Women i don't get you at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Am i the only one concerned about him having head wounds then getting blood spat in his face?

I'd go to a doctor and get looked at. Even if she had no diseases, what was on that shoe could cause an infection.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

The scumbag that was beating his girlfriend should be required to wear stilletoes(ones that cannot be removed) for a period of five years.

At the very least it would make it more difficult for him to be so violent(if the stilletoes could not be removed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭SarahChambers

Are you actually serious?? that is so horrible I feel sorry for you I get harrassed in town sometimes and I am so happy when a guy comes over to help. You should try to stay a nice guy there are not enough nice guys around dont let the bad ones bring you down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Paddo81

SarahChambers - are you hawt? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

You should try to stay a nice guy there are not enough nice guys around dont let the bad ones bring you down
    If there is anything to be learned from the OP, it is that nice guys end up with stilettos stuck in their heads.
    Paddo81 wrote: »
    SarahChambers - are you hawt? ;)

Oh jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

What if...

She (the girlfriend) didn't intervene and the boyfriend brought her home and smashed her about for not helping him?
    She might have saved herself from an almighty bashing from that f'in thug?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

DamoDLK wrote: »
    What if...

She (the girlfriend) didn't intervene and the boyfriend brought her home and smashed her about for not helping him?
    She might have saved herself from an almighty bashing from that f'in thug?

Well she shouldn't go home with him. But you can't help the terminally stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Judging by their disgraceful behaviour, that couple deserve each other.
    They can be each other's human punchbag and leave the rest of us alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Abigayle wrote: »
    Well she shouldn't go home with him. But you can't help the terminally stupid.
    Brain transplant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

To the people standing there watching you make me sick.

Frankly, these people knew better and now you should. The last thing I'd ever do is get involved in some public domestic quarrel, or any public display of violence. Why invite trouble into my life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Good job it wasn't in the US. I had a gun pulled on me for breaking up a fight between a fella and his girlfriend over there. And it was by the girlfriend. I haven't been around any serious couple fights since but if i ever am it will make me think twice about interferring. I've heard lots of similar stories as the OP's. It's a tough one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

You know I have frequent arguments about this with my friend. I don't think I could ignore or just walk by if I saw someone getting lumps kicked out of them, be it a man beating a woman or a few scumbags beating on one person. That's not me being macho or anything, I'm just the kind of person who would let his conscience eat away at him for not doing anything.

My friend on the other hand thinks it is best to stay out of it because people nowadays will knife you or stomp on your head repeatedly without a seconds thought. Honour gets you killed these days he says, and there is certainly an element of truth to that.

You did the "honourable" thing OP, even though you did show an element of disregard for your own health but hey as I said I would have done the same thing too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Paddo81

This is it. People are very insensitive to violence these days. When you talk to people of our parents generation they're shocked by what goes on. Situations likes whats been discussed in the thread would only end up in black eyes for afew lads, but now, getting involved in anything like this could mean risking your life.
    I remember seeing a show about the Guards patrolling central Dublin in the early hours of Sunday morning. They arrived on the scene of some young fella gettin his head repeatedly stomped on by 2 other fellas. He was just lucky they got there in time. And it was all over something completely stupid and insignificant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,594 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

nitrogen wrote: »
    Frankly, these people knew better and now you should. The last thing I'd ever do is get involved in some public domestic quarrel, or any public display of violence. Why invite trouble into my life...

I'll keep that in mind next time you're getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

OP found out that she probably deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Good job it wasn't in the US. I had a gun pulled on me for breaking up a fight between a fella and his girlfriend over there. And it was by the girlfriend. I haven't been around any serious couple fights since but if i ever am it will make me think twice about interferring. I've heard lots of similar stories as the OP's. It's a tough one.

HOLY FCUK!!! I'd brick it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

What a night folks, went out for a bit of grub with the missus and a few beers to finish the evening off, nice evening she was happy. Anyway walking to a taxi rank i come across a bloke beating the living daylights out of his missus, it was nasty her head was cut, lip bleeding a couple of shiners. To the people standing there watching you make me sick.

