how long it take for you to get home tonight ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

My train journey from Dublin to Kildare took no longer than usual this evening. And, in fact, it was far less busy than it usually is.

I didn't leave til 5.30, though work told us at lunchtime we could leave whenever we felt we needed to due to weather! It was just a little bit of snow, I don't get it! :confused: I was home in Sligo all Christmas, and that was proper snow, but no one made such a big fuss about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

35 minutes, usually takes 35 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

My train journey from Dublin to Kildare took no longer than usual this evening. And, in fact, it was far less busy than it usually is.

I didn't leave til 5.30, though work told us at lunchtime we could leave whenever we felt we needed to due to weather! It was just a little bit of snow, I don't get it! :confused: I was home in Sligo all Christmas, and that was proper snow, but no one made such a big fuss about it!

Were people in work? Or trying to get to work or home? Different situations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

In fairness if you had your car - the roads were like ice rinks in places. And there were tailbacks all over Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

dolliemix wrote: »
    In fairness if you had your car - the roads were like ice rinks in places. And there were tailbacks all over Dublin

I drove from Dublin to Sligo New Years Day, with a long detour in Longford, and the roads were a hell of a lot worse than they were today. And they weren't gritted either!

I dunno, I just don't get how the Dubs can make such a massive deal out of a little bit of ice on the main roads! You'd want to get onto some of the ungritted side roads down the country :D Great craic altogether!

I drove from Dublin to Sligo New Years Day, with a long detour in Longford, and the roads were a hell of a lot worse than they were today. And they weren't gritted either!

I dunno, I just don't get how the Dubs can make such a massive deal out of a little bit of ice on the main roads! You'd want to get onto some of the ungritted side roads down the country :D Great craic altogether!

Went Galway to Dublin on New Years day, roads weren't bad till we got to Dublin, I live on an ungritted side road, its not great craic. At all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭r0nanf

Just home from pub now - stayed for 5 instead of the planned 3. Pandemonium out there, never seen the likes of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Antigone05 wrote: »
    blanchardstown to rathfarnham

n3 was mental. i had 40 smokes on me and found a pack of toffees so i was entertained.

left at 3.30 from work. got home at 10.30

7 hours.

im just finished my dinner, and not going into work tomorrow.
    That's a nasty one. M50 sounded like a disaster.

The ungritted roads in dublin were probably worse, and it's the amount of traffic in dublin that makes it chaotic and slow moving, obviously you don't get that on country roads.
    All the cars packed the slush down into a thick layer of ice. I got out of the car at one point to see how bad the road actually was. Someone described it nicely when they called it an ice rink, it was unreal. The busier the road, the worse the ice. Cars were sliding all over the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In Dublin it's classed as horrific, elsewhere, it's just adds to the craic! Maybe it's coz we know that you don't get very far on ice by revving the engine to bits & staying in first gear?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

An hour longer than usual my car was doing Toerill and Dean out there, the Gritters are on the M50 I nearly slid into the back of one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

1hr walking. It normally takes 25 minutes to walk home. Damn ice! :(

4leto wrote: »
    An hour longer than usual my car was doing Toerill and Dean out there,

If your car was doing Toervil & Dean, you might have got home on time. Toeril is a terrible skater.

What's the fuss about? Why have a thread about how long it took people to get home? It's an unusual topic.. It must be snowing in Dublin or something. Funny that, coz they didn't mention anything on the news.

Automons need routine, anything that disturbs the routine causes distress! :pac:

bonerm wrote: »
    3.5 hours (tho 1 hour of it queuing for a taxi that I eventually conceded/realised would never come and then 45 mins in a pub getting a pint and a hot whiskey into me). The rest walking.
    sounds like a good strategy. ;)

Just looking at the traffic cameras, I recon it's possible to do the same journey in half the time! or less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

1 hr 25min from Rathmines to Dublin 7(Phoenix Park area) walking. Normally takes 1hr but was taking it easy cos of the ice

Just looking at the traffic cameras, I recon it's possible to do the same journey in half the time! or less

What journey? From where to where? Please educate me, educate us all, as I could do without being stuck in hours of traffic tomorrow.

It wasn't a little bit of ice.

And the roads weren't gritted after the snow fall.

And it's nothing to do with the Dubs. There were people from all 32 counties stuck today and people from other countries :eek:

If you truly drove on dangerous icy roads with hundreds of cars trying to go the same direction as you - you wouldn't call it great craic

I met a woman today stuck on a hill with her baby in the back seat. She was really distressed.

Your post reminds me of when I used to work in Dingle. When I'd get down down from Dublin the locals would ask me how long it took me to get down. I'd say 4 1/2 hours or 5 (whatever it took me). Then they'd say something ridiculous like I made it in 3 after the All-Ireland - Like fukc you did. some people like to tell Porkie Pies to put down other people and make themselves feel better!

