**WHACK** Take that **SMACK**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭DevilsBreath

Perfect well done to the jeweler, and the passer by.

Love the story.

Funny felling i'd have **** myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ManBurger

I hope he dies from his injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

What a golden story. That shop owner is a real gem, Worth his weight in gold. He should have kicking the robber in the jewels for good measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭jerry2623

Excessive force is excessive force if we revert back to the laws of the jungle and take the law into our own hands we just become like the robbers.
    This guy was probably just trying to finance a drug habit or trying to pay off a drug debt.
    For those that read this and snort a little bit of charlie or smoke a bit of dope in your nice middle class lives, you are only a few short steps removed from these guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

jerry2623 wrote: »
    Excessive force is excessive force if we revert back to the laws of the jungle and take the law into our own hands we just become like the robbers.
    This guy was probably just trying to finance a drug habit or trying to pay off a drug debt.
    For those that read this and snort a little bit of charlie or smoke a bit of dope in your nice middle class lives, you are only a few short steps removed from these guys

lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I can't help but think the shop owner is an idiot who put his wife and himself in even more danger, seeing as the 'robbers' had a shotgun!

But I'd still buy him a pint.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

A serious kudos to the shop owner.

I'm really glad he didn't end up a dead hero.

Love it.. Takes a brave man to do something like this. I think id have frozen..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

ManBurger wrote: »
    I hope he dies from his injuries

I hope not for the jewelers sake coz then he'll be accountable for murder or manslaughter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Mr Yellow

Just realeased as NEWS FLASH on RTE - the raiders were Biffo, Hungry Jaws Minister O'Donoghue & mathematician minister Brian Lenihan - still trying to rob the public eh....but we got u this time :D

Well done to Mr Myagi in the jewellers, but not always such a wise option, just when its a happy ending like today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

****ing amateurs. Most of these scumbags are as thick as two short planks, it's good to see people challenging them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Kernel wrote: »
    It's possible, but very very unlikely. The fact that the man went in to rob the owners property and grabbed his wife around the neck would give him two counts to use force. For all we know, the man was being restrained, acted out violently and cracked his skull off the ground. ;)
    The problem is with "reasonable force" in ireland is it's not you who decides, It's a judge sitting on his pretty bench and holding a little gavel that decides if what you did was reasonable.
    Say for instance once the man was disarmed and on the ground, if cctv catches the shop owner hitting the man on the ground a judge could call that excessive force.

Also the pedestrian who got the fleeing thief could be done for assault as the thief was retreating, thus no longer a danger.

Thus proving that Irish law is ****e and sometimes texas can be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

jerry2623 wrote: »

Oh the humanity! Your first post on Boards as well. May I be the first to tell you that it's gonna be a rocky road from here on in...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

If only McNally was about he could've shot them in the back as they legged it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 iluvlamp

Would we still be giving him a round of applause if he had of gotten blasted in the face possibly his wife too? Thankfully this wasnt a tale of have a go hero gets shot dead...but i recall a post office worker chasing after a culprite who then turned round and shot the worker dead at point blank range. Some things arent worth it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

How were the two fellas who legged it cowards for doing so? What else were they supposed to do? Wait for the cops to show up and fight their way out of it? The objective of armed robbery is actually to get away with the robbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

If only McNally was about he could've shot them in the back as they legged it!

McNally :rolleyes:

attempt at cleverness gone horribly wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Jello wrote: »
    One of the two cowards who legged it was tripped up by a pedestrian on the street who saw what was happening. And the other fella is in hospital with a suspected fractured skull. GOOD STUFF!

Was tripped up by a passing motorist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

Fair f*cks to the jeweller! Heres hoping the courts don't turn him into the criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Guaranteed a civil case will be brought against the shop owner ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

there's money to be had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Super Sidious

Every year before christmas theres a raid on jewelers like Dawsons... I'm delighted to hear they finally got some revenge this year!

Attempted Armed robbery... nice few years in the joy to think about where they went wrong in life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭!_Brian_!