Anyways i jump in pull your man off her and i restrain him till the old bill arrive and what does your woman do, jumps on my back buries her high heel shoe in the back of my head and tells me to leave her fella alone, i point out she is black and blue and cut to bits, she tells me she doesn't give a bollix and spits in my face ( bloody spit at that ). So here i am now with an icepack on the head, a good shirt covered in blood, a chunk missing out of my head and the grace of someone spitting at me. Have to say folks i'm fuming.

Whats the world coming to when women protect these scumbags.:mad:

What have you learned from this lesson?
    Never, ever, ever help anybody (especially strangers). As cruel as it sounds, it was their own domestic violence, it had absolutely nothing to do with you, mind your own business, keep your head to the ground, maybe call the Gardai, but the buck stops there. However, sticking your oar into their 'tiff' was foolish, people are fucked up but that's not your problem or concern. Next time you might not be so lucky, it could be two HIV+ skangers or scumbags armed with knives or syringes. Just stay away, say a prayer and leave it at that, because it's not worth risking, especially when they're strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

About a third of all deaths for women are by being killed by husband/boyfriend.
    Domestic violence is the leading cause of injury to women between the ages of 15 and 44 - more than car accidents, muggings and rapes combined

US numbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

If you come across a situation were by a man is attacking a womon and it's a life or death situation ie, he has a knife or wepon of some sort then it would be right to intervene and try stop it ,specailly if there is nobody else around But it can be hard to decide what the best thing is to do ie , anybody can freeze .. I remember a similar situation a few years ago were a guy was beating up on a womon and there was nobody else about so in sizing the the situation up , I decided to call the cops on my mobile .They arrived within 5 minutes and hauled the guy away .It wasn't for me to decide if his girl/wife deserved the slaps /punches around the head he was laying into her with ,with her crying .I was more concerned he might do her a serious injury or worse .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭This_Years_Love

You were lucky nothing worst happened to you. My dad's mate, Mick, used to run a pub over in Tenerife. One night after shuting up the bar, he found some British bloke beating the crap out of his girlfriend outside. He, like you, tried to stop him. The bloke pulled out a knife and stabbed Mick a couple of times. Mick ended up losing an eye and had to have major operations on both his liver and brain. He almost died.

The Spainish police were able to find the couple because they had been drinking in Mick pub all night and they'd been chatting to one of the barmaids and they told her where they were staying. But when the Spainish police turned up at their hotel, the girlfriend gave her fella an alibi and told the police a bunch of lies. The police couldn't arrest him and because Mick had no other witnesses, the Spanish police said they had no evidence and the British bloke got away with what he did.

Fair play to you for trying to help her. But I think it would have been safer for you to just phone the Garda and not got involved in it yourself. What if you gotten serious hurt like my dad's mate Mick did? Mike is starting to lose his sight in his other eye now and he is was left slightly brain damaged too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭kiffer

Paddo81 wrote: »
    This is it. People are very insensitive to violence these days. When you talk to people of our parents generation they're shocked by what goes on.

Really? I'm always shocked by older peoples stories of violence... Teddy boys sewing razor blades into their collars so that when someone grabs then they would cut their hands... People bringing bicycle chains out on the town so that they'd have a weapon handy... (a chap that worked for my dad tried to take a broken chainsaw chain from work to use in a fight)

Don't forget the classic irish men having a bit of a scrap out side the pub... "ah yeah but that was never all that serious" ...