Chatterpillar people were genuinely delayed, distressed, panicked and worried this evening. You weren't - and you made it home comfortably - good for you. Doesn't mean you have to trivialise other people's frustration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭gidget

Had to travel from Blanchardstown Centre to Templeogue. With no buses going and finding out about the stoppages i found myself stranded at 4pm with just a bus ticket figuring out how to get home. After consultations with the family on phone who where in other areas trying to get home decided on a taxi from Blanchardstown. After waiting in taxi rank for half hour with people who had to get to Ballyfermot and elsewhere, taxi's started pulling in saying they were only doing local area's leaving the rest of us wondering how to get home. One guy said to the woman from Ballyfermot to go back inside and come back out in an hour to see if the situation had changed. At 5.30, after the others had given up i was lucky enough to find a driver that would do the stretch but with a laugh that he and i both knew was going to be some journey. By 7.00 we were only at Total Fitness the tip of M50. 4 lines of traffic going southbound and 2 lanes were moving, the others were heading for the Palmerstown exit and that was stopped. Finally got home at 8.50 with a fare that should have been 115euro but taxi driver let me off with 80 euro which i had to borrow off the family cause i'm broke. Feel sorry for the woman from Ballyfermot who was told to come back later who went off to get a coffee and intended to come back at 6.30 to try her chances with a taxi! So in total it was 4 hours 50mins.

muffy wrote: »
    What journey? From where to where? Please educate me, educate us all, as I could do without being stuck in hours of traffic tomorrow.
    Any journey you like! the commuters have left the stage roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I was home in Sligo all Christmas, and that was proper snow, but no one made such a big fuss about it!

Normally people don't make a fuss of snow now, do they?

It's when snow falls and then ices over that the problems start.

Which is what has been happening all over.

Any journey you like! the commuters have left the stage roads.

Currently, yes of course. Its night time. I assumed you meant you were viewing traffic camera's today and could offer advice as to how to speed up journey times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Normally people don't make a fuss of snow now, do they?

It's when snow falls and then ices over that the problems start.

Which is what has been happening all over.

Im on nights this week, yesterday morning I finished at 7am and the wind had thawed the roads...I flew home no bother and hopped into the leaba. I got up at about 5pm this evening to a city in crisis, GF asked me to pick her up from a train station as the buses were not running, it took me 40mins to get to the station that is usually only a 5min drive.

No snow, just ice...compacted snow, frozen solid. The whole development where I live is pure ice. I'll be leaving work at 7am this morning...I'll be one of the first out there and I cant say that Im looking forward to the drive.

I wouldnt mind if we got a bit of deepish snow to play in abit but alls we got was an ice rink for our cars :(

people were genuinely delayed, distressed, panicked and worried this evening. You weren't - and you made it home comfortably - good for you. Doesn't mean you have to trivialise other people's frustration.

I was at Oasis in Slane - drove from Sligo to Cavan & took a bus from there. All in all, it took me 4 hours to get there. No bother. Next day, Joe Duffy was inundated with Dubs whinging about it taking them 3 hours to get to Slane, blaming the Gardai, the traffic & only it was a sunny day, it would have been the weather.

Bottom line is, Dubs are useless with a bit of bad weather - much of the country has been like an ice rink for over 2 weeks now. We just get on with it. Some homes had no water for days & no heat as a consequence. So you got delayed on the way home. So you got panicked. So you got distressed.

Blah. Dubs like to whinge. And before anyone throws the culchie card on the table, I am a Dub too, so I know what I'm talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Latchy wrote: »
    Over an hr here ,were snowed in big time although some gritting was done on the main roads transport still slow moving

Snowed in big time, so how much snow has fallen then ?

I was at Oasis in Slane - drove from Sligo to Cavan & took a bus from there. All in all, it took me 4 hours to get there. No bother. Next day, Joe Duffy was inundated with Dubs whinging about it taking them 3 hours to get to Slane, blaming the Gardai, the traffic & only it was a sunny day, it would have been the weather.

Bottom line is, Dubs are useless with a bit of bad weather - much of the country has been like an ice rink for over 2 weeks now. We just get on with it. Some homes had no water for days & no heat as a consequence. So you got delayed on the way home. So you got panicked. So you got distressed.

Blah. Dubs like to whinge. And before anyone throws the culchie card on the table, I am a Dub too, so I know what I'm talking about.

Dude relax - I was at home all day!

You know what - for someone who's saying that you just put up with stuff and get on with it - you're spending hours whinging on boards tonight.

Not content with just giving out about dubs on one thread you decided to open a whole other one at 9.30 this evening.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055790172

Its almost 2 0'clock now. You've been whinging for four and a half hours now
    I think that beats anybody else who was whinging tonight about Dublin traffic today.

Mate - you've been whinging longer tonight than it took most people to get home. Congrats! :D

Why don't you just let people tell their stories without trying to tell us every second post just how great you are. Nobody really cares!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Winter tyres should be compulsory in Ireland and the roads salted and gritted regularly every winter, there should be infrastructure in place to deal with this when it happens.

Mate - you've been whinging longer tonight than it took most people to get home. Congrats! :D

What can I say? I've nothing to whinge about, so I'll whinge about people whinging. Now that's true Dub. ;)

Overflow wrote: »
    Winter tyres should be compulsory in Ireland and the roads salted and gritted regularly every winter, there should be infrastructure in place to deal with this when it happens.

good idea, spend millions of euro on something that has happened 3 times in the last ten years.

Sure just take 2% off the social welfare or something.:rolleyes:

Everyone should just accept the fact that you're supposed to stay at home for next few days. Do as much work from home as possible. Broadband internet / Cheap call plans and other communications tools make this a viable option for most people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭happymondays

gidget wrote: »
    Had to travel from Blanchardstown Centre to Templeogue. . Finally got home at 8.50 with a fare that should have been 115euro but taxi driver let me off with 80 euro which i had to borrow off the family cause i'm broke. Feel sorry for the woman from Ballyfermot who was told to come back later who went off to get a coffee and intended to come back at 6.30 to try her chances with a taxi! So in total it was 4 hours 50mins.

80 euro to travel 12 miles!!

i would have gone to the bar and spend the 80 on beer and food and waited until traffic was gone so some family member could pick me up and carry me home pissed as a coot!