Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunderland V Liverpool 17/10/09 Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,650 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

flahavaj wrote: »
    On another note, that Cana fella for Sunderland looks a bloody brilliant player. Whether he was in centrefield of centre half today he was exceptional, an absolute monster. Yet another rabbit out of the hat from Brucie, hes some man to find these unheard of gems.

agreed.

he looks absolute top quality. and he's captain.

him and cattermole will stifle and outplay a lot of teams this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

When was last time we lost four matches so early on in season. WTF is going on. I really thought we had turned the corner after last season but seemingly not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

On another note, that Cana fella for Sunderland looks a bloody brilliant player. Whether he was in centrefield of centre half today he was exceptional, an absolute monster. Yet another rabbit out of the hat from Brucie, hes some man to find these unheard of gems.

And when Liverpool looked at him for 2 seasons every opinion was he was not a big enough name for liverpool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Pure Cork

The captain of Olympique de Marseille was an unheard-of gem? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

elshambo wrote: »
    And when Liverpool looked at him for 2 seasons every opinion was he was not a big enough name for liverpool

Didn't know that tbh. On today's evidence he'd walk onto the team.:eek:

Pure Cork wrote: »
    The captain of Olympique de Marseille was an unheard-of gem? :rolleyes:

Hes a name I wasn't really familiar with mate, I'm sorry my knowledge of French football isn't quite up there with yours.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

When was last time we lost four matches so early on in season. WTF is going on. I really thought we had turned the corner after last season but seemingly not.

In fairness, and its not like I listen to the waffle that usually comes out of Benitez, but he is right this season. ALL of the top teams are going to lose more goals than they expect and its not just gonna be a top four league with the rest lagging miles behind. Its going to be much tighter than usual league. It makes it more exciting but of course when its your team losing it ain't pretty. United should have been out of sight by the tenth minute today, they didn't put the goals away and had to settle for a Valencia goal on top of a flukey own goal. After that it seemed like cruise control and suddenly Bolton get one back and before you know it its alll hands to the pump and running balls into corner flag situations at 86 minutes in OLD TRAFFORD. United were running scared today for the last quarter and although would not have deserved a draw, it could very easily have happened.

You can never say never with this league and Sunderland are far stronger than they were last season, so don't be so surprised. It nearly happened to United two weeks ago and should have been a warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭raido9

Trilla wrote: »
    why does it matter? I'm a football fan. LOI, premiership, La Liga, my back garden, FIFA 10, subbuteo and Football Manager.

computer games are not football; they are computer games
    Trilla wrote: »
    Kuyt and Beny are not the type of players you should be relying on to get results away from home against in form on the up teams...average, squad players and massively inconsistent. Especially Yossi
    Fair point!

That poor youngfellas gonna get the bayting of his life in the schoolyard on Monday.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,034 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I know I was kidding, tryna add lib somewhat! Subbuteo isn't a computer game by the way :)
    That poor youngfellas gonna get the bayting of his life in the schoolyard on Monday.:pac:

in the last line of the poem, kid has to leave the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,223 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Hes a name I wasn't really familiar with mate, I'm sorry my knowledge of French football isn't quite up there with yours.:pac:

He was a bit of a legend in Football Manager also if I remember correctly.
    Bruce is as avid fan.
    Maybe Trilla has the right idea.

If you REALLy want to be a pedant, Subutteo is a board game.;)

If you REALLY want to be a pedant, Subutteo is rubbish:eek::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Pure Cork

I thought Liverpool fans would remember him; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNRtN_G7BNw&feature=related

To cheer ye up, here he is making s*** of Ronaldo; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-44cVQPNy0&feature=fvw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0S6rm-_07I&feature=related

If you REALLY want to be a pedant, Subutteo is rubbish:eek::)

It really was, wasn't it?

kippy wrote: »
    He was a bit of a legend in Football Manager also if I remember correctly.
    Bruce is as avid fan.
    Maybe Trilla has the right idea.

Judging by the way RAFA picked the team today he is a bit of a football Manager player himself
    as in:
    picked a new formation
    a new formation that none of the lads are used to in any way
    a new formation for a game during an international week SO
    he had no time to work on it during the week

a new formation for an away game against an inform settled team

It probably worked on his laptop last night:mad:

The fact he changed the formation SO much because 2 players were missing show NO faith in the other players
    His players!!!!!:mad:

I dont get it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dunno if these have been posted here already, but it has to be done :D

opxudg.gif

2cf89aq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

raido9 wrote: »

That little bastard, banned for life! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

speaking of Subbuteo (which was a great game) anyone remember this famous singles cover. very appropriate I think!

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Oth6bm5E9Fc/SltiuvPA2vI/AAAAAAAAAcI/UF8CGmMbrfs/s320/the+undertones+-+my+perfect+cousin+[7'']+(1980)+front.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭CR 7

Dave! wrote: »
    Dunno if these have been posted here already, but it has to be done :D

And to think, it could have been avoided so easily.:(

16j58b7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Love the way they all jump.

Shower of nancys. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭CR 7

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Shower of nancys. :p

Better to be a nancy than to allow that balloon ruin a perfectly good game of football.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Pure Cork wrote: »

Now there's a man who loves his work. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Goal should have been disallowed officially

why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

outside influence or something. should have been a drop ball.

Bruce spoke about it after the match & admitted it should have been, but its an obscure rule.

**** happens.

24kz711.gif

couple of match ban for aul Brucie hopefully

WTF was that all about?

Rafa said he had a funny looking nose.