Your worst working experience ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭i didn't do it

dylano_k wrote: »
    Nobody has had it worse than i had. Few years ago i was a cycle courier and was made to wear THIS and if i didnt i wouldn't get my 15% bonus. Went a month before i called it a day. I didn't get one bird that month and it was in summer...my strongest month !!!!

That a cool looking cycle helmet how did you not pull:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭furiousox

Mayoegian wrote: »
    I'm still clueless......SEIRCOMT?

lt's not magic its just sm.rt

Too f'ing right it's not :pac:

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

When I was in retail, I worked on the Customer Service Desk. A customer started shouting at me, and telling me what an absolute bitch I was. Backstory- We had been told not to take sales at the desk. This didn't go down to well with the customer. My manager asked her to leave. Not that exciting a story.

The very worst thing to happen though was going into a patients room, only to discover she had died! No point taking her blood pressure then :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I worked in McDonalds when I was 15/16 as a saturday job, and OP summed it up beautifully.
    My second worst working experience was a couple of years later. I worked as a tour guide and had to get dressed up in Tudor style clothing (organ crushing corset, kirtles, huge skirts, head dress the lot), and show parties of school children how a Tudor era gentlewoman lived, giving demonstrations of how various household contraptions of the era worked, and talking about life under Henry VIII/Elizabeth I. School children are utterly revolting.
    The worst thing was, it was work experience, I wasn`t getting bloody paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

Cleeo wrote: »
    When I was in retail, I worked on the Customer Service Desk. A customer started shouting at me, and telling me what an absolute bitch I was. Backstory- We had been told not to take sales at the desk. This didn't go down to well with the customer. My manager asked her to leave. Not that exciting a story.

The very worst thing to happen though was going into a patients room, only to discover she had died! No point taking her blood pressure then :(

In retail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭peepeep

Nobody has had it worse than i had. Few years ago i was a cycle courier and was made to wear THIS and if i didnt i wouldn't get my 15% bonus. Went a month before i called it a day. I didn't get one bird that month and it was in summer...my strongest month !!!!

Most girls I know love a man in a cyclone uniform!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Worked as a night porter in a hotel in Galway that's since gone bust. I absolutely loved the work - run the bar from 11 to 3 (or whenever you wanted to close), clean the place, let in the late returners etc.

Unfortunately, the general manager was the most incompetent bitch I've ever had the misfortune of coming across. Micro-managed everything but gave completely conflicting instructions - it was like she had permanent PMS! To give you a clue as to how incompetent this woman actually was, she was supposed to be running the place at a loss as some part of a tax break and she couldn't even figure out how to do that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Sleepy wrote: »
    Worked as a night porter in a hotel in Galway that's since gone bust. I absolutely loved the work - run the bar from 11 to 3 (or whenever you wanted to close), clean the place, let in the late returners etc.

Unfortunately, the general manager was the most incompetent bitch I've ever had the misfortune of coming across. Micro-managed everything but gave completely conflicting instructions - it was like she had permanent PMS! To give you a clue as to how incompetent this woman actually was, she was supposed to be running the place at a loss as some part of a tax break and she couldn't even figure out how to do that!

I'm sure she'd have no problem doing that now, That sentence was almost summed up the Celtic Tiger and its people in one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I worked in a Hardware shop in Galway and the worst thing I ever had to do was clean up some old woman's piss. She had an "accident" near the hoover section. This sheer atrocity made me hate pensioners for quite a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Was offered a job in a recycling plant as a route controller, 1st day of work in the new state of the art plant i noticed something was very wrong.........something was not quite right about the new state of the are recycling plant.

it wasnt ****ing built!!!! Was handed a sweeping brush and told to sweep the empty space until it was ready. Eventually they operated it anyway and were closed down by the EPA. So i was left all alone in a place that wasnt even a building site at this stage just a big machine in a half built warehouse and a few portacabins.

I had to open the gate for the bosses who visited once a month all the while i sat in a portacabin with internet access, i read every singe discworld book, i watched over 200 movies. With my old boards account i had nearly 19,000 posts :eek:

For 3 months open gate ......close gate...sit back down watch tv..post on boards.......Had to leave in the end and from there i went to the soup making company who told me i would be a Scheduler..... but DEN DEN DEN i was A Super Scheduler who packed soup on nights for €28 (+ shift) an hour cos the union said so. I got a 1000 euro a week to pack ****ing chicken noodle soup :eek: Sadly they moved to poland :(

Now i have a job that is what i applied for :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

I worked as a night porter in a residential home for asylum seekers. I had a guy turn up one night asking me if I could wake one of the female residents up so he could ask if she would have sex with him for money.

I also managed to set the silent emergency alarm under the desk off with my foot one night while I just sitting there reading. All of a sudden the Gardai rushed in. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Right beat this.........

