I need your help Update 24/12/09

• 06-12-2009 03:31AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭

As many on here know I'm a regular poster ad D8 bible, but well I need your help very much now.

My younger brother is in hospital at the moment after having brain surgery tonight. He's on life-support after suffering several severe knocks to the head, whether they be caused by an attack or by him falling, that's where I need you. There is several bruises to his head which would be consistent by either falling several times or being hit repeatyly.

Atm the detectives in Donnybrook are investiating but hopefully boardsies can shead some light. What we think happened is, he was at a party, got a taxi BUT the road we live on is also the name of a road in Donnybrook, so we think he got dropped off there. After that we can't picture what happened, all we know is he was found unconscious on Pembroke Road today at about 1.30pm. We're trying to found out what happened in between the 12 hours previous. It seems he had been there all night as his body tempature was extremely low.

I'd prefer any info by pm, just as it's a very dodgy matter atm and the guards are investigating it aswell.

Get well soon bro, and don't give up the fight man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭jaffa20

:mad:

That's aweful news. I wish i could help. I hope everything works out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Sorry to hear that Gavin .... GWS your brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

jaffa20 wrote: »
    :mad:

That's aweful news. I wish i could help. I hope everything works out well.

Cheers man.

Everyon is helping out so much as it is, the vice-principal and principal of his secondary school came up to the hospital. And they're opening th school tomorrow to get details from studenst who were at the party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Jesus Christ, that's dreadful Gavin.

I'd give anything to be able to help you, mate. I'll text everyone I know just to check that they weren't in the area.

I'm not a praying man, but I'll pray hard for your bro tonight.

Stay strong, big lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Cheers to the mod who stickied this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Terribly sorry to hear about this Gavin. Chin up mate. I really hope yourself and your family are ok.

:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

That's dreadful news Gavin. I hope he recovers soon and you find out what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

Jesus thats awful, best wishes to you, your brother and family hope he makes a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,157 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Sorry to hear that news Gavin. Best wishes for a speedy recovery and hope the Gardai can establish what happened. Sorry I can't be of more help but I'm rarely out that part of town.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Just like to echo what others have said and hope your brother makes a full recovery.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭wantolose

God help ye, I hope it works out ok for your brother, you and your family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

That is awful Gavin. I hope he makes a full and speedy recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

That's terrible news Gavin. I really hope you're brother will make a full recovery.

Good luck with the investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

I'm so sorry to hear that Gav and I hope you find out what happened to your brother. More importantly I hope he comes through his op well and makes a full recovery. I'll be thinking of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The Zohan has kindly given permission for me to copy this thread over from the Dublin City Forum, thank you Zohan.

Gavin is a very well known, respected and regular contributor to the DFC and he needs our help.

Please treat his post with the same respect you'd expect if you were in his position.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Thread stickied.
    Gavin, very sorry to hear your news.
    It's dreadful when you don't know what happened to him.
    Here's hoping his op is successful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Very sorry to hear about your brother.
    I wish him well and you and your family all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Very sorry to hear this
    Hope your brother makes a speedy recovery and that you can get to the bottom of what happened to him

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Thats terrible, got attacked myself awhile ago and ended up in hospital for the night, though this mightn't be sinister..

Hope everything turns out ok Gav

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

Best wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

when did this happen?? was it on the news??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

As many on here know I'm a regular poster ad D8 bible, but well I need your help very much now.

My younger brother is in hospital at the moment after having brain surgery tonight. He's on life-support after suffering several severe knocks to the head, whether they be caused by an attack or by him falling, that's where I need you. There is several bruises to his head which would be consistent by either falling several times or being hit repeatyly.

Atm the detectives in Donnybrook are investiating but hopefully boardsies can shead some light. What we think happened is, he was at a party, got a taxi BUT the road we live on is also the name of a road in Donnybrook, so we think he got dropped off there. After that we can't picture what happened, all we know is he was found unconscious on Pembroke Road today at about 1.30pm. We're trying to found out what happened in between the 12 hours previous. It seems he had been there all night as his body tempature was extremely low.

I'd prefer any info by pm, just as it's a very dodgy matter atm and the guards are investigating it aswell.

Get well soon bro, and don't give up the fight man.
    History repeats itself then. It was this Saturday in December, 3 years ago my stepmother was let off by a taxi after a party away from the home and she was found 3 miles away in a ditch, in what would have been today under similar circumstances. Im sorry to say the country had an uncharacteristically awful storm that night and she never recovered from the hypothermia, dying that evening in hospital before any family could be reached.

All I can say is the Clare PD was brilliant about piecing together the entire ordeal very quickly.

I hope your brother recovers quickly. I assume he is still in critical condition, the next few hours could be telling. This isnt something the Gards will give up on in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Gavin, all I can say is I hope your brother makes a speedy recovery and we're all praying for him and hopefully your investigation turns up some results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

Thats awful.I'm sorry to hear that,hopefuly he gets well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭rizzee

Hope he gets well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Best luck to your brother. he seems like a fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I had a couple of friends out in the area last night. I'll give them a buzz and see if they saw anything or heard anything.

Really sorry to hear that Gavin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

I know another private investigator - published author with 10 years experience - if you need a second opinion. Pm if interested.

Hope he makes a full recovery soon. And good luck with the investigation x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Christ, that's terrible :(

Best wishes to you and all your family, especially your brother