Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HSE EMT interviews 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

wexfjord wrote: »
    Anyone have any info on the rumour that "ambulance drivers" are to be recruited in the east of the country for patient transfers. I know i'll be struck down for the use of the above phrase but I'm relaying the story as I heard it. Apparently recruitment will be run locally, dont know if theres any truth in any of it but it came from someone with HSE in Carlow/Kilkenny.

This is an idea that was thought of last year. EMT - Bs doing patient transfer to keep paras on the road. They even bought a few specilised buses for the "drivers".

Recruitment will have to be nationwide and a national competition as it is a HSE job. It is to be trialed in the Eastern region so maybe a Paramedic from the can comment....enter bang bang???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

This is an idea that was thought of last year. EMT - Bs doing patient transfer to keep paras on the road. They even bought a few specilised buses for the "drivers".

Recruitment will have to be nationwide and a national competition as it is a HSE job. It is to be trialed in the Eastern region so maybe a Paramedic from the can comment....enter bang bang???

Confirms what I was told, D1 licence required and minimal training given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

wexfjord wrote: »
    Confirms what I was told, D1 licence required and minimal training given

Yes vehicles bought are only D1 so people dont have to get C1 like Paramedics.

Wouldnt say EMT-B is minimal training though:), but yes a much lower standard apposed to EMT-P

I'm certainly not knocking emt, its far and above my current level. Merely repeating the "facts" as relayed by my source, who to be honest was unjustifiably dismissive of the role we are discussing. Alot of people here would take it, hand and all, and it would presumably be a stepping stone to greater things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 kb84

Hi
    Has anyone got their contract yet? does anyone have any idea when we will hear?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

afaik they will be sent out a couple of weeks before the start date, which wont be long now:D

did anyone get a call from manorhamilton today?

no i actually called them asking when the contracts would be sent out. I was told that they are recieving the medicals and will send them out when all medicals are recieved. what was it in relation to?

i cant really say as it is a personal matter for myself and a few others. not good though:mad: hopefully the matter will be resolved soon.

if any one else got a call today pm me as id like to have a chat with someone in the same boat

sorry to hear that best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭emer tech

this thread is gone very quiet :( has anyone any news on starting ????? or next class or anything at all???????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sisu200

Hi, just a quick note, I spoke to Manor about a communicated delay in the EMC roles and they informed me the delay in these roles was due to the processing of the EMT classes, so hang in there, their working on it;)

Knowing these types of campaigns it will come very quickly!!

has anyone got their contract yet? the course starts monday 2weeks so im getting a bit concerned. anyone heard anything?

there is a hold up with a few of us starting on the 5th, they are just holding out until we are sorted until they send out the contracts.

the class is def going ahead on 5th oct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭MN_Medic

Hi emer tech and EMTrying, I met both of you in Galway before the interviews and I've just hit upon this site now. :mad: Anyways, how did you both get on with them and did you find that day in Galway worth it? I managed 26 on the panel which I'm pleased with. Should put me on the next class providing nothing messes it up.

HI MN Medic, course in galway was good, 51 on the panel, hoping for next class too ;)

Has anyone starting next week any news ? everyone ready and organised ?

we are still waiting on the contracts to come out. there is a slight hiccup with a few of us starting but as afaik it will be resolved today or tomorrow:D
    im lookin forward to getting stuck into it on monday now!

update on what i posted earlier.

problem sorted now so everything is good for monday. contracts sent out today!

Best of luck to everyone starting in Ballinasloe today :) keep us posted on how ye are getting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 medicfar

hi emer do you think you,ll be on next panell i,m 96 so i,t will along time before they get to me

hope to be ;)... but the class sizes seem to be smaller , 24 started in ballinasloe , so if the next class is only 24 that brings the panel up to 48 which means, if nobody drops out i ll miss out by 3 places. . . you never know what will happen though. think once we get over xmas, the panel will go very quickly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,244 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

A little birdie tells me the next and final recruitment campaign for a while is gonna be starting before christmas this year!!

hi darragh, how are you? are you going to apply? did the birdie tell you anything about the next class?

Would that birdie know if they will be recruiting or drawing further from this years panel, and if they are recruiting will it be for paramedic or emt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭DUBDUBDUB

Right, this may not be news for some, but have been informed from an EXTREMELY reliable source that this is the intended plan fore recruitment from existing panel.

23 have been taken on leaving 78 on the panel. Current plan is to recruit approx 24 in March and antoher 24 in September (thats right, September) 2010. This will be roughly one year and seven months since aptitude tests were carried out.

Has anyone else here heard of such a ridiculously long recruitment process for any private company? Or any public organisation anywhere in the world taking so long? I mean, this is like the dark ages.

F**k it, I am getting on to my TD about this to obtain a genuine explanation for this joke of a procedure. I have never heard anything like it in my life.

Any thoughts folks??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

Iv heard nearly the same thing apart from sept 2010.

24 takin from 09 panel and 2 from previous.

Class scheduled to start in feb/march 2010 with 24 from panel.

I also heard tho that there will be another recruitment and the new recruitment will have a minimum of leaving cert as standard of education as UCD are looking for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 COS1

k_d wrote: »
    Iv heard nearly the same thing apart from sept 2010.

24 takin from 09 panel and 2 from previous.

Class scheduled to start in feb/march 2010 with 24 from panel.

I also heard tho that there will be another recruitment and the new recruitment will have a minimum of leaving cert as standard of education as UCD are looking for it.

So for people that may not have done the leaving cert 15 or 20 years ago, that will rule them out?? This country seems to go more backwards by the day. People should be judged on what their ability is during recruitment and not what they done 20 years ago. Like in the UK the Police, Paramedics and so on are taken in via test`s which are based on the job, the way it should be, Unreal. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 medicfar

lads whats the story i won,t even get in next sept2010 the way the numbers are.
    i have a poor leaving cert resultes
    and i,m feeling the pressure or afraid i won,t get in
    i,m on this panell in the ninties should i worry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 johnny_rad

My bro in law started in September, as far as he knows the panel has been extinguished up to number 26. A few didn't get in because of the medical and garda clearance. The director of the course from Dublin was in Ballinasloe a couple of weeks ago and said that the next batch going in around march would number 32.It is incredibly frustrating waiting on official word because nobody wants to stick their necks out andf give a definite answer in HR. But this is the HSE we are dealing with so will just have to get used to it. Good luck to all those on the panel and keep the fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭medic780

I guys have heard that the next recruitment is to take place in November has any body else heard this??? Missed the last round was waiting on my C test....