Yusuf (aka Cat Stevens) Jeered and Heckled at comeback gig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Moojuice wrote: »
    Only read your post after I posted. I said pretty much the same as you. Bunch of c*nts at the show. Next time, F*ck off and stay at home you ignorant assh*les.
    Or how about he actually performs songs and not piss everyone off with ads? I don't think they're ignorant assholes, i think they're being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

TheZohan wrote: »
    You don't mind paying €35 when they're such a sound bunch of lads, local lads too.

And if U2 had only played obscure B-sides and/or little known songs, would they have go the same reaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

TheZohan wrote: »
    You don't mind paying €35 when they're such a sound bunch of lads, local lads too.

Gerry, is that you? How's Harry Crosbie? Do you call him "Harry Crosbie" when you're speaking to him, or do you just shorten it to "Sir"?

And if U2 had only played obscure B-sides and/or little known songs, would they have go the same reaction?

Or if U2 left the stage for 40 minutes while a musical rendition of their songs by members of 5ive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

No. But i think any band/artist who decides to play a 40 minute ad during a gig that people have forked out 100 euro for, deserves to get booed.

Wagon wrote: »
    Or how about he actually performs songs and not piss everyone off with ads? I don't think they're ignorant assholes, i think they're being honest.

He did perform songs, some of which were from his musical. If people have a problem with it they should boo and jeer and complain to the promoters, not the artist. See the paper advert here:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/archive/2009/1107/Pg023.html#Ad02302:25815C29418029F15C32B180
    Scroll to the right and you will see a clear mention that there was going to be a showcase of the musical. People were pissed off because he didnt play the songs THEY wanted to hear. Like I said, in that case f8ck off home and listen to ta cd.

No. But i think any band/artist who decides to play a 40 minute ad during a gig that people have forked out 100 euro for, deserves to get booed.

Then they should have done their research properly about what he has played in previous shows or complained AFTER the gig, either to the artists management or the promoters. But instead the audience didn't have the respect or decency to wait and instead decided to act like boorish assholes. Plenty of people who went enjoyed the show and enjoyed the musical aspect and plenty went and though disappointed, did not feel the need to act like the majority of the audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I know people who were at it and from what I heave heard from them and others, the behaviour of the crowd was absolutely vile. A bunch of ignorant assholes. There was no advertisement in the show, it was music from a musical. If you have any respect for an artist then you should respect their choice of songs and how they put on the show. If you want to hear all the hits then stay at home and listen to a cd. Booing, jeering and heckling the guy through out the whole show is asshole behaviour. If people weren't happy they could have gone and asked for their money back and pursued the matter in a more civil way rather than insult the man and drive him to the brink of tears. If people were too stupid to do a bit of research about his current songs and his current tour, then they are ignorant, yobbish ****ing idiots.

Actually had you attended the gig you'd have known that a significant number of people made their annoyance known at the concierge desk in the O2 foyer area.

I felt a little sorry for the poor lad on the desk, I think all the staff (including security) were completely caught unaware's by the audience reaction to a terrible show.

Both the attendent at the desk and security staff refused to deal with people's complaints, and refused to have a representitive of either the O2 or POD.ie to come to the area to address people's complaints.

This didn't help matter's at all, really the whole thing was handled very badly from start to end.

People here, like you, who weren't at the show can not appreciate just how bad the boo'ing, jearing and heckling was. As bad as a show was, and in my opinion it was probably the worse gig I've been to since Bob Dylan way back in 1984, I'd have sat it out in the hope that it would turn around but by the time I decided to high tail it out of there it was pretty obvious that the night was ruined.

This was a seriously flawed show, and with the amount of bad publicity surrounding it I'm disappointed that POD entertainments have not found it in themselves to make some kind of public comment - why are they burying their heads in the sand?.

Actually had you attended the gig you'd have known that a significant number of people made their annoyance known at the concierge desk in the O2 foyer area.

I felt a little sorry for the poor lad on the desk, I think all the staff (including security) were completely caught unaware's by the audience reaction to a terrible show.

Both the attendent at the desk and security staff refused to deal with people's complaints, and refused to have a representitive of either the O2 or POD.ie to come to the area to address people's complaints.

This didn't help matter's at all, really the whole thing was handled very badly from start to end.

