Why is this man running our country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

rossie1977 wrote: »
    photo of said woman please :eek:

I spelt her name wrong, sorry. She usually does the six one news.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/irishcelebs/3024066043/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think Brian Cowen should be getting flak for causing the near collapse of the global Irish banking system,

I've de-centralised your post.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭CAPSLOCK365

sells wrote: »
    Why is he