If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

irishcycling.com interview with Phil Leigh

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Junior wrote: »
    But is targetting track medals what we should be doing ? 8 years too late ?
    Olympic games are the pinnacle of sport as seen by the Sports council and ultimately funding is based on how we perform there.
    18 medal events there for cycling
    4 on the Road
    2 off road
    2 BMX
    10 on the track

It's a no-brainer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 timyone

hi lads, my names Tim, im one of the brothers that competed in the Glorious green and ummm white, for the country that i was totally stoked to represent!! And yeah, mum is Irish.

Sorry i didnt have a bit of a stronger showing in my first ever points race ( i have seen alot of them). Coming up to the world cup, i was off on a trip to India and Nepal, where i picked up a bit of a stomach bug that stopped me from training any more than once every two days :( as well as making me tired after every thing. In light of this, i still shouldnt have been lapped in the points heat, but once i was i was alot more competative with two finishes one spot out of scoring points :(

Simon's stats are nothing like how well he went, 6 people lapped the field, so the final sprint was confusing, but he came 5th or 6th in the sprint at the end, but it still wasnt enough to qualify.

Our Madison was hampered by a missed change, we did 10 to 20 (maybe more) time trialling off the back, keeping upbut unable to get back on, before later being pulled out of the race just over a lap down.

With the amount of prep time we were given in mind, we performed pretty well. There is alot of room for improvement. I have been training as a roadie this year, and have been specialising more in the 120km plus races. Track season has just started and its all swapping over, so if we get another chance, things will hopefully be improved. But yeah, either way, we loved every minute of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

Great to hear you enjoyed wearing the Green and White. Kick AS*
    Bryan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ninetythree.six

Great to hear you enjoyed the experience. I have to say I was a little surprised that Cycling Ireland would enter you into your first Points Race at a World Cup event, this seems to go against their recently published selection criteria? but fair play to you for taking the opportunity to compete at this level.

I think you and your brother may have created a little bit of history as the first irish team to compete in a Madison at a World Cup event, you should ask Cycling Ireland to confirm this.

Based on your performances in Melbourne will you be competing at the next round of the World Cup in Columbia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Great to hear you enjoyed the experience. I have to say I was a little surprised that Cycling Ireland would enter you into your first Points Race at a World Cup event, this seems to go against their recently published selection criteria? but fair play to you for taking the opportunity to compete at this level.

I think you and your brother may have created a little bit of history as the first irish team to compete in a Madison at a World Cup event, you should ask Cycling Ireland to confirm this.

Based on your performances in Melbourne will you be competing at the next round of the World Cup in Columbia?

i thought they only got to race in WC because it was on their doorstep?!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭The Crunch

Fair play Tim, and thanks for your efforts. I'd say your mum was very proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 55x11

i thought they only got to race in WC because it was on their doorstep?!??

As far as I know you much be on the high performance squad to be selected for anymore of the upcoming world cups. So that includes David O'Loughlin, David McCann, Martyn Irvine, Stephen Barrett, Marcus Christie, Aaron Buggle, Matt Brammeier, Sean Downey and Sam Bennett. All of these boys have met the criteria, I know because I was on the talent transfer squad and was SRM tested for the squad but was no where near the power these guys can put out in testing. I saw them training a couple of times at the track in Aigle earlier this year and they are by far the best track riders in the country. I was in the crowd at the manchester world cup and the time they did didn't justify how good they actually are, a few things just didn't go right on the day from what I saw. There is some good talent there, I am a good Cat 1 rider and was no where near where I had to be to make the squad. Also Matt Brammeier did a great ride in the scratch race so the potential is definitely there for them to go near the 4.05 mark with some more technique work.

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,507 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

55x11 wrote: »
    I was on the talent transfer squad and was SRM tested for the squad but was no where near the power these guys can put out in testing.

Got any numbers to share?

Lumen wrote: »
    Got any numbers to share?

Do you fancy your chances of beating a few of them??

Personally my max minute power was 425w which I though was pretty decent seeing I was well placed in a number of A grade races last year but apparently to get even considered for the squad you much be well over 500w (second hand information).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,507 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

55x11 wrote: »
    Do you fancy your chances of beating a few of them??

Personally my max minute power was 425w which I though was pretty decent seeing I was well placed in a number of A grade races last year but apparently to get even considered for the squad you much be well over 500w (second hand information).

LOL, no, but I think you missed a number there though - 500W for 1 minute power is unexceptional. Do you mean 5 minute power?

