Drink Driving...DO YOU DO IT ? ? ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

Interesting to see how many people would admit to answering a phonecall / looking at a text message while driving. Studies show its as dangerous as driving after 5/6 pints I believe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Yep, my local is 2miles away, No possibility of getting a taxi and walking is out of the question, so yeah - I drive, I tip away down there every saturday night, everybody does. I've done it for years, I'll continue to do it.

/awaits onslaught.

Fcukit, so many people sayin "nooooooo never" blah blah blah, course you have.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

FearDark wrote: »
    Yep, my local is 2miles away, No possibility of getting a taxi and walking is out of the question, so yeah - I drive, I tip away down there every saturday night, everybody does. I've done it for years, I'll continue to do it.

/awaits onslaught.

No dude.
    No they fucking haven't.

No dude.
    No they fucking haven't.

Im willing to bet that most of them have drink drove in the past, 2 beers or 2 glasses of wine and a drive home = drink driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

/awaits onslaught.

I'm going to assume you're trolling..if not..well it's almost worth the ban to say what you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

/awaits onslaught.

You would rather drink drive than walk 2 miles? (shakes head) Is 2 miles really out of the question? My grandfathers generation thought nothing of walking 5 - 10 miles at night home from the pub

the locust wrote: »
    You would rather drink drive than walk 2 miles? (shakes head) Is 2 miles really out of the question? My grandfathers generation thought nothing of walking 5 - 10 miles at night home from the pub

Its not like im walking 2 miles through a town, its in the middle of nowhere and im more likely to be swept away by a flood or knocked down if I walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Kelda09

Im willing to bet that most of them have drink drove in the past, 2 beers or 2 glasses of wine and a drive home = drink driving.

No most people havent cos they either make sure someone is staying sober an driving or SHOCK HORROR go out and dont drink. It is possible ya know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Thornography

Was almost FORCED to by a friends mother.

Friends 19th birthday and he had a session, Someone at the session got too drunk to stand, Soiled himself several times, and wrecked 2 beds that he was put in. When his mother came home she flipped the lid (naturally) and kicked everyone out including me who was supposed to stay that night.

The mother marched me off down the road making sure I was driving my MOTORBIKE home. But I got to the end of the road, Sat down for a good while on the path, Waited till she was in bed and went back to the house and slept anyway, no way was I risking my license, Life or another's life for the stupidity of two other people.

I still resent the bixxch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I'm always on a motorbike so never won't even have one drink, but lets be honest there are high rates of drinking driving occurring, I live in a small village I see it happening all the time.

What I would be curious about is how many people here would said no, would drive after a joint, based upon previous threads there are quite a few people here who use recreational drugs, so what the story on that one.

Do people drive after they have taken something other than alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

I think a lot of people younger than 30ish are probably not aware of the extent to which drink driving was accepted, even tolerated in the very very recent past.

I certainly did a few times a (good) few years ago and many of my peers would have done the same. It wasnt widespread by any means but it was something that wasnt considered to be as outrageous as it is now. It also seems to be still fairly commonplace in the States.

Of course, it is a blooody good thing that its social acceptability has been well and truly ended here to the point that even suggesting you do it earns the tag of troll!! But, noone should be fooled into believing that there are not many many people who still do it. It is a bit like smoking in someone's house; noone would dream of that now, but 10 years ago, you would light up without even asking permission. Just shows how societal change can be rappid.

drkpower wrote: »
    I think a lot of people younger than 30ish are probably not aware of the extent to which drink driving was accepted, even tolerated in the very very recent past.

I certainly did a few times a (good) few years ago and many of my peers would have done the same. It wasnt widespread by any means but it was something that wasnt considered to be as outrageous as it is now. It also seems to be still fairly commonplace in the States.

Of course, it is a blooody good thing that its social acceptability has been well and truly ended here to the point that even suggesting you do it earns the tag of troll!! But, noone should be fooled into believing that there are not many many people who still do it. It is a bit like smoking in someone's house; noone would dream of that now, but 10 years ago, you would light up without even asking permission. Just shows how societal change can be rappid.

Yeah the thing is drug driving appears to be more pervalent in the under 30s though I may be prejudiced as I encounter a lot of it.

I remember my dad used to drive home from work every night after four or five pints, very few thought anything of it at the time.

However, just to be clear I condone neither, before the troll accusations come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yes I did, on a number of occasions when i was younger.

I stopped. i Havent done so in perhaps 6 years.

