The Collarum trap for foxes

• 09-12-2009 07:05PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Not sure if too many here are aware of the Collarum Trap or what ye think of it.

Google for more info, I'm feeling lazy tonight :D

ATB,

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Do you bait it or what way is it set?

Just watched the video, that yoke looks class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

It's set much like the old foot hold traps in that the snare and the spring mechanism is lightly covered by earth. That leaves only the trigger exposed above ground. The trigger is then baited with something a canine will like, as it's meant to be a canine specific trap similar in concept to the gator gun so is safer for other types of animals (with exceptions I can think of). The idea is the fox must bite and pull the trigger to spring the trap. What happens is the spring propels the snare upwards, since the trigger mechanism is set in the the snare loop, the snare is now around the foxes neck and he's caught. There are lethal and non lethal variants, methinks only the non lethal would be allowed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

That video looks great!

Where and how much are the obvious next questions?!

The Magnum Trap Company will be selling them soonish. Am waiting on a price and postage from them at the moment. You can get them from the USA, if you want to pay $97 postage on top of their $75 price, I didn't :D

Maybe if we ordered a few of them together, the delivery cost would be more reasonable? So who wants to organise this?

I'm goin state side in a month, but I'll be there for a month. I can take a few, (I mean a few John!) if you want ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Eddie B

1. johngalway wrote: »
      Hi folks,
    Not sure if too many here are aware of the Collarum Trap or what ye think of it.
    Looks a class job! One question, Can the snare part of the trap be replaced after its damaged, and if so, can conventional snares be used or have you to order spare ones when buying your trap? The only other thing is, you might have a big problem with stripey`s! There seems to be more of them about these day`s than foxes!

Eddie B wrote: »
    1. johngalway wrote: »
      Hi folks,
    Looks a class job! One question, Can the snare part of the trap be replaced after its damaged, and if so, can conventional snares be used or have you to order spare ones when buying your trap? The only other thing is, you might have a big problem with stripey`s! There seems to be more of them about these day`s than foxes!

Yeah, there are replacement parts for it. To give you a straight answer I don't know if a shop bought snare could be incorporated into it. I do know replacement cables are available from the US seller though, I believe an extra cable comes with the trap and on fox it's meant to last quite a number of catches.

The black and white lads crossed my mind as well. I'm going to have to dig a little more on that subject.

Glensman wrote: »
    I'm goin state side in a month, but I'll be there for a month. I can take a few, (I mean a few John!) if you want ;)

Cheers Glensman,

But, they do weight 4lbs each you know :eek: If it's OK I'll go for it there, if not I'll be back to ya ;)

4 lbs! Balls to that!

Yeah, I thought you'd like that bit, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭J.R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Eddie B

The Collarum trap is now available from Pro Trapper in the uk! Cost £58

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

looks good. how is the trap tied down. whats to stop the fox pulling the trap from the ground and bolting with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Eddie B wrote: »
    The Collarum trap is now available from Pro Trapper in the uk! Cost £58

Here's link http://protrapper.co.uk/collarum.html
    Looks a good job.
    Wouldnt like to trap a viscious dog in it and have to release him:eek:

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Here's link http://protrapper.co.uk/collarum.html
    Looks a good job.
    Wouldnt like to trap a viscious dog in it and have to release him:eek:

"Lead ear ring" - great for mad dogs!!