Lottery winners - Anyone you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭larchielads

my mam got 1st 5 numbers in the lotto about 11-12 yrs ago and all she won was 725 pound.......thats a joke for 5 numbers.....one number away from a few mill

my best mate a while back was short 1 number for lotto plus 1 draw to win 350,000 euro. the number he needed was on the 2nd line all he got was 350 euro.......again a joke for 5 numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I won 60 euro on it once for 4 numbers. The other 2 numbers I missed out on were 1 away from being correct. I have not won anything more than that since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

If I won I woulndt tell a soul except my close family.

I reckon people would treat you different. Apart from that I dont know anyone who has won it.

Maybe that means its my time to win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

For anyone who knows the Ratoath/Ashbourne area in Meath, the guy who owns the Snail Box Restaurant near Curragha, won the Lotto jackpot in the shop my mother works in (he's also friends with her).
    A few years later the same guys mother won the jackpot in the exact same shop.
    Talk about a lucky family or what.

I was just going to post that story. Damnit...nothing to add now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭fonda

I know of 2 different people who have one, my partners aunt won the main jackpot and a friend of a friend one twice both in the couple of hundred thousands

Dont know anyone that's ever won more than a tenner on scratchcards but!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

My mammy won £500 on a scratch card about 18 years ago. That was a great day :) She bought me a PERM!

I did know a lotto millionaire, too, but not well, only knew him to see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

dubtom wrote: »
    It always amazes me when big lottery winners go public. I'm guessing with excitement it's hard to keep your gob shut but in this day and age there's no excuse for taking the rumoured extra 50K to get your pic in the paper, for every thieving hoar in the country to see ya. I'll certainly tell no one on Saturday when I win.

True, but you know well people would find out anyway. The time and shop the ticket was bought in are released, all of a sudden Tom quits his job, buys a new house and car.. 2+2 usually equals 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

A guy around the corner from my parents won €5million one year, jimself and the wife had four kids and like my parents didn't have a huge amount of money so I was delighted for them...and also secretly very jealous...who do they think they are winning the lotto, why couldn't we win the Lotto? :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I won €25 on a €1 Allcash before :D (my claim to fame).

And I know a family friend who won €250,000 on Lotto Plus 2 about nine months ago. I don't think he did much with it. He went on a holiday, bought a new car and big TV.
    But he never changed a bit. Didn't get snobby about it. He never changed his personality. And I haven't changed my opinion on him. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

For those of use who dont like to read short novels , what the OP is trying to say is

Do you know anyone who won the Lotto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

wtf is a grushy? It's GUSHY!!

It was grushy where I grew up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭ChillyJilly

When Lotto Plus first came out, a guy I know was buying his lotto ticket and was asked did he want to pay the extra for lotto plus, he said no (he hadnt heard of it before), turns out he would have won about 300,000 if he had paid the extra euro... sickener.

Friends of my parents won about 5 million a few years ago... they never admitted it (even to family) but everyone knows they definitely won. Never went "public", didnt move house or anything, but it was clear from the apartments the kids suddenly bought, the big extension and the audi's they all suddenly acquired. They still wont admit it to this day though! fair play to them I think.

Also a few years ago I heard a story (not 100% sure if it's true or not) about a husband and wife who do the same numbers every week. The wife didnt know if it was her turn or not so bought it just in case. Turns out it was her husbands turn so he had a different ticket with the same numbers. Their numbers came up... turns out there were 3 winners... them being 2 of them... so instead of getting a half the jackpot like they would have done, they ended up with 2/3's instead! I SO hope that story is true, it's brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

My Aunt was part of that group that won €500,000 about 2 weeks ago, think they each came away with about 20 grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭DubTony

dubtom wrote: »
    It always amazes me when big lottery winners go public. I'm guessing with excitement it's hard to keep your gob shut but in this day and age there's no excuse for taking the rumoured extra 50K to get your pic in the paper, for every thieving hoar in the country to see ya. I'll certainly tell no one on Saturday when I win.

There's no extra payout for going public. I agree, you'd have to be crazy to bring that kind of attention to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Its GRUSHY ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 peterwhilluk

Hi Does anyone think that the Lottery could be rigged?
    I mean, with it all being powered by computers.

I do a double lucky dip once a month on the saturday lotto. Now i have noticed all the time thatthe first set of numbers i get are good enough fo e.g 4, 7, 20, 27,40, 43. but the second set are always similar to this: 28, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40. The second numbers do not give me the a good chance of winning.

Anyone else noticed this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭chewed

An ex work colleague of mine had an interesting idea if he managed to win big on the lotto. He would immediately email every one of his friends and family stating that he had won and then ask them if they needed money for anything urgent in their lives (life critical operation, loan sharks, mortgage arrears, etc) they could contact him directly and put forward their case.

That way you can't say you didn't offer anything, and more than likely no one will ask you for a cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

I do a double lucky dip once a month on the saturday lotto. Now i have noticed all the time thatthe first set of numbers i get are good enough fo e.g 4, 7, 20, 27,40, 43. but the second set are always similar to this: 28, 29, 30, 33, 39, 40. The second numbers do not give me the a good chance of winning.

The first set of numbers and the second set have the exact same odds of winning..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

My dad won €2k or €4k last year. He asked me collect the cheque and deposit it into his account. I cycled into town to collect it but got run over by a car in phibsborough. Only my 2nd crash in 8 years cycling. Its was only minor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭chewed

c0rk3r wrote: »
    My dad won €2k or €4k last year. He asked me collect the cheque and deposit it into his account. I cycled into town to collect it but got run over by a car in phibsborough. Only my 2nd crash in 8 years cycling. Its was only minor

Is your name Earl?

Sounds like the start of My Name is Earl! where he gets run over and his lotto ticket disappears in the wind! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Ehhh no......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I know someone that won about 3 million on the lotto last year, she keeps her head down and quiet about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭blackbetty69

no i dont know anyone that won the lotto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭blackbetty69

jd007 wrote: »
    Ehhh no......

could u have thought of a more unconstructive answer jd007??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

Ehhh ye......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

It's Grushy... wtf is a gushy? That doesn't even sound like a word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,588 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Sounds like the correct answer for what the person wrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I know someone that appeared on Winning Streak, does that count? :D

Show for oul wans.

But no, I don't know anyone who's hit the big time. I generally win about €8 and a scratchcard every two months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

What's so unconstructive about that. Someone asked a question and jd007 simply answered it. (and answered it correctly at that)