Gardai

• 22-12-2009 02:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭

Anyone got positive feedback about the gardai cos most of the stuff I hear and read about is very negative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I like their hi-vis jackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Whats up with the sig then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

One let me off with speeding once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

They say vehicle like ve-hi-cle. I like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,372 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Trí wrote: »
    They say vehicle like ve-hi-cle. I like that.

Always the jokers, that's what I like about them:(

funnyname wrote: »
    Anyone got positive feedback about the gardai cos most of the stuff I hear and read about is very negative?

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Yep, plenty.
    Hundreds other do but you're never going to hear about it because people only want to hear the bad stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

A positive orientated thread about the gardai in AH...

The world's gone wobbly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They are the thin blue line that prevents civilized society from having fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

One positive thing is their far higher profile in recent weeks. I have seen so many beat, mountain biked and squad cars about Dundalk in the last 4 or 5 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

there's a hot female garda that works in Anglesea st. in Cork, is that positive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I got let off having to take a breath test at a check point once, was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

markok84 wrote: »
    there's a hot female garda that works in Anglesea st. in Cork, is that positive?

There's one in Dun Laoghaire too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

They seem smarter nowadays, i heard on Adrian Kennedy Phone Show one dude from finglas challenged the finglas gards to a boxing match for charity.

The Finglas Chief withdrew the idea... Clever Man lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Most of them are great craic imo. Its only when you act the dick that they come down on you.

I’m 30 yrs on this planet and I’ve only had a run in with one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

maybe they know each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

One positive thing is their far higher profile in recent weeks. I have seen so many beat, mountain biked and squad cars about Dundalk in the last 4 or 5 weeks.

Well its Dundalk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭lee_

Me too, very nice of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

They were probably more concerned about the 2 dead hookers in the back seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Great bunch of lads all together.

At the age of 15, they did not bother to stop me driving a tractor with no roll bar, tax or insurance.

In Dublin they dropped me home a couple of times (Being a bogger whose ma is from Kerry use to be fierce helpful when I lived in Dublin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

There's a fair few hotties around that area.
    I dropped into the station by bakers for a licence replacement form a few weeks ago and the girl behind the desk was absolutely smoking hot.

I completely forgot about what I was there to do and just started chatting her up.
    After a 10 min chat I headed off and got home before I remembered why I went down in the first place and had to go back :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I like the boots the motorcycle gardai wear.

NothingMan wrote: »
    They were probably more concerned about the 2 dead hookers in the back seat.

I'm no idiot, they were in the boot, snugly out of sight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

funnyname wrote: »
    Anyone got positive feedback about the gardai

nope. If they had their way the people who help us have fun at the weekend would all be in jail :mad:.

:cool:

Also, ibtl :confused:?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Yeah most of them aregrand,but there are the few arse wipes!

Hhe I can remember on St.Paddys day the eyar before last my friends hat was stollen by knackers runing past us and we said it to guard like tow sec later and he said "Piss off!".

Another time thouhg last year again my friend was one of the people working security for the No name clu festival in our town.We were all going to head back up too his house after and my fried who knew the guard asked him to give us a lift in the paddy wagon :D.All of us piled into the back,twoin the cage and one in the front he goes"Here lads have fun with this" and hads us the microphone for the speakers ontop,twas priceless" Hey..Hey you two..no conidling,you..walk faster...no faster!...No too fast!...Hey Marc...HI!".

Its things like that which promote better relationships with younger people with the guards :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Yep, plenty. I've had friendly ones stop for a chat with me on nice days, and they've been lovely (and some were hot), when I was younger they'd stop us whenever I was causing trouble with friends, and rightly so. When young'uns act the cnut, they should be told to stop, I've never found them to be unfair, if I wasn't causing any harm they'd just continue being friendly at us.
    I think most people who think "they're all cnuts" deserve whatever treatment they get from the gards, most of the time.
    They also got my phone back for me when it was robbed when I was about 15.

I'm not saying there aren't some bad eggs, but people seem to pick them out for their generalisations. I generalise by the good ones I've seen, which have been a huge majority for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

50-50 for me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Many moons ago Santa brought me the greatest presents ever. A car like the one below and a slide similar to, but not so aerodynamic and swish as the one below. Some dirty, filthy, rotten, ******* scumbags from up the park swiped them on Christmas day, after I'd been out in the front garden and had come in to put a coat on.

The Gardai mustered every Garda in the area and swept the entire park, getting them back in less than three hours. They were the toppermost people in my mind that day. (After Santa who brought the car and slide, and my Mammy who paid Santa for the car and slide.)

http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/1/0/2/9/6/2/2/webimg/315807171_tp.jpg
    http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/4156SwteZmL._SL500_.jpg

I have the utmost respect for the guys, but only when their chasing filthy teenagers away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I like the boots the motorcycle gardai wear.

And they're the only men who can wear leather trousers and look hawt. There's few things more disappointing than spotting a motorcycle gardai only to realise he's wearing normal trousers. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭kiad

They are always very well dressed (most of the positives seem to be about what they wear)