of bombers who don't fit, say white middle aged women. Once the focus is placed on certain groups, those who seem to be most harmless would benefit from reduced security.

so you think if racial profiling is introduced , we will see an immediete appearance of white ( or non white ) christian , athiest or other suicide bombers

This thread just jumped out at me because this woman has been irritating me with her opinions for a long time now. My parents have been getting the Sunday Independent for as long as I remember and I always end up flicking through it just to torture myself. The whole paper is a rag. They put a small circuit of talentless Dublin socialites up on a pedestal and trumpet them as 'the beautiful' this and 'the talented' that. For example, despite already having 2 separate supplements for this fluff they still managed to put a story about Glenda Gilson being dumped on page 3 of the main news section of the paper this weekend.

Then there is the blatant right wing agenda that has been running through it for years. Back in 2002 almost all of the editorial staff (including Brendan O' Connor) were in favour of the US invading Iraq. Ex Sinn Fein party member Eoin Harris can't get through a column without moaning about his old party and simpering about Bertie who rewarded him with a seat in the Senate. And now all through this current economic climate they have been light on attacking the banks/property developers and instead heaping scorn on the Public Service. (the one exception to all of this is Gene Kerrigan, who's continuing involvement in the paper is a constant source of bafflement to me).

Ruth Dudley Edwards though is particularly odious. She's like a little Fox News right here in Ireland bending and twisting the news to fit her views. This weeks article was just one in a long line. Everytime I see her picture I can't help but think of the fictional character Dolores Umbridge. They'd have a lot in common actually. The only thing I can say in her defence though is at least she's being honest about her views. There are many more that share her beliefs in private which I presume is the reason why the paper is so damn popular.

for the sake of variety alone , is it not pleasing to have one right wing media outlet in the country

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    No

so its imperitive politcal correctness is maintained regardless of the impracticality and inconvenience to the vast majority of people who use air travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

+1 on this, every time I read the paper a little piece of me dies and I get more depressed about my crappy life, that I don't have any money, that some tart with all passes in her leaving cert is getting 10 grand just for 'modelling' a dress in this rag or having an article about how the recession isn't that bad in Blackrock and that we should 'stay positive' - arse face!
    Then you have to stomach the God awful opinions of the 'columnists' they have on the pay roll. Every time I read Eoghan Harris or Brendan O'Connor or Bruce Arnold or Newton Emerson, I grind my teeth and throw the paper away, it's just like listening to the radio when you want music you get Ray D'Arcy talking shite!:mad:
    Gene Kerrigan ftw!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

so its imperitive politcal correctness is maintained regardless of the impracticality and inconvenience to the vast majority of people who use air travel

Just wondering why you would assume political correctness would have to lie behind the idea of racial profiling, as an enforced procedure, being a bad idea?
    Airlines and airports may be wary of adopting this strategy for fear of discouraging potential business from those most likely to be targeted.
    It's common sense that those charged with ensuring the safety of airplanes/other modes of transport will probably be more suspicious of those who, in any way, fit a profile from which they perceive an attack most likely to come; i'd imagine travelling to Britain in the 1970/80's while sporting the moniker Irish bob would raise a few hackles.
    From a 'counter-terrorism' perspective, there is a danger when this becomes a fixed, rigidly adhered to strategy, though; the danger of alienating the majority of a community/group who have no wish to cause trouble and pushing them towards the ideas of the extremists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

kpbdublin wrote: »
    Ruth Dudley Edwards wrote a fine biography of Padraig Pearse.

hehe. Sarcasm; I like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Only reason to even cast eyes in the direction of that paper. His column on the back page is always worth reading.
    Gene Kerrigin? Oh please. Whinge without end, amen. Honestly, something must have gone seriously wrong with that guy's toilet training. :rolleyes:

so you think if racial profiling is introduced , we will see an immediete appearance of white ( or non white ) christian , athiest or other suicide bombers

Are you suggesting that white skinned people are incapable of suicide bombing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

ascanbe wrote: »
    Just wondering why you would assume political correctness would have to lie behind the idea of racial profiling, as an enforced procedure, being a bad idea?
    There is a cluster of people who believe political correctness to be the sole motivating factor behind anything that's not to the right. I find the best approach is to not acknowledge them.