Tesco's offensive card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

_Roz_ wrote: »
    Dudes with shoulder length+ ginger hair are hawt.

Mick Hucknall = Dish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

In the case of non malicious slagging: getting upset by it will only ensure it continues. Best ways to deal with it: fire back some similar material, see the funny side and laugh along, ignore it/not let it bother you.

Wasn't Lord Anthony "Penneys does posh"? I remember my dad got a Lord Anthony jacket when we were kids and we were super impressed by the fact the label said "Lord" on it. Thought we had well and truly arrived...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

That's ok, these things happen!

Excusing kids kicking the sh*t out of other kids is not my thing!

For the record though I've got a ginger kid and a ginger husband and I still find the card hilarious.

Well that's just wrong. My kind shouldn't mix with you impure "sun-dwellers"! :mad:

Post deleted because I'm having a blonde moment (:p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dudess wrote: »
    In the case of non malicious slagging: getting upset by it will only ensure it continues. Best ways to deal with it: fire back some similar material, see the funny side and laugh along, ignore it/not let it bother you.

Like the poor, playground cruelty will always be with us. It's often not nice, but I really feel that they need no encouragement. We've all heard a lot worse than Ginger in our time. Or at least, I have.

Lord Anthonys were the original gurrier classic, Dudess. I now have this picture of your da squeezed into a tiny parka and throwing stones now. :D

stovelid wrote: »
    Like the poor, playground cruelty will always be with us. It's often not nice, but I really feel that they need no encouragement. We've all heard a lot worse than Ginger in our time. Or at least, I have.
    One of the sharpest kids in my class for giving/taking a slagging... was an overweight ginger lad. So the power balance can be reversed. :pac:

A kid with glasses used to call me "bag of bones" for being skinny and said my parents couldn't afford to feed me etc. So I called him "four eyes" or whatever. I didn't like what he said, but getting ratty would only have been giving him exactly what he was looking for. I think if it hurts, it's still better to even pretend you think it's funny/don't care.
    The two of us ended up getting on very well eventually. Being able to take a slagging makes a person very likeable, I think.
    Obviously I'm not referring to blatant bullying, which is another kettle of fish IMO.
    Lord Anthonys were the original gurrier classic, Dudess. I now have this picture of your da squeezed into a tiny parka and throwing stones now. :D
    He still has it - for outdoor painting, bringing out the bins and such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭time42play

Wish I'd bought a few of those cards. As a ginger myself I think it's funny, and they'd probably have got away with it if it was aimed at adults rather than children. I know a few others I'd love to send it to!

Is it copyright infringement if I find the image and print up a few of my own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

But it's not about us going 'ah sure kids will be kids' and roll our eyes. Can we not take a little bit more responsibility?

At the end of the day, it's not very responsible to give children ammunition to mock other children. How can anyone think it is, just because 'playgrounds are nasty anyway'.

It's about your own moral compass, but I sure as hell will not be telling my kids that it's ok to slag someone based on the colour of their hair. Grow up.

I'm in two minds about that card - on the one hand I think "it's just a joke"... on the other, it leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

But kids will be kids - better not to cosset them from these realities than to (if unintentionally) encourage them to be upset by them.

Kimia wrote: »
    It's about your own moral compass, but I sure as hell will not be telling my kids that it's ok to slag someone based on the colour of their hair. Grow up.

Are you ginger, by any chance?

stovelid wrote: »
    Are you ginger, by any chance?

That's gas. If I was giving out about racism against Jewish people for example, would you ask me am I Jewish?

Are you trying to imply that if I was ginger it would negate my argument?

What colour hair do you have Stovelid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭Wossack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

That's gas. If I was giving out about racism against Jewish people for example, would you ask me am I Jewish?

Are you trying to imply that if I was ginger it would negate my argument?

Puts me in mind of the statement put to a stumped David Brent in the office as to why should it only be black people that are offended by racism.

Stovelid has a magnificent golden mane. Here is a picture of him:
    http://www.fabioifc.com/Bookcover_plus/mousepad_shot_fabio.2.jpg

That's fabulous. Magnificent is truly the only word to describe it.

I love the knowing look in the eye too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

well i think its hilarious and i love the gingers, cant get enough of the little feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

well i think its hilarious and i love the gingers, cant get enough of the little feckers.

Tasty with a cup of tea alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

AnonoBoy wrote: »

tea, coffee, lemonade, pretty much any drink, hot or cold.
    i just hope my friends and family picked up on my hints for a christmas present. with a bit of luck i'll be immersed in gingers christmas morning :)

For shame. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

I actually think that how Irish people have taken on 'Gingerism' in the past decade or so is pretty pathetic. It is SUCH a British thing, and always has been, and it has been argued that it has it's origins in anti-Irish sentiment, as the stereotypical Irish person was a redhead.

And by Gingerism, I do mean this rather unintelligent, unthought-out ubiquitous slagging of red-headed people. It's lazy, it's not particularly funny, and it's something we have just adopted, without thought, from all the British comedy we watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Gingers for Justice!

etc.

Ginger rhymes with whinger, no surprise there.

I'll take the piss out of people, and I couldn't give a hairy shite if someone takes the piss out of me.

Why do people get so offended over things? Grow a pair for fuck sake.

And all the gingers I know are utter cunts

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Biccie of the god in fairness. Great chewing out of them when dunked in a cuppa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

topper75 wrote: »
    What were they thinking!!? I can't knock the lady's analogy.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1215/tesco.html

Davinia Phillips, whose three children all have red hair, was enraged when she saw the card at one of Tesco's stores in northern England.

Red mist, typical.

Here is the card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

A friend of mine is gigner and today he was asking one of the lads for a can of ginerale he was drinking so he could walk around with it for the novelty :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭phic

Totally ridiculous! I know the southpark thing started bullying in Canada, but really, I don't think Tesco Christmas cards have as big a cultural influence on kids as Southpark does.
    Also black, Jewish etc. is not the same thing as ginger. At all. If you think it is, you badly need a history lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,688 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

God...this is pathetic....would the PC brigade ever pee off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

ok, so if i tell a joke then i can't make it about ginger hair?

i guess blonde jokes are out too then?

of course no racist jokes so no more paddy irish man, paddy english man etc.

no men or women jokes as it will offend due to sexism.

no animal jokes for fear of upsetting animal lovers.

so what can i tell a joke about?

:confused::confused::confused:

can anyone post a link to a joke that is funny but cannot offend someone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

consultech wrote: »
    Mick Hucknall = Dish.

More like Tim Minchin.
    soups05 wrote: »

can anyone post a link to a joke that is funny but cannot offend someone?

Oxymoron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Nobody loves Gingers. FACT! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

R0ot wrote: »
    Nobody loves Gingers. FACT! :pac:

I love gingers! I think ginger girls tend to be gorgeous. Kinda wish I was ginge. Not enough to bleach and dye my hair though.