What Cars Have You Owned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭sakigrant

1) Saab 99
    2) Ford Escort Mexico
    3) Morris Marina Van
    4) Vauxhall Firenza
    5) Vauxhall Astra
    6) Rover 216 Vitesse
    7) Renault 5
    8) Ruska Regina
    9) Vauxhall Cavalier
    10) Ford Transit
    11) Citroen ZX
    12) Toyota Avensis
    13) Ford Mondeo Estate
    14) Ford Mondeo Saloon
    14) Renault Scenic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

1) 2000 Volkswagen Golf
    2) 2003 Toyota Corolla
    3) 2002 Mitsubishi Pajero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

1) 2000 Fiat Punto
    2) 1992 BMW 320i (E36)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

1998 Nissan Micra 1.0l - still have. Bullet proof. Went from Newbridge to Roscrea to Rosslare to London on one tank of fuel in Sept!! My 1st car. Have it 10 years now.

1986 BMW 520i E28 - father now has. Restored it. Would love it back!

1997 Laguna 1.8i - almost 200,000 miles on it. Can't fault. Bought it for €1,900 5 years ago and drive it daily. Will never sell.

1986 BMW 318i Chrome Bumper E30. Orginal Irish car so old style reg. Restored it. Brill car to drive and have fun in!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

1998 Honda Civic
    2002 Honda Civic
    1997 Honda Integra Type R
    1998 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 5
    2001 VW Golf GTi (Mk4)
    2002 BMW X5 4.4 V8 Sport
    2005 Toyota Avensis D4D
    2005 BMW 320d (E90 Shape)
    2002 MG ZR

all started off in March 2002 when i bought the 98' Civic from my parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 breno58

1997 fiat punto 1,2
    2000 mitsubishi colt 1.3
    1999 citreon berlingo 1.9D
    1994 subaru impreza 1.5
    1996 mitsubishi lancer 1.5
    1996 mitsubishi mirage 1.5
    2002 vw bora 1.6
    1995 toyota carina 2.0D
    1997 rover 214 1.4
    1995 ford escort 1.4
    1993 nissan micra 1.0
    1997 mitsubishi mirage 1.5
    1996 mitsubishi lancer 1.3
    2000 subaru legacy 2.0
    1998 toyota glanza v 1.3
    1999 mitsubishi colt mivec 1.6
    1999 honda civic vti 1.6
    i currently have a 1993 wrx impreza and a 1995 nissan micra lol

im sure theres some cars im forgetting as i get fed up fairly easy and change quite a lot, ive only been driving 5 years :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭tdc

01 VW golf 1.4
    02 VW golf 1.9 tdi
    01 BMW 318

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

1994 Peugeot 106..Meh starting car.

1997 Hyundai Coupe.....loved it, will buy one again some day.

1994 Suzuki Vitara.....Absolute dirtbox that gave me no end of trouble.

1996 Seat Toledo 1.9D......A kind dealer agreed a straight swap for the Vitara. Solid enough ol' yoke.

1991 Toyota Sera.....My favourite car. Have recently put a 1.3 Turbo engine and manual gearbox from a Starlet GT into it. Will never sell this one. Have had it with me when I lived in Holland, Belgium, and have been all over Europe in it.

1995 BMW 520i.....Did the job when I had a long commute to work every day. Quite comfortable and eats the miles.

1997 BMW 728i.....I really liked this but between the tax, insurance and fuel economy and living in the city its just not practical. The thing is like a small tank!

On my to do list is a Subaru Legacy B4 and a Mk I MX-5, but I'm busy saving for sensible things at the minute :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

01 1.0 MPI Lupo - great first car and brilliant fun, just kept going and going, till I wrote it off!

05 MKV Golf 2.0 TDI 140 - What a car, bloody quick diesel and loves cruising those motorway miles, lots of goodies on it too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Danuogma

78 Ford Fiesta. (Old skool simplicity)

84 Austin Maestro. (worst piece of scrap I ever owned, a diabolical POS)

87 Ford Orion. (Drank petrol like it was going out of fashion)

89 Fiat Tipo. (good handling, dodgy gearbox)

89 Nissan Sunny. (reliable)

94 Fiat Tempra. (good handling, no gearbox issues, could take abuse)

98 Fiat Marea. (Annoying minor electrical issues, otherwise a good car)

01 Fiat Bravo. (Best Fiat I owned, never let me down)

99 Toyota Avensis. (so far so good)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭james1410

93 toyota corolla jap import (friday night job!)
    96 toyota corolla coupe 3 door (bought this for spares)
    90 ford sierra 1.6 (restoring this)
    92 ford sierra 1.8td ( loved this car! got wrecked in accident)
    92 ford sierra 1.6 (broke this for parts)
    78 ford capri 1.6L (restoring this)
    90 ford granada 2.0i (my every day driver love it to bits!)

wish list!

opel manta gte
    ford falcon xc coupe
    mk2 escort rs 2000
    sierra cosworth
    escort cosworth
    mustang 67/68
    Aston martin DB5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭oxegen85

2002 Nissan Almera
    2009 Mitsubishi Lancer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Esto Fidelis

This is what I can remember having, there was quite a few with one only lasting 3 days before I wrote it off.