People here, like you, who weren't at the show can not appreciate just how bad the boo'ing, jearing and heckling was. As bad as a show was, and in my opinion it was probably the worse gig I've been to since Bob Dylan way back in 1984, I'd have sat it out in the hope that it would turn around but by the time I decided to high tail it out of there it was pretty obvious that the night was ruined.

This was a seriously flawed show, and with the amount of bad publicity surrounding it I'm disappointed that POD entertainments have not found it in themselves to make some kind of public comment - why are they burying their heads in the sand?.

Fair enough, I stand corrected on the point about people complaining on the night. But like I said, complain to the owners of the O2, the management and the promoters but don't jeer and boo the guy during the show. Some people had the decency to go out and complain and not jeer, so why not everyone else? If they refused to deal with complaints on the night then all the more reason to complain to the venue managment. I can appreciate how bad it all was as I spoke to people who did attend and who explained how bad it was. The power of words are an amazing thing. My main points stand, and not being there to see people complaining does not change that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Funny you should mention that, because the best gig I've ever been to was the U2 360 tour and I got tickets for €35 each - for the biggest and best rock band in the world that was a snip.

Tax dodging,hypocritical scumbags..bono is sniggering all the way to his offshore bank.

Fair enough, I stand corrected on the point about people complaining on the night. But like I said, complain to the owners of the O2, the management and the promoters but don't jeer and boo the guy during the show. Some people had the decency to go out and complain and not jeer, so why not everyone else? If they refused to deal with complaints on the night then all the more reason to complain to the venue managment. I can appreciate how bad it all was as I spoke to people who did attend and who explained how bad it was. The power of words are an amazing thing. My main points stand, and not being there to see people complaining does not change that.

Ok, but have you questioned WHY people carried on as they did?

Like I said earlier, we're not naturally a boisterous people, if anything we're submissive to the point of taking it up the arse from everyone.

To me its an indication of just how bad the show was, the size of the error of judgement made in putting on that preview and more worryingly is possibly the under lying feelings of anger and frustration by the Irish people and something may have just tipped the pot!.

I've been saying it lately, and I hope I'm not proved right.

Reading people lately, the current public sector protests, the private sectors reactions to them, the general ill feeling people have towards our government, the recession etc - that its only a matter of time before there's real civil disobedience in the country.

I hope this is the last time I witness the pure hatred and aggression I witnessed at the Yusef Islam concert - but I fear its not.

The people are restless, they're angry & they're kicking back.

All that and a combination of a really back gig is what I blaim on the behaviour of the audience. We're in desparate time's.

Degsy wrote: »
    Tax dodging,hypocritical scumbags..bono is sniggering all the way to his offshore bank.

I don't care because I got the gig of a life time for €35-, I was sniggering too!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭furiousox

Maybe its been said already but surely the sensible thing would have been to put the 'musical interlude' on first as 'support'?

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Reading people lately, the current public sector protests, the private sectors reactions to them, the general ill feeling people have towards our government, the recession etc - that its only a matter of time before there's real civil disobedience in the country.

Perhaps all that aggression then might have been directed at a more appropriate target than Yusuf Islam...

I don't care because I got the gig of a life time for €35-, I was sniggering too!.

Should've brought your rifle..you'd be assured of a place in history if you'd popped one in the midget and shut him up for good.

geeky wrote: »
    Perhaps all that aggression then might have been directed at a more appropriate target than Yusuf Islam...

Your right, without a doubt your right.

I wrote it in another discussion, Yusuf is a wonderful, beautiful person. When he sang it was magical, his voice was amazing but it all fell apart very, very quickly.

I don't think he sat out to rip anyone off, but I felted cheated out of €210.

My words to my partner when leaving was "come on, we'll hit town and try make a night of this yet" ... I went into town and got locked :P

But, and its only my own obversation, the bad gig was the spark that ignited that feeling.

I know people who were at it and from what I heave heard from them and others, the behaviour of the crowd was absolutely vile. A bunch of ignorant assholes. There was no advertisement in the show, it was music from a musical. If you have any respect for an artist then you should respect their choice of songs and how they put on the show. If you want to hear all the hits then stay at home and listen to a cd. Booing, jeering and heckling the guy through out the whole show is asshole behaviour. If people weren't happy they could have gone and asked for their money back and pursued the matter in a more civil way rather than insult the man and drive him to the brink of tears. If people were too stupid to do a bit of research about his current songs and his current tour, then they are ignorant, yobbish ****ing idiots.

