Michael O'Leary is a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

This is something I don't understand - I'm looking at booking a flight with Ryanair which will cost me €0.00 BUT I still have to pay taxes and charges of €30!

So when you say €0.04 do you mean €0.04 + €30 = €30.04? Or are you not paying for the taxes and charges?

See the sig if you dont wish to pay charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Is every ticket on that flight .04? Every ticket for this week/month/year? You got a good price for a ticket that was on a severely reduced sale price, well done. Now don't make out like every flight is the same. Go try booking that flight now and see how much it is.

Yep, they're still 4 cent.

You could also go to Newcastle, Oslo, or a whole host of other "exotic" locations. Why dont you log onto the Ryanair site and check it yourself?

Any other issues you'd like me to solve?
    This is something I don't understand - I'm looking at booking a flight with Ryanair which will cost me €0.00 BUT I still have to pay taxes and charges of €30!

So when you say €0.04 do you mean €0.04 + €30 = €30.04? Or are you not paying for the taxes and charges?

Google Entropay, register, and avoid the CC charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I've just booked a flight to Frankfurt for myself and the missis for €0.04.
    The only cost your gonna have to pay on top of that is payment handling fee which in this case was €20.

If you have a Visa Electron card, there is no charge.

Still, thats incredible value.

Thanks Mick! :D

Here's one of the passenger opinions:D

http://www.airlinequality.com/Airports/Airport_forum/hnn.htm

"The airport in Hahn referred to as Frankfurt is indeed a marketing sham, made worse by the RyanAir ticket counter staff's insistence that misnaming an airport with that of a distant city is quite common. This is quite a shell game, charging 12 Euro to drive airline passengers who've made every provision to get to the Frankfurt Airport on time in order to be subjected to an unexpected 1-1/2 hour bus ride to a remote cow pasture somewhere near Luxembourg. Is there any sense or reason for this? As for RyanAir, a better attempt at customer service to alert passengers that their Frankfurt departure will actually take place at a remote and completely different airport. Why not simply call it the Hahn Airport? We could all live without the false advertising, especially when this confusion costs extra money in rebooking fees and much lost time waiting for another flight."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

LOL did anyone read the "Offical" RyanAir website reply?
    I just love number 11 of his rebuttal on his site! LOL
    Last night Panorama made 11 false or misleading claims as follows:

1. Panorama featured check in problems at Stansted one weekend in August with no mention of the fact that on the other 32 weekends since web check-in was introduced Ryanair has seen no problems whatsoever at Stansted or the other 150 airports Ryanair operates from.

2. Panorama quoted a “Which” magazine survey which has no basis in reality whatsoever since “Which” continue to nominate British Airways as Britain’s favourite airline despite the fact that three times more passengers prefer Ryanair.

3. Panorama claimed that Ryanair charges £5 to all passengers for web check-in but omitted that more than half of Ryanair’s passengers avoid this fee by booking Ryanair’s promotional fares (which include free web check-in).

4. Panorama interviewed a ‘website usability expert’, who claimed that ryanair.com was designed to force passengers to buy Ryanair travel insurance. Panorama hid the fact that over 96% of Ryanair passengers decline travel insurance, which clearly confirms that this ‘website usability expert’ was clueless.

5. Panorama produced a ‘Professor of Corporate Reputation’ to suggest that ‘people feel cheated’ by Ryanair – which is clearly false when over 66 million passengers this year will choose to fly Ryanair because they feel cheated by BA’s and Easyjet’s high fares.

6. Panorama claimed that Ryanair’s 25 minute turnaround was a ‘record time’. This is false since Southwest Airlines in the US operates a 15 minute turnaround.

7. A Panorama actor claimed that cabin crew would not get a contract if they didn’t meet their targets at the end of the day or year. Totally false.

8. Panorama claimed that cabin crew pay £2,000 to train and qualify as cabin crew but conveniently omitted that these payments were not paid to Ryanair.

