Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

CoD: MW2 community

• 16-10-2009 10:37PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭

Well lads, its quickly coming and we need to get a good Irish community going. Competitive gaming on this game will be sick. . . . . .

Imagine a bunch of us going over and knocking the crap out of the english boys :D

So what websites will most of you be on for this game?? Im sick of the Irish community dispearsing across all of the english and american sites, as if we need them for our community to function. . . . . .

Proud to be Irish!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭naughto

id be on for this the more we get the beter the games can be.wll add u shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Should make a boards clan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Moved to COD forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

Yeah would be a good idea to get a central place were all of us Irish CoD players can meet up. I havent found one on CoD4 even yet two years after release

Id say an Irish CoD irc channel would be a good idea, #cod.ie maybe? Think its already set up actually by one of the ie lads.

Also get an xfire irish CoD group setup if there isnt one already, dont think there is.

But most importantly a competitive Irish server would be the best idea inline with the other suggestions, I know pYk. and Irish e-sports have a public promod server each, so id say there will be one or two mw2 ones springing up too after the release.

EDIT: Think you lads may be talking about the console version? only realising that now. Nvm what i said above so, though for pc players I still think its a good idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Well lads, its quickly coming and we need to get a good Irish community going. Competitive gaming on this game will be sick. . . . . .

Imagine a bunch of us going over and knocking the crap out of the english boys :D

So what websites will most of you be on for this game?? Im sick of the Irish community dispearsing across all of the english and american sites, as if we need them for our community to function. . . . . .

Proud to be Irish!!!!

what format you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭ToughyIRE

just wait, things are in the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 donCORK

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    what format you talking about?

Xbox I'd imagine as it was originally post in the Xbox forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

The PC "CoD:MW2" community will be a huge FAIL! I hope they don't sell a single version of the PC game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Padman

Guys im only 17.Will I need ID to get this game in gamestop even though I have pre-booked it and paid a large deposit??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

I have actually feck all mates that are into the MW and FPS games, so im looking for some people to add that i can have a game with!

Add me for some online buzzin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dacian

The PC "CoD:MW2" community will be a huge FAIL! I hope they don't sell a single version of the PC game!
    What a ray of bloody sunshine you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

well good idea. COD is conected to steam, so we could make irish steam group maybe?

would be fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Can we get a new mod who actually plays Call of Duty :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Hercule

I have played every CoD in the series - except for the PS2 versions - MW2 is a shadow of its predecessor on PC - flavour of the month for now but the game on PC will not have a community following.

I agree with the sentiments of steffano - f*** IW, Even with the inflated price I hope they make a massive loss from the PC version of MW2 - 4 hours of single player and a heavily stripped down multiplayer is a kick in the teeth for anyone who has followed the PC series.

Fair enough Hercule but there is no need for him to spam each thread with his useless "boycott PC version" spiel.
    I'm not happy with what they've done with the pc version but I've bought the game and I'm enjoying every second of it.

soz but feelings on this are fairly latent and sometimes manifest themselves :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Can we get a new mod who actually plays Call of Duty :rolleyes:

The comment was made 3 weeks ago when IW released info on how they were ignoring what the PC community wanted, no, expected to be in the game. The current mod is fine. If you still have an issue with the moderators of this forum then I suggest opening a thread in help desk, don't bring it up here again.

I understand the hatred of IW (but more importantly Activision) but its a game that a lot of people, you included no doubt, we're looking forward to.
    I'm making the most of this game as I've a feeling that it could be the last CoD on the PC.
    Its probably no harm as there will always be another game to fill the niche.

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    The comment was made 3 weeks ago when IW released info on how they were ignoring what the PC community wanted, no, expected to be in the game. The current mod is fine. If you still have an issue with the moderators of this forum then I suggest opening a thread in help desk, don't bring it up here again.

Fair enough, I didn't notice the timestamp on the post.
    Apologies Steffano.

Plus if you think the anti-MW2 brigade are bad on boards - you will stuggle to get through the IGN Reader reviews http://rr.pc.ign.com/ReaderReviewIndices/CategoryList.aspx?channel=pc&reviewtype=pc&object=14280895

0/10 :eek: - especially dodgy considering some of the reviews came from before the game was launched on PC >.>

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Im a diehard pc gamer for many many years like many here on boards but im just getting on with what iw have done.
    Yes it sucks what they have done to pc gamers,jaysus i have every single game they ever released ive ran and rented quite a few servers for each of them but i just said why cut off my nose despite my face?
    I didnt get the pc version but not as some form of boycott.
    I got 2 copies of the 360 version and shall have a blast online with my son and a few close friends.
    At the end of the day things have changed for me now, id much prefer to play online with little Sean than anything ive ever done before community wise on pc.

Having said that i 100% agree with pc gamers and their issues but what i will say is lads if you want to plat MW2 for pc online just give the matchmaking system a chance.
    It works remarkably well on xbox live.
    Ofcourse its not the same as the whole community/server/clan/website/ventrilo/teamspeak/matches/leagues etc etc that pc gaming boasts but if you want to play an incredible fps online you could do a lot worse.

Just my 2 cents :)

MW2 multiplayer is hellish addictive by the way :)
    Im having a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭robz18

IgsTer wrote: »
    Yeah would be a good idea to get a central place were all of us Irish CoD players can meet up. I havent found one on CoD4 even yet two years after release

Id say an Irish CoD irc channel would be a good idea, #cod.ie maybe? Think its already set up actually by one of the ie lads.

Also get an xfire irish CoD group setup if there isnt one already, dont think there is.

But most importantly a competitive Irish server would be the best idea inline with the other suggestions, I know pYk. and Irish e-sports have a public promod server each, so id say there will be one or two mw2 ones springing up too after the release.

EDIT: Think you lads may be talking about the console version? only realising that now. Nvm what i said above so, though for pc players I still think its a good idea
    IRC channel sounds good, do you know where it is?

Also, dedicated server support was removed for this COD, so there won't be any Irish servers, from what I understand.