Stephen Gately has died! ----(mod warning post #6)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Louis Walsh is annoying me though, he's on every channel talking about his loss. If he was that upset he wouldn't be going on TV at any given opportunity. Fame hungry as usual :rolleyes:

That's exactly what I thought. He also doesn't look that upset either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Madge wrote: »

I guess his recent cosmetic under eye work doesn't help though, he probably can't look sad now even if he wants to :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

I guess his recent cosmetic under eye work doesn't help though, he probably can't look sad now even if he wants to :pac:

I know, his eyes look v strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I wonder if many fans will show up at the funeral.

It's right around the corner from my sister's apartment, so I'm thinking of wandering for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I just saw on the news that the rest of the band are going to stay in the church on Friday night because his Mother said he wouldn't like to be alone.

That is very sweet. I wouldn't want to be left alone in a church all night either.
    lizt wrote: »
    I wonder if many fans will show up at the funeral.

It's right around the corner from my sister's apartment, so I'm thinking of wandering for a while.

I hope people stay respectful of the family and keep a distance at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

i see a lot of thanks after post 6.....just wondering but are you able to give like a "no" you know to say you disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    i see a lot of thanks after post 6.....just wondering but are you able to give like a "no" you know to say you disagree

No Sheepy99, it was tried before and it didn't work.

The best thing to do if you feel strongly enough is to post your disagreement and explain why.

That is very sweet. I wouldn't want to be left alone in a church all night either.

I hope people stay respectful of the family and keep a distance at least.

I agree that people should stay respectful but I hope that fans do show up to pay their respects. I really think that's what he would have wanted as he seemed to love his career and his fans. I hope it's done in a dignified way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Louis Walsh is annoying me though, he's on every channel talking about his loss. If he was that upset he wouldn't be going on TV at any given opportunity. Fame hungry as usual :rolleyes:

Couldn't disagree more. I think he is doing interviews to take the pressure off the family. They must be bugged to f*** with the media hounding them for interviews and also it might just shut the tabloids up with their snide speculative bull if they have a few quotes from Louis instead.
    Madge wrote: »

What station were you watching? I just watched the Sky News live interview and he was close to tears throughout - the man looks lost. Sometimes I think people see what they want to see.

On a side note he has a little pop at solicitor at one point (Gerald Kean?) for contacting the papers with the news of Stephen's death before they contacted him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

He's just been on Sky News and was indeed upset.
    Sure he said Stephen was his best friend and I have no reason to doubt him.
    It's too easily refuted by the people who knew both of them.

Sky are covering the funeral from 10 am on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Awh poor Louis. Fair play to him for talking. I don't think I could do it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭khmk

God bless you Tiny Dancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Anyone watching Sky News? The Daily Mail hits a new low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,078 ✭✭✭✭walshb

LZ5by5 wrote: »

How?

Because the Mail may be saying what a lot of folks are thinking?

I read the report and nothing in it is wholly untrue or inaccurate.
    They are simply saying what may be on many peoples lips

walshb wrote: »
    How?

Because the Mail may be saying what a lot of folks are thinking?

I read the report and nothing in it is wholly untrue or inaccurate.
    They are simply saying what may be on many peoples lips

They make an unfounded accusation that civil partnerships are doomed, how is that not inaccurate?

See my post about Sky News and The Sun being from the same corporation. Of course Sky will have a pop at the Mail, they're media rivals.

They make an unfounded accusation that civil partnerships are doomed, how is that not inaccurate?

Gately was gay, a public figure and his premature death in the circumstances which it occurred will be talked about, discussed and debated. All they are doing is talking about it. They are printing the questions that others are thinking.

Like: If Gately and Cowles were married and happy, how come another man was back with hem, he and Cowles in the bed and Gately on the sofa?

I have no issue with it, there's no law against it, but it will be queried and folks will want to know what sort of lifestyle they led.

Like it or not, the life of a gay man or gay men does have a very seedy
    reputation. And, more so than the average married heterosexual couple.
    It's a twilight zone of hedonism. Agai, I couldn't care less and I have nothing against it, but it's there to be discussed, and they are cashing in

It's a twilight zone of hedonism.

That's The George your thinking of .. :)

He was Gay .. not a Pimp for God sake.

Gately was gay, a public figure and his premature death in the circumstances which it occurred will be talked about, discussed and debated. All they are doing is talking about it. They are printing the questions that others are thinking.

I have no problem for this incident to be discussed to use this for a thinly veiled attack on homosexuality is low, even by the Mail's standards.
    Like: If Gately and Cowles were married and happy, how come another man was back with hem, he and Cowles in the bed and Gately on the sofa?

I never saw this before, do you have a link? Respectable source please.
    Like it or not, the life of a gay man or gay men does have a very seedy reputation. And, more so than the average married heterosexual couple. It's a twilight zone of hedonism. Agai, I couldn't care less and I have nothing against it, but it's there to be discussed, and they are cashing in

Perhaps in showbiz, but having said that there has been just as many heterosexual celebrities that have been caught up in a seedy lifestyle as there have been of homosexual celebrities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

But "If Gately and his wife were married and happy, how come another woman was back with them, she and the wife in the bed and Gately on the sofa?" doesn't sound so bad, does it?

