Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

here goes nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Kate Moss

Hi Asimonov - hope you dont mind me joining in on your thread. Those were great splits for the race on Friday - Rusty Scanlon 10k.

Can you tell me - was it a 10k race or a 6mile race and would you happen to have the results or a link to them?

Thanks a mill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

rigal wrote: »
    I'm not here to prescribe medical advice but I find ice packs and oruvail gel helps a lot (as well as the physio)...

Thanks rigal (you charter breacher)...i got two ice packs today (it was frozen spinach and stuff before that) and i'm going to physio tomorrow night so hopefully it'll be good soon.
    wizwill wrote: »
    Did you race in flats?... i have packed mine away and doing all my running in Kayanos, otherwise my achilles plays up. Something very interesting i discovered today is that the clutch on my car is as stiff as anything and i think its causing some of my achilles trouble. Swapping cars with the wife until after the marathon.

Have you thought about aqua running to keep you ticking over? There is a good article by Vinny Mulvey on injuries on runireland.com (cant open the link at the moment)

yep, i have Brooks ST4's for racing...they have a some support in them. I normally wear Brooks Adrenalin 9's for training and i have an abandoned set of orthotics sitting in a pair of asic 2130 at home which i'll probably end up having to go back to.

I was hoping to the marathon in the ST4's and was going to do the half in two weeks and one long LSR in them as a test...but depending on what the physio says i won't risk doing too much in them over the next while. Are you going to wear kayano's in Dublin?

i'm going to do a bit of cycling, i got a bike to work hybrid a couple of months ago and its still got the stickers on the wheels..so i'll do a bit of that each day....

Kate Moss wrote: »
    Hi Asimonov - hope you dont mind me joining in on your thread. Those were great splits for the race on Friday - Rusty Scanlon 10k.

Can you tell me - was it a 10k race or a 6mile race and would you happen to have the results or a link to them?

Thanks a mill.

no worries,

It measured 6.06 miles on my garmin and 6.07 on a mates one and i've seen it referred to as both a 10k and a 6 mile race...so you can take your pick. I've it down as a 6 mile.

Also, i don't think you'll get the results online anywhere. i'll see if i can get them though - if i do i'll post them here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 runforrest

Great running friday night thanks for the water at the end.... i was pleased with time 44.30 but it was hard earned first 4 miles tough. did 3 hour lsr on saturday and felt great, hope the shin settles down dont fret !!:) hi to sobhan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭wizwill

asimonov wrote: »
    Thanks rigal (you charter breacher)...i got two ice packs today (it was frozen spinach and stuff before that) and i'm going to physio tomorrow night so hopefully it'll be good soon.

yep, i have Brooks ST4's for racing...they have a some support in them. I normally wear Brooks Adrenalin 9's for training and i have an abandoned set of orthotics sitting in a pair of asic 2130 at home which i'll probably end up having to go back to.

I was hoping to the marathon in the ST4's and was going to do the half in two weeks and one long LSR in them as a test...but depending on what the physio says i won't risk doing too much in them over the next while. Are you going to wear kayano's in Dublin?

i'm going to do a bit of cycling, i got a bike to work hybrid a couple of months ago and its still got the stickers on the wheels..so i'll do a bit of that each day....

I am going to run the marathon in kayano's, i am a little worried how dependent my feet have become on them, i have a pair of 2130 with about 30 miles in them because my achilles pains me once i leave kayano's. i am planning to scale down after marathon, i see some of the guys in the club in 1100's, i havent asked but i am thinking it might keep the lower limb stronger.

I have raced up HM in flats and they are definetely time saving but too risky for me, you do feel a million dollars in lighter shoes too!

Once i tip near the 6 min mile mark at the moment i feel i am coming close to the edge of injury (the danger zone), i am running the lsr pretty hard and finding recovery fine (fingers crossed) 20 yesterday in 7.06 (got 7 done today in 56 as a recovery). maybe its the faster pace that brought the injury on, i did plan to do 10k at the weekend, your story has presauded me otherwise.

A good physio is worth their weight in gold.

Your bike story sounds like mine, i have a racer bought last year that hasnt seen the road this year as all i am doing in running, it was a gift from my wife who keeps asking when i am going to use it!

So i have a calf muscle tear on my left leg. Its too inflamed for the physio to work on at the moment. I have to get anti-inflammatories and go back later this week. Not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

So i have a calf muscle tear on my left leg. Its too inflamed for the physio to work on at the moment. I have to get anti-inflammatories and go back later this week. Not good.

Tough break, just a suggestion if you don't have a foam roller, get one you won't regret it, I can lend you mine if your around Dublin soon. Has he given you any idea of how long you'll be out, I'm no expert so am just curious about your marathon plans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Jeez sorry to hear that Asimonov. Hopefully a few days rest, anti i's and phyios will get you back on track. CrAp timing for you :(

Woddle wrote: »
    Tough break, just a suggestion if you don't have a foam roller, get one you won't regret it, I can lend you mine if your around Dublin soon. Has he given you any idea of how long you'll be out, I'm no expert so am just curious about your marathon plans.

