Popular trends that make your blood boil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Girls who like/love football (soccer), and who support a team etc. There's something very unnatural about it.

I'm a guy and I don't even like football!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

enda1 wrote: »
    PLO Scarves!

Worst of them all I think. The idiots wearing them haven't a clue of their significance, nor the image they put accross to anyone who can think for themselves.

I really don't like politically motivated clothing or clothing that's supposed to send some stupid message such as:

German army jackets
    Celtic jerseys
    Charity message clothing (amnesty int. etc.)
    Che Guevara T-shirts
    USSR T-Shirts

It's better to wear clothing with Polo, or Nike or Armani plasterted on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I didn't use any big words, and I am quite aware of how the pathetically insignificant I am on almost every level.
    Sarah your a legend:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

slipss wrote: »
    It's better to wear clothing with Polo, or Nike or Armani plasterted on them?

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

genericguy wrote: »
    lads who obviously use ghds sticking their jeans into their socks.

Must work for them as You seen to have noticed them!:D

Why were ya looking there?Research?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Girls who like/love football (soccer), and who support a team etc. There's something very unnatural about it.

I'm a guy and I don't even like football!

You don't drink in the Turk's Head by any chance?

Nope, why?

The last time I was in there though was about 6 years ago and it was so crowded, had there been some sort of fire, no-one would have made it out alive. Was insane.

Actually, the girls liking football thing doesn't make my blood boil, I just think it's weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭SarahChambers

Hey Sarah did you ever find a guy around UCD after?

Yes I did, quite a few of them actually :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Gringo180

And listen to daniel o donnell

Yes I agree that uglies should realise that nobody wants to see their saggy fat bodies. I wear jeggings but I can pull them off, I don't think a lot of other girls can. The rule should be that if and only if you have got it, flaunt it.

"I cant pull them off" was an unfortunate way to phrase that SarahChambers!!!!:D

Most of mine relate to driving. These really do make my blood boil.

1. People on roundabouts who drive too fast and who make it almost impossible for others to get out as a result

2. People who don't use indicators on roundabouts, or who keep them on and don't pull off at the exit they indicate for.

The one that really got to me happened last week. I was driving home and had to turn right off the road to pull into the development where I live. I moved over close to the white line as there's no dedicated area on the road for people turning right.

I pulled over as close as I could to the white line to allow traffic to get by me on my left. I was sitting there waiting for a gap in the oncoming traffic for no longer than about 10 seconds, when some p***k behind me i some sort of landrover type thing, beeped the horn on his car at me to get out of the way.

That kind of s*** makes me go into a rage as it's obnoxious, ignorant and 9 times out of 10, it's just some self important w*****r going to something that doesn't matter. I'd bet it wasn't a doctor on some emergency house call. He also had his lights far too bright as well and they were blinding me in my mirrors.

I was seething with anger afterwards and wanted to take a wheel brace to his car at the very least.

Sigh, that feels better to get that out :)

ynotdu wrote: »
    "I cant pull them off" was an unfortunate way to phrase that SarahChambers!!!!:D

You sure I didn't mean it that way? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

Just because someone watches trashy television it doesn't mean they're stupid/dumb.

SarahChambers, what would you consider acceptable for a person with more discerning taste to be entertained by...Lyric FM, opera, reading Shakespeare's sonnets, watching a classic film? Do you not think that a person could enjoy all of the above, but also be entertained by something like the X Factor? People are multi-faceted, you don't have to enjoy just high-brow or low-brow entertainment. I know I like both, there's a time and a place. I don't look down on people who enjoy certain programmes.

I would, however, think that if someone thought that the X Factor was the very pinnacle of society/entertaintment, then there could be a problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

It is a difficult distinction to make, but there are certainly people who enjoy the X Factor who are not members of the bawling herds of ignorants. It is the case that the majority of people lack anything approaching good taste, as well as the mental faculties required to appreciate anything more complex than diarrhea pouring over the television screen. Anyway I think you have answered your own question, people who don't want to use their brains are "dumb".

Edit: I don't include people who may occasionally watch a couple of minutes of some vile pop culture just to laugh at it

"Taste is amor fati, the choice of destiny,but a forced choice, produced by conditions of existence which rule out all alternatives as mere daydreams and leave no choice but the taste for the necessary" - Pierre Bourdieu

I never thought I would use that quote on Boards :eek:

Basically he says that you do not have a choice in taste, and that you will "have a taste what you are already condemned to". It's unfair and wrong to suggest that because you have a preference for something like the X Factor, that you are ignorant.

Clearly you are a little needy when it comes to recognition of your mental abilities, so let me just say, your argument is flawed but at least you have forwarded it in an appropriate manner. Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

German army jackets
    Celtic jerseys

I had a surplus store German Army jacket for 10 years, one of the best jackets I ever owned, incredibly comfortable and warm.

I wear a Celtic jersey, never thought I was conveying any other message other than "I support Celtic". If you choose to take any inference from someone wearing one than that's your fault, not the wearers.

You sure I didn't mean it that way? ;)

Lol Sarah:)

The one that bugs me the most is 'GOING FORWARD' :confused:

What on earth is wrong with saying "in the future"???????:mad:

"Taste is amor fati, the choice of destiny,but a forced choice, produced by conditions of existence which rule out all alternatives as mere daydreams and leave no choice but the taste for the necessary" - Pierre Bourdieu

I never thought I would use that quote on Boards :eek:

Basically he says that you do not have a choice in taste, and that you will "have a taste what you are already condemned to". It's unfair and wrong to suggest that because you have a preference for something like the X Factor, that you are ignorant.

