Shannon Airport Car Parking Fees

• 11-06-2009 09:54AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

The daily rate for cark parking at Shannon Airport is 9.50 per day.

Dublin Airport has reduced its fee to 5.50 per day in response from competition from QUICK PARK, a private operator adjacent to Dublin Airport.

Shannon Airport has a monoploy on car parks at Shannon. We need to see competition at Shannon. Any ideas how we might put pressure on the Shannon Airport management to reduce its charges???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Tyrekicker

9.50 a day at shannon is appalling, shower of f**k**s, I'm sick of this country and it's state monopolies.

Tailgate the car ahead of you is the only way....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,694 ✭✭✭finbarrk

It's a scandelous fee for a long term carpark in the middle of nowhere. I have heard of a couple who walk through the car park entrance with their trollyfull of luggage when they return from their 2 weeks in Spain, collect the ticket that the machine spits out as it thinks it's a vehicle, and use that one to exit.
    When I heard that story first I said they were tight, but now with the high charges fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

dont mean to hijack this thread but maybe someone can help me out

ill be parking my car at shannon airport for the first time

my times are 14.00---23.45(same day)

so should i be parking in the Short Term Parking area ?

and what are the costs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭maddogcollins

Headshot wrote: »
    dont mean to hijack this thread but maybe someone can help me out

ill be parking my car at shannon airport for the first time

my times are 14.00---23.45(same day)

so should i be parking in the Short Term Parking area ?

and what are the costs ?

http://www.shannonairport.com/facilities/#carparkcharges

Going by the hours you have stated id definatly park in Long term car parking. €9.50 (long term) v's €14.00 (short term up to 12 hours).

Hope that helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭A Country Voice

what about this lads!!
    pulled up outside the airport collecting somebody about 2 months ago.
    was sittin there about 5 mins and an airport cop comes over and in a quite rude fashion told me that i was illegally parked and that I'd have to move.

I asked him where I could park to pick somebody up off a flight, he said I'd need to go around the ring road and park in the short term car park and that the first 20 mins are free. I said no bother, I'll do that so. Off I went.

Pulled into the short term car park, got a ticket, and decided to wait in the car for my friend to call or text and id drive out and collect them.
    The flight was just about landed so I decided I'd be grand, and probably be out of there in around 15 mins max.

So my friend rang, I drove up to the barrier after being in there 13 mins and it asked for 3 euro!!!! when i stuck the ticket in.
    So I had to reverse away from the barrier, the machine had swallowed the ticket, had to find a parking spot again and then walk into the terminal, tell my friend to wait while i sorted this out.
    I went down to information and they sent me to the car-parking enquiries office.
    Told the guy there what had happened, he said "there's no free parking here for anybody for one minute"
    I asked him why the rude airport cop had told me there was?
    He did the traditional public service shrug of the shoulders, "ive no idea"
    So, he printed off a replacement ticket for me, and asked for 3 euro for it, which i reluctantly handed over.
    Just as I turned to go, I turned back and asked him, how long have I got to get to the car now? and get out of the car park. "5 minutes" no other words, not, oh you've 5 minutes you'd better hurry" or "will 5 minutes be enough for you to find your passenger and get back to the car and get out of the car park after we've screwed you
    So I just said thanks for nothin you bol**cks, and walked away.
    Got my friend and got out of there.
    To be honest I drive a nice big 4 x 4 with a big bull bar on the front. If the thing had asked me for more money or not let me out the 2nd time I would have driven through it at that stage.
    I wonder how many poor fools like me have been told that by that pr*ck of a cop at the airport?????
    be warned!!!!!!!!!!!
    A Country Voice