Sweet justice! Good man Jewellary Store Owner! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Not a hope, robber would be torn to pieces by the public, people have had enough of being robbed by scum and are willing to make a stand nowadays, enough is enough. Our government should take note too, you can only keep robbing people to a point, more and more people are willing to make a stand now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Calibos

FFS. My father who never threw a punch in his life ended up rolling around on the floor boxing the head off an attempted robber. I used an newsworthy piece of sporting equipment I happened to have at my feet to send a gun toting(turned out to be a starting pistol) thug and his mate running after I knocked the gun into my fathers hands (he's gone on to become a MR Big and suspected multiple murderer since then). I've wrestled with a druggy who had a knife to my brothers throat during an attempted robbery. All 'Attempted' Robberies mind.

Do I get public adulation? My arse. Stories never made it further than page 10 of the local rag. Instead I have to make myself look like an attention whore on boards. FFS :D:D

The good that came of those events was that I found out what I was made of. I have never been in a fight in my life. I worried that the adrenaline hit I used to get when 3 or 4 13yo scangers came in was a bad sign. ie. Jaysus, if these little scrotes get me all edgy, I'll be a gibbering wreck if anything serious ever happened. Well turned out when it came to it, it was Fight not Flight and rather than the resulting adrenaline hit turning my legs to jelly it made me capable of things I thought I wasn't capable of. Pretty happy with my mental state after these events too. ie. No post traumatic stress which was a relief. We soft spoken, wouldn't hurt a fly lads were relieved that we were able to get over it within minutes with a Holy F#%$ and a laugh. Even my bro who had the knife to his throat who is a more sensitive guy than even me and who I thought might take it badly was smiling and laughing with the customers 90 seconds later... Yeah, the customers who walked in the door literally within seconds of the attempt robbery, stepped over the shelves that had been knocked all over the floor in the struggle and without any comment on what may have happened, asked....."A 4 euro quickpick please". WTF like!!! :D Talk about being in their own little world!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Agent J wrote: »
    Well done that man.

And the other people who assisted.

Now they need to change the law so that there should never even be a question of someone like that shop keeper being charged.

I think the law has some stupid line that " If you have a chance to retreat and dont this will be considered aganist you".

Personally i think that unless it is a very literal "It was them or me" anything short of intentionally killing them is relative fair game.

If you break in to someone elses place to harm or steal you forfeit your rights.

Actually the requirement to retreat only applies if you are out in the street or something like that. If you are in your own property and presumably work place too then there is no requirement to retreat.

I don't understand the whole criticism of the self defence laws. Even some people saying they hope the robber dies, and others replying saying they hope he doesn't so the owner won't get in trouble. FFS. Since when is there, or should there be, a death penalty for robbery?!?! And the fact that no trigger was ever pulled by any of the three robbers shows that they probably never had any intent to use their weapons.

Yes they clearly intended to rob some stuff... but lets face it, a Jewellers set up in the middle of town most likely had insurance and would have lost very little financially from the robbery (obv this means the insurance company would have lost a bit but they probably wouldn't miss it all that much).

If the owner used excessive force against the criminals then 100% he should be prosecuted. It's great (or stupid) to stand up to scumbags like that but why should anyone except an inpartial court decide what the criminal's punishment is? We have a justice system for a reason. And we also have no punishments that involve beatings for a reason. If all the force he used was necessary to stop the robbery and protect his wife then good. But if he had the robber well under control and continued to inflict serious injuries on the guy then he is breaking the law, and should be prosecuted.
    Calibos wrote: »
    Do I get public adulation? My arse. Stories never made it further than page 10 of the local rag. Instead I have to make myself look like an attention whore on boards. FFS :D:D

In my opinion you are an attention whore. You should keep your good deeds to yourself instead of running to boast about them on an internet forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Swizz

I thought this thread was something to do with fapping to Take That

FML

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Calibos

Hence, the self depracation at the end of the post Mark
    just wanted to point out that not everyone bends over to take it up the arse from these scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

How were the two fellas who legged it cowards for doing so? What else were they supposed to do? Wait for the cops to show up and fight their way out of it? The objective of armed robbery is actually to get away with the robbery.

Well they went into a shop armed to the teeth, seized a woman, and demanded some cash or jewellery.

All was going swimmingly for them until the (no doubt) middle aged owner clocked one of the lads and they fled like girls.

Bugger all to do with the police coming. The alarm had just been raised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Let's not forget the oft invoked mantra in AH that violence solves nothing

violence solves plenty, and it solves it good. :)