Public transport..your horror stories

• 20-11-2009 01:31AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭

I thought id ask the question as every time i use the bus something happens so post your stories.

Twice in a roe one night after the other i took a bus from the university gym to town..about 25-30 mins drive..wrecked after a good gyming secession a load of students walked onto the bus drunk (the university bar is there)..place was packed out, people standing by the door, they were shouting at the top of their lungs drinking cans, bottols of wine, smoking, rolling joints, hitting the windows and banging the ground to the chants they were singing..i was the only sober peoson there, the lads at the back were throwing this guy up and hitting him off the roof..while a couple americans were taking pics of all the comotion..it was absolute chaos!

this was taken from the very route im on about

another time i was heading home and a rock hit the window i was sitting on and had shattered but not completely broke the window..if it was any bigger i would have gone straight through the window and either killing me or seriously damaging my cheek bone

another time i was on the bus a group of girls hopped on, (only 4or5 pm) they couldnt have been more than 15, they stank of booze and after bout 5 mins of them being on the bus one of them puked into their hand, by the end of the journey there was a 20 foot trail of sick running all the way to the back of the bus

iv so many more, so many times i get on and something happens..so stupid..i absolutely HATE public transport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Fuckin' students? Bag of shite...

/Paul Calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Found the problem OP, you live in Limerick :pac:

On topic, I havent had many incidents, lemme try think of some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I once traveled on a bus.

It was sh1t.

The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Well I have asthma, and cold air tends to set me off. So I got on the bus heading into town and some ****er lights up. I told the bus driver but he wasn't interested.

Anyway, my Ventolin wasn't working and I was wheezing like a camel and required an ambulance. Wasn't a good night :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

First time I got the train on my own, July 2007 - I was 13. A few weeks after the bombs in London.

An Asian bloke got on, big rucksack. Took out the Koran; and, I swear, started reading it outloud.

I moved carriages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Assh0le bus driver who accused me of paying 25c out of a €1.50 fare despite me being 100% positive I put in €1.50. Apparently I was barred from the bus :rolleyes:, Too bad I use the bus every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Sitting close to smelly hobos and/or junkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭rororoyourboat

Ah, the Thursday night 308...I too have been on that sober - scary stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I don't do public transport. Mainly because there isn't any where I live, but also partly because I hate the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I don't do public transport. Mainly because there isn't any where I live, but also partly because I hate the general public.
    Ditto. Bloody proles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

I saw a guy come on the train with a machete once and he started banging all the windows trying to get someone to say something to him.
    Luckily the Guards came on at the next stop and took him off before he did anything :eek: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

falling down the stairs of the bus when i was 5......:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

brummytom wrote: »
    First time I got the train on my own, July 2007 - I was 13. A few weeks after the bombs in London.

An Asian bloke got on, big rucksack. Took out the Koran; and, I swear, started reading it outloud.

I moved carriages
    reminds me of the radio in gta 4......best laugh ever

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Busses are for people who cant buy bicycles, really is the lowest of the low, no wonder there are so many smelly hobos on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

FearDark wrote: »
    Busses are for people who cant buy bicycles, really is the lowest of the low, no wonder there are so many smelly hobos on it.

Cyclists are just hobos on wheels who smell of sweat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

There was the time they had to call the guards onto the bus to wrestle a nut off.

The time the same nut spat on a guy for no apparent reason, tried to start a fight with a ten year old, then mooned the entire bus.

The time I watched an overweight drunk couple, canoodling.

The time I was sat next to the smelly murderer.

The time the girl sitting behind me was talking about
    - electrodes in her brain and an eminent war
    - murderers having to kill themselves and their families.
    - hanging black people by their ***** on a skewer
    - about how old architecture was great while staring at a galvanised shed and saying what a nice building it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Nuggles wrote: »
    ...they had to call the guards onto the bus to wrestle a nut off....

Painful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Strung-out junky threatening to vomit on a pregnant African lady who was claiming her waters just broke.

Or the time the junky went and shat himself.

The 78a is full of fun. And heroin.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I was on a bus where someone was stabbed, another where a woman was beaten and was offered crack and that was just one route from Eden Quay.

A guy attempted to mug me at a bus stop once on Thomas St but he was so out of it he passed out and fell over.

I was on a train where part of the carraige fell off it was that old.

I was puked on on a train once.

I missed a job interview due to a train being so late and stopping for an unexplained reason for 20 minutes.

When on crutches an old bit*h kicked me in the leg for not giving up my seat for her, aparently I had four legs so I should be standing according to her. Fortunatly she kicked the edge of the brace and it hurt her way more that it hurt me.

So in short, I hate public transport but I am sometimes stuck using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ah, was enjoying that up to the point they started singing thr fecing national anthemy.

Nice blone 48 seconds in - (20 odd posts in and no-one's pointed that out yet..? AH Standards are slipping)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Feckin amateurs.
    Were the police called? No.
    Did it make the papers? No.

(last 30 seconds)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I just saw ItsallabouttheL on the first video in the OP!!!! Fcukin chav he is!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

I saw one guy cleaning the windows on a bus with a little piece of tissue and a lot of spit.

I never rested my head on a bus window again after that one.

Ewwwwww!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

A bunch of gang members tried robbing the bus and during the struggle the bus went over a cliff. A dutch fella was shot and 2 Hondurans killed in the plunge. Irish buses are a breeze compared to the stuff on foreign ones.

Yeah, but . . . spitty head. . ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭foodie66

I was once bringing a top bk to the shop when a little chinese baby projectile vomited right into my shopping bag.... that was the end of getting my money bk for that. Little b!tch :(:(

I have had to use the bus a lot for long journeys and its basically ppl's lack of personal hygiene that is disgusting!!! Why do some ppl have an aversion to washing?? And im talking both foreign and Irish. Its no fun being stuck beside a sweaty guy for 2 and a half hours!

Then of course you have the weirdo's/pervs who see a girl sitting by herself and come and try it on... they are sorry in the end though when it turns out im not as shy as i look and i tear strips off them, their all :eek::eek::eek:

My friend was once stuck beside a foreigner who started chanting every hour on the hour, LOL!! She was morto!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

not a horror story bu just weird...

i was sitting upstairs down the back and this black man gets on and sits down the back on the opposite side and oua nowere he gets on his knees and puts his elows on the seats ad starts praying..i was like :confused: he was like that for like 2 minutes...strange

also why do old men pick everything they see on the ground up and keep it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭baalthor

On a bus in Dublin late one night a guy got on, looked OK but half way through my journey he threw up and I mean threw up - how could one person contain so much vomit?? it was sloshing around the bus floor like those floods over in Galway. Then he just stood up and got off at the next stop. That's when I decided to buy a car ...

I knew a guy years ago who worked as a conductor (remember them?) on some of the west Dublin routes and yes he had plenty of scary stories.
    Like "Fare please?" "Oh you have a big knife, well you don't need a ticket so much then ..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭baalthor

A bunch of gang members tried robbing the bus and during the struggle the bus went over a cliff. A dutch fella was shot and 2 Hondurans killed in the plunge. Irish buses are a breeze compared to the stuff on foreign ones.

Or in America where the driver had to keep the bus over 50mph or it would blow up ..