Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In The Well: Q&A with Padraig Parkinson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Padraig06

fatguy wrote: »
    I enjoy listening to you commentating. Do you enjoy commentating? Have you ever put your foot in it while in the commentary box?

Thanks very much. I enjoy doing it every now and again but only if I don't have to be pc and I'm allowed to ignore most of the poker.
    I put my foot in it a million times. The funniest was when I got confused between two American players in one of those 6 handed jobs. I was having the craic with Jesse and not really paying attention and picked up the wrong bio when talking about one of the Yanks. I casually mentioned that he'd been playing for 4 years and his biggest achievement to date was beating his girlfriend at strip poker. It sounds harmless enough but is wife of 7 years who was a very formidable woman in her own right was listening in the green room and was also a big fan of physical violence. I spent a very long 10 minutes in her company trying to explain what had happened but she didn't want to listen so I just ran away.

nicnicnic wrote: »
    I remember you refused a deal four handed in a 2006 wsop event, are you generally against deal making on final tables or was it just the specifics of this one.

Could you tell us a little about the time you moved to Paris, what the games were like, your rational for moving.

Do you think anyone from outside Waterford will ever win the poker for the homeless event over the next decade.

Why didn't you swap 5% with Jeff Shulman instead of the 1% in this years main event.

tks for doing this Padraig, you've always been an inspiration for me and tks for all the good advice over the last few years.

Hi Nicky,

I'm all in favour of deals as long as it makes sense. In that particular instance, I had a writing and shirt deal with 888 strictly for the WSOP. They were huge implied odds if I won a bracelet in terms of sponsorship (Not as big as I thought. How was I supposed to know that Amaricans were going to forget that America was supposed to be the land of the free.) I thought I had the best of it when we were down to 4 but even then I'd have done a deal when the other 3 asked because there was so much money involved but I thought this would lessen my chances of winning the bracelet. It worked out the opposite because they got so pissed off with me, the ****ers started playing back at me and I ended up third with 100.000 less than I'd been offered. Mike Sexton had half the action but after I'd won 5 pots in a row earlier on I looked over and saw he was asleep. He the woke up and went for dinner and told me he didn't care what I did. I took him at his word.

I went to Paris in 1996 to play a poker tournament, I got lucky and broke my leg the 1st night I was there in an unspecified accident which forced me to concentrate on the tournament. I won so I decided to stay and to be honest, Dublin at the time was dog eat dog. There wasn't a lot of money around and the game would have died if it wasn't for the Chinese. Come to think of it, after some of the Chinese lads had a few losing nights, a lot of people might have ended up eating dogs!
    They were only a couple of games every day in the Aviation Club (they were nearly all dealer's choice) but they were cracking games, it was a different world from Dublin, kind of a victimless crime.

I'd like to see somebody from outside Waterford winning the Homeless event but if you guys keep supporting us in such numbers it's probably very unlikely. Our best chance might be to hold one in Waterford because you guys play way better on the road.

I had a few drinks at our wedding, I meant to have 5% of Jeff Shulmann and 1% of Jeff Duval. You of all people should understand.

Do you think that Ireland as a poker nation could be better represented in the Nations Cup of Poker etc where many of the other countries send out current top players and internet stars whereas Ireland send out yourself, Liam Flood etc?

No but I think you do!

Only the river stopped us from winning the whole thing outright and 6 months later 3 out of the 4 guys I picked finished in the first 4 in the Pokermillion. I rest my case.

cuterob wrote: »
    has your income solely been from poker and things related to poker e.g commentating etc since you turned professional?

when did you did start playing professionally?

thanks your a good ambassador for irish pokerz

Yep. I haven't had the balls to sign on the dole.

I quit work in 1988 but really only worked out in about 1992 that there was a difference between playing poker for the craic and playing for a living. I'm a slow learner.

Thanks for the compliment.

GKidd wrote: »
    O.K. I'll ask..How the hell did you bag such a stunner?

At last, a serious question.

A little bit of effort and a lot of luck!

Irish Iron wrote: »
    - whos the best co commentator you've been alongside, apart from rory liffey at the ipo of course?

- if you could of went another route, would you? (i.e never play a hand of poker)

I'm trying to forget about Liffey in the IPO but I just can't. Jesse for sure, he's such a marvelous pro at the job it means you can just get on with having the craic and let him worry about everything else. He can be quite serious when he's commentating with other people but for some strange reason seams happy to let me drag him down to my level. He's closet Irish.

If I'd known how dangerous this route was, I mightn't have bothered but making good decisions about serious things has never been my strong suit.

Hi Padraig

What were the three most profitable things you learned about poker?

- It's ok to borrow but not to lend. That way you can decide which friends you really want to keep.