First, his death most likely had nothing in common with how he spent the night.

Second, even if he had collapsed in the middle of a threesome, what difference does it make if he was with man or woman, single or plural?
    Like it or not, the life of a gay man or gay men does have a very seedy
    reputation.

In your eyes maybe.

herya wrote: »
    But "If Gately and his wife were married and happy, how come another woman was back with them, she and the wife in the bed and Gately on the sofa?" doesn't sound so bad, does it?

First, his death most likely had nothing in common with how he spent the night.

Second, even if he had collapsed in the middle of a threesome, what difference does it make if he was with man or woman, single or plural?

In your eyes maybe.

Hey, I never said it bothered me, or that I disagreed with it.

Gay, straight or whatever, when a celebrity dies tragically and in circumstances like last week, then it's a topic of news and
    all avenues will be covered.

If he was straight, and his wife and another man came back and hit the bed
    whilst he was downstairs, this too would be debated and queiried.

Sleazy is a subjective word, but the whole marriage thing is
    suposedly one person committed to the other for life, whether one
    agrees with this or not. Gately was living in a twilight world, no matter how far we progress, gay men will never be viewed like straight men

Gately was living in a twilight world, no matter how far we progress, gay men will never be viewed like straight men

What Twilight world? He was happily married, succesfully writing childrens books, preparing for a new album and tour with Boyzone while he had a short break at his holiday home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

I just saw on the news that the rest of the band are going to stay in the church on Friday night because his Mother said he wouldn't like to be alone.

I just think that's such a lovely thing to do. I guess they get to say their own final goodbyes to him that night.

thats al real nice last thing of the lads to do for their friend. Couldnt bring myself to do that.
    Although i cant help but think of that Father ted episode where Ted and Dougle say with Jack before he was supposed to be buried...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

thats al real nice last thing of the lads to do for their friend. Couldnt bring myself to do that.
    Although i cant help but think of that Father ted episode where Ted and Dougle say with Jack before he was supposed to be buried...

"It's beginning to snow again.
    The flakes, silver and dark, are falling obliquely against the lamplight.
    It's probably snowing all over the island.
    On the central plain, on the treeless hills...falling softly upon the graveyards...upon the crosses and the headstones.
    Upon all the living, and the dead."

Father Jack shouts:........ "Feck off!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Hey, I never said it bothered me, or that I disagreed with it.

Gay, straight or whatever, when a celebrity dies tragically and in circumstances like last week, then it's a topic of news and
    all avenues will be covered.

If he was straight, and his wife and another man came back and hit the bed
    whilst he was downstairs, this too would be debated and queiried.

Sleazy is a subjective word, but the whole marriage thing is
    suposedly one person committed to the other for life, whether one
    agrees with this or not. Gately was living in a twilight world, no matter how far we progress, gay men will never be viewed like straight men

I find your comments deeply offensive and insulting.:mad:

Please enlighten us with your information that the rest of us don't seem to know surrounding the death of Stephen Gately? The man is not even buried and yet people are assasinating his character. You are no better than that Daily Mail "journalist" when you come out with that homophobic, bigoted rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I just think that's such a lovely thing to do. I guess they get to say their own final goodbyes to him that night.

I couldnt disagree with you more, any interview Louis has done has been totally about stephen an how good of a person Stephen was and how a friend he was to Louis..

In that sky interview Louis looks to be a little all over the place to be honest.
    Louis never lets his guard down, and peforms interviews and on TV behind a smoke screen, but in that interview its Louis we see.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Please enlighten us with your information that the rest of us don't seem to know surrounding the death of Stephen Gately?

His has no information other than maybe something he has maybe read in The Sun or other tabloid that wants to make the man's death some sort of sleazy soap opera storyline.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I find your comments deeply offensive and insulting.:mad:
    Please enlighten us with your information that the rest of us don't seem to know surrounding the death of Stephen Gately? The man is not even buried and yet people are assasinating his character. You are no better than that Daily Mail "journalist" when you come out with that homophobic, bigoted rubbish.

Pity about you!

Anyway, I clearly stated that I couldn't care less what sexual orientation
    a person is, but to try and say all is equal, is a stretch. Wheteher one likes it or not, men with men is not the normal or majority way things happen and the Gately death will be talked about and all the details, sleazy to some, or not sleazy to others will be talked about. It's reality and frowning from mentioning it doesn't mean folks ain't thinking about it

Pity about you!
    .. men with men is not the normal or majority way things happen ..

Nobody is stopping or even complaining about ANYONE discussing Stephen's death and you implying such does not make it so. Stop trying to make out that this is the case - it is not.

What people have a problem with is your attitude. How did you ever become a mod?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Nico22 wrote: »
    Nobody is stopping or even complaining about ANYONE discussing Stephen's death and you implying such does not make it so. Stop trying to make out that this is the case - it is not.

What people have a problem with is your attitude. How did you ever become a mod?

I'd save your breath if I were you Nico. :rolleyes:

Thoughts with his partner and family over the coming days, tomorrow's gona be very tough on them.