1981 Fiat 131 1.3
    1984 Fiat 131 1.6
    1984 Fiat 131 2.0 Twin Cam Abarth Sport

97458d1207187590-wanted-fiat-131-brava-131-abarth-2.jpg

That was the end of my Fiats, I know they were crap but they were great for messing around with the women as the seats reclined fully flat and with the touch of a little lever.

1981 Ford Escort 2.0 sport
    1983 Alfa Romeo Alfa sud 1.5ti

I was 17 when i had the above.

1981 VW Golf 1.6 GTI
    1983 Renault 5 Turbo
    1985 Ford Escort XR3i
    1985 VW Golf GTI
    1989 VW Golf GTI
    1989 Opel Manta GTE
    1993 Opel Calibra
    1995 BMW 318is
    1998 BMW 318is
    2003 BMW 318ci

Currently looking for a 520d M sport around 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 JoeyTGK

1) 02 VW Polo 1.2 Comfortline (with VW alloys) - v.low mileage until written off after exactly a year just when I was thinking of trading up to a 1.6, prob a Leon or Corolla, sickening!
    2) 04 Seat Ibiza 1.2 Signo (with custom 16's) - low mileage too, actually cost few quid less than the VW a year later!
    3) next i think.....Enzo, Koneggsiggigiiliggiiglggi CCX or Aston V12:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭COB MGV8

In order of year of car rather than year I owned them

1970 Mk 1 Capri 1600
    1970 MG Midget
    1970 Triumph Herald 13/60
    1975 MGB GT 3.5L V8
    1980 K30 Corolla
    1980 Escort XR2
    1984 Jetta 1.1
    1987 Fiesta XR2
    1990 Honda Accord
    1994 Peugeot 106XR
    1996 Mazda 323f
    2000 Golf GTI
    2001 Honda Accord 1.8 VTEC
    2002 Audi A4 2.0L
    2003 Volvo V40
    2004 Alfa 156 1.8
    2005 Renault Espace (worst car I ever had !)
    2008 Renault Scenic

1990 Rover 414si bought in 1999 as my first car at 18, loved it.

1995 Rover 214SEi bought at 20, kept that for 6 years, fine car but gearbox went at 120,000 miles or so. Sh1t happens

2005 Mondeo as a company car for a year, broke twice, DMF & intercooler prob, not impressive really.

1999 Rover 618, bought in 2006 for €2300 off a dealer and sold 6 months later for €3500 privately, fine cars, heavy on petrol though.

1995 Celica SS2, black, lowered, had an LSD and superstrut suspension, great car, always wanted one since I was a small dude, had that for 9 months

1997 Rover 400 diesel, loved that car, easy to tune, boost and fuel increase and she picked up nicely from idle, had that for a year.

1993 Prelude, 2.2 non VTEC auto, surprisingly quick and lovely except for fadey red paint, sold her to a lecturer in UCC after 4 months

1992 Merc 250 diesel, found her in Spiddle in Connemara, she had been off the road for a year or so and had over 220 thou on her, got her past an NCT and drove her for 3 months or so, was very slow though

Now have a Rover 216 Coupe (T bar roof, suits you sir :)), they are very rare, hardly ever see another, I'm happy enough with her, not too bad on petrol and comfy for the Cork to Galway trips, reckon I'll keep her till August or September or so, here she is

2008_1219Prelude_clean0001.jpg
    2008_1219Prelude_clean0003.jpg

I like Rovers but as my car history shows I do buy other makes too :)
    Also I'm a believer in bangernomics, I do my best to avoid depreciation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

87 Nissan Bluebird
    92 Mazda 323 interplay(a rocket!)
    92 Mazda 323 1.3......when my dad realised the interplay was a rocket...
    00 Nissan almera 3dr
    00 Peugeot 206 1.1
    02 Peugeot 206 gti
    05 Volvo s40(company car) Had 98 Peugeot 106 Gti for the weekends......
    02 Ford f150 svt lightning
    07 Opel corsa opc....(now for sale)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭kkhornet

Nothing to exciting
    1) 97 opel astra 1.4 saloon
    2) 00 vw golf 1.4
    3) 04 mitsubishi lancer 1.6