It could have been worse, they could have issued a religious edict that he be killed.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    It could have been worse, they could have issued a religious edict that he be killed.

A Fatwah if you will...

Degsy wrote: »
    A Fatwah if you will...

*slow clap*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Sorry mak, I seem to be hitting on you, nothing personal.

Yussuf or what ever he calls himself now is nothing but a fcuking chancer, and terrific talent who screwed it all up by getting involved with stuff and being so frikken dense that he believed that everybody else gave a shít.

He was great as Cat Stevens, but like a lot of these artists became consumed by his own success and mistakenly believed that the public will accept any auld shíte, give slack for a bit of "eccentricity" ,and generally allowed his beliefs to consume his talent,and expected the public to ride along with him.

My golden bollox... got his answer and thanks be to jaysus there are some honest people out there.

Sorry mak, I seem to be hitting on you, nothing personal.

Yussuf or what ever he calls himself now is nothing but a fcuking chancer, and terrific talent who screwed it all up by getting involved with stuff and being so frikken dense that he believed that everybody else gave a shít.

He was great as Cat Stevens, but like a lot of these artists became consumed by his own success and mistakenly believed that the public will accept any auld shíte, give slack for a bit of "eccentricity" ,and generally allowed his beliefs to consume his talent,and expected the public to ride along with him.

My golden bollox... got his answer and thanks be to jaysus there are some honest people out there.

Personally thats not my belief (in relation to Yusuf Islam).

Since I was a young teen I've probably listened to him most days, I 'get' his lyrics, they've struck a cord with me through various times in my life.

But since the gig I haven't been able to even stomach the thoughts of playing his songs, I know over the course of time this will change. I'd dying to hear him.

He didn't deserve the boo'ing etc the other night, neither did those kids who performed during the musical interlude (or whatever they called it), but happened and something set it off.

Couldn't resist it any longer...

Go on ya bollix!.

Personally thats not my belief (in relation to Yusuf Islam).

Since I was a young teen I've probably listened to him most days, I 'get' his lyrics, they've struck a cord with me through various times in my life.

But since the gig I haven't been able to even stomach the thoughts of playing his songs, I know over the course of time this will change. I'd dying to hear him.

He didn't deserve the boo'ing etc the other night, neither did those kids who performed during the musical interlude (or whatever they called it), but happened and something set it off.

Indeed indeed.

You see some of these talented people get caught up with their own success.

There you were enjoying his music, voice ,lyrics.

No harm in that, none at all.

Where Cat made the mistake was believing that he could become more "exotic" by adopting a different persona ,converting to a different religion and thinking he could bring his fans along, when in reality, all they are interested in are his songs.

:D Shure the Beatles tried it with Maharashi Yogi but they were big enough and intelligent enough to carry it off.

I heard the "reverent" ads for the show, the voice over even had to explain who he "used to be" :D How fcuking thick is that.

That told me all I needed to know.

Steer clear Flutt:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭cosmic

propjo wrote: »
    I have never posted here before, but I can not get over the ignorance on here and at the show on Sunday.

Welcome to After Hours! :D

Indeed indeed.

Where Cat made the mistake was believing that he could become more "exotic" by adopting a different persona ,converting to a different religion and thinking he could bring his fans along, when in reality, all they are interested in are his songs.

:D Shure the Beatles tried it with Maharashi Yogi but they were big enough and intelligent enough to carry it off.

I heard the "reverent" ads for the show, the voice over even had to explain who he "used to be" :D How fcuking thick is that.

That told me all I needed to know.

Steer clear Flutt:cool:

The chances are there would've been a queue for the toilets as well...you did well to keep away.

Gerard was there, chances are there would be a large languid log languishing in the VIP shitters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Indeed indeed.

Wow. If you want to attack his music or personality for whatever perverse reasons fair enough, but to suggest he made a commitment to change his religion just to make a bit of money or appear 'exotic' is probably more insulting to the man than any boos or heckles he got last night.

[whisper mode]its FlutterinBantam ya muppet [/whisper mode]

/I'm not really calling you a muppet!.

Look, it's obvious that you can't be an evangelical Muslim in the pop industry, but it's fine to be an evangelical christian like Bono or Van Morrison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Look, it's obvious that you can't be an evangelical Muslim in the pop industry, but it's fine to be an evangelical christian like Bono or Van Morrison.

Or a self made man who worships his creator. Like Bono or Van Morrison.