Have you had Swine Flu?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭tmdsurvey

tallaght01 wrote: »
    Pregnant women are particularly at risk of miscarriage from swine flu. Plus they have a 5 times higher chance of needing to go to ICU if they do get it.

Does any one have any info on the affect of the vaccination on pregnant women / unborn child??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Kernel wrote: »
    See confirmed with a swab is the important part here. So simu, can you describe this illness to us on an everyday level?

High temperature, although the paracetamol brought it down, felt groggy and weak, and had a really annoying cough, in fact I still have the cough but it's melting away. And then the general malaise that comes from being able to do nothing but watch tv/surf the net all day and not tasting my food properly!

But I escaped with a mild version of it; I've heard horror stories from other people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Type 1 Diabetic, had it, landed me in an isolation room in hospital.
    My gob$hite housemate who coughs without covering his mouth and rarely washes his hands gave it to everyone in the house. He also ignored doctors orders and went back to work while he was still coughing and spluttering.
    He works a till in a large supermarket where he handles peoples food, some of which is unpackaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Youngest daughter (1 year old) had it in August. Fever and cough. Took Tamiflu which made her worse so the doctor took her back off it. Then I was sick, headache, really bad muscle pains, sore throat and cough but no fever and only lasted for a day and a half. I've had worse. Whether it was swine flu or not I don't know though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

kowloon wrote: »
    My gob$hite housemate who coughs without covering his mouth and rarely washes his hands gave it to everyone in the house. He also ignored doctors orders and went back to work while he was still coughing and spluttering.
    He works a till in a large supermarket where he handles peoples food, some of which is unpackaged.

Your housemate is a dirty knacker. I hate people that don't care if they give it to other people. I made sure I was over it before I went outside, I'd hate to pass it on to someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

kowloon wrote: »
    Eek, if it did that to you I am seeriously in trouble if I get it adding being preggers...we were in a supermarket and the checkout lady admitted that she had flu and sneezed on my husband who is also in 2 very high risk groups, luckily he did not get it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

1 in 1000 die from it, though that figure is getting worse.

1 in 200 who get it will get hospitalised. 1 in 3 of those will end up in ICU.

How do these stats compare with regular flu?
    CathyMoran wrote:
    Eek, if it did that to you I am seeriously in trouble if I get it adding being preggers...we were in a supermarket and the checkout lady admitted that she had flu and sneezed on my husband who is also in 2 very high risk groups, luckily he did not get it.

If she really had the flu she wouldn't have been at work. It was just a cold that she had, so no need to worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

Bit i dont get is that the UK got all fraked out couple of months back...and we acted all cavalier about the H1N1...yet the Brits seem to be doing Ok now and we're starting to get all bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

quickbeam wrote: »
    Pretty bad. Many people would have a built up immunity to regular forms of flu and it'd make people (especially the young and healthy) less susceptable. This means that as flu spreads, it'd be stopped in some places because a person wouldn't get sick due to their immunity.

With swine flu, nobody has a built-up immunity. The disease spreads quickly and easily from person to person. Hence, people with health problems can easily get it.

Open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I havn't got it,thank spongebob, but am living in fear. Have chronic asthma so have been told by the doc to get the jab (when he told me before not to bother with the normal flu vaccine). Am really terrified I'll get it, October has always been my bad month with my asthma, every time I've landed in hospital or had serious chest infections it's been late October/early November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If she really had the flu she wouldn't have been at work. It was just a cold that she had, so no need to worry about it.

Could have been in early stages, or like my housemate, near the end of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

tmdsurvey wrote: »
    Does any one have any info on the affect of the vaccination on pregnant women / unborn child??

Talk to your doc about it if you're up the pole. But at the minute they're offering the vaccine to pregnant women after 14 weeks, or under 14 weeks if they have various medical conditions. THough that's likely to change when more vaccine arrives.

Stats for death aren't far off the normal flu. But the problem is contagiousness. As someone above said, the population may have a degree of immunity to normal flu, so it may not spread through the country as quickly.

Swine flu is new to us all (except people over 60 by the looks of it) so it has the potential to absolutely hammer through the population.

SO, while the stats are more or less the same for deaths, the actual numbers could be much higher. Say, for eg, if swine flu and normal flu both kill 1 in a 1000 people who get infected, but there are 300,000 normal flu cases, and 1 million swine flu cases....swine flu will kill more people.

The other thing about swine flu is that is keeps people in ICU longer, so it blocks more beds for people who need operations, or people who need ICU fo other stuff (heart attacks etc). Here in Oz we were flying people from A+E to other ICUs because we were running out of beds.

