Man locked up for no dog licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

ScumLord wrote: »
    Essentially that's what's happening though, just because they introduce another step in the process so technically it's the courts your upsetting and not some silly dog license law doesn't mean it's not the fact you don't have a license that's getting you locked up.

You get locked up for not paying the fine no longer anything to do with the licence. It isn't technically what happens it is actually what is happening. Essentially the fine was for not turning up. He probably had a licence by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭samson09

wilson10 wrote: »
    Ok, I believe that the law must be enforced but I think that this is an absolute disgrace. The guards in particular who took this man to mountjoy have no shame.

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/Dundalk-man-still-shocked-after.5895993.jp

He only has himself to blame. If he had only known that he did not have to consent to whatever B.S. Act or Statute they charged him with violating he would have saved himself the hassle of going to prison.

Its about time people woke up to this nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

hobochris wrote: »
    Surely community service would be a more fitting sentence for such a case.

Listen to the guy being interviewed on Joe Duffy, he already does alot of voluntary community service.

I'd dare anyone to listen to the poor man being interviewed and not be moved by his story, the chap has been terrified by his experience.

'Caring Ireland' my bollox, its a disgrace that this gentleman was put through the ordeal of going to Mountjoy prison, or anyother punishment for a dog licence ffs!.

But go on you people who sit comfortably at your computer and laugh, listen to him before mocking - its only yourself your letting down!.

samson09 wrote: »
    He only has himself to blame. If he had only known that he did not have to consent to whatever B.S. Act or Statute they charged him with violating he would have saved himself the hassle of going to prison.

Its about time people woke up to this nonsense.

Your talking rubbish.

The first time this chap knew there was a bench warrent for his arrest, or even that he was to appear in court was when his sister informed his that the local paper had ran a story on him from their court reporter.

Believe it or not, there are vulnurable people like this in our society who won't have the safety nets afforded to real scrounging feckers like Pamela Izevbekhai and her ilk.

At the risk of sounding like a bleeding hearted liberal, which most people here will know I'm not - but this is a case where Irish society has failed a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

€11m in payouts for 55 victims of Donegal garda corruption

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/836411m-in-payouts-for-55-victims-of-donegal-garda-corruption-1456282.html

I am not anti Gardai, but
    I do see a gapping divide between what joe public is prosecuted for in Ireland, compared to what officials in state departments can get away with... and by that I mean departments accross the board. see link (no members of the Gardai served any time for any of these acts of persecution and corruption)

Sure....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Listen to the guy being interviewed on Joe Duffy, he already does alot of voluntary community service.

Why didnt he spend a little bit of his time to go get a licence for his dog?

I guarentee you he knew he needed a licence but figured that because no one ever asks to see it he wouldnt bother getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,520 ✭✭✭axer

I'd dare anyone to listen to the poor man being interviewed and not be moved by his story, the chap has been terrified by his experience.

'Caring Ireland' my bollox, its a disgrace that this gentleman was put through the ordeal of going to Mountjoy prison, or anyother punishment for a dog licence ffs!.

But go on you people who sit comfortably at your computer and laugh, listen to him before mocking - its only yourself your letting down!.
    What is the point of having penalties for breaking the law if they are not to be enforced? What is the point of having a law forcing people to buy a Dog license and then doing nothing to them for breaking the law? Who would follow a law that does not have penalties?

I don't care if this guy is mother f'ucking Theresa - the law is there for a reason and he knew he was supposed to have a license.

"the chap has been terrified by his experience" - great! maybe he will buy a license for his dog the next time. Lesson learned.

Next!

Your talking rubbish.

The first time this chap knew there was a bench warrent for his arrest, or even that he was to appear in court was when his sister informed his that the local paper had ran a story on him from their court reporter.

Believe it or not, there are vulnurable people like this in our society who won't have the safety nets afforded to real scrounging feckers like Pamela Izevbekhai and her ilk.

At the risk of sounding like a bleeding hearted liberal, which most people here will know I'm not - but this is a case where Irish society has failed a man.

I don't think you understand what I'm saying. If he had known how to handle himself in court properly he could have knocked the issue on the head. What I'm talking about is very real and more and more people are becoming aware of it. "It" is called sovereignty.

Stekelly wrote: »
    Why didnt he spend a little bit of his time to go get a licence for his dog?

I guarentee you he knew he needed a licence but figured that because no one ever asks to see it he wouldnt bother getting it.

You haven't listen to, or heard a thing of this until this thread have you? (and tell the truth).

