Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heating!

• 02-10-2009 9:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭

I turned my central heating on for the first time today since June or july.

No i am not a miserable git i just found the house warm. I live in a timber frame house.

Curious question: Anyone who has heating in the same position.

ps:The boiler has been working all summer on hot water mode :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

no, you're just a scab...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

No i am not a miserable git i just found the house warm.
    You found the house warm...so you turned on the central heating?

...What?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

It's threads like this which make me wonder, why am i not out on the piss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I've just taken my used teabags off the washing line for the second time this year. I'm not cheap, I just like weak tea!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,009 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

No i am not a miserable git i just found the house warm. I live in a timber frame house.

You won't be so smug when the big bad wolf shows up for a bit of huffing and puffing.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Aoifums

Your heating was on in June?? The only bit of sumer we had and you had the heat on :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

yea. we have no summer so why would you turn the heating off at all?

leave the heater on and pump some more CO2 and CO1 into the atmosphere in the hope of getting a summer next year

• Registered Users Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

It's threads like this which make me wonder, why am i not out on the piss?

Recession!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I've just taken my used teabags off the washing line for the second time this year. I'm not cheap, I just like weak tea!

Thats interesting! I am surprised you got a long enough spell to dry them out.

Dankoozy wrote: »
    yea. we have no summer so why would you turn the heating off at all?

leave the heater on and pump some more CO2 and CO1 into the atmosphere in the hope of getting a summer next year
    CO1? :p

jumpguy wrote: »
    CO1? :p

carbon monoxide. the 1 is redundant and if i was writing it that way there should be a 1 after the C as well but ... ah **** it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

carbon monoxide. the 1 is redundant and if i was writing it that way there should be a 1 after the C as well but ... ah **** it
    Just CO would be grand there :p

anniehoo wrote: »
    Just CO would be grand there :p

but CO1 sounds better

Eh...not when you've studied chemistry for years ;)

anniehoo wrote: »
    Eh...not when you've studied chemistry for years ;)

CO1 is good for the Parazone layer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭*giggles*

Jesus, it was freezing today all right. But I wasn't cold;)

*giggles* wrote: »
    Jesus, it was freezing today all right. But I wasn't cold;)

was he any good?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Haven't had it turned on since around may, hopefully wont turn it on until into november, bit of cold is good for ye :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

My heating has been turned on every day since I got back from my hols the first week in sept, I am timber framed also..

The OH does be giving out sh!te to me.. But feck him I like my warmth...

Now this thread leads to the age-old question...

Are women cold-blooded?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I had electric heating but the heater blew up two years ago and haven't had any heating since. Don't even have double glaze windows.

Any one with heating and double glaze is weak.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭soundsham

i got all the candles back out all right today the missus was quite happy........

.......she knows they'll be getting lit in 2 or 3 months time when it gets really cold

Havent had my heating on since the start of the year. Its been nippy but to be honest everytime i think of turning it on i think of the next bill ..and magically its not so cold anymore. Plus, i was the first one to move in in my apartment block 2 winters ago...so it was fairly baltic...resulting in mental heating bills. Now theyve all moved in i get the heat from upstairs,downstairs and either side..its great :D Im actually roasting here tonight and theres not one rad on.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I don't know if we even have some kind of heating system here. I've never had occasion to look for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

i am burning old sticks in the stove, its 25c here. Its heating the rads upstairs too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I've saved a lot more money wrapping up than turning on that heating thing. Tellin' ya, invest in a good sleeping bag to kip in around the gaff, can't go wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Im gonna have to layer up this year-moved into a new house and stupid bord gais wants400e security deposit to turn the gas on... I dont have 400e so no heating :(

Boo!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,097 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Timber frame house sure but whats your other insulation look like? You need to do a full inspection.

Big problem I often see is DIY floors where they use the cheapest underlay on the market - offers zero insulation. In cold climates it leaves you f*cked and freezing. But aye when in college the best method was double layer clothes (and especially socks)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Are there women on the internet?

FYP:D

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Are women cold-blooded?

/Mod's cap on: "What do you mean are women cold-blooded?

Are you a virgin?:pac:

Hawt blooded wiminz's post on boards, why do you all miss it?

/This post does not exist...