Yusuf (aka Cat Stevens) Jeered and Heckled at comeback gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

I was at the gig, paid €210 for two tickets and left early.

It was a deplorable gig, and whilst I didn't involve myself in boo'ing for heckling I can understand the frustrations of the people who did.

I've never witnessed such hostility from an audience before, it was pretty shocking.
    shocking? I thought you spent time in the Leb?

catbear wrote: »
    I was at a Bowie gig in the point mid-ninties that went down very badly. It heavily advertised on the radio, using all the hits in the ads. However the his actually setlist had only three or four songs of his hits, the rest of the show was utter crap. i vaguely remember one song had "hallo spaceboy' as a chorus. Around me people were shouting "wanker" etc, but the music was too loud. The place was easily half empty well before the end. False advertising.

I was at a Bowie gig around that time - it was savage!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Moojuice wrote: »
    And if U2 had only played obscure B-sides and/or little known songs, would they have go the same reaction?
    I'd have cheered.

Gerry, is that you? How's Harry Crosbie? Do you call him "Harry Crosbie" when you're speaking to him, or do you just shorten it to "Sir"?
    Kneel before TOD.
    Degsy wrote: »
    Tax dodging,hypocritical scumbags..bono is sniggering all the way to his offshore bank.
    Offshore banks?
    Proof?

phasers wrote: »
    Putting an ad in the middle of your concert is pure asshole behaviour tbh
    You rule.

I think if U2 played Bsides or older songs it would have been classed as a treat for U2 fans. Sure look at the new REM album from the olympia. They demoed tracks from an album that was not released and then played all Bsides and tracks that were not known or ones that had not been played before

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Live_at_The_Olympia

I remember seeing U2 about five years ago.
    The people around me had no idea what was going on when they played "Party Girl".
    The seasonal fans piss me off.
    Ooh, I have a hard to get ticket. I'm awesome.
    **** off to a coldplay gig, you sons of bitches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 borisbullrunner

Sheeps wrote: »
    Why did he rename himself from a bad name to a shockingly bad name?

relax there mate. he's islamic now, it's an Islamic name. it's only shockingly bad to you because you're close minded to other cultures

Jesus lads he's an artist. He was most likely trying his best to impress his fans. He may have overdone it, but at least he's trying his best. He aint a Bono, he sticks by his morals and tries his best for his fans. Even though you walked out on him he still played. I hope you never get the chance to see him again because you aren't true fans. Artists can't just play what is expected of them like "greatest hits" concerts, they play what they feel and how they feel.

Noone needs your sorts as a fan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Jesus lads he's an artist. He was most likely trying his best to impress his fans. He may have overdone it, but at least he's trying his best. He aint a Bono, he sticks by his morals and tries his best for his fans. Even though you walked out on him he still played. I hope you never get the chance to see him again because you aren't true fans. Artists can't just play what is expected of them like "greatest hits" concerts, they play what they feel and how they feel.

Noone needs your sorts as a fan.

Yousuf Islam HAS no fans..cat stevens had fans and if the clown cant see that in alot of people's minds there's no difference then he can expect this sort of stuff at more concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Yousuf Islam HAS no fans..cat stevens had fans and if the clown cant see that in alot of people's minds there's no difference then he can expect this sort of stuff at more concerts.

Let's see... he tours as Yousuf Islam (promoters explain that he was formerly known as Cat Stevens) and attracts a good crowd to the 02. Yeah, silly of him to think he had fans.

F him and his wanting to be an individual, and his mad notion that people might possibly want to hear stuff he's been working on for the last 30+ years. We paid to see a human jukebox, damnit! Play peace train ya f***** b******!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Feck him.The fans made him who he is- play the f'n tunes the people want to hear,they paid their money.
    He didnt deliver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

if the Musical preview was at the start noone would be bothered.

bigeasyeah wrote: »
    Feck him.The fans made him who he is- play the f'n tunes the people want to hear,they paid their money.
    He didnt deliver.

He played the hits ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

geeky wrote: »
    He played the hits ffs.

Yeah with a lot messing about.

bigeasyeah wrote: »
    Yeah with a lot messing about.

A lot of 'messing about' - new material, and a preview of a west end show - that other fans might be interested in. If people wanted a personal playlist, they should have listened to itunes.

And I can take it that you're backing off the claim that 'he didn't deliver'?

F him and his wanting to be an individual

By renaming himself after one of the largest religions in the world?
    VERY individual that was..he was,by all accounts using his new "identity" to grandsatnd about his new chosen faith..he's a ****ing phony..if he wants to be a musician he should play music and shut the hell up about religeon.

the fans certainly made thier feelings in the crap he's beeen "working on for 30+ years" known.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I have a simple message for Yusuf: Give the focking people who paid focking good money to hear you, what they focking want.