9. Another Panorama actor claimed Ryanair had ‘no respect or dignity for pilots or cabin crew’ – this is a false claim put about by the British Airways pilots’ union. Respect and dignity in Ryanair come in the form of high pay, rapid promotion and job security – unlike at BA where pilots are facing job cuts and pay cuts.

10. Panorama falsely claimed that no food or drinks are provided to cabin crew without pointing out that each pilot and cabin crew member receives a food allowance on every flight to pay for their own food and drinks.

11. Panorama claimed that “O’Leary is a bully” – this is clearly false when the whole world knows that O’Leary is a kind and gentle, caring and thoughtful, sensitive and saintly human being widely beloved by all Ryanair’s 6,500 people and its 66m passengers.

Source: http://www.ryanair.com/site/EN/news.php?yr=09&month=oct&story=pro-en-131009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,505 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Rondolfus wrote: »
    If by tosser you actually mean a successful Irish person.

you can be both.

i've the utmost respect for his achievements, but he's one of the more irritating men i've come across.

he comes across as self important, arrogant and as smarmy as they come. he'll 'flip-flop' all day on any issue if he thinks Ryanair stand a chance of making some money out of it; so i shouldn't have to listen to his 'political views'.

every person, no matter their success, should have humility at least, otherwise they're just straight unlikeable. success doesn't excuse tosserishness.

people can't possibly tell me he doesn't come across as unlikeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

ScumLord wrote: »
    Bottom line is, if you don't like it don't give them your money.

I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't.
    Excellent I'm sure it won't be long now till the loss of our combined 8c brings Ryanair to it's knees. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭scottledeuce

I've just booked a flight to Frankfurt for myself and the missis for €0.04.
    The only cost your gonna have to pay on top of that is payment handling fee which in this case was €20.

If you have a Visa Electron card, there is no charge.

Still, thats incredible value.

Thanks Mick! :D

Same as,

I just booked a christmas flight home on the 17th of December from London to Dublin for a grand total of 0.01 cent....Nothing extra, No taxes and no charges.

For the time of year that's great value as I've been robbed getting home for Christmas in years gone by.

On a side note can people not get a Visa Electron card in Ireland, From what I see It's basically just the European form of a Lazer card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Zebra3 wrote: »
    It's probably a load of crap because you just skimmed through it.

Maybe you could try reading it through to the end. :rolleyes:

Considering I quoted a part from the very end I think it's fair to assume that I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

He is a smart successful person, of course most people will dislike him

I think he's great, he brought air travel cost down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Hockney

eye for savings?

What, threaten to pull the entire industry out of areas iunless they agree to your cutthroat pricing structure? This is the same tactic people deride Tesco for doing, yet Michael O'Leary gets lauded for it as an "eye for savings".

Is 2 euro charge per person per ticket "transaction charge" an "eye for savings" given it's all done in the same transaction?

Is charging for wheelchairs an "eye for savings"?

Ryanair stealth charge you out the wazoo, so lets cut the crap about it being "low cost".

For the love of God Ryanair put places like Baden-Baden on the map. Ryanair adds hugely to the economy in areas around airports such as this, Frankfurt/Hahn, and countless others all over Europe. I certainly never would have seen these places or spent my money there if it weren't for Ryanair.

I don't find the fact that you put "low cost" in inverted commas laughable, moreso idiotic. Ryanair is Europe's lowest cost airline. Do you deny this?

You whinge about the fact that Ryanair looks for savings in areas that wouldn't exist unless they decided so in the first place, you whinge about 4c flights, you whinge about the "stealth charges", you're Irish, and you're a whinger.

Stealth charges can't exist with Ryanair, because you're told exactly how much you'll pay for your flight on the last page before you hit "Submit" to have your money debited. You're basically complaining about the fact that you have to make a few extra clicks with a mouse, under the guise of "stealth charges".

What you don't realise, is that the only difference between Ryanair and the rest of the carriers, is that you get what you pay for, and you're told exactly where that money goes. And that Ryanair are less expensive on the whole of course.