Get up at 7 to be at farm for 7.30
    Enter chicken house (28,000 chickens) with a temperature of 35 degrees in the chicken house
    Walk up and down both aisles lifting the dead ones
    Throw them out
    Back in to clean out feed troughs and water troughs
    Put down fresh bedding

When the 6 week period is up help Moy Park lads load the now "fully" grown chickens into their lorry - this has to be done in less than an hour
    When they leave the entire chicken house (200 feet long by 65 feet wide) has to be cleaned out, then powerhosed clean then disinfected and then 3 days later a lorry arrives with another 28,000 chickens

Start from beginning - for 100 quid a week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

:( I am never eating chicken again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I was seventeen when I got my first job as a wash-up person in a local restaurant.

It was unappreciated, horrible, hot, smelly, dirty, sweaty work. And then the water source broke. I had to carry a wheelie bin down two floors, fill it with water, carry it upstairs, carry on with the rest of the washing-up crap, several several times a night, seven nights a week. No lift, had to maneuvere the bin up the stairs every time. As well as the general clean-up at the end of the night. Puke and whatnot. And no we did not receive a share of the tips. And minimum wage at that time was seriously a joke.

I can honestly say it was the best job I have ever had.

I've had shtty jobs since then, but at least I can always look back at that job and think, "I've moved on." It sounds silly, but if I ever lack motivation in my career, I can look at that time and think, "That's why I'm doing this - I don't ever want to end up back there again."

It wasn't the worst job in the world by a long shot, and I have plenty of other motivating reasons - but if they all fail, the thought of going back to wash-up in that place always gets me going and makes me appreciate what I've got!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭blueshark22

used to empty out blood baths in a butchers .... uck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

phasers wrote: »

You'll have that supersize chicken royale meal and wash it down with diet coke, you know you will. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Tellox wrote: »
    Having to keep a straight face when dealing with customers who order extra large meals along with a diet coke (this happens far more often than you can imagine)

Don't see anything wrong with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

phasers wrote: »

I am.

*Nyom*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Worked on a stud bull farm. The boss was a right a**hole.

I had to masage the huge ballsack until it was fit to burst, grab a coutainer and catch all the contents for insemination.

I had to do the same with the bulls.........

jobs like that never pay enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Worked on a stud bull farm. The boss was a right a**hole.

I had to masage the huge ballsack until it was fit to burst, grab a coutainer and catch all the contents for insemination.

I had to do the same with the bulls.........

jobs like that never pay enough.

Sounds like a job for Rebecca Loos.

Someone get her agent on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,584 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

A kitchen porter while I was in college.

I would name and shame the place but may get into trouble.....

Anyway, washing pots and pans with **** bag chefs and waiters thinking their ****ing brain surgeons...

A seafood restaurant it was and the chef would smoke while cooking the best sea food in Dublin. The other chef would come back after lunch, drunk and would be picking at his arse the whole shift. The both would have passed as homeless as they were so disgusting....

I fooking hated that job. 3.50 Irish Punts an hour, under the table...

The owners daughter, who was ugly as sin who had a silver spoon up her arse always like to throw her weight around every so often.

She caught me one night and brought 1 cup to me out of 400 I washed and gave me **** for not cleaning it. As she walked out of the Kitchen, I threw the cup at her aiming to miss just to fook with her. Splatter of the wall in a million pieces and told her to go fook her cup.

She flipped, I gladly picked up coat and told them all to go stick their dishes up their fat arses....

****ty job, but it got me through college and i had my say in the end.

I also worked in a box factory. 10 hours a day putting together Pringle Boxes... My god.. my brain drop several IQ points working in that place.

Walked in one morning with a hangover, the other two people I worked with also had hangovers. 7am, we walked out, and hit the early house and told them to fook their boxes again up their holes....

Good days, bad jobs, but character was built.
    A kitchen porter while I was in college.

I would name and shame the place but may get into trouble.....

Anyway, washing pots and pans with **** bag chefs and waiters thinking their ****ing brain surgeons...

A seafood restaurant it was and the chef would smoke while cooking the best sea food in Dublin. The other chef would come back after lunch, drunk and would be picking at his arse the whole shift. The both would have passed as homeless as they were so disgusting....

I fooking hated that job. 3.50 Irish Punts an hour, under the table...

The owners daughter, who was ugly as sin who had a silver spoon up her arse always like to throw her weight around every so often.

She caught me one night and brought 1 cup to me out of 400 I washed and gave me **** for not cleaning it. As she walked out of the Kitchen, I threw the cup at her aiming to miss just to fook with her. Splatter of the wall in a million pieces and told her to go fook her cup.

She flipped, I gladly picked up coat and told them all to go stick their dishes up their fat arses....

****ty job, but it got me through college and i had my say in the end.

I also worked in a box factory. 10 hours a day putting together Pringle Boxes... My god.. my brain drop several IQ points working in that place.

Walked in one morning with a hangover, the other two people I worked with also had hangovers. 7am, we walked out, and hit the early house and told them to fook their boxes again up their holes....

Good days, bad jobs, but character was built.

Such bad experiences you had to post it twice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Soby

Such bad experiences you had to post it twice?