Is there fvck all capacity for compassion left in this God forsaken country?.

Btw, the man was given the dog as a companion by the LSPCA.

The man has been through trials and tribulations that only for the grace of God more of us don't go through, the last thing on this mans mind was a dog licence - a dog licence, for crying out loud!.

Sometimes I feel like tearing my bleed'n hair out at the capacity for stupidity we have in this country.

Is there fvck all capacity for compassion left in this God forsaken country?.

Where does compassion begin and end? People with a story sad enough to rate over 7 out of 10 on the sad story o meter dont pay for stuff? Or do we have another way ? Just let everyone do as they please.

Getting sent to jail is afairly long winded process, they didnt just fine him and haul him away at the same time.

Funny how he suddenly handed over money afetr being in the cell for 12 hours.

Plus I like how you try to tabloid up the situation for more effect "Btw, the man was given the dog as a companion by the LSPCA". The story said he went and got himself a dog

"Dominic was jailed after he forgot to get a €12.70 licence for his dog, Nemo, a Shih Tzu he adopted from the dog pound to keep him company in his new home"

Sometimes I feel like tearing my bleed'n hair out at the capacity for stupidity we have in this country.

I know, deciding that laws dont apply to you is quite stupid really. Although it's not too bad, all you have to do is go bleatign about how unfortunate you are on the radio and you have the whole country of bleedign heats up in arms. There are far more people in much worse situations that could do with your sympathy (and more) if your dishign it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I don't think you understand what I'm saying. If he had known how to handle himself in court properly he could have knocked the issue on the head. What I'm talking about is very real and more and more people are becoming aware of it. "It" is called sovereignty.

Did you even read the article?

He was not in court. The courtcase went on without his knowledge. He was arrested at his home on a saturday evening and driven to mountjoy.

Where does compassion begin and end? People with a story sad enough to rate over 7 out of 10 on the sad story o meter dont pay for stuff? Or do we have another way ? Just let everyone do as they please.

Getting sent to jail is afairly long winded process, they didnt just fine him and haul him away at the same time.

Funny how he suddenly handed over money afetr being in the cell for 12 hours.

Well not quite, but kind of. He was not in court. He didnt know he was summoned. Because he didnt turn up at court, a warrant for his arrest was issued, and the guards arrested him at his house on saturday evening and drove him to the joy.

Read the article before you comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Sending people to jail for non-payment of fines is ridiculous anyhow,especially at a time of chronic prison overcrowding.
    Community service and naming and shaming in the local newspapers should suffice,imo.

wudangclan wrote: »
    Sending people to jail for non-payment of fines is ridiculous anyhow,especially at a time of chronic prison overcrowding.
    Community service and naming and shaming in the local newspapers should suffice,imo.
    He was already named and shamed and then he didn't pay the 600 odd euro fine thus he was arrested and sent to prison.

He should not have gotten a dog if he wasn't going to pay the license. People need to take these laws seriously and not have the "Ahh sure it'll be grand" Irish attitude to them. Surely if he had time to pick up the dog and get the dog set up at home then he had time to pay the license.

Anyway he seems to have learned his lesson so is probably unlikely to re-offend. Although I believe a large percentage of ex-cons do re-offend.

syklops wrote: »
    Did you even read the article?

He was not in court. The courtcase went on without his knowledge. He was arrested at his home on a saturday evening and driven to mountjoy.

Tbh I only skimmed through it. Regardless, he would have been served a summons to appear in court and this could also have been dealt with in a similiar fashion. A summons is only an invitation to attend, you are not obliged to do so.

This story only highlights how the legal system is no longer concerned with justice. The courts that currently operate in this country are run strictly for profit, revenue extraction is the name of the game. All courts are registered companies trading for profit. Don't believe me? Search for your local court on http://www.dnb.co.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

What is the cost of a dog license?

What do the government do with money they receive from ^ ?

drdeadlift wrote: »

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/environment/animal-welfare-and-control/control_of_dogs
    Individual dog licence costs €12.70 and is valid for one year.
    The revenue from dog licences finances the operation of dog control services in local areas throughout the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mickthedick

Have we lost it hear in Ireland, putting an elderly man in jail for no dog licence?. Subjecting him to the indignity of Mountjoy, the guards, the prison service are there anybody who can make decisions or are they doing the job without using common sense. As for Mountjoy , it's not suitable for housing his dog . Mountjoy is a open sewer

The revenue from dog licences finances the operation of dog control services in local areas throughout the country.

And if the guy hadn't adopted the dog how much would it have cost the state to look after/ put down the poor mutt?