I don't expect a butcher to say to me when I pay for a thick cut striploin, "Aaah here pal, that stuff is not good for you, here's a pork chop instead"

Give the focking public what they paid for pal, and everyone would be happy, don't be shoving your crap down their throats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭oceanclub

I've never heard of such a hysterical overreaction from a crowd. Biting people, FFS? It's not like the guy turned up drunk and not being able to play. Or played a handful of songs. Screaming at him to play a certain song like he's a jukebox - why would someone pay to go to a concert if you have no respect for the artist you're seeing? My aunt was at the Nolans concert last week and mentioned how she ended up covered in drink from women standing next to her roaring their heads off and sloshing their glasses - maybe the venue attracts a certain type of boor.

P.

I have a simple message for Yusuf: Give the focking people who paid focking good money to hear you, what they focking want.

I don't expect a butcher to say to me when I pay for a thick cut striploin, "Aaah here pal, that stuff is not good for you, here's a pork chop instead"

Give the focking public what they paid for pal, and everyone would be happy, don't be shoving your crap down their throats.

true enough.
    Even that wretched cnunt Bono knew not to be giving it all the shiit about africa when they palyed thier last gig in Dublin...a tax-cheating scrounging hipocryte he may be but he knew the mood of the crowd this year and they werent about to let him crap on about third world debt when they were struggling themselves.
    Scumbag though he is at least he shut the fcuck up and played U2 music...exactly what the deluded fans wanted to hear.

He does have fans ya prat. why'd so many go to the concert in first place? I personally am a fan of Cat Stevens and of Yusuf Islam and respect his open mindedness to try different things. He may have gotten it wrong this time but i'd still see him if he came again no problem. it's just idiots like you that expect greates hits crap all the time. Seasonal fans. get to know his new stuff and ya can talk then ya close minded pop culture prat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

I'm a go to Paul Mccartney and scream "Play the Froggy Chorus you droopy-faced cuckolded lover of One-legged golddiggers".

Brilliant:D

There's a difference between listening to someone's art and buying meat.

If you don't get that, then you're simply a philistine and a fool.

good man geeky. at least someone can see what im talkin about

No...you liek a certain type of meat so you buy it..if you try to buy it and somebody fobs you off with an inferior cut for more money under the same label you have the right to be agrieved.
    There's a serious smell of pachouli oil about some of these posts:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

He does have fans ya prat. why'd so many go to the concert in first place? I personally am a fan of Cat Stevens and of Yusuf Islam and respect his open mindedness to try different things. He may have gotten it wrong this time but i'd still see him if he came again no problem. it's just idiots like you that expect greates hits crap all the time. Seasonal fans. get to know his new stuff and ya can talk then ya close minded pop culture prat.

Banned for personal abuse.

Jeesus..that just wiped out all his apologists at a stroke:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Murphyt

I think that he went over the top with 40 mins in the middle of the show, I am all for artists experimenting with new songs and ideas but you have to fit them into the rest of the set. I agree that you do not want just the hits as that is boring, but a good mix of old, some B-side stuff and new stuff works well. He could have easily played at least half of this 'interlude' as a support slot and then the rest in the middle making it clear that he would return and as an artist he should know this, it is just bad set listing.

Some people obviously went a bit over the top in complaining, however I do think that they should complain to the artist and not wait till afterwards as that is how live performances are done. If an artist plays well you dont stay silent and wait till it is over then go to the promoter and tell them you enjoyed it!

There is a bit much being made of one guy near Gerry Ryan calling out about a some song he wants, that happens at every gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Let's see... he tours as Yousuf Islam (promoters explain that he was formerly known as Cat Stevens) and attracts a good crowd to the 02.

That didn't stop him extorting a hundred quid a ticket on the strength of the name "Cat Stevens".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭oceanclub

That didn't stop him extorting a hundred quid a ticket on the strength of the name "Cat Stevens".

His name was Cat Stevens.

He played quite a few Cat Stevens songs on the night.

I'm still failing to see the reason for biting security guards or/and getting arrested.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

There's a serious smell of pachouli oil about some of these posts:rolleyes:
    Kumbaya Degsers, kumbaya.

Damn hippy liberals. :D

oceanclub wrote: »
    His name was Cat Stevens.

He played quite a few Cat Stevens songs on the night.

I'm still failing to see the reason for biting security guards or/and getting arrested.

P.

He didn't play Peace Train, the ****ing bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 propjo

I've given up on this thread. Ignorance is bliss as they say and I think most posters here are a prime example.

Someone here said one of the best concerts of their lives was the U2 360 and that was 30 odd quid, those were the "cheap seats" , they did range up to 130 quid. Giving out about the ticket price for Yusuf on this example is nonsense. Those gigs were huge capacity stadiums.

Any concert I go to I like to hear a good mix, a B side that maybe they mightn't play too regualrily, make the experience a bit different for each concert. Posters here seem to think artists should play the hits and nothing but the hits. The referral to buying meat is the oddest comparison I've heard. How long do you think they would last touring if they went out and played the same songs everynight. Why should they work on new music if when they go to play it they are booed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

This thread is what makes AH, well - AH.

And Degsy, you've surpassed yourself here - BRAVO, it was worth a bad dig just to see you at your best :D