Lumen wrote: »
    LOL, no, but I think you missed a number there though - 500W for 1 minute power is unexceptional. Do you mean 5 minute power?

Haha, sorry I didn't explain it too well. The max minute power is obtained from doing a ramp test. So starting off at around 300w and the load increasing by 20w every minute until you can't go anymore, its not too pleasant. When I did it they even had a sick bucket beside the bike. I have done a few 4minute max sustainable power tests as well so I would presume they would all be over or around 500w also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ninetythree.six

The team for the next round of the world cup was announced, its a big squad with a women's and men's squad, with the women entered for the team pursuit, this is a great step forward.

http://www.cyclingireland.ie/html/site/cyclingireland/story.jsp?id=1557

http://www.copamundopistacali.com/

It will be interesting to see how they all cope with the change in altitude:eek: (1000mtrs approx)

The best of luck to the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Patagoniaboy

A former international cyclist told me a very good story about Phil in his racing days, he doesn't rate him at all. He spent a week defending third or fourth position in a stage race, chasing down attacks of people who were actually aiming for first, yet never went for first.

I also know Phil. I seem to remember that Phil was trying to maintain or improve his place in that race "the Ras" too. he wasn't in any team so had to do everything himself. No one to chase for him or to drag him across. he won all his races by attacking. And when he didn't win he was still always attacking rather than being a sit in sprinter. A tactic that is adopted by many people who are not actually sprinters but lack any hard graft ethic.

So when your Pro recites the story make sure he gets it correct, otherwise, if you don't know what you are talking about, don't carry on the here say.

What Phil lacked in natural abiliti, he made up with hard graft and tenacity.

maybe if you all practice that rather than waiting for a free gift win, then you would be in a better situation as a cycling nation than now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

oooooooooohhhhhhhhh controversial!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Junior

I also know Phil. I seem to remember that Phil was trying to maintain or improve his place in that race "the Ras" too. he wasn't in any team so had to do everything himself. No one to chase for him or to drag him across. he won all his races by attacking. And when he didn't win he was still always attacking rather than being a sit in sprinter. A tactic that is adopted by many people who are not actually sprinters but lack any hard graft ethic.

So when your Pro recites the story make sure he gets it correct, otherwise, if you don't know what you are talking about, don't carry on the here say.

What Phil lacked in natural abiliti, he made up with hard graft and tenacity.

maybe if you all practice that rather than waiting for a free gift win, then you would be in a better situation as a cycling nation than now.

Ask Robert Power, I repeated it as it was told..

I am sorry to hear that Robert would not have been able to put Phi'ls efforts into context. I am sure that Phil would have had great respect for Robert and would have hoped that as an Olympian he would have understood how hard it is for one man to race against what at the time would have been over 200 Irish men.

I am also sure that you would come go to the UK on your own for a 8 day Multi-stage race and race your knackers off trying to hold onto the prospect of a top placing. In these events anything can happen. Who knows when someone will crack - so just keep on plugging away.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

maybe if you had practice that rather than waiting for a free gift win race organising skills, then you would be in a better situation as a cycling nation than now, and have a 2.2 Ras and a 2.1 TOI and not have the police cancelling all your events.

FYP ;)

PS Phil's a good guy and as the race program shows is getting the young riders racing at the best events. Last years program was one he inherited.

Well pointed out Rob.

I am a bit worried that I may have offended people on my first post. That is not my intention but I know Phil and believe he has your best interests at heart. Yours in Sport PB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭X files

Not to sure about this guy Dr Phil. I keep coming accross English riders and clubs are be approached by scouts / whatever to represent Ireland.
    It seems more effort in England than here. Is someone building up contacts/ reputation for there own good.
    I have been surprised by how many good Irish born and based riders of both sexes are being overlooked or ignored.
    The wattbike testing and stats should be ongoing and open and going round every club in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭spokeydokey

I don't think Leigh's perceived performance and tactics in a Ras years ago are very relevant to what he is doing with Irish cycling today anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

Ya, typical - they forgot about the athlete!
    RobFowl wrote: »
    Thats the ideal model of support services for a high performance plan as designed by the Irish institiute for sport and the Sports council of Northern Ireland.
    The idea of that diagram is that the athlete is at the centre and all the disiplines are arranged around them "the Athlete centred model"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭X files

Good point, both the sports councils seem more interested in their own little empires and are full of jobs for the boys.
    triathlon has become as dodgy as athletics and cycling.