It a simple rule now, if i even had a mouth of drink i wont drive, no grey areas there then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

One of the most stupid things people can do, simple rules for a very obvious reason, i think the penalties are way too lenient for drink driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Jaeger 90

sometimes if i know ill get away with it, never more then 4 or 5 drinks though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

Same here, most weekends at some point. Usually after 4 or 5 cans. I've even been breathalyzed a couple of times and always under the limit mainly because I drink the cans over the space of about 6 hours. So yeah call me a scumbag, etc, if you wish. But I'm still gonna do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I don't have a problem with anyone having one or 2 and driving home as long as they don't act the ape along the way. It's perfectly legal and should stay that way.
    I've more of an issue with middle lane drivers (as they can't even drive properly sober) than I do with the farmer having a few pints in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭6ix

Never at night, but there have been a few occasions where I reckon I may have been slightly over the limit on the morning after - even at 11 or 12 o clock. Not drunk obviously but it's hard to know if there's still '2 pint's worth' in your system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Jaeger 90 wrote: »
    sometimes if i know ill get away with it, never more then 4 or 5 drinks though

How do you know you'll get away with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

lol, I can't believe in this day and age there's people who will openly admit to drink driving and be happy and proud about it.
    hopefully you get put off the road before you kill someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Sleepeee

The same unders 30ish are anti drink driving for all the right moral reasons, but my parents friends from the local in a country town only stopped driving home from the pub when one of them got caught by the guards one night. :(.

At least they stopped I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Amazing that no-one has made the distinction between legally drinking & driving ( 2 - 3 pints) and driving drunk.

Driving after one or two, well under the legal limit : yes.
    Driving drunk : no.

SV wrote: »
    lol, I can't believe in this day and age there's people who will openly admit to drink driving

I'm not being funny here but I would rather people talk about it rather than lie or stay silent, at least in some cases you get a chance to change or alter their viewpoint. If people say nothing and just do it you lose that opportunity. It may only work with a few but at least there is that chance, we have to accept that no matter what is right or wrong, some people will always engage in that behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Thornography

Quiet right, I remember stories that my granddad and uncle used to tell me, about going to the Isle of Man with their motorbikes and huge groups of friends, Getting absolutely wasted and driving in groups at high speeds around the island cause it was the `done thing` to do while on holidays there. Guards n all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

I don't have a problem with anyone having one or 2 and driving home as long as they don't act the ape along the way. It's perfectly legal and should stay that way.
    I've more of an issue with middle lane drivers (as they can't even drive properly sober) than I do with the farmer having a few pints in the country.

Good post!

I started driving in an era when drink-driving wasn't an issue at all.
    Needless to say, I often did it & all my mates who had cars did too, as we lived in a rural area.

Sometimes I think there's an awful lot of hysteria these days about this, smoking & other 'elf 'n sayftey issues.

On the other hand though, as a parent myself now, it's good to know that young people these days don't find drunken driving acceptable.

I wouldn't fancy the idea of any kid of mine risking their neck by getting into a car with a drunk-driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

It's a very real issue in the country (drink driving). People can talk all they like about blood alcohol levels etc but nothing will change unless you have 1) proper policing and 2) sustainable alternatives as in public transport and the availability of taxis. In terms of pubs and niteclubs when you have hundreds of people coming out on the streets at the same time it's no wonder people say fcuk it and drive home. I'm not condoning it but its a very real issue.

I look to my own town at home. I could safely say that if you wanted to and had the will to, you could drive out of the town on any saturday night, with your fill of drink and drive your car home. In the 10 or so years I've been out and about in pubs etc, I've never seen one garda checkpoint in the town late on a Saturday night breathalyzing people, even at christmas time. TBH I could say the same of probably hundreds of similar towns and villages around the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

I do it,but only on wet days!Everyone knows that the garda only do policing on fair weather days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

i dont even drive the day after drinking

the locust wrote: »

My Grandad had a bike, he was probably an even bigger danger than if he'd had a car! 30 years ago I used to drive after 3 pints, no problem out in the sticks only met a copper once, he looked at me and decided I didn't look drunk enough to test.

How times have changed! wouldn't even consider driving now.

Odysseus wrote: »
    Yeah the thing is drug driving appears to be more pervalent in the under 30s though I may be prejudiced as I encounter a lot of it.

I remember my dad used to drive home from work every night after four or five pints, very few thought anything of it at the time.

However, just to be clear I condone neither, before the troll accusations come.

I must be of a similar age to your dad so, we also had a bar at the place I used to work.