"Rock" musicians today are a bunch of Dryballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Sometimes they do the nicest things:

Iggy was committed to a psychiatric hospital in 1975, Bowie was there to lend support as a true friend should; he smuggled drugs into Iggy’s hospital room (with help from Dennis Hopper) to cheer him up.

This is a great post. Hopper, Bowie and Iggy. LOL. It doesn't get any better than that..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nikki Sixx is a complete loon. He makes richards look like the middle class grammar schoolboy gone a bit wrong that he is. A legend. His book detailing the madness is well worth a punt. Just reading about his exploits would kill lesser men.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Dudess wrote: »
    I wish we could keep the Classic Rock forum. :(

Even if only for Saturday nights in...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

One time in Atlanta Iggy Pop was off his head on hash and acid and hung by his angles from the rafters onstage and when he dropped to the stage Elton John bounded on in his Crocodile Rock costume.

Iggy was not pleased - "Have you ever been on six hits of acid and had a ****ing alligator jump in front of you?" he screamed at his manager.:D

We need more posts about rotten rock star behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

RonMexico wrote: »
    All of Keane

Coke.

Coke.

Another reason to dislike them, they were high and still produced shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

galwayrush wrote: »
    Todays 'artists' are too busy perfecting their miming.:rolleyes:

And their wardrobe/makeup.

Rock musicians are, for the most part, a bunch of pussies these days; and their music isn't up to much either.

It's also worth noting that Thom Yorke has been slightly more badass than he generally gets credit for, albeit in his own unique, climate-conference kinda way.

nummnutts wrote: »
    And their wardrobe/makeup.

Rock musicians are, for the most part, a bunch of pussies these days; and their music isn't up to much either.

Avenged Sevenfold are the perfect example of this. I don't give a **** if their drummer dropped dead the other day they were crap from day one with their crap name, crap aliases, crap posing "we're hard" general tosser behaviour. Fcuking wannabes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

U2 manage to be extremely annoying yet take no drugs. If they mellowed out a bit and broke some fecking guitars.
    In August, 1989, Adam was arrested near his Dublin home and charged with possession of marijuana and with intent to supply marijuana to another person. Less than a month later, he appeared in court and admitted to possessing 19 grams of marijuana.

The story of the bands behind the scenes is what creates their legendary status. We need more "Who", GnR antics. :D

I remember reading about Slash and the effects of his heroin addiction - hilarious albeit disturbing stuff:D He started to see little mini-predator aliens as his addiction got worse. At first he liked them and they would sit on his knee during rehearsal and dance along the neck of his guitar during solos. Then they started to turn mean and wave their weapoms at him. The worst was when he was staying at some resort to try and dry out. He was in the shower when dozens of the predator aliens appeared and started attacking him. He freaked out and crashed through the glass door of the shower in a panic and then ran out of the hotel naked, covered in blood and screaming his head off - much to the fright of staff and guests:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

This thread is about pop stars, not rock stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

CianRyan wrote: »

Are you calling the Rolling Stones Pop? They were popular, but they were Rock and Roll at it's finest! Especially in their Antics.

They along with alot of 80's nad 70's bands, basked iin the Rock and Roll Culture!

Are you calling the Rolling Stones Pop? They were popular, but they were Rock and Roll at it's finest! Especially in their Antics.

They along with alot of 80's nad 70's bands, basked iin the Rock and Roll Culture!

Stones were awesome.
    The tree hugging batty boys of today are all pop stars.

Look at the likes of Bring Me The Horizon or Architects.
    Law suits about pissing on fans for not sucking their dicks and throwing bottles of Jack D's at people in a drunken rage.

Rock stars are alive and well. (as alive and well as a rock star can be)
    The media is just full of little arsewhipes.

What kind of drugs are YOU on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

This must be 'old people complaining about stuff' night.
    Next up; 'what's with these young people and that rappity hop music i don't understand?'

ascanbe wrote: »
    Next up; 'what's with these young people and that rappity hop music i don't understand?'