The stats will change, though, because of vaccination and tamiflu. It should hopefully end up killing less people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭rizzee

swine-flu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Haven't had the swine flu, have the aids but keep it on the down low it's awful hard to get birds to ride you when they know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭callig

Finland downgrades swine influenza
    23.7.2009 at 15:30

Finnish health authorities said in a statement Wednesday that swine influenza would be downgraded as a threat given that the bulk of patients appeared to recover well without medication or hospital care.

The health ministry and the National Institute for Health and Welfare (THL) added that swine flu would be removed from a list of diseases considered dangerous to the public in general on Thursday.

http://newsroom.finland.fi/stt/showarticle.asp?intNWSAID=22386&group=General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

callig wrote: »

Bizarrely, they've based this decision on 155 cases in finland, when 1 in 1000 die, and 1 in 200 get hospitalised.

Nice money saving measure though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

My OH has it at the moment which is weird because it's amost summer here and flu season is over. It seems pretty nasty. He started feeling sick a week ago with a very high fever. He's been out of it all week. We went out for brunch this morning and he had to take to the bed for the rest of the day because he exhausted himself. He said the headache was the worst part - meant all he could do was sleep all day, then he'd be awake all night coughing.

The doc told us to sleep in separate bedrooms but by that stage he'd been sck for three days so I didn't think there was any point. Weirdly enough, I never got it. I normally pick up everything going but I'm fine. Makes me wonder if it was actually just regular flu because I had the flu jab a few months ago (thank you work for paying for that one!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Supermanvideo

Last weekend I felt the first symptoms of swine flu. I thought it might be swine flu since I've had flu before and this flu is clearly the worst that I can remember. Doctor confirmed it when I went to get a sick note for work. I'm on my 7th day of piggy flu and the worst is behind me and all that remains is this stupid arm pain when I sneeze or cough! :eek: Anyone with swine flu have arm pains when coughing???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭tmdsurvey

Talk to your doc about it if you're up the pole. But at the minute they're offering the vaccine to pregnant women after 14 weeks, or under 14 weeks if they have various medical conditions. quote]

No not me. The wife is pregnant but were concerned about the vaccine. Is there any evidence that the vaccine causes no damage to the foetus? 'Thalidomide' from the 1960's comes to mind. I am considering getting the jab to at least stop me bringing it into the house but the jury is indefinitely out regarding herself getting it. Any opinions?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Talk to your doc about it if you're up the pole. But at the minute they're offering the vaccine to pregnant women after 14 weeks, or under 14 weeks if they have various medical conditions. quote]

No not me. The wife is pregnant but were concerned about the vaccine. Is there any evidence that the vaccine causes no damage to the foetus? 'Thalidomide' from the 1960's comes to mind. I am considering getting the jab to at least stop me bringing it into the house but the jury is indefinitely out regarding herself getting it. Any opinions?:confused:
    Can only speak as a pregnant woman here but surely the risk to your wife of getting swine flu is far worse?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

There may not be definitive proof that the vaccine is 100% safe- but nothing in life is 100% safe. There is definitive proof that contracting swine flu is detrimental to the health of pregnant women and their unborn children. Surely it makes good sense to minimise the potential risk to your pregnant wife- by getting the vaccination? The National Maternity Hospital are openly advising all pregnant women over 14 weeks get the H1N1 vaccine (and privately suggesting that the regular flu vaccine wouldn't go astray either (its being dispensed in the US, Germany and some other countries with no reprecussions)).

Its a case of weighing up the potential unknown of the vaccine- against the known risks of contracting Swine Flu. So- you have a risk which is most probably minimal in nature- versus a risk which is accepted as seriously dangerous. Surely you assess the risk- and mitigate against the worse option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭hacked

Voltex wrote: »
    with nearly 7,000 people a week catching it..it would stand to reason that some Boardies would have caught it...but whats it like?...Flu...or something else?

i remember 1 guy descibing it as the worst illness he ever had...then someone else saying it was grand....so what is it like?

I am too lazy to read the thread. This is hype.

Anyone who say's "it's just like having normal flu really..." is a bit of a muppet. That's basically all it is...the flu...but a different strain...hence the fancy name.

Most people who are told they have swine flu don't. People are just paranoid. I'm pregnant and my doctor is trying to talk me into getting the vaccine. Not that many people have ACTUALLY got swine flu....less than one percent of the population.

I know 2 people who had it....both said it was the worst flu they had ever had. If you find it relatively ok....you most likely do not have swine flu.

Effs sake....paranoia central. Can't wait till this headache is over!

hacked wrote: »
    I know 2 people who had it....both said it was the worst flu they had ever had. If you find it relatively ok....you most likely do not have swine flu.

