600lb bomb made safe in n ireland today?

• 15-10-2009 02:48PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭

Has anyone got a link for this, I heard it mentioned on Newstalk FM but I can't find a link online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

LA3G wrote: »
    Has anyone got a link for this, I heard it mentioned on Newstalk FM but I can't find a link online?

Saw a few Garda cars followed by the Army Bomb Disposal Unit flying it up Dame Street at around 11 last night with sirens sounding, maybe that has something to do with it

Ah here's a link:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1015/device.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Leixlip_Red

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

It's about time they got rid of Mary Harney! She was bound to go off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They should have put it in a taxi to the dail.

Killing two birds with the one stone so to speak.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 27,105 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

This is the 600 pound one.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/8308209.stm

The one in Dublin was just a pipebomb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

LA3G wrote: »
    600lb bomb made safe in n ireland today?

In before flutterin bantum and huge turd joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

mikom wrote: »
    In before flutterin bantum and huge turd joke.

Mary Harney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Spear wrote: »
    The one in Dublin was just a pipebomb.

Has there been a zombie outbreak recently?

/I play way too much Left4Dead..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

£600 bomb in these times of recession, disgraceful :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Independent councillor Gerard Foley was one of the first to come across the van.

"We stood and looked at it for about 10 or 15 minutes and we said, 'there's something not right here'," he said.

He was suspicious just because there was a van on the side of the road?

God help him if he ever goes near a car park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

brummytom wrote: »

did you not see the picture... its parked in the middle of the road!!!! with no one around it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,581 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

whats with all the 600lb bombs floating about
    Last month another 600lb bomb was discovered close to the border in South Armagh. It had been concealed by a roadside with the intention of being detonated when a police patrol car passed by the spot.

The Real IRA was thought to be responsible.
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article6876287.ece#cid=OTC-RSS&attr=797084

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

The van is parked in the middle of the road, it's in the picture in the link if you had looked :rolleyes: And I've never seen anyone park there before so he should have been suspicious.

Or was it an attempt at a joke to get some 'thanks'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

We need to intern those f*ckers if anything goes off.

Or intern them now. Save some lives.

fullstop wrote: »
    The van is parked in the middle of the road, it's in the picture in the link if you had looked :rolleyes: And I've never seen anyone park there before so he should have been suspicious.

Or was it an attempt at a joke to get some 'thanks'?
    Ah I love a bit of patronisation

Fair play; I saw the picture, I'm not well today, didn't click that it was in the middle of the road. But chill out! Chelsea on saturday :eek:, get worked up about that instead

Brummy, I generally enjoy your posts but you were a bit off there.

600Lbs is a lot., It could have killed lots of people. These dissidents bug the behesus out of me. A minority of crackpots who will kill innocent people for unachievable goals opposed by the vast majority of people.

asdasd wrote: »

600Lbs is a lot., It could have killed lots of people. These dissidents bug the behesus out of me. A minority of crackpots who will kill innocent people for unachievable goals opposed by the vast majority of people.

Yeah, sorry.

Can I just ask; over here we hear absolutely nothing about any of these bombs/'devices'. Is there any reason for the sudden surge in Dissident activity?
    It's seemed calm up there for the last 9 or so years now (?) but since those Soldiers were shot in Fermanagh there's been a few bombs found every month - is there anything that's triggered it?

/serious post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

has it been confirmed there was a bomb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Yeah, sorry.

Can I just ask; over here we hear absolutely nothing about any of these bombs/'devices'. Is there any reason for the sudden surge in Dissident activity?
    It's seemed calm up there for the last 9 or so years now (?) but since those Soldiers were shot in Fermanagh there's been a few bombs found every month - is there anything that's triggered it?

/serious post

With the INLA calling their war over, the CIRA and RIRA will both want to show "they haven't gone away, you know" and will pull stunts like this to show that they can still feck things up if they get a chance to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Except there wasn't a 600lb bomb found today. It was a small pipe bomb that the Army have since made safe.

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Except there wasn't a 600lb bomb found today. It was a small pipe bomb that the Army have since made safe.

Source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭hello932

Source?

Also how much damage could a pipe bomb do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article6876287.ece

there was also a pipe bomb found in Dublin afaik

Source?

No word on this 600lb one. Does any one have any source for it?

it was posted earlier in the thread.

I see that now. Apologies.

Strange that it has been picked up by RTE or the Irishtimes. Also the PSNI news press office has no mention of it.

No word on this 600lb one. Does any one have any source for it?

Doesn't say anything about a pipe bomb in that link. And yes, there was a 600lb one found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭DoireNod

/serious post
    Out of sheer pedantry, I'm going to point out it was Co. Antrim where those two British soldiers were shot. I'm not exactly sure what has 'triggered' the recent events, but in the eyes of the people who carry out the acts, it's the continued presence of the British government and army in Ireland that is the reason for their violence. They've made that pretty clear, haven't they?

I assume there are a few reasons why it's happening now. It's a disruption of the political process and the perceived normalisation of British rule which is happening in the north. The issue of policing is causing some concern too.

Lidl really have to stop doing that special offer on 600lbs of fertilizer... makin it way to easy for these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭DoireNod

Lidl really have to stop doing that special offer on 600lbs of fertilizer... makin it way to easy for these guys.
    The Germans have always been sympathetic the the Irish republican cause!