- Casino games are there to attract new blood to the poker game and not the other way around (this one is particularly hard to learn).

- If there's a guy behind you telling you how well you're playing, just wait till he goes for a piss, put your chips in your pocket and get the **** out of there.

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Hi Padraig hope your well.
    1.If poker ended tommorow how would you earn a crust ?have you other skills or qualifications which would enable you to make agood living.

2.How many years have you been living off poker?

3.What was your best moment in poker?:) and also your worst.:(

4.As youve gotten wiser have you cut down on the boozing heard marriage does that too men too.
    Thanks in advance.

Hiya,

1. I wish you hadn't asked me this because I haven't a clue what I'd do. I've accidentally learnt a little bit about writing, TV and radio so I suppose I might be able to get a job there somewhere, though I doubt if I'd be paid very much.

2. About 20.

3. Best was definitely getting to the main event final table and worst was probably when Furlong called me and I didn't have very much.

4. The boozing thing is a bit of a myth really. I don't drink at all from January till I get knocked out of the world series. Admitedly, I drink my fair share after that but I regard going to play in Ireland as a bit of a holiday so quite understandably people assume I'm at it all the time!

Are you serious, his name is on this page a dozen times already.

Ive only two questions, Who and why have has been your biggest influence both in how you approach and play the game.

NLH has obv become a far more aggressive game than years ago, had you taken what you know now to your WSOP ME final table do you think you would have won it.

Stu Ungar impressed the **** out of me. He just turned everything up side down.
    Scott Gray thought me that even the Brazilians play two central defenders.
    Don O'Dea thought me how to pay attention to what was going on around me.
    Mike Sexton showed great faith in me when everybody else had given up.

I don't think so. Aggressive poker may be way more common now but it's not an invention of the modern game. Furlong, Seed and Seidel were playing really fast back then and I was no slouch myself. You're right up to a point. There were several final final tables around about then which were played quite passively but the 1999 was fast and furious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭HeeHawsCantona

Brilliant read so far, class act!
    What is your most favoured format of poker for both Cash and Tournament?

JP Poker wrote: »
    Hi Padraig,

If you had the choice which would you prefer.

To win the WSOP or for Ireland to win the World Cup?

Tournaments in Ireland currently offer probably the best value for money with long clocks and deep stacks, would you prefer a shorter clock and small stacks? If so why?

If you had the chance to make one change to the Irish Open (Buy-in, venue, structure, staff ect) what would it be and why?

Hiya,

I'd take the bracelet. You could buy a lot of referees for 8 million, and God knows we'd need a lot of help.

For sure tournaments in Ireland are probably among the best around value wise. I think there's an obsession with deep stacks and long clocks. I much prefer a tournament where it's fast at the start and slows right down at the serious end of it but I can understand how lads who don't get to play as much as they'd like like to be involved for as long as possible and I respect that.

They could lose Flood for a start off (I swear to God I'm only joking Liam!).
    If I could change one thing, I'd make the buy-in cheaper to give as many Irish players who give everything to the game more of a chance to play in an event that should belong to the people.

YULETIRED wrote: »
    Feel free to ignore any of the below questions

Who would win in a fight between the following and why?
    John McEoroe V Phil Hellmuth
    Nicky Power V Schoolgirl
    yourself V Jessie mullet May
    Phil Ivey V Tiger Woods
    Ryan Turbidy V Jonathan Ross

How does it feel to have a disease named after you?

I see you are married to a French lady, you do realise French wimmin expect their men to take a Lover? who would you pick?

WSOP ME winners, rate them in order of ability 1-5 (I go 3, 2, 5,1,4 )
    1 Jamie Gold
    2 Aussie Aussie Aussie Ahole Joe Hachem
    3 Raymer
    4 Moneymaker
    5 Yang

What is a typical Christmas for you ?

the Offaly accent has recently been voted the worst in Ireland (lol biffos) what is the worst accent you've heard?.

Do you have a ticket for the Nolans reunion gig ?
    Is Harrington a bottler (take yer pick from the cousins)?
    The devilfishes young burd , what's the attraction? Do you think a looker like him should be going for a more Helen Mirreny type of burd ?

Happy Halloween , may Doyle Brunson appear to you at midnight.

I'll give them a spin.
    McEnroe for me. Phil doesn't know how to protect his balls and McEnros is from New York.
    More information needed. What class is the schoolgirl in?
    It wouldn't happen, we're both cowards.
    I'd follow the betting market on this one.
    Don't care as long as at least one of them gets hurts.

There's no such thing as a bad publicity (Ultimate bet and Absolute poker are of the honorable exceptions to this rule).

Not this one.

Raymer, different class.
    Hachem, I hate to put him in at number 2 but I don't really have any choice.
    Gold and Moneymaker equal third. I found Jamie to be quite a nice guy in person, Chris too, though that wasn't a surprise.
    Yang, Oh my God!