And then 5 motorbikes to add but thats for a different forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

91 box shape micra a whole big 1ltr, got for cheap insurance and the fact if i hit it i wouldn't mind, insurance was still 2800 and i bever hit it,
    98 rover 200 1.4, that i blew the gearbox then within a week of fixing that head gasket,
    2x 98 almera, 1.6 prob the most comfortable car ive drove hence two of them wish i still kept on as a second car,
    05 punto sporting 1.4 6speed all the bells and whistles traction control, no really lol, real wee pocket rocket sad to see it go last year but need must,
    08 Auris 1.4 D4D no power whatsoever but 70mpg and that fact i do 30k+ miles per year means it was a great buy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 peckmyster

1992 Toyota Corolla 1.3l Sprinter Model. Excellent car all round, now lying in driveway going mouldy.

2000 Rover 25: Heap of scrap.

1998 1.4 Honda Civic, driven a few times, a mates car. Great car, steering incredibly light, low to the ground. Nippy.

2003 Toyota Yaris 1.0, at first turned off but the little thing grows on you, good car..lacks power though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

2004 Peugeot 206 - Not bad as first cars go. Never had any issues with it.

2006 Renault Clio - Loads of room and comfortable enough but the coil cylinders went after only 6 months and then I killed it by driving it into a big wall. Oops

2007 Renault Megane Saloon - Went for another renault due to the safety aspect. I know people on here give the Meganes a bit of a hard time but I've stuck 130,000km on the clock since Oct '07 and haven't had any major issues (touch wood).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 emac82

94 3dr Astra: First car nice car to get started with
    98 G6R Corolla: plenty power kinda grew out of it tho
    01 E46 320d se: First diesel, very standard, bad turbo lag, great mpg
    05 E46 320 coupe diesel m sport: current car love it to bits. loads of kit and plenty poke. 6 speed box makes a big difference. Will be hanging on to this one for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

Suzuki swift 1.0 - 1986 - 1st car bought in 97. kept for 4 months
    Fiat Tipo 1.6 - 1989 - bought in 1998, kept for 6 months
    Mazda 323 interplay - 1992 - bought 1998, kept for a year.
    Toyota Celica -1989 - bought in 1999 - kept for 2 years.
    Mitsubishi GTO - 1991 - bought in 2001, kept for 3 years
    Honda Prelude Vtec - 1991 - bought in 2001, kept for 1 year
    Porsche 911SC - 1979 - bought in 2003 kept for 3 years
    Nissan 300zx TT - 1990 - bought in 2005, still have it.
    Nissan 300zx TT - 1991 - bought in 2006, kept for 6 months
    Mitsubishi L200 - 2002 - bought for work 2006, kept for 6 months.
    Ferrari 308 GTB - 1976 - bought 2006, still have it
    Nissan pathfinder - 2007 - bought for work 2007, kept for 2 years
    Jaguar XK8 - 1997 - bought 2008 - still have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Kersh wrote: »
    Suzuki swift 1.0 - 1986 - 1st car bought in 97. kept for 4 months
    Fiat Tipo 1.6 - 1989 - bought in 1998, kept for 6 months
    Mazda 323 interplay - 1992 - bought 1998, kept for a year.
    Toyota Celica -1989 - bought in 1999 - kept for 2 years.
    Mitsubishi GTO - 1991 - bought in 2001, kept for 3 years
    Honda Prelude Vtec - 1991 - bought in 2001, kept for 1 year
    Porsche 911SC - 1979 - bought in 2003 kept for 3 years
    Nissan 300zx TT - 1990 - bought in 2005, still have it.
    Nissan 300zx TT - 1991 - bought in 2006, kept for 6 months
    Mitsubishi L200 - 2002 - bought for work 2006, kept for 6 months.
    Ferrari 308 GTB - 1976 - bought 2006, still have it
    Nissan pathfinder - 2007 - bought for work 2007, kept for 2 years
    Jaguar XK8 - 1997 - bought 2008 - still have it.

Nice list:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

2007 Renault Megane Saloon - Went for another renault due to the safety aspect. I know people on here give the Meganes a bit of a hard time but I've stuck 130,000km on the clock since Oct '07 and haven't had any major issues (touch wood).

I don't know why, but that stood out to me. That's very good going and alot of miles in 3 years for a megane.

99 - Peugeot 306 1.4 ; Cool first car, I still wish I kept it now as a 2nd run about it was lowered and you could have some great fun around corners in it.

