Women i don't get you at all...

• 13-09-2009 02:57AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

What a night folks, went out for a bit of grub with the missus and a few beers to finish the evening off, nice evening she was happy. Anyway walking to a taxi rank i come across a bloke beating the living daylights out of his missus, it was nasty her head was cut, lip bleeding a couple of shiners. To the people standing there watching you make me sick.

Anyways i jump in pull your man off her and i restrain him till the old bill arrive and what does your woman do, jumps on my back buries her high heel shoe in the back of my head and tells me to leave her fella alone, i point out she is black and blue and cut to bits, she tells me she doesn't give a bollix and spits in my face ( bloody spit at that ). So here i am now with an icepack on the head, a good shirt covered in blood, a chunk missing out of my head and the grace of someone spitting at me. Have to say folks i'm fuming.

Whats the world coming to when women protect these scumbags.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

It's probably the most common reaction if you just jump in and starting taking lumps out of the guy. That's why most people stand there watching these days.

90% of women are as thick as 2 planks.
    Are you single?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Karoma wrote: »
    It's probably the most common reaction if you just jump in and starting taking lumps out of the guy. That's why most people stand there watching these days.

Are you single?

Standing there and watching a grown man battering a woman is not acceptable in my book, and any man that does should look in the mirror.

As for taking lumps outta the guy i didn't do a whole lot i'm 6'4 16 stone and a kickboxer most my life, i've stepped over better to get into a fight. I was just holding him down to stop him doing anymore damage to the girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

You now have hepatitis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Silly Billy there's no women on the internet.

Also, that was obviously just foreplay you interupted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Also, that was obviously just foreplay you interupted.

He was breaking open her protective cocoon prior to fertilis- *vomit*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Daragh101

Standing there and watching a grown man battering a woman is not acceptable in my book, and any man that does should look in the mirror.

As for taking lumps outta the guy i didn't do a whole lot i'm 6'4 16 stone and a kickboxer most my life, i've stepped over better to get into a fight. I was just holding him down to stop him doing anymore damage to the girl.

you done the right thing.............but what a bitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

At the risk of repeating myself: how does this one woman who needs help = "women"? Your partner/wife is a woman and she hasn't gone for an ape like that guy.
    I could say, based on your anecdote, that men are horribly violent brutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

What a night folks, went out for a bit of grub with the missus and a few beers to finish the evening off, nice evening she was happy. Anyway walking to a taxi rank i come across a bloke beating the living daylights out of his missus, it was nasty her head was cut, lip bleeding a couple of shiners. To the people standing there watching you make me sick.

Anyways i jump in pull your man off her and i restrain him till the old bill arrive and what does your woman do, jumps on my back buries her high heel shoe in the back of my head and tells me to leave her fella alone, i point out she is black and blue and cut to bits, she tells me she doesn't give a bollix and spits in my face ( bloody spit at that ). So here i am now with an icepack on the head, a good shirt covered in blood, a chunk missing out of my head and the grace of someone spitting at me. Have to say folks i'm fuming.

Is it on pornhub yet?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

you did the right thing. how are you to know how she would react.
    think about it if you just walked on by but she desperate for help dying for someone to make him stop.
    unfortuneatly for you she has problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Fair play for jumping in.

But would you not be better off going to A&E to get your head checked out, instead of posting on boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

I've heard a lot of stories like that. A lot of women that are in abusive relationships are so used to it it becomes kind of normal to them or they think it's there fault so maybe she didn't realise you were trying to help or if she was drunk she probably didnt know what she was doing. Anyway fair play to you for stepping in. Last time you do that says you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Should have thrown a Falcon Punch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

that woman was a nutcase, I can imagine them riding now, yer man beating the day lights out of her...

go on ya good thing ya

*slap

*slap

atta boy....

*slurps up his beer and falls asleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Dudess wrote: »
    At the risk of repeating myself: how does this one woman who needs help = "women"? Your partner/wife is a woman and she hasn't gone for an ape like that guy.

He knows all women aren't like that. Pretty sure the majority of people here do considering they all have at least one woman in their lives (be it a relative, friend, or girlfriend/wife).

