Your worst working experience ever?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Flairpinnedme

thebman wrote: »
    Support job. Person rings in asking for account to be deleted (first button when you login to the site I was working for). I tell them this and they say they can't remember their details.

I ask them for their email address (I get two and search for both neither exist). I do searches for the persons first name and last name and still nothing. I go through each and every record that matches first two characters in last name to see if they misspelled their name when signing up or something, nothing.

I tell the person the account doesn't seem to exist on the system. They start giving out to me for some reason, saying they never deleted their account. I ask again do they have another email address but they say no. She says so is my account deleted? I say it most likely is. She asks what that means, I say for the details you've given me, the account does not exist and must have been deleted if it existed.

She hangs up on me.
    I've worked in a call center for a leading telecommunications company starting with the letter M... and if that was the average kinda call I got, it would have been an awesome job

i remember this one woman who used to call up every few months, talking on and on about how eircom was tapping her phone lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Call centre work has provided me with endless examples of this, but when i worked in a cinema my days consisted of picking up other peoples rubbish as they assumed that once you half finish a box of popcorn remainder of said box is to be kicked over on the floor for the staff to pick up, same for almost empty coke cups, the stickiness of my shoes after a days work was a thing to behold, also finding cans of cider up the back of the late night screenings, some needles ones, a paid of black panties on the floor after a daytime screening of Toy Story 2 that there were a bunch of kids in, numerous used condoms over the months, stopping fights between travellers on sundays, kicking kids out for making too much noise, god i hated that job, cinema employees should be paid their weight in gold every week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Cleeo wrote: »
    When I was in retail, I worked on the Customer Service Desk. A customer started shouting at me, and telling me what an absolute bitch I was. Backstory- We had been told not to take sales at the desk. This didn't go down to well with the customer. My manager asked her to leave. Not that exciting a story.

The very worst thing to happen though was going into a patients room, only to discover she had died! No point taking her blood pressure then :(

I wish that would happen to me more often.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I spent two months on the chain gang for a well know Irish former Irish shipping company. Basically it involved lashing down trucks as they came onboard the ferry with big chains and taking them off when we arrived. It was a crazy ****ed up world. 9 hour shifts, as in 9 on, 9 off . It was a total groundhog experience, get up, morning, afternoon, evening, early hours, do the same **** again and again. The only way you knew what time of the day it was, was by the meal they were serving in the canteen. Most of the officers were total pricks with attitudes as big as the ship. The other lads and girls were a mixed bunch, but I remember one girl was on heroine, there was enough booze and dope knocking around to keep the Dutch navy happy! And one lad specialised in scoring with traveller women...

The work meant working in close proximity with 40ft articulated trucks with fumes spewing out and trailers liable to move without them noticing you working underneath it. Dangerous, dirty, smelly and badly paid. Nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

supermacs bunny

(coulnt see out the damn thing so never saw little jonny headbutt me in the chicken nuggets!)

trash compactor filler in tesco

(job never existed til i gave my manager a weeks notice of my intention to leave, was working on the fruit & veg dept for nearly a year beforehand!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

I worked in a slaughter house for a summer where my job was to collect pigs lungs and kidneys out of a huge vat of organs and put them in to separate boxes. I then had to freeze those organs and stack the frozen cubes (like large ice-cubes, made with organs though) onto a pallet to be made into dog food. I then had to collect pig heads and put them into boxes to be shipped to russia. This was all performed in a large freezer that blasted cold air in every 2 minutes. I think I was the only person there who spoke english so i essentially spent the whole summer void of social interaction, put i did learn rudimentary polish.
    On the other hand I worked in a radisson the summer before and i was subjected to motivational seminars like the "yes i can" program, where i was supposed to achieve self actualization through serving food, and made feel like i should pay them to receive the pleasure of working in their hotel.
    To be honest I think i preferred the slaughter house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Can't say I've ever had a bad job. Did work experience once for a big bike shop (store) in Dublin cos I was into bikes at the time. I wanted to work on bikes, but instead I spent most of the week rearranging the storeroom and painting the new upstairs he'd just had built. He made me work 12 hours on the last day there, didn't pay me at all and then top it off, the stingy prick said I was lazy on my evaluation.

The owner there was (and probably still is) a wanker of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

phasers wrote: »
    I order a diet coke with a large meal because I like the taste of diet coke

Where's the funny part?

You like the taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

RonMexico wrote: »
    You like the taste?

They're clearly being ironic. Nobody likes the taste of Diet Coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Lining up for a pack of fags. Some rugby boys outside were doing some half-arsed american frat boy "drink! drink! drink!" stuff while one was downing a pint.