Clearly you are a little needy when it comes to recognition of your mental abilities, so let me just say, your argument is flawed but at least you have forwarded it in an appropriate manner. Well done

You have put forward a quote and then paraphrased it in a grammatically incorrect manner, not a great argument there either. I am not needy, I am bored. I can't leave college so early because my mom is at home and my friends are all studying because they are scared of failing, so I just bum around on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

PLO Scarves!

Worst of them all I think. The idiots wearing them haven't a clue of their significance, nor the image they put accross to anyone who can think for themselves.

I really don't like politically motivated clothing or clothing that's supposed to send some stupid message such as:

German army jackets
    Celtic jerseys
    Charity message clothing (amnesty int. etc.)
    Che Guevara T-shirts
    USSR T-Shirts

Do you mean the keffiyeh? I'm aware of the Palestinian connection. But you know what? Mine looks awesome on me and I will continue to wear it happy in the knowledge that most people on the street won't know the connection and I'm annoying people like you.

You probably hate Lawrence of Arabia too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

On-line petitions.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    It's not really the shows that annoy me, it's the fact that you can't escape them. I don't like or watch the X-factor. But I'm not and particularly bothered that it's on tv or that loads of people watch it. What annoys me is that all the papers, magazines and even the news are always full of stuff about the x-factor so you're forced to hear about it all the time.

You got that right. The other thing which really irritates me about "talent shows" is that they're an insult to artists and groups who had to work their asses off to be noticed. With the X Factor some nobody can walk in off the street and get instant fame and an almost guaranteed Christmas number one debut single. They don't even have to be able to sing, as has been proven recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

In fairness, anyone who doesn't view said reality tv shows as 'dumb tv' would be kidding themselves.

Not everyone who watches them are unintelligent or desperate to fit in, but those shows do appeal to those people.

'Dumb TV' does annoy me, but it wouldn't make my blood boil. I've just no interest in it at all. I'm a straight male, I don't like pop music or dancing around the place and I'm not into 'gossip & celebs'.

If I feel like switching off and watching something mindless, I'd slap on the simpsons or whatever, as bad as that show is , I'd rather watch it over that other crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

You have put forward a quote and then paraphrased it in a grammatically incorrect manner, not a great argument there either. I am not needy, I am bored. I can't leave college so early because my mom is at home and my friends are all studying because they are scared of failing, so I just bum around on the internet.

I didn't paraphrase the quote, I summarised his theory. My advice is since you're in college and are so concerned with classifying people according to their taste, then go get his book, it's called "Distinction". Someone as intellectually superior as yourself could read it while the rest of the 'bawling herds of ignorants' watch the X Factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

its a loada shíte

That's your subjective opinion. So many depressing things in the world what's wrong with light entertainment.

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    In fairness, anyone who doesn't view said reality tv shows as 'dumb tv' would be kidding themselves.

Not everyone who watches them are unintelligent or desperate to fit in, but those shows do appeal to those people.

'Dumb TV' does annoy me, but it wouldn't make my blood boil. I've just no interest in it at all. I'm a straight male, I don't like pop music or dancing around the place and I'm not into 'gossip & celebs'.

If I feel like switching off and watching something mindless, I'd slap on the simpsons or whatever, as bad as that show is , I'd rather watch it over that other crap.

And those who watch the 'Documentry' Channels dont realise they are watching Popular 'Sh1te' or propaganda most of the time!!!
    Oh the Pentagon just Love Discoverys channels!;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

I didn't paraphrase the quote, I summarised his theory. My advice is since you're in college and are so concerned with classifying people according to their taste, then go get his book, it's called "Distinction". Someone as intellectually superior as yourself could read it while the rest of the 'bawling herds of ignorants' watch the X Factor

Looks interesting.I'll get it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gav_neonstars

Trends that annoy me.. hmm..

The current fixation everybody has these days with fuppin vampires!

The fact that it seems parachute pants are coming back into fashion. Ide say MC Hammer is ****kin delighted with himself!

The super homosexual haircuts that every little scumbag posses in every council estate in Dublin. Gelled down fringe and little spikes at the back with a big red stripe going down the side. IT LOOKS FOOKIN RIDICULOUS! There is nothing cool about a boy taking half an hour perfecting your fringe..

Fad bands. Currently bands that are pissing me off. The xx, Florence and the machine, Little boots, Friendly Fires.. I could go on.

Talking on your phone in you car . Now talk on your phone if you want, im not the Garda. BUT what the fook is the point in holding up your phone in front of your face whilst its on speaker phone! Just put the bastard to your ear or hang up and stop being a douche bag.

X Factor/im a celebrity/strictly come dancing can all swing off my mickey! I genuinely think these sorts of shows make you stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Cunny-Funt wrote: »

I wouldn't say that X Factor isn't dumb but enjoying doesn't mean that I am dumb.

Oh and by the way everyone I am she not a he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Popular trends that make your blood boil..

Hmmmm....
    • Posting on boards.ie :p
    • Closing threads on boards.ie. ;)
    • AH Mods quiting on boards.ie :(
    • That noise they call music these days. :eek:
    • Filing lawsuits for frivalous reasons just like the Americans. :mad:
    • The popular trend for mass hysteria anytime a crime is commited that shocks the nation. :mad:

Guys who fart in the gym or when you are on the dance floor in a nite club.

Was in the gym the other day doing cardio, sucking in air when I get a blast of something very unpleasant. F*****g disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

ynotdu wrote: »
    And those who watch the 'Documentry' Channels dont realise they are watching Popular 'Sh1te' or propaganda most of the time!!!
    Oh the Pentagon just Love Discoverys channels!;):)

whats that got to do with my post?

Lux23 wrote: »
    I wouldn't say that X Factor isn't dumb but enjoying doesn't mean that I am dumb.

I didn't say it did, but it defiantly doest mean your smart :pac: