Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cost of braces?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Ropo

Sorry to bump into this post... just reading chickenlegs comments, you seem very sure that 6 month braces don't work judging by the number of threads you written on about them.

I have six month braces and am nearly finished with them. I used a dentist that himself had 6 month braces and is just qualified ortho. I had an issue with my arch and a bad cross bite that was causing part of my gum to recede.
    The results are brill and couldn't be happier. My arch has widened and cross bite is corrected . I doubt I would have got a better results if I had gone the traditional method.....

I just want people to know that there are options if the traditional method doesn't suit you or your life style.... I know some ortho are feeling threatened about losing business to this newer way of doing things and think its unfair for anyone to be negative about something that they themselves have no first hand experience of.

Sorry again for bumpin in just felt I needed to voice my opinion !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 chickenlegs

I didn't say they don't work I said they are the same thing as normal ortho just taken off earlier therefore why would you go to a general dentist to get something done which a qualified orthodontist could do better obviously, and there isn't generally a price difference! therefore no price difference but big results difference illogical in my mind to go to the lesser qualified person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Pipsie Pie

an langer wrote: »
    I have a friend who got ceramic braces in the South at over 4,500 euro. I got the exact same treatment for wait for this, 2,500 'EURO' in the North! Even if you have to travel from kerry to the north you're not going to spend 2 grand on petrol! haha I see my orthodontist every 2 months!

Hi Langer,

Would you please pm me the details of the practice you used and the experience you had using them? i have tried getting an appointment in the place in Newry, but they're booked out... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭pinkfloyd34

im paying 4,500 in limerick but get back 910 from tax relief, so 3,600, are the prices here taking the tax relief into count, also if i have to visit the newry dentist i will probably have to take time off work so if i go up 10 times and im on 100eu a day thats 1,000 so it could end up the same and that doesnt even take the petrol money into account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Zaynar1234

Im currently being charged 3,500 for both sets of Damon Braces...

Got them on Friday, already one of the wires is loose on one of the brakcets. Not v impressed. Am going to ring dentist tomorow and give out. Considering I have not eaten since I got them on Friday its obviously his fault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Orthoman

Hi ChickenLegs,
    I think you just have to surrender and let them pay the exhorbitant fees for the 6 month brace technique, you won't get through. I gave up after a few posts.......they are sucked in by the marketing. The technique is obviously very advanced, high tech, involves extremely expensive training and material costs, clinically requires very competent cosmetic dentists to provide such treatment , who are pioneers in their field. They provide a service that qualified orthodontists don't due to a conspiracy and an oath the specialists must have undertaken during their training which says they must charge the same fee for 2 years of treatment instead of the same fee for 6 months that the 6 month brace experts do, just for the fun of it.

AND YES McBALLER, functionally the brackets are the same, the appearance may be different due to different manufacturers. The brackets will have slot sizes of either .018inches or .022 inches, and have various tip and torque angles depending on the preference of the operator. And no the archwires are not new, NiTi ...nickel titanium wires are around since the seventies.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 RaisinJohnson

<spam> If you wish to advertise your website, contact the site administrators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Orthoman wrote: »
    Hi ChickenLegs,
    I think you just have to surrender and let them pay the exhorbitant fees for the 6 month brace technique, you won't get through. I gave up after a few posts.......

Dont surrender orthoman, your posts are good and eventually people will get the message. For some reason the orthodontics, espically the 6 months braces threads and other marketed systems, is very popular on boards at the moment. I don't think this is an accident. I suspect a lot of spamming and false/ advertising threads started, for that reason alone your input is required. Also I know next to nothing about ortho so its a learning thing for me. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 NotaDinosaur

Fitzgeme and Orthoman,

I am worried about your inability to see that you are simply pushing your own agenda here. Spam indeed.

There are lots of sources showing the benefits of modern "Cosmetic Orthodontics", including "Six Month Braces".

Start with visiting www.dentaltown.com and listen to the American dentists on the matter.

As a moderator, you should have higher standards and allow a reasoned debate.

As for the topic, there is a wide range of people who provide braces in Ireland and all offer different services.

Shop around and don't believe that cheaper prices give similar results.

It's an exciting thing for people to do and has incredible effects on people's lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 cailin00

Hey, does anyone know anywhere that has dropped the price of braces? I've heard the prices have been dropped but don't know where. Was thinking of doing the whole budapest thing but if I can avoid it that'd be great

Prices will vary depending on the complexity of the case and the skills of the dentist/orthodontist that is doing the treatment. I would advise that low price should not be your chief priority. Braces need to be adjusted regularly (once a month) flying to another country will work out way too expensive in money and opportunity cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

Prices will vary depending on the complexity of the case and the skills of the dentist/orthodontist that is doing the treatment. I would advise that low price should not be your chief priority. Braces need to be adjusted regularly (once a month) flying to another country will work out way too expensive in money and opportunity cost.

Hi Fitzgeme, sorry if this is off topic in this thread. But I am wondering about retainers as an alternative to braces. I made an orthodontist appointment and the receptionist told me that retainers may be a possibility instead of braces, in cases where minor work is needed.
    Does she mean retainers that are just placed in the mouth every night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 chickenlegs

Had a look at that dental town mag funny you can do Orthodontics in two days whats next medicine in an hour we truly are evolving!!
    Retainers don't move teeth. There are many different options with their own pros and cons I'm sure your Orthodontist will explain everything at your consultation

Chickenlegs, is that the treatment where the teeth are surgically repositioned and the ligament severed? Crazy...whats the big rush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 cailin00

Yeah was thinkin the travel might be too much alright, Got an appointment with ***snip*** in Rathfarnham, was thinkin of gettin damon braces. Good or bad idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭vishal

no.fifteen wrote: »
    Hi Fitzgeme, sorry if this is off topic in this thread. But I am wondering about retainers as an alternative to braces. I made an orthodontist appointment and the receptionist told me that retainers may be a possibility instead of braces, in cases where minor work is needed.
    Does she mean retainers that are just placed in the mouth every night?

spring retainers move teeth. they are suitable for very minor alignment.
    the inman aligner is also a form of a spring retainer although it has a greater range of activation because nickel titanium coil springs (special metal springs)