The last generation often have distorted views when looking at the past and comparing it to the current generation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That's very true kiffer - in fact, the further back through history you go, the more extreme the violence and torture seem to be - I mean, Ancient Rome... :eek:
    At the same time though, it does look as if people are becoming more and more desensitised to screen violence. Dracula had people running from the cinema in trauma back in the '50s, The Exorcist and Straw Dogs were banned in the early '70s - these are nothing on some stuff, even mainstream stuff, available now.
    Women is the plural of woman. He wasn't talking about every single woman on the planet. I wish people would learn that using women doesn't mean you're talking about every single woman in the world
    Ok, sorry if I annoyed people - it's just there are constant unfair generalisations made about women here and this looked like yet another one, but I appreciate there's no need for jumping to conclusions either (and I appreciate some generalisations/stereotypes are used because they are, for the most part, true). However, despite what you and liah say about these generalisations being made by people who know they're not talking about every member of the category in question, there are people who are very black and white about things: e.g. some women take sh1t off men so this is a "woman" thing - instead of focusing on the individual who has issues.

I would be of the exact same position if you were to replace the word "women" with "men".

Anyway, that's off-topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭bungaro

fair play to you OP, its must've been pretty surreal for your one to attack you after trying to help her. just goes to show the scumbag mentality is alive and kicking. and sure what chance do kids of people like that really have??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

This years loves horrific story is probably the extreme 'worst case scenario 'that can happen to anybody in that situation as described .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

kiffer wrote: »
    Really? I'm always shocked by older peoples stories of violence... Teddy boys sewing razor blades into their collars so that when someone grabs then they would cut their hands... People bringing bicycle chains out on the town so that they'd have a weapon handy... (a chap that worked for my dad tried to take a broken chainsaw chain from work to use in a fight)

Don't forget the classic irish men having a bit of a scrap out side the pub... "ah yeah but that was never all that serious" ...

The last generation often have distorted views when looking at the past and comparing it to the current generation.

I'm sure people used to knock lumps out of each other but you are far more likely to be stabbed nowadays or kicked senseless on the ground by a group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Nope...watch, look and learn.

Fair play to you for taking a chance, but I've heard this story umpteen times before, usually from cops who are more than weary when attending a 'domestic'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭kiffer

I'm sure people used to knock lumps out of each other but you are far more likely to be stabbed nowadays or kicked senseless on the ground by a group.

Stats please... Not that I totally doubt it... Not media hype but actual numbers... My guess is that over all violence is down...
    But hey that's just a guess. There may be a recent increase but compare it to the past on a per capita basis...

I think light casual violence is down (or at least not really any worse than the past) which serves to highlight more extreme violence. Which may well be up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Less of the "I'm a hard man" please. You obviously don't have the cop on to distinguish two normal people having a domestic which has gotten out of hand from two sub-human toerag scumbags doing what they do best. Your stupidity cost you a hiding and you may very well have contracted a very dangerous disease for your troubles. Go and get a blood test and stop preaching to the rest of us. I know your intentions were honorable... but you're the stupid one. If anything is making you sick, it should be your own lack of good judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

El Siglo wrote: »
    What have you learned from this lesson?
    Never, ever, ever help anybody (especially strangers). As cruel as it sounds, it was their own domestic violence, it had absolutely nothing to do with you, mind your own business, keep your head to the ground, maybe call the Gardai, but the buck stops there. However, sticking your oar into their 'tiff' was foolish, people are fucked up but that's not your problem or concern. Next time you might not be so lucky, it could be two HIV+ skangers or scumbags armed with knives or syringes. Just stay away, say a prayer and leave it at that, because it's not worth risking, especially when they're strangers.
    I don't agree really, behaviour like this shouldn't be tolerated. At the very least yerman might think twice about doing this kind of stuff in public. This guy has no shame at all that he thinks he can do this in a public place without upsetting all the people that would see it. Of course we don't have all the details, maybe she cheated on him and was desperate to get him back, either way he was a dick and needed to be stopped.

It's not really the guards or the government that keep places safe it's the community of people that live there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 kittensneeze

you did the right thing but maybe in future just call the police because you dont know what the guy is capable of if he'll treat a woman that way. the people that just stand there doing nothing should be ashamed.