Thanks woddle, i might hold you to that offer :) . He thought maybe three weeks out, and then building back from there over a couple of weeks. That would rule dublin out for me. I'd booked a place in the marathon in florence on the 29th of november, just in case something went wrong on the day in dublin, that is 12 weeks away now, so that might have to be my plan B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Sorry to hear that Asimonov. Hope it doesn't scupper any of your plans. Looks like it'll be swim and cycle for a while. No doubt you'll excel in both of these sports, before combining them with running to become the all-round elite athlete.

Have a speedy recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Thanks woddle, i might hold you to that offer :) . He thought maybe three weeks out, and then building back from there over a couple of weeks. That would rule dublin out for me. I'd booked a place in the marathon in florence on the 29th of november, just in case something went wrong on the day in dublin, that is 12 weeks away now, so that might have to be my plan B.

Well at least you have a plan B and a very nice one at that. Just send me a pm if you want it and I'll sort you out pronto, it should be in every runners tool box.
    As Krusty said, wish you a speedy recovery.

Woddle wrote: »
    Well at least you have a plan B and a very nice one at that. Just send me a pm if you want it and I'll sort you out pronto, it should be in every runners tool box.
    As Krusty said, wish you a speedy recovery.

thanks lads, i don't want to get too down about it. i'll know more when the inflammation dies down and it can be worked on.

i could be on the start line in dublin yet. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Gutted for you asimonov but as you say - don't give up hope for DCM yet. Your recovery might surprise both yourself and the physio.

Worst case scenario is you have to run Florence in which case you'd have that extra 4 weeks to prepare. You've done all the hard work now and have a great fitness base so don't get too down. It'll all fall into place one way or another. Just have a read over your training log and race performances in the year to date. That'll cheer you up! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭wizwill

Sorry to hear about your injury, hope it turns out to be ok. Good to have a plan B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

sorry to hear about the calf injury asimnov, speedy recovery lad, as most are saying, don't rule out DCM yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

thanks lads, i don't want to get too down about it. i'll know more when the inflammation dies down and it can be worked on.

Sorry to hear that asiminov,but as you said...dont rule out anything...im no expert but i suppose you should really watch the nutrition end of it now,just incase you can make the start line in Dublin...jes*s...thats terrible luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Hey asimonov, sorry to hear about your very bad luck, hope you feel better soon and can make it on the 26th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Speedy recovery!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Wishing you a speedy recovery man. You were absolutely flying there recently, very impressive speeds

thanks, thanks, thanks, thanks & thanks :o...training logs on boards rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

sorry to hear bout the injury really hope it doesnt hamper your chance to compete in The DCM .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

feck, tough break sham, hope it won't be too long,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Sorry to hear that mate. Best of luck for a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Hoping you have a very speedy recovery man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭bourne99

Hope you make it to the Dublin Marathon - would be a great turnaround if you could manage it! I suggest you give your leg a stern talking to - This kind of thing just isn't on, especially at this stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 designman

Hey Asimonov (now that we're both introduced!!!)
    First of all - hope the injury settles down - it might be an easy fix but you are better to just rest, ice etc (won't break charter rules here with medical advice!- call runforrest for that)
    I hope you will be fine - you still have lots of time.

I have pretty much accepted that I am out for Dublin - my achilles is still not right so I am really frustrated with that but can't really do anything. Did a run on Sun for 50 mins - very slow. I'll just have to work it back up - trying to stay away from the biscuits......

Let me know if you can do short slow runs - I'll be there plus Jermaine.....

I was at my physio this eve..... dear sweet J...... the sweats from the pain - next time I'm getting an epidural.

Chin up!

D

Thanks for all the comments.The calf has responded really well so far. I've done nothing for 9 days...the longest break from running i've had in nearly a year. tried to keep on top of the eating thing, and finally got around to trying a 'core' routine which i'm going to keep up...who would have thought something that looks so simple could hurt so much...

I've had 3 physio sessions and all the inflammation and heat is now gone and he'd been able to work the muscle. I was allowed to go for my first easy run today. This went fine - even though i could feel it a little. I'm back with the physio on Wednesday.

Obviously my original plan is out the window, in GAA terms my Plan B is now to hit maybe 20 - 25 easy miles this week, and try to get to 75%-80% full mileage next week including one marathon pace workout and one long run. That would leave four weeks to dublin, two of which would be full weeks and two taper.

Thats good to hear,hope it works out for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

According to my fool-proof DCM training methodology, you were doing waaay too much anyway:-)

Great to hear you are getting back in the saddle....

Wheres the meeting/start point for Sunday ?
    I have no info at all.
    I registered on runireland,i have no number,chip...nothing.
    I presume they will arrive in the post this week.

What kind of turnout are they expecting ?
    Something tells me that the numbers won't be big,maybe i am wrong.