I'm skipping the Christmas bit.

Persian English.

Didn't know it was on.

No, no and yes. Take a pick yourself!

Not sure about the attraction. I like the Helen Mirreny suggestion, especially if she'd dead.

Enzo Scifo wrote: »
    After reading some of the above questions do you already feel you made a mistake going in the well.

At this stage are you making more money per year talking about rather than playing poker?

Not yet but I've got an open mind.

I hope not. There's a lot of repeats out there.

j10spades wrote: »
    if you were incharge of marketing and promoting poker all over the world so that more people would participate, what would you do? (change the rules lol?)

who is the funniest character you have sat beside at a table?

if you had a choice to play for Ireland or Man Utd for 1 match who would it be?

do you have a idol?

your favourite moment from Late Night Poker?

Hire an assistant with a lot of good ideas and **** off to the poker room. Everybody else seems to.

Alan Betson for sure. He was playing in Binon's one morning after he'd been playing and having a few beers all night. One particularly obnoxious American was winning and the more he won, the more he talked. Alan was losing so he managed to keep his mouth shut, which was a surprise in itself. He finally cracked when the Yank pointed at a pack of Major that Alan was smoking and asked where he got them. Alan politely replied that they were made in Ireland. The Yank said he didn't know the Irish made anything. "We made enough ****ing Americans, didn't we?"

Manchester United of course, they are allowed to cross the half-way line.

All my idols died.

The French guy (Robert Cohen) speach-playing Helmuth heads-up was quite tasty, especially when Phil said that he didn't mean to say all-in. What did he think the mics were for?

ianmc38 wrote: »
    On a scale of 1 to 10, how seriously do you take poker these days? Do you still care about competing at a high level or are you more interested in the social aspect of it?

Fair comment. I still love it but can't be accused of trying too hard every time I turn out, which is a major fault in my game and my character. Having said that, I've never tried anything less than my best at the World Series or in the Irish Open. After that, in the words of Barry Greinstein, "you never know which Padraig is going to turn up".

mocata wrote: »
    What has been your best (and worst) alcohol- induced moment?

Unfortunately can't remember the best and fortunately can't remember the worst.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

can you rate in your opinion overall poker skill 1-6 out of Ivey, Negreanu, Hellmuth, Scotty Nguyen, Erik Seidel and Allen Cunningham

joe hachem really is an a$$hole isn't he?

and is Ivey really the best?

thanks again

(i'm presuming you've played with all of the above, if not you can ignore that person on the list)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Hi Padraig,
    really good read!
    yer some man for one man & id say you take a fair swipe at two
    Padraig06 wrote: »
    Scholes of course
    Bergkamp couldnt tackle

In fairness what Scholes'ee does isnt tacking, its some form of underground marshal art
    I should be playing way more MTT's but just haven't got the time. It's definitely something we should all be doing.
    Could you expand on this? Please.

the general consensus seems (at least until recently) to be MTT's are a waste of time and online cash/sng's are better.

I take it this is why we should all be playing more MTT's? (go against what the "smart lads" say/do)

get bored with the online sng's and cash myself
    even the Brazilians play two central defenders.
    Im stealing this, class!:D

Q,
    Do Irish men ever really get their heads around Bank Roll management?
    Ive tried, i get bored and i fail

Any tips or is it just a case of coping the fcuk on?

Cheers ears!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Really enjoyed reading this and all your commentary.

Best of luck in the future and try not to encourage that clown who presents the irish late night poker series, maybe he's a nice gent but feckit he's annoying on the tele!

Have you got a book in you?

If you have and promise to write it i'll pay you now for my copy!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 micko10

Hi Padraig,

The best and worst well known pro you've ever played cash and tournament?

Who do you most respect in the irish poker circuit and why?

I remember reading a story Mike Sexton wrote about being broke in Paris and i think you helped him out he said. How did youse two become friends and now that he is flying does he see you right?;)

Thanks for doing this Padraig i remember watchin the old LNP and thinking you were the man way your shades:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

4) Talent, character, balls and a sense of humour.
    What's my first event going to be so? Looking forward to working with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

Great read Padraig.

As the only other Irish poker player I know of that's married to a French bint, do you find being screamed at in French for not hanging your clothes up "properly" as curiously arousing as I do?

One of my regrets is not starting playing earlier. I know some of the pros who have been around regret not making more hay while the sun shone (when games were very soft on the internet)? Do you regret not having played/made more back in the day?

Would you want your kids playing poker?

Which young Irish internet player do you think is most likely to win a bracelet?