Other carriers still charge you a fortune to bring luggage, the only difference is that they charge everyone for it regardless of whether they have luggage or not, and stick it on the price of the fare.

So next next time you fly to London for a weekend fly BA, enjoy your bag tucked neatly under the plane for free, the smile you get from the chick at the check in desk for free, and the cup of coffee or two you get on the way over for free.

And when you've done that, just like when you're finished clicking through the Ryanair website, look at your bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

just watched it now as it was blocked in work..

priceless MOL form..I gotta hand it to him.. he takes crap from no one and honestly doesn't give a shít.
    Fair play to him :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

They appear to have completely cancelled the Marseille-Dublin route :(
    Bastards - no Christmas in the bog in the bog for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hockney wrote: »
    For the love of God Ryanair put places like Baden-Baden on the map. Ryanair adds hugely to the economy in areas around airports such as this, Frankfurt/Hahn, and countless others all over Europe. I certainly never would have seen these places or spent my money there if it weren't for Ryanair.

That place was popular before the Wright brothers threw a winged push-bike up a field.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 TalkingHorse

jimmy - if they werent in business you wouldnt be flying anywhere!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Michael O'Leary for Taoiseach!

Hell If he ran, I'd vote for him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Tefral

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Here's one of the passenger opinions:D

http://www.airlinequality.com/Airports/Airport_forum/hnn.htm

"The airport in Hahn referred to as Frankfurt is indeed a marketing sham, made worse by the RyanAir ticket counter staff's insistence that misnaming an airport with that of a distant city is quite common. This is quite a shell game, charging 12 Euro to drive airline passengers who've made every provision to get to the Frankfurt Airport on time in order to be subjected to an unexpected 1-1/2 hour bus ride to a remote cow pasture somewhere near Luxembourg. Is there any sense or reason for this? As for RyanAir, a better attempt at customer service to alert passengers that their Frankfurt departure will actually take place at a remote and completely different airport. Why not simply call it the Hahn Airport? We could all live without the false advertising, especially when this confusion costs extra money in rebooking fees and much lost time waiting for another flight."

Ha ha true, i flew into that airport, it is indeed in the middle of nowhere..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Who cares if the airport is slightly outside the city anyway? That's what keeps the cost down, and boosts the local economy.

Also, if I'm booking a flight somewhere, I check out where the airport is, how easy it is to get to the city, etc. etc. If you book something and don't bother do any research about it first, you deserve to feel stranded.

Ryanair were never about the frills. Ever. I don't like certain aspects about them, but they have helped massively to drive down the cost of air travel in general.

Did MOL do the interview for Panorama in the end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

i always liked him . he is a legend :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

brummytom wrote: »
    "That's why 67 million people fly with us.. far more than watch Panorama".

He actually comes across quite decent, it's fair enough asking for it to be unedited - we know what the BBC's like with editing

You have to credit the BBC, they did show it in full on the web.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

OPENROAD wrote: »
    You have to credit the BBC, they did show it in full on the web.

only because he shamed them into it really.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

only because he shamed them into it really.:)

Not really, they didn't have to put it online, they did though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

SlickRic wrote: »
    you can be both.

i've the utmost respect for his achievements, but he's one of the more irritating men i've come across.

he comes across as self important, arrogant and as smarmy as they come. he'll 'flip-flop' all day on any issue if he thinks Ryanair stand a chance of making some money out of it; so i shouldn't have to listen to his 'political views'.

every person, no matter their success, should have humility at least, otherwise they're just straight unlikeable. success doesn't excuse tosserishness.

people can't possibly tell me he doesn't come across as unlikeable.

some people find arrogant people likeable , humility is over rated , o,leary is a national treasure , oh and btw , he isnt a tosser , he,s an arsehole , thier is a difference ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Michael O'Leary is a legend

No, no he is not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭104494431

He is good at what he does. More power to him.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Michael O Leary is a master business man,

if people dont like Ryanair the solution is very simple, dont fly with them

is that programme available online does anyone know??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I booked a return flight to London yesterday for meself and the missus. Guess what it cost.