Do you honestly have to always get upset about generalizations? People are dumb, but they're not THAT dumb. It's just more convenient to say "women are" then "some, but not all women are." Don't you get that?

Benefit of the doubt goes a long, long way.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Women is the plural of woman. He wasn't talking about every single woman on the planet. I wish people would learn that using women doesn't mean you're talking about every single woman in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

you done the right thing. Personally i would have bet the head off me man but thats just me. Fair play to you bud. Go to A and E and get yourself checked out though. Ya wouldnt know what she may be carrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I know we're all programmed to generalise somewhat, but doing so when it comes to very much a minority is just lazy. A tiny handful of women put up with abuse like that.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I know we're all programmed to generalise somewhat, but doing so when it comes to very much a minority is just lazy.

First of all you don't know he was generalising about all women. Secondly how is generalising against a minority lazy as opposed to generalising against a majority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Damned if you do, Damned if you don't.

If you get involved and jump in to break it up, you risk getting hurt yourself. Then some people tell you you should have minded your own business. If you do nothing and walk by, people say your a disgrace, etc. etc.

I would say this though, there are women getting beaten up all over the world by men every day. You know this is true, yet you aren't hopping on a plane to go rescure all of them. What makes this woman any different? Proximity? It's worth thinking about.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

He said he didn't understand women, and gave an example of why. He didn't say every woman falls into this catagory.

I know I don't understand women!

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Where in ireland did this happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

flanum wrote: »
    Where in ireland did this happen?

South Dublin, just thinking about it now, if someone is willing to beat his wife/girlfriend like this in the middle of the street, i can only start to imagine what goes on behind closed doors??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

`You should ogf slapped the **** out of her awell bud, there emotional idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

South Dublin,

Enough said!!

/county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

You did what you thought was right OP and if you didnt you would be still kicking yourself now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

You should have asked the guy to kindly restrain himself and inquired from the lady if she would like you to intercede on her behalf.

In the real world you are brave(foolish) to get involved. Honestly I would have to believe that the woman was in danger of serious injury or death before I would. Or I might just jump in before I gave it enough thought.

Its a tricky one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Paddo81

blinding wrote: »
    You should have asked the guy to kindly restrain himself and inquired from the lady if she would like you to intercede on her behalf.

In the real world you are brave(foolish) to get involved. Honestly I would have to believe that the woman was in danger of serious injury or death before I would. Or I might just jump in before I gave it enough thought.

Its a tricky one.

Yeah, exactly. Its a nice idea to be an upstanding citizen and save the damsel in distress - most decently brought up fellas would have that instinct, but in all honestly in the real world, getting involved in any kind of fraca these days in a major risk. If I saw a fella and his missus, both clearly drunk, the fella smacking the woman around the head, as they both fall around the street (im just assuming that this incident was something like that) then Id be thinking twice about getting involved. As someone else said, if these people are bad enough to that to each other in the street, Its unlikely they'd be too friendly to a stranger getting involved in one of their domestics.
    If on the other hand the girl was on the ground, getting absolutley pummeled and it looked very serious, that would be different. It is of course easy to judge when your not in the heat of the moment and with hindsight..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Women! Jesus, they are so defensive.

...wait, I mean some women. A small number of women are defensive.

Anyway, OP, come on. Every dog in the street knows not to step into a couples fight, what did you expect? I know I'd have expected nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

OP, I admire your bravery for stepping in, I am sorry to say that in this day and age when it would not be unusual for someone to stick a knife in you for looking at them the wrong way if I came across two Jeremy Kyle types knocking seven bells out of each other I would give them a wide berth, as another poster said they, bizarrely,will both turn on you if you intervene. Its a sorry state of affairs but I'd put my own safety first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Your post begins with how a man was knocking the shyte out of his missus, yet its just women are off their heads.. My take on it would be that they are both fúcking knackers who deserve each other.

Standing by watching / getting involved are both no-no's. If you feel compelled to do anything at all, keep walking and phone the gardaí. These stories never end well.