Its past your bedime child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I'd throw Donny off the Cliffs of Moher if I had the chance.
    Don't Do What Donny Don't Does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Stones were awesome.
    The tree hugging batty boys of today are all pop stars.

Look at the likes of Bring Me The Horizon or Architects.
    Law suits about pissing on fans for not sucking their dicks and throwing bottles of Jack D's at people in a drunken rage.

Rock stars are alive and well. (as alive and well as a rock star can be)
    The media is just full of little arsewhipes.

Metalcore Does not = Rock star!

They may live lives of Debauchery, that doesn't make them rockstars!

Sh1t, R. Kelly pissed on a girl too! A 14 year old girl, and video taped it. That is infinite;y more badass than pissing on a random fan.

It's all about Profile, the Stones were one of the most famous bands in the world, yet didn't give a crap.

Bring Me The Horizon are just trying to live up to a long past Image IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

ascanbe wrote: »

Eminem? Fiddy Cent? Fabolos?

Now back in my day...N.W.A, Public Enemy - now there was a REAL rappity hop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Sh1t, R. Kelly pissed on a girl too! A 14 year old girl, and video taped it. That is infinite;y more badass than pissing on a random fan.

It's all about Profile, the Stones were one of the most famous bands in the world, yet didn't give a crap.

Agreed. Rock might be dead but it's spirit lives on in people like R Kelly.

George Michael deservers a mention too. Falling asleep at traffic lights, getting caught giving handjobs to overweight, middle aged truckers in park bushes. Talk about not giving a fukk. Rock n roll!

Actually, yeah. When you put it like that, George Michael deserves some sort of certificate for all he's gotten away with. He might not be your traditional hard rocker or anything, but he's lived the life.

Though not exactly rock, honourable mentions for bad behaviour have to go to Rick James and Sly Stone.

I see people saying this a lot.
    It's really not about trying to be anything. They're doing the same shit that the lads from the past were doing, not to try and be a rock star, because they want to and they can.

I don't see as being about the profile, is this is the case then the likes of Amy Winehouse and Pete Doherty just reach the top of it these days.
    Would I see them as rocks stars?
    No, they're knob ends.

R Kelly?
    The dude rode a 14 year old and claimed he didn't know she was 14, a rock star would have said he didn't give a fúck.
    He, again, is a knob end.

Not taking away from how mental the guys back in the day were, they were nuts, but so are people these days. Just because they're music is more "extreme" for want of a better word and not appreciated to the same degree as The Stones, they don't get the same rep because they're not in the head lines.

You can't say some one is a rock star because there's a feature on them in the latest, OK Magazine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

Music has died,there will be no more legends just wannabes making a quick buck!

Pop

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Eminem? Fiddy Cent? Fabolos?

Now back in my day...N.W.A, Public Enemy - now there was a REAL rappity hop.

Aye, i'm of that vintage, myself.
    Just gone 32. As a teen worshipped at the altar of say, Nirvana's Nevermind and Public Enemy's Apocalyspe '91, with equal reverence.
    Just loved good music; but you try and tell kids, or classic rock afficiandos, that today; and they'll be highly sceptical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭ttoppcat

Music has died,there will be no more legends just wannabes making a quick buck!

How pessimistic!! :eek: Theres plenty of amazing music out there, you just have to look a bit harder to find it.

And as for the OP, to a certain extent perhaps rock bands nowadays aren't as hard core as their predecessors, but I'd wager the lack of stories/bragging is down to damage control by management and record companies. Anyone remember the witch hunts of the eighties when hysterical parents forced labels to start displaying "parental advisory" stickers, seems to me that signaled the beginning of the end of rock stars flaunting their debauchery.
    But i still like to believe that a few of my rocker heros know how to have a good time...rock and roll's supposed to be dangerous after all ;)