If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Running out of novel things to do now you've turned 18? Look no further!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    Personally, I would never have the balls to do it. I got pretty terrified and then light headed when I had to give tiny blood samples to my dermatologist/GP, never got any better after 3 years of doing it constantly. Couldn't stomach a pint of two. I'll graciously pass. :o
    Go on ya big girl! :p

(Sorry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

jumpguy wrote: »
    Go on ya big girl! :p
    Honestly, call me what you will, I can't stand needles, I hate them, they make me very irrational.
    (Sorry)
    Pshh, don't apologise, I can take worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

D4RK ONION wrote: »
    Honestly, call me what you will, I can't stand needles, I hate them, they make me very irrational.

I used to be like that, then I grew a pair.

But seriously, I've had many a needle stuck into many a place, including getting a lumbar puncture... *shudder* So I'm almost used to it now. I do get where you're coming from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Fad wrote: »
    I love how Guinness has been tested now and proven to not actually contain a whole lot of iron!

Same with Spinach, apparently the whole "Spinach contains tons of iron" thing started when someone put a decimal point in the wrong place or someone used the wrong units or something silly like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Nuts have irons in 'em! I'm surprised by how common anemia is tbh, especially in women.

Don't they?

jumpguy wrote: »
    Nuts have irons in 'em! I'm surprised by how common anemia is tbh, especially in women.

Don't they?

Of course the women will have anaemia if all the iron is in the nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭kev_s88

Pygmalion wrote: »
    Of course the women will have anaemia if all the iron is in the nuts.

classy.

that is all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

Only a week away, I'll definitely give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

I gave blood for the first time just over a year ago, and was given Guinness. It was when they came out to a local school for two days and did it though.

And all I'll say about the iron in Guinness is that I drink a lot of Guinness and my iron count was very high when I was giving blood. All the nurses were fawning all over me sure.

"Ooh Mark, your iron count is so high, one of the highest we've seen today isn't it, Dolores?"
    "Ooh yes definitely, very high that is."
    "Would you mind if we sucked you off?"

True story lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

The Walsho wrote: »
    I gave blood for the first time just over a year ago, and was given Guinness. It was when they came out to a local school for two days and did it though.

And all I'll say about the iron in Guinness is that I drink a lot of Guinness and my iron count was very high when I was giving blood. All the nurses were fawning all over me sure.

"Ooh Mark, your iron count is so high, one of the highest we've seen today isn't it, Dolores?"

True story lads.

How can any guy refuse?

Exactly. I walked in expecting to donate blood, I hadn't even thought about any other bodily fluids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

True story lads.

Exactly. I walked in expecting to donate blood, I hadn't even thought about any other bodily fluids.

Would be an excellent advertising campaign. Numbers would sky-rocket for sure. Terms and conditions apply of course.*

*depends on mood of nurse on day.

Give blood people!

Although do you reckon if they took the blood first, there could be difficulties in that sort of thing?

When you give blood you'll usually get drunk a lot faster than normal if you go drinking that night. I did anyway.

I'd like apologise for bringing down the tone of this thread. A nice thread about doing a nice thing and I come barging in "UUURGH SEX AND BOOZE WAHEY GET YA TITS OUT LAV".

Although do you reckon if they took the blood first, there could be difficulties in that sort of thing?

When you give blood you'll usually get drunk a lot faster than normal if you go drinking that night. I did anyway.

I'd like apologise for bringing down the tone of this thread. A nice thread about doing a nice thing and I come barging in "UUURGH SEX AND BOOZE WAHEY GET YA TITS OUT LAV".

Meh, if it encourages donations, I'm sure you can get away with it ;)

Aside from that, does anyone know what the exact iron level required to give blood is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Meh, if it encourages donations, I'm sure you can get away with it ;)

Aside from that, does anyone know what the exact iron level required to give blood is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

For women the reference ranges for normal Hb levels are 12-16, for men it's 14-18.