€0.04. Yes, 4 cent.

That's all it cost me, no "stealth" charges, no credit card charges, nada. Just 4 cent.

Bus Eireann wouldnt get me 20 feet down the road for 4 cent, Iarnrod Eireann wanted €30 to go one way from Galway on a train. A taxi cost me €16 last night to get home from the pub.

Are you on this planet, or do you post from Mars or something? :confused: How is a return flight to a different country for 4 cent not a saving?

I think you should cut your crap about Ryanair being High cost. ;)

Last year the average cost of a ryanair flight was in the region of €50 or €100 return. Yes there will be some people who will get those 1c flights, but there will also be some poor person who will pay €200 to subsidise your flights. Not only that but they will have to abide by the same baggage, check in and carry on rules as those with the cheap ticket. I also find the visa electron to be a total scam, considering no Irish institution issues it. (I know there are ways around it)

I have yet to see a cheap flight at a weekend, or at any time people will generally want to travel. Its not a bad thing per se, businesses are in the business of making a profit. But this nonsense of ryanair being cheap is just marketing bull****. I booked my flights home for christmas, it was €100 cheaper to fly with Cityjet (a full service airline, with a lenient baggage policy) than Ryanair and their 10kg carry on, which isn't enough even for a weekend if you need your laptop.

I have a feeling ryanair are pushing their customers close to the brink with their fees and soon their policy of add on charges will bite them quite badly

Is MOL a legend? No, but he is a good businessman and a better marketer. I mean look, he has a lot of people here believing his bull**** about ryanair being cheap. I guess if you say it often enough, people will believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Last year the average cost of a ryanair flight was in the region of €50 or €100 return.

How many of those were people who had missed their initially booked flight/went in for extra fees of their own choice? Can you back that stat up with actual reliable info by the way?
    Yes there will be some people who will get those 1c flights, but there will also be some poor person who will pay €200 to subsidise your flights..

The people who missed their original flights or booked at the last minute? Fukk them
    Not only that but they will have to abide by the same baggage, check in and carry on rules as those with the cheap ticket. I also find the visa electron to be a total scam, considering no Irish institution issues it. (I know there are ways around it).

Why should people who have screwed up get special treatment as a condolance?
    I have yet to see a cheap flight at a weekend, or at any time people will generally want to travel. Its not a bad thing per se, businesses are in the business of making a profit. But this nonsense of ryanair being cheap is just marketing bull****. I booked my flights home for christmas, it was €100 cheaper to fly with Cityjet (a full service airline, with a lenient baggage policy) than Ryanair and their 10kg carry on, which isn't enough even for a weekend if you need your laptop..

Apparently your personal experience is different to that of several million other peoples.

Also, your laptop is not essential. No-frills airline, the clue is in the tag-line
    I have a feeling ryanair are pushing their customers close to the brink with their fees and soon their policy of add on charges will bite them quite badly.

The add on charges are optional, and the numbers don't support your feeling
    Is MOL a legend? No, but he is a good businessman and a better marketer. I mean look, he has a lot of people here believing his bull**** about ryanair being cheap. I guess if you say it often enough, people will believe it.

Ryanair is cheap. the numbers don't lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

I do not understand why some people do not understand what Ryanair is.

It's no frills - they tell you not to expected anything great. Generally speaking, it is cheaper than other airlines (including these add on charges you're talking about Openheimmer1).

You're sitting on a plane, people expect something grand because they are flying. You wouldn't complain if you were sitting on a coach from Dublin to Galway for a few hours, saying you expected better service.

This is all Ryanair is and all Ryanair has ever presented itself as.

I book early so I get cheap flights. I arrive early so I don't miss the plane. I don't care about the people who were not bothered getting their arse in gear and arriving early, thus missing their flights or those that booked the day before and had to pay a higher fee, why should I?*

Their always arriving on time is a scam anyway, they just say it will take 3hrs to get somewhere when they know full well it'll only take 2hrs 40mins, thus they are on time.

* People going to funerals/visit sick relatives or friends aside.