I have to agree with you on this bit, have had seasonal flu twice in my life and it is pretty awful, but swine flu is on a whole other level. It's horrific.

hacked wrote: »
    I am too lazy to read the thread. This is hype.

Anyone who say's "it's just like having normal flu really..." is a bit of a muppet. That's basically all it is...the flu...but a different strain...hence the fancy name.

Most people who are told they have swine flu don't. People are just paranoid. I'm pregnant and my doctor is trying to talk me into getting the vaccine. Not that many people have ACTUALLY got swine flu....less than one percent of the population.

Effs sake....paranoia central. Can't wait till this headache is over!

Lets look at raw statistics.
    10 deaths in the Irish republic attibuted to Swine Flu thus far (6 in the past week alone)- most of which were young people under the age of 36, one was older, and only 3 of the 10 had no underlying medical conditions. Of the 10- one was a pregnant woman, with no other contributing factors.

When comparing swine flu- and in particular its victims, to the normal profile of victims associated with influenza deaths- aside from the underlying conditions which are often (but not always) present, is the age profile of the victims- they are all young people. Its not uncommon for older people to succumb to influenza over the winter months (look at the death statistics- and the spike in the November to March months).

Anyone who says it is a 'normal' flu is a muppet- yes. It bears more in common with the great flu pandemic of 1918 than anything else tbh...... Its a grandchild of this pandemic- its most recent relative being the flu which was in circulation circa 1976 (and this is the reason those who caught the flu 33 odd years ago- have a degree of relative immunity to the current epedemic).

Pregnant women have compromised immune systems- something often in common with those with long term illnesses, or undergoing chemotherapy or similar treatment. They are considered to be at high risk- and recommended to get the vaccine. The implications of getting swine flu are far worse than any scaremongering about the vaccine.

When you say most people who claim to have swine flu don't- I challenge you to point to any statistics supporting this. The fact of the matter is that people who think they may have swine flu are actively being advised to stay at home- and not go to work- or more pertinently, their GP's surgery- where they would likely put other patients at risk. Nonetheless- 7,400 were diagnosed with Swine Flu by GPs in the past week (and this is rising). Of these- 16 are now in intensive care (including one pregnant woman).

Need I go on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

My father has the ful but we are not sure wheter it is normal or swine, I myself had normal flu 5 times last winter and was very ill with it. I eventually cured it with massive doses of Poitin punch.

I have underlying medical conditions though and if I catch swine flu it could kill me, I am not worried though and will definitely not get vaccinated. This is a manmade flu created by the US Military and trucked over the border where it was released in Mexico. It is designed for population reduction and big pharmaceuticals.

I for certainly will not get a vaccine for something as such, it messes with your DNA and is designed to weaken people further. Those of us who beat swine flu are clearly stronger humans and have got immunity and by having beaten the immune system is stronger and your DNA will probably record this meaning your offspring will also quite likely have good disease resistance.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I would be very suspicious of those high numbers, the National Virus Reference Lab have a site they update regularly confirming their positive swabs for H1N1
    http://www.ucd.ie/nvrl/labcofirmed_cases.html

I did think the NVRL was the place all Irish GPs sent their swabs, maybe I'm wrong though, but they as of the 22nd of this month have confirmed 1816 cases

Ginny wrote: »
    I would be very suspicious of those high numbers, the National Virus Reference Lab have a site they update regularly confirming their positive swabs for H1N1
    http://www.ucd.ie/nvrl/labcofirmed_cases.html

I did think the NVRL was the place all Irish GPs sent their swabs, maybe I'm wrong though, but they as of the 22nd of this month have confirmed 1816 cases

Most GPs aren't swabbing patients any longer though?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

They should be, mine still is, anyway that link shows the confirmed swabbed cases.
    I've no doubt a lot more then 1816 have had it, but diagnosing patients over the phone is useless in respects to monitoring the outbreak, anyone thats not swabbed is treated as probable swine flu and not as confirmed swine flu.
    With people going back to school and college in the last 2 months its cold/flu/infection season anyway, most people end up catching something at this time of the year, so mostly t's more then likely not swine flu. There's a lot of people misdiagnosing themselves and/or GPs assuming it is Swine flu over the phone, but without a positive swab we're not seeing the full picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Had it for six-seven weeks, was better for almost a week and then a sort of relapse for the past two weeks, but I'm 99% better now. Swabs still aren't back after a month but the doc was pretty sure it was swine flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 worried_

Scary :(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMMER4yOcIA

What do you think about that interview?