Fad, where on earth did you get seven from? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Piste wrote: »
    For women the reference ranges for normal Hb levels are 12-16, for men it's 14-18.

Fad, where on earth did you get seven from? :P

Thin air, notice my distinct lack of units........

I thought seven seemed a bit odd, since I remember being in the higher end of the teens! I can't quite remember what the minimum level required is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Heard about this already and am planning to go in during the week to do it, have convinced a few other people to go as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

Piste wrote: »
    Yay it's great to see such a positive response! I was thinking of organising a blood drive in college, but seeing as about 75% of the students are foreign, they probably wouldn't be eligible (most of this 75% come from malarial regions). Might look into it after the exams.

that sounds awesome piste! i reckon go ahead with it, and whoever'll donate will donate.

and fair play to any and all of ye in this thread that've donated, im well impressed! it's one of those things ive always wanted to do, but can't because i had a few transfusions as a chiddler, and consequently can't guarantee that my blood's safe :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I thought seven seemed a bit odd, since I remember being in the higher end of the teens! I can't quite remember what the minimum level required is though.

It should be 14, depending on the reference range they use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Moromaster

I'm too well traveled unfortunatly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

I can definitely recommend this to anyone eligible. Finally got around to it back in November (I'm 20) and will be going again soon. I'm bad with needles, really bad. I'll feel sick if I glimpse one in a medical drama, but this is so much more important.

I looked in the opposite direction any time they were doing anything with my arm, which was funny when they were only washing it before they put the needle in. I had to go in twice because the first time they couldn't get me to bleed on my left arm and I felt a bit weak (more than likely psychological considering I hadn't lost any blood!) so they didn't want to try my right arm straight away.

Anyway, point is, if you have a fear of needles you can still donate. Explain it to them when you arrive, I'm sure it happens all the time. Go with friends if you can, much better experience. Oh, and make sure to go pale afterwards to get the maximum of food. =P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I was talking to my mam about the exact same thing last week. My eighteenth will be spent in town, but instead of going totally blotto, I'll give blood. If you can, you should do it.

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    I was talking to my mam about the exact same thing last week. My eighteenth will be spent in town, but instead of going totally blotto, I'll give blood. If you can, you should do it.

And then get nice and drunk?
    Remember, the less blood you have the easier it is to get drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Ugh. I walked all the way from Deanshall to St. Finbarr's Hospital on Douglas road, which took about half an hour, filled out the form, and was all ready to give blood when I remembered something in the folder I read. I had low blood pressure a few years ago and got a load of blood tests to see if there was anything wrong, and it turns out there wasn't. I mentioned this because the folder said I was supposed to. I had my blood pressure taken and was then pretty much guaranteed I'd faint if I gave blood.

So unless my blood pressure remarkably rises in the next while, I won't be giving blood in case I pass out, and potentially hurt myself badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

I think I mgiht be in the same boat,I had a period where I would pass out when I stood up quickly.

If not,Then WOOT! less than 3 weeks 'til I can give blood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

Jay P wrote: »
    Ugh. I walked all the way from Deanshall to St. Finbarr's Hospital on Douglas road, which took about half an hour, filled out the form, and was all ready to give blood when I remembered something in the folder I read. I had low blood pressure a few years ago and got a load of blood tests to see if there was anything wrong, and it turns out there wasn't. I mentioned this because the folder said I was supposed to. I had my blood pressure taken and was then pretty much guaranteed I'd faint if I gave blood.

So unless my blood pressure remarkably rises in the next while, I won't be giving blood in case I pass out, and potentially hurt myself badly.

Aww, that's annoying =( I have slightly lower than normal blood pressure but it was ok. They used to always take blood pressure but then stopped because too many people would be turned away with high blood pressure, when it was really just due to nervousness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

I think I mgiht be in the same boat,I had a period where I would pass out when I stood up quickly.

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew.

sorry for lowering the tone again.