It seems like I was living in Paris when you got there. I'd quite happily have stayed, but, my better half managed to piss off most of the city's population by repeating that she couldn't wait to get "home" to Ireland and that being French really wasn't the big jackpot prize most of them seemed to think. When in Paris, are you ever suddenly overwhelmed by the desire to shriek "Being French is not all it's cracked up to be, you arrogant pouffiasse"?

Is it true that you can see the Eiffel tower from every window in Paris, and that all the French ever do is talk about philosophy as the movies would have us believe?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Well this post proves you have a sense of humour anyway.

Good Read padraig, one thing I forgot, how do you feel prop betting
    is effecting poker at the top end

cuterob wrote: »
    can you rate in your opinion overall poker skill 1-6 out of Ivey, Negreanu, Hellmuth, Scotty Nguyen, Erik Seidel and Allen Cunningham

joe hachem really is an a$$hole isn't he?

and is Ivey really the best?

thanks again

(i'm presuming you've played with all of the above, if not you can ignore that person on the list)

Iveys about an 8 on a 1_6 scale an allrounders allrounder
    I never played with Chip (thank god) but Iveys certainly the best Ive ever played
    Id give Erik a 6 he can play just about anything
    Daniel and Alan 5 Daniel reads it all so well and Alan is such a cool customer he will prob finish up with more bracelets than anyone
    4 for phil and Scotty Id give them more if they could play cash! If it was NLH tournaments only Phil would be a 6 for sure

dont know hachem really.Andy says hes fine but he does come accross as a bit of a moaner on the telly.my telly anyway

elshambo wrote: »
    Hi Padraig,
    really good read!
    yer some man for one man & id say you take a fair swipe at two

In fairness what Scholes'ee does isnt tacking, its some form of underground marshal art

Could you expand on this? Please.

the general consensus seems (at least until recently) to be MTT's are a waste of time and online cash/sng's are better.

I take it this is why we should all be playing more MTT's? (go against what the "smart lads" say/do)

get bored with the online sng's and cash myself

Im stealing this, class!:D

Q,
    Do Irish men ever really get their heads around Bank Roll management?
    Ive tried, i get bored and i fail

Any tips or is it just a case of coping the fcuk on?

Cheers ears!

I didnt think Id get the Scholes one through but I thought Id give it a go anyway!

i was really thinking about the MTTs as a means of practise.You never know when you might need it.

I think youve answered your final question yourself and way more eloquentlythan I could

Really enjoyed reading this and all your commentary.

Best of luck in the future and try not to encourage that clown who presents the irish late night poker series, maybe he's a nice gent but feckit he's annoying on the tele!

Have you got a book in you?

If you have and promise to write it i'll pay you now for my copy!!!:D

Thanks a lot
    DP is ok really.Hes just doing what the RTE people want.maybe they like annoying people

the book is a work in progress.Ill put you down for a frreebie

I thought it was a hypothetical.Oh ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

sry goodluck2me u missed read this . he first stated TALENT which u missed when reading this .
    NOW u are a CHARACTER WITH A GOOD SENSE OF HUMOUR AND U DO HAVE BIG BALLS FOR PUTTING YOURSELF UP FOR THIS BUT SRY NO TALENT DOES NOT HELP U :D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

You always seem to be mocking jesse may in the commentary, well not mocking but taking the piss, is that intentional or do you just react to some of the stuff he comes out with

doke wrote: »
    Great read Padraig.

As the only other Irish poker player I know of that's married to a French bint, do you find being screamed at in French for not hanging your clothes up "properly" as curiously arousing as I do?

One of my regrets is not starting playing earlier. I know some of the pros who have been around regret not making more hay while the sun shone (when games were very soft on the internet)? Do you regret not having played/made more back in the day?

Would you want your kids playing poker?

Which young Irish internet player do you think is most likely to win a bracelet?

It seems like I was living in Paris when you got there. I'd quite happily have stayed, but, my better half managed to piss off most of the city's population by repeating that she couldn't wait to get "home" to Ireland and that being French really wasn't the big jackpot prize most of them seemed to think. When in Paris, are you ever suddenly overwhelmed by the desire to shriek "Being French is not all it's cracked up to be, you arrogant pouffiasse"?

Is it true that you can see the Eiffel tower from every window in Paris, and that all the French ever do is talk about philosophy as the movies would have us believe?

Brilliant
    I hang my clothes on the floor but youve certainly left me with a lot of food for thought
    To be honest I was playing in the US when the easy money was flying around.Maybe I should have taken a year off but I thought the mug money would be around forever.What a ****ing eejit

No way

Id guess John OShea He plays omaha and omaha hilo which have shortish fields.If they follow through on their promise to make tabledancing a bracelet event just lump on at any price you can get

noones perfect.Ive spent 13 years here not bothering to learn French just to piss them off so I cant really comment on those pricks