Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread [mod warning #11145, #32140 (see OP)]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Plenty of people replied and agreed with him, are they all a few sandwiches short too??

yep.

Internet is full of crazies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Why because he has a different opinion than you??
    Plenty of people replied and agreed with him, are they all a few sandwiches short too??

The lad thinks Cana is comparable to Mascherano, probably based on watching about 2 games for Sunderland.
    The stats he give are meaningless. Anyone with sense who’s watched Liverpool over the last 3 years will know Mascherano has been one of our 3 or 4 best players with Torres, Reina and Gerrard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,655 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Do you think we should sell Javier Mascherano?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Here is the article:
    After trying his best to engineer a move away from Anfield in the summer, rumours are flying again that Javier Mascherano wants to leave Liverpool. So where’s the problem? Why can’t Liverpool just let him leave?! There seems to be this idea that Mascherano is somehow integral to Liverpool’s success, but I disagree. In fact, I would argue that Liverpool could cope perfectly well without the Argentinean midfielder.

As a matter of recorded fact, Javier Mascherano wanted to leave Anfield in the summer. Despite Liverpool resurrecting his career; the team coming close to winning the title, and guaranteed Champions League football every year, Anfield was apparently not good enough for Argentina’s captain.

Benitez blocked a proposed move to Barcelona and later revealed that Mascherano was ‘disappointed’ at having to stay at Liverpool.

So why is Mascherano apparently so important to Liverpool. Fans regularly come out with the same old clichés when discussing the player, stuff like ‘but he’s an integral part of the spine of the team’ or ‘he’s the best defensive midfielder in the world’ etc, but I just do not believe that.

Here is a list of reasons why Liverpool should sell Mascherano at the earliest opportunity:

1. He clearly wants to leave! His form has arguably dropped as a result of being forced to stay at Anfield. Why keep an unhappy player?

2. There are several clubs who would pay big money for Mascherano. Sell him now so we can get the best price possible. Delay, and his price may go down.

3. Defensive duty aside, Mascherano offers nothing to the team in terms of creativity.

4. Mascherano may have a high pass-completion rate, but many of his passes are sideways/backwards/short passes.

5. Defensive midfielders are REPLACEABLE. That position should not be the most important role in the team. Is it possible to find DM who can do a comparable job to Mascherano? Of course it is.

6. Masch is increasingly prone to costly errors - his most recent glaring mistakes came against:

Chelsea (2 – 0 defeat this season);
    Arsenal (x2 in the 4-4 league draw)
    Chelsea again (4-4 CL game last season).

These mistakes (and others he has made) make a mockery of the notion that Mascherano is the best DM in the world.

7. Mascherano’s stats since he came to Liverpool:

100 appearances
    Wins - 59
    Draws - 27
    Defeats - 14
    Goals - 1

That’s 41 games Liverpool failed to win with Mascherano in the side, 27 of which were draws! it is also no coincidence that since Liverpool signed him, the number of draws each season has skyrocketed, with 24 league draws in the last two full seasons.

Is this the best Liverpool can do? Are we to believe that no other defensive midfielder on the planet can help Liverpool improve this?!

I submit that there are other DM’s out there who could achieve a similar (or better) record; would WANT to play for the club, and would perhaps contribute more going forward.

8. Mascherano averages only 25 league starts a season. How integral to our league form can he be?

9. Liverpool cope just fine in the league without Mascherano:

2009-2010: Liverpool thrashed Hull 6-1 without M (he was a late sub)
    2008-2009: 6 games without M (3 wins/3 draws)
    2007-08: 5 games without M (4 wins/1 draw)

Basically, Liverpool has never lost a league game with Mascherano out of the team. Pretty good record if you ask me.

10. Liverpool fans often argue that Mascherano makes the difference against the top teams. Is this true? I've examined all games Mascherano has played against top class opposition. This means Chelsea, Man United, Arsenal, Real Madrid and Inter Milan.

Played - 24
    Wins - 11
    Draws - 6
    Defeats - 7

* 13 games against top opposition in which Liverpool failed to win with Mascherano in the team. It can also be looked at as 17 games unbeaten (wins + draws), but I would rather Liverpool were winning more games against the top teams, rather than simply not losing.

Is this a record to be envied the world over? Could it be improved? Yes! Absolutely no question about it.