A hell of a lot more than €12.50

It's a disgrace, anyone that gets a dog from a pound should be entitled to a free dog license for life, the law needs to be changed or common sense used.

€12.70.

The money from dog licenses, along with most of the money the government collects from taxes and other methods of cash extraction, goes towards paying off the national debt.

TheZohan wrote: »
    And if the guy hadn't adopted the dog how much would it have cost the state to look after/ put down the poor mutt?

It's a disgrace, anyone that gets a dog from a pound should be entitled to a free dog license for life, the law needs to be changed or common sense used.

So only people who buy dogs should have to pay for licences?

Maybe we should do the same elswhere, no drivers licence needed if you get you car for free?

It wasn't a mutt. Shih Tzu puppies go for a couple of hundred euro. He got a pretty good deal.
    €12.70 a year. Surely he could afford that if he can afford to feed it etc.
    No, the license costs only €12.70 which covers the costs of dog control. That is a very low amount for a license and if he cannot afford that then he should not have a dog as he would not be able to afford to look after the dog.

If more punishments were handed out like this for non payment of fines then people might take licenses seriously. He didn't even get to spend the night in Mountjoy to teach him a right lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

How many dogwardens are there in the country?
    How many fish are in the sea?

I wonder will the amount of money that this guy got away with paying pay for the amount he has just cost the state and us as tax payers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

wilson10 wrote: »
    Ok, I believe that the law must be enforced but I think that this is an absolute disgrace. The guards in particular who took this man to mountjoy have no shame.

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalknews/Dundalk-man-still-shocked-after.5895993.jp

What I love about this story is the headline. "Dundalk man still shocked after ordeal". Tomorrow's news, "Dundalk man slightly calmer".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

How many dogwardens are there in the country?

When that is answered someone may be able to tell me how many dogwardens visit travellers campsites instead of picking off the easy prey of old men.

Or maybe there is no such thing as a dag licence

So only people who buy dogs should have to pay for licences?

Maybe we should do the same elswhere, no drivers licence needed if you get you car for free?

A Drivers Licence is a licence obtained to prove that you are capable of operating a mechanically propelled vehicle or that you have attained a basic level of training. A dog license does not prove that you can look after a dog.

Both entirely different things in my opinion.
    axer wrote: »
    It wasn't a mutt. Shih Tzu puppies go for a couple of hundred euro. He got a pretty good deal.

Was it a puppy? Was it a purebread? It might have been on it's last legs.

No, the license costs only €12.70 which covers the costs of dog control. That is a very low amount for a license and if he cannot afford that then he should not have a dog as he would not be able to afford to look after the dog.

That's a fair point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

In another Louth paper today, the Drogheda Independant, there's a story about a scumbag who stole a chequebook and tried to change a cheque for €2100.

The hilarious thing about it is that he travelled 10 miles to Dunleer and tried to use the cheque in a hardware store owned by a brother of the person he had stolen from. Obviously didn't read the name over the door.

But the thing that annoys me is that when his solicitor rolled out the old sob story about his drink problem, the judge let him off with a suspended sentence. Maybe the judge has a drink problem and knows the curse it can be.

Then you have this unfortunate going to prison for failing to pay a fine he can't afford.

Some people are saying that it's black & white, no room for compassion.

If there's no room for compassion then the country really is fcuked.

Tbh I only skimmed through it. Regardless, he would have been served a summons to appear in court and this could also have been dealt with in a similiar fashion. A summons is only an invitation to attend, you are not obliged to do so.

This story only highlights how the legal system is no longer concerned with justice. The courts that currently operate in this country are run strictly for profit, revenue extraction is the name of the game. All courts are registered companies trading for profit. Don't believe me? Search for your local court on http://www.dnb.co.uk/

Why in the world would you skim through an article and comment on it, then admit to only skimming the article, then make another facepalm comment.

A summons was sent to him, but he did not receive it, nor did he receive other correspondence from the court or the dog wardens. The reason for this was a fup up on An Post's side which they have admitted and apologised for.

When the court heard nothing back from him a warrant for his arrest was issued, and he was arrested at his house and brought straight to mountjoy.

axer wrote: »

Rescue dogs are registered as cross breeds as IKC licences can not be issued - he got a mutt.

Zohan's idea of a free licence for the life of the rescue dog is bang on the money.

Personally I've one rescue dog (a Pitbull) and one pure breed (A Staffordshire Bull Terrier) both licenced.

I've also got one cat and about 30 tropical fish, why don't I need to licence these?.