03 - Seat Toledo 2.3 V5 ; Not as much fun as the 306, but its kitted out and much comfier and faster - Still own it. Put 13K Miles on it since I got it 3 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

1986 Mk II Fiesta 1L (97 Bought)
    1983 Mk I Fiesta 1L (98)
    1991 Mk III VW Polo 1.1L (00)
    2003 Pug 207 1.4 HDI (03)
    2001 WRX Subaru Impreza (06)
    2009 Adidas Runners (09 thanks to the bankers and politicians)

Subaru was the biggest buy, but definitely had the most fun in my Brown/Orange Mk I Fiesta.
    Great miles/Gallon from the Peugeot, only new car I've every bought and the one car never out of the garage, 3 engines and 4 turbos later and i'll never buy a Peugeot again

Cars I've owned:

2004 - 1998 Rover 400 1.4 - Good car for a first car

2005 - 2002 MG ZR 105BHP - Fast little thing, handled like an absolute dream. Paid €8950 for it and sold it a year later for €8000.

2006 - 1999 BMW 318i - 120BHP - Worst decision i've ever made. It was on NI plates when I bought it. Paid €10,300 for it (112,000 miles on the clock) and had to fork out €2,500 to register it. I had constant trouble with it due to coolant leaking. Spent nearly €2000 trying to fix it but never did. Eventually I found out it was due to the radiator having a huge hole in it. Fixed that then traded it in.

2007 - 2004 Mazda RX8 - Jap import, 250BHP - Love this car to complete bits. Still have it and I intend on keeping it for as long as humanly possible. Handles like nothing else I've driven. Engine noise is absolute Eden. Drinks petrol but that's a given on any performance car.

Cars I've driven:

2000 Ford Escort - Test drive - Nice to drive, handles fairly well

2003 VW Polo - Sister's car - Nice little car. Has a bit of grunt

2008 Hyundai i30 Sport - Smashing car. Rented this for a journey to Cork. Drives incredibly well, very comfortable, very well equipped, looks the business. Tried to use as much fuel as possible when I saw that I had put too much in before setting off and the needle wouldn't drop. Extremely economical with quite a good bit of power from the 1.6 diesel engine. This would definitely be on my to-buy-list if I was forced to get a new car.

2001 BMW 520i - Parent's car - heavy, hard on petrol

2007 Mercedes C180 Kompressor - Parent's car - Very light, very responsive, comfortable to drive. Steering wheel is a bit non responsive, kompressor is awsome when it kicks in!

2000 Toyota Yaris - fun little machine, responsive, great engine noise, handles well

2008 Nissan Qashqai - Beautiful machine. Very comfortable, very spacious, drives well, very well equipped. Very responsive 1.5 diesel.

2002 BMW M5 - speaks for itself really. Savage motor.

1998 Peugeot 106XN - Parent's car - Comfortable, practical, economical. Good starter car. I drove this when on provisional.

1997 Mercedes E220 - I valeted this for a customer - rotten, awkward, barge of yoke. Drove it 1 mile altogether and vomited when I got out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

My motors:

Jan 2004 1997 Mazda 121 1.25 (the Fiesta one). Great little car. Wrote her off - took a Punto out too so it wasn't all bad.

Dec 2004 2000 Ford Focus Ghia 1.6 saloon. Grand, but bland. Slower than the 121 too.

Apr 2006 2000 Rover 75 1.8 Connoisseur. Heap of junk (too far gone when I got her TBH) but I bloody loved that 'carriage'!

Feb 2007 2005 Mazda 6 1.8 Touring. Alright to go but too ****ing plasticky and rattly.

July 2008 2008 Citroen C5 1.8 Dynamique. Great car - so comfortable and quiet - but dying to change now. Can't shift her for anything approaching a reasonable price though...

2010/11 ??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,531 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Yikes, that's gonna be a long list. From 1994 until today:

1973 Audi 80 1.6
    1986 VW LT31 2.4D
    1977 Saab 99 Combi-Coupe 2.0
    1981 VW Jetta 1.6D
    1983 Audi 80 1.6
    1985 BMW 325e
    1985 Ford Transit Van 100 automatic (2l petrol)
    1980 Mercedes 200D (W123)
    1983 Ford Sierra 2.0i (slightly modified, approx 120bhp)
    1977 Audi 100 Avant 5E
    1993 VW Caravelle SuperVan 2.4D automatic
    1992 BMW 520i auto
    2004 Volvo C70 convertible 2.0T
    1994+1997 Ford Escort Van 1.8D
    1993 VW Golf 1.4 (the Escort van's and the Golf were the worst p**** of s*** i ever owned)
    1996 Ford Transit 2.4
    1999 VW Transporter TDI Syncro
    1997 Iveco TurboDaily
    1997 BMW 525tds
    1999 VW Caravelle TDI
    1999 BMW M5

In that order, the last two are my current vehicles.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

What did you think of the C70?