My overall point is that Mascherano is NOT integral to Liverpool’s success. He is NOT irreplaceable, and it IS possible to find players who can do a similar, if not better job than him. I will even suggest what I believe to be a perfect solution to this problem:

1. Sell Mascherano for as much as possible (minimum £20m)

2. Buy Lorik Cana from Sunderland in the Summer.

i) Cost: I estimate £7-£10m. Sunderland paid £5m for Cana, so that doesn’t seem too unreasonable.

ii) In my view, Cana is just as good as Mascherano on the defensive side of things (Latest OPTA stats show that he is one of the most effective tacklers in the Premiership). He is also far more dynamic, faster and a more positive/direct passer of the ball.

iii) Cana is smash hit at Sunderland so far, but I have no doubt he would go to Liverpool if the club pursued him. After all, he has to have higher aspirations than Sunderland, and Liverpool were heavily linked to him last summer.

iv) If Liverpool buy Cana in the summer, there will be no settling-in period required as he will have spent a year with Sunderland already.

v) Rafa can put the remaining cash from the Mascherano sale towards other players in more pressing areas of the pitch.

Just because a player is cheap, doesn’t mean they will turn out to be rubbish. It’s about choosing the right players at the right price; big money doesn’t always need to be spent. Sami Hyypia is a prime example of this – the big Finn cost less than 3m, and look how superb he was for Liverpool.

And mark my words - if Liverpool do not snap up Cana next summer then he will go to Man United, Arsenal or Chelsea (or some big team abroad), and we will all be moaning about another great player that got away.

Ultimately, I see no compelling reasons to keep Mascherano. As such, there is only one solution: sell him to the highest bidder and use the money to further strengthen the team.

If Mascherano IS so integral to Liverpool, I would be very interested in specific examples of how and why.

Read more: http://www.liverpool-kop.com/2009/10/10-reasons-why-liverpool-fc-do-not-need.html#ixzz0TuUBvQRx

Haven't had a chance to read it but I do think he wants to go to Barca. **** you Messi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

For me, Masch is just bellow Reina, Gerrard, and Torres.

He's vital for the team we play in, and in form there's nobody in the world who can touch him.

I wasn't happy to loose Xabi, but loosing Masch would be a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,655 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

i'm all for getting someone like Cana in, if we can get him as an understudy. but i'm sorry, you can't just sell a mainstay of the team without a second's thought in the hope that this young Cana lad will be the engine of our midfield.

even if it would be at a profit.

it's just lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I just cant believe that people even fell the need to justify why Liverpool need to keep Mascherano or his importance to you. Has to be a really slow news day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,062 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I think Rafa rotates/rests/drops Mascho a bit too often. The more games he plays the better he plays. When he comes back from a break he can look a bit rusty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

My main problem with the article is that it seems to assume Mascherano is supposed to be creative.
    It criticises him for making accurate sideways passes.
    I mean we have our front 4, Johnson and Insua who are all in the team to create chances. Aquilani will probably be in that bracket when he returns. More than enough. Scoring goals is not our problem, it’s stopping them at the other end. Mascherano is vital for us in that regard.

I completely agree that we need an understudy for him, which was why I wanted us to sign Cattermole in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

I think Rafa rotates/rests/drops Mascho a bit too often. The more games he plays the better he plays. When he comes back from a break he can look a bit rusty.

Rafa mainly rotates him during the periods that he is playing games on the other half of the world.
    When you have a player playing in South America, and then returning the day before a game in England, then rotating is neccesary IMO

I personally think that had Benitez got Barry and kept Alonso; Masch would have been rotated a lot more.

Masch would have played against the more attacking teams of Utd, Arsenal, Chelsea and the big european teams.

Its a moot point anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,062 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Rafa mainly rotates him during the periods that he is playing games on the other half of the world.
    When you have a player playing in South America, and then returning the day before a game in England, then rotating is neccesary IMO
    Rafa rotates him a lot more than that - but of course the SA situation exacerbates it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

He's vital for the team we play in, and in form there's nobody in the world who can touch him.
    Steady on! Essien could touch him quite easily!

Think most would agree he's a better player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

I think mascherano's heart is in spain to be honest. Its not so much an equation of 'should' we sell him and 'could' we replace him. I think its much more along the lines of, at what point does the best decision have to me made for all parties. Wouldnt bother me too much if rafa gave him his wish and 35mil? came our way. I think mascherano will be the perfect proffesional while hes here and i think benitez is more than capable of finding a similar player with a few different attributes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

3. Defensive duty aside, Mascherano offers nothing to the team in terms of creativity.

LOL thats like saying we should sell Torres because apart from scoring or setting up goals he offer nothing defensively...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Pighead wrote: »
    Steady on! Essien could touch him quite easily!

Think most would agree he's a better player.

I would prefer Essien in our team now we dont have alonso as he is 90% the defensive player masch is but 150% the attacking player he is...

still Mach is awesome and unless we were replacing him with Essien, i would not sell him...

Stephen Defour was mentioned in the comments of that article...isn't he supposed to be "the next big thing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

1 in 5.

Damn, if I'd known your maths were that bad I'd have asked for more apples!
    The Muppet wrote: »
    You're right my math's is ****. Thats nine of the 55 he's purchased , it's less than one one five.
    Nice try though.
    You keep believing what you want.
    The Muppet wrote: »
    Not the figures quoted by his owner at the time, and Liverpool never release transfer details.

And even if you do want to use your figures, that would put the transfer fee at £17,000,000 twice £17,000,000 is £34,000,000.
    Masch was supposedly being looked at for £35,000,000 and Rafa said that £50,000,000 couldn't buy him.

So even using your figures, I was being conserative in my original post.

Thank you for agreeing with me and backing up my point with your link Muppet.

Right, I am telling both of you to drop this discussion now. Call it a shameless abuse of mod power if you will, but I am sick of reading these circular arguments regurgitating the same points and counterpoints week in, week out. As suggested above, there is a squad/keeper/spending comparison thread the two of you can bounce off each other in, but quit it here or find somewhere else to post for the next week.
    Of course we need him, he’s one of the best in his position in the world, only a f*cking idiot wouldn’t see that.
    You, of course, probably only remember his error from the Chelsea game (which our out of form defense should have atoned for) and forget his fantastic performance throughout the rest of the match.

Do you forget the 2007 CL final where he completely nullified Kaka’s threat?
    Or his countless other gigantic performances in big matches for us.
    Don’t be ridiculous. Of course we need him.

Worse and worse they get
    Its a f*cking link to debate on, calm down.
    I didnt write it so why get personal, i put it up for discussion but seems you're not capable of doing that without calling someone a f*cking idiot if they dont agree with you.
    You didn’t discuss it; you didn’t give your opinion. You just posted a link.

I, on the other hand, gave reasons why we should keep him, referencing past performances.
    I put it up for discussion, see what people thought of it, did you get out of bed on the wrong side this morning honey or are you always this much of a ray of sunshine??

You on the other hand got aggressive!

Both of you drop the aggressive tone or you'll be posting elsewhere for the next week as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

Well that was fantastic, anyway no i wouldnt get rid of Masch, but if i had had to choose in the summer between Masch or Alonso leaving i would have got rid of Masch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Stephen Defour was mentioned in the comments of that article...isn't he supposed to be "the next big thing"

He's not a defensive midfielder though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

im not even a liverpool fan but i can see that aticle is full of holes, the lad contradicts himself in it for god sake! hardly a compelling arguement to get rid of one of the best DM in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,228 ✭✭✭✭event

Do you know what a devils advocate is?
    I'm no massive fan of Tomkins, and his stuff is pretty Rafa loving, but that's what it's supposed to be.

He's taking all he bad things, seeing as that is all the media and most fans of other clubs take, and offering a counter argument for them.

It's supposed to be a one sided piece not a pulitzer winner.

can ye try and be a bit more condescending next time, good lad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

kryogen wrote: »
    im not even a liverpool fan but i can see that aticle is full of holes, the lad contradicts himself in it for god sake! hardly a compelling arguement to get rid of one of the best DM in the world

Did i say it wasnt?
    Did i say to get rid of him?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Kuyt out could give babel a decent chance - kuyt well deserving of a rest even if it's enforced.

rarnes1 wrote: »

Good chance for Babel to impress here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Did i say it wasnt?
    Did i say to get rid of him?

no, you didnt say anything, you simply posted up a link and left no opinion of your own. perhaps you should give your own opinion on a matter next time then you may avoid "misunderstandings" in the future

and can you tell me where i mentioned you in my reply? i believe i may have said the lad contradicts himself.....eh, the article is full of holes.....eh oh yeah the article is making the arguemnt for getting rid of Masch, i said it hardly made a compeling one......dont really see a whole lot directed at you there pal

mayordenis wrote: »
    Kuyt out could give babel a decent chance - kuyt well deserving of a rest even if it's enforced.
    Good chance for Babel to impress here.

You looked at the photo lads??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

LOL thats like saying we should sell Torres because apart from scoring or setting up goals he offer nothing defensively...

In fairness, creativity is something you expect from a midfielder. Masch gets away with it because usually, he's exceptional defensively.

Problem is, we've no really creative centre mid's at the mo. A bit like Ireland.

Wasn't aware Cullen had switched codes! lol

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

You looked at the photo lads??

>.<