Turkish girl says to her friends in exquisite ESL: "It's not like this in Turkey."

She noticed me eavesdropping and switched back to her native tongue. Not sure what she said next.

It was horrible man ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

phasers wrote: »
    :( I am never eating chicken again

You say that but . . .

bbq-beast-box-meal.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Such bad experiences you had to post it twice?

lol yeah I knew it wasn't deja vous. I got confused when I read the whole thing twice yet read different stories around each one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Worked in a "wonderland of value" shop in Northside shopping centre in 4th year. Thankfully it was only for a week, but it was bloody awful. I was put in charge of the toy section, which was 2 aisles. I basically walked around in circles all day hoping something needed to be done. I got put in the storeroom one day to clean it up and passed the time by reading magazines and other things. To top it off, didnt recieve a penny at the end of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

My brother once refused Tony O'Reilly entry to a racetrack

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Long Onion wrote: »
    Lining up for a pack of fags. Some rugby boys outside were doing some half-arsed american frat boy "drink! drink! drink!" stuff while one was downing a pint.

Turkish girl says to her friends in exquisite ESL: "It's not like this in Turkey."

She noticed me eavesdropping and switched back to her native tongue. Not sure what she said next.

It was horrible man ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭buckieburd

Worked as a cleaner in the hospital, did a lot of overtime so worked on loads of different wards. Worst was the geriatrics when the breakfast trolleys came round, the smell of human ****e and scrambled eggs, rough. Couldn't eat scramblers for years after that....

Also worked in A&E, lovely 'gifts' get left in the toilet left for you to clean up, used needles, condoms, vomit, and the persistent '**** in toilet roll and leave it on the floor' person who seemed to wait until it was my shift to do this. Did find a lump of hash one day though :) Also the Psychiatric Ward, the smell after they did the electroshock treatment :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

i DID a bit of slaughter house work too, first summer was such though going involved me washing cows hoofs and snouts that where thrown down from the kill floor, by end of summer i was running the division due to been only one with decent english down their, it did mean i could vary my tasks a bit altrhough i was useless with the knife but good at the old managing. Used hate when someone called in sick and id have to fill in for them. Next year went back was a drastic improvement. The worst was next year when they put me on belly table where my knife skills where shown up and i quickly got overwhelms with the ****in bellys and ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

orourkeda wrote: »
    I wish that would happen to me more often.

The manager asking a customer to leave, or patients dying?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

I worked as a teacher in the UAE. Worst job ever. The kids there are f**king crazy!!!

A 4 year old spat at me and threw water over my head and I got in trouble for not reporting it properly.

A child refused to do any work for me because he could see the freckles on my arms, this was somehow my fault.

An 8 year old, when told to stop talking, said "Eat my balls, Miss" to me. Again I got in trouble for not reporting it properly even though I reported it the way I was told to after the spitting incident.

One of the teachers in the school got so angry at one of the classes that he picked a 13 year old up by his collar and threw him into a wall. The teacher got transfered to a different school. I had to take over his class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭w123

NothingMan wrote: »
    Man, if summer is a month, and there are 12 months in a year, that means years are 3 times longer than I thought! Yay now i'll be 24 for ages!

I think that you'd actually be 8.

So do your homework and tidy the playroom or it'll be no spongebob for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

w123 wrote: »
    I think that you'd actually be 8.

So do your homework and tidy the playroom or it'll be no spongebob for you...

But, but, but, but ...... Awww Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Soby

Ye,how many people now hate and disown kids because of their job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

On leaving school (long, long ago) and waiting to go to college to study for an engineering career, I got a temporary job in an engineering works where I had to work a machine that buffed rough casting for the knobs on bus handrails. The machine was in a basement hole accessed by a ladder, and it consisted of an electric motor that spun a felt buffing wheel that had to be loaded with black soap. Every hour a tray of knobs would be lowered to me and I had to complete them all in the next hour. The foreman was from Wales and was a perfectionist, so most of my work was rejected and had to be done again (in addition to the next batch). At the end of the first day I was black from head to foot with the soap and the dust from the metal. No dust masks were supplied, so every time I blew my nose it looked like I'd been snorting coal dust.

Me ma was not at all impressed. "And you want to be an engineer when your father could have got you a nice job as an apprentice draughtsman at the local factory?" she wailed.

However, I persisted, went to college, and got an apprenticeship in heavy engineering in a Glasgow shipyard. Oh the sheer pleasure of working in the shell of a new build on a slipway on the Clyde in the middle of winter, with a rivetting crew working within twenty feet and no tea breaks!