English or American comedy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

deman wrote: »
    Oh and btw... British Comedy all the way.... all you gotta do is think Blackadder.

Can't believe I forgot Blackadder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Not true. It's a very common misconception.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Father_Ted

Oh and btw... British Comedy all the way.... all you gotta do is think Blackadder.

made in ireland,written by irish writers,starring irish actors and with an ethos entirely irish.
    of course it's british.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

That doesn't make him wrong. The fact it was commisioned by a british station and shown first on british tv in itself makes it a british show. Filming locations,actors and writers have nothing to do with country of origin. It'd be stupid to thing they did,because what if it had lots of different nationalities working on the show? Would it be 1/10th swiss,1/4 afgan etc...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Leprachaun wrote: »
    That doesn't make him wrong. The fact it was commisioned by a british station and shown first on british tv in itself makes it a british show. Filming locations,actors and writers have nothing to do with country of origin. It'd be stupid to thing they did,because what if it had lots of different nationalities working on the show? Would it be 1/10th swiss,1/4 afgan etc...?

He claims it was turned down by Irish productions companies and it wasn't. So in fact, he is wrong.

And the argument about whether Father Ted is Irish or British.... why can't it be seen as a joint venture between British producers and Irish writers and actors. (Baffles me sometimes on the logic of some people.) Therefore Father Ted is British/Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

The Brits do the better sitcoms overall, a lot of the American ones just follow the same lazy formula with the same central cheap ass set-a couch with the stairs behind it. And the jokes can be just cringe.

Shows like The Simpsons(in its Prime) and South Park really beef of the overall quality of US comedy.

Stand up for both is mixed.

Americans can make good comedy within a drama which can be serious or not. The West Wing, The Wire and dozens more had great little bits thrown in to them which make you laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Lirange

That doesn't make him wrong. The fact it was commisioned by a british station and shown first on british tv in itself makes it a british show. Filming locations,actors and writers have nothing to do with country of origin.
    The more relevant question for this topic: Is Father Ted English Humour? I tend to think not.

He claims it was turned down by Irish productions companies and it wasn't. So in fact, he is wrong.

And the argument about whether Father Ted is Irish or British.... why can't it be seen as a joint venture between British producers and Irish writers and actors. (Baffles me sometimes on the logic of some people.) Therefore Father Ted is British/Irish.

It's not British/Irish. If there was one french guy working on the show would it british/irish/french? No,of course not. It's a british show with some irish writers/actors. I only said he wasn't wrong about it being an irish/english show,I wasn't talking about the whole getting turned down thing.

Television shows internationally have their country of origin defined by what country the network who commissions the show is from.

Filming locations depend on what kind of set they want. Actors and writers depend on talent. Neither have anything to do with the country of origin of a program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,296 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Father Ted.

I hate to tell you this but father ted was an english production filmed in ireland broadcast originally on channel 4. Rte was offered it and they turned it down. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Did anybody mention Fraiser? Fecking classic sitcom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Degag wrote: »
    Pity it's not funny..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,296 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Ah wikipedia, the social website where anyone can edit the article before pasting a link to it in ah. Well done you! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Father Ted is essentially an Irish comedy to me what with it being written by two Irish lads, using Irish actors and based arond the lives of priests in Ireland.

I don't give two ****s if brits paid for it, the humour is Irish enough. Not that it makes much a difference because they're close enough to effectively be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Iomega Man

Why,Oh why does EVERY American Comedy(Film) involve somebody hitting their head..!!!!!!!

ROM-COMs,I'm looking at you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

No competition imo, English comedy all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

SV wrote: »
    Pity it's not funny..

Did you ever actually watch it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

loads of times.
    I TRIED to like it..but...no

it took me a long time to warm up to it but i'm starting to get into it recently.
    clever,observational comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

wudangclan wrote: »
    clever,observational comedy.

I love the episode where Laurie Metcalfe (who plays a childrens entertainer) says to Frasier 'Can you imagine playing the same character for twenty years?':pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

depends on the movie tbh, its like choosing between jim carrey or mr bean! :D

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    depends on the movie tbh, its like choosing between jim carrey or mr bean! :D

Yeh,cos that would be SO hard....

Jim carrey isn't funny. He plays the same character in every bloody movie. It worked pretty well in the mask but thats about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Achilles wrote: »
    I hate to tell you this but father ted was an english production filmed in ireland broadcast originally on channel 4. Rte was offered it and they turned it down. Idiots.
    Read up a few posts......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭-Leelo-

UK has the best stand ups - Ricky Gervais, Michael McIntyre, Billy Connolly, Jimmy Carr etc.
    US has some great shows, Family guy, Fraiser, Seinfeld. Friends is over rated though!

US has some great standups; richard pryor,eddie murphy,bill hicks etc.
    UK has some great shows; blackadder,fawlty towers,red dwarf...the might boosh is over-rated though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

tinner777 wrote: »
    also vic and bob, masters

can't believe it took 50 replies to mention the greatest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Adam Sandler's another one who's not funny, in fact he's sh1te, and all his movies are sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yeh,cos that would be SO hard....

Jim carrey isn't funny. He plays the same character in every bloody movie. It worked pretty well in the mask but thats about it.
    In fairness it was funny the first few times, he did some pretty decent serious films it's just so hard to take him seriously based on the films he was in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

+1..
    Great, decent, witty, intelligent comedy with a hint of slapstick and a slight English feel.

Niles was hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

British. Alan Partridge, Brass Eye, The Day Today, Big Train, Spaced, Black Books, The Fast Show, Garth Marenghi, Monty Python, Armando Iannuci...

Could probably go on for a while.
    American. Curb Your Enthuasiasm, Fraiser, M*A*S*H, Friends, Scrubs, Arrested Development.......Simpsons, Southpark, Family Guy......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

brummytom wrote: »
    +1..
    Great, decent, witty, intelligent comedy with a hint of slapstick and a slight English feel.

Niles was hilarious

Brilliant mate. You woldn't have a link to the scenewhere he accidentally handcuffs himself to the sripper and then can't help the lady from next door,that he fancies, whe she drops her shopping? Not a word of dialogue. Just Frasier's character and Grammar's acting ability. Genius.

Btw, how in God's name has no-one mentioned Woody Allen yet ?:(

Brilliant stand-up. Superb writer for both Radio and film. If I was to name my top twenty comedy films there would prob be four or five Woody Allens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭TheBastard

English comedy i think is more suited to Irish viewers. Think along the lines of Fawlty Towers / The Inbetweeners / The offce... really smart stuff. You could class Father ted as British comedy with the channel 4 connection. there has been good american comedy- But most of it is ****