I knew i wasnt dreaming..:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

A friend of mine was desperate for someone to pull a week of night shift security work for him on a warehouse in North Dublin. I have never, nor will I ever, had any security training, nor am I registered or whatever. It was strictly under-the-table and cash in hand just to get him out of a jam.

It was the 9pm-7am shift. Oh dear Jesus, no... I did it solid for a week... while also workin 10am-4pm in a post office! I hadn't bargained on how difficult life is without sleep. After 4 days, I was nearly seeing things. It nearly killed me. I was getting paid a sh*tload of money for it, but it was so not worth it. I had to take a week off work after it.

Also, everytime I heard a slight noise in the warehouse, I KNEW it was a bunch of scangers breaking into the warehouse and who would knock my head in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭baalthor

lounge boy was i was 15.
    had to put up with the most ignorant lazy wastes of space barstaff on the planet. we were paid £2 an hour and werent paid after 11.30 even though you would be there til at least 1am and well after 2.30 am on a saturday night. the bar staff did nothing and one fat bastard used to rob rolls and blame the lounge staff.
    hated it but at the time every pub was doing it
    a couple of years after i left all the lounge staff walked out on a saturday night and left the pigs behind the bar to do some work

My first job was as lounge staff. At the end of the night I thought I'd done a great job picking up the glasses but I missed a blind spot behind a pillar where a huge pile had mounted up. Some had broken, a drunk guy had cut himself and there was a small pool of blood on the floor.
    I can still remember him sitting there saying " I'm having my period "

The most depressing job was going to work in a call centre on Saturday and Sunday afternoons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Mayoegian wrote: »
    I'm still clueless......SEIRCOMT?

What a post! Has to be post of the day please!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA first time I've laughed out loud to a post in ages! Thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Support job. Person rings in asking for account to be deleted (first button when you login to the site I was working for). I tell them this and they say they can't remember their details.

I ask them for their email address (I get two and search for both neither exist). I do searches for the persons first name and last name and still nothing. I go through each and every record that matches first two characters in last name to see if they misspelled their name when signing up or something, nothing.

I tell the person the account doesn't seem to exist on the system. They start giving out to me for some reason, saying they never deleted their account. I ask again do they have another email address but they say no. She says so is my account deleted? I say it most likely is. She asks what that means, I say for the details you've given me, the account does not exist and must have been deleted if it existed.

She hangs up on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

Spadina wrote: »
    Working in a Toasted Sandwich place in Toronto 2 summers ago, us Day Staff kept the place clean but the Night Staff were crap, never cleaned up properly and as a result we got ourselves a nice little mouse infestation....followed swiftly by some rats. The other Day guy quit so I spent a few weeks working on my own, well except for my furry companions.

Some highlights of that time were:

Sitting down having my lunch wearing flip flops, only to look down and see (and feel, shudder) a teeny tiny mouse wandering over my foot.

Going to get my phone out of bag only for another mouse to hop out at me.

Coming in one morning, going to take the bin bag out of the bin and having the biggest f-ing rat jump out at me, I dropped the bag, ran screaming, and the rat freaked out too, started squeaking and running in circles.

Finding a decomposing mouse in a trap under the sink.

And the BEST was the day I called the boss, told him the rats were coming to get me and that he needed to get traps or *something*, he wanted to only use glue traps so his answer was "Well you know, even if I put down traps they`ll still be alive when you get to work and you`ll have to beat their heads in to kill them anyway, so you might as well just try and shoo them out the back door" :eek:

I quit that day and called Environmental Health.
    Let me guess, the owner was an Indian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Man, if summer is a month, and there are 12 months in a year, that means years are 3 times longer than I thought! Yay now i'll be 24 for ages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

worst job was probably in a food factory in bray....wrapping quiches and cheesecacks....then got "promoted" to be health and safety superviser which meant you have to drag black bags full of beans and slop and try to maneuver them into a skip whilst fending off attacks from ravenous seagulls all day....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

A combination of worst working experience, most idiotic thing I've ever done and a most embarassing moment.

I was working in a bookies and my manager sent me into the post office to pay off a bill. I didn't put the money in my pocket and instead wrapped it up tightly (or so I thought!) in my hand within the bill. As I was walking up to the counter in the post office I unwrapped the bill and only saw €50. That's strange I said to myself as the bill says €150. So I paid the €50 euro off and went back into the bookies. When I opened the door to go back behind the counter I saw €50 on the ground. I got a sinking feeling, I asked my manager how much did he give me to pay off and he said the full €150! I lost €50 somewhere between the bookies and the post office! :o I immediately picked up the €50 on the ground, took €50 out of my own pocket, and went back into the post office without letting my Manager say another word. Worst thing is that when I was walking out of the post office the first time around there was an old lady in front of me and she picked something up off the ground. I didn't think anything of it until I realised what I had done and that the old bag had most likely pocketed €50 for herself!! :pac:

So that's what I'm remembered for in that bookies, and not how I was the picture of hardness when I was held at gun point in my first week on the job! My fecking colleague took weeks off due to the "trauma", I went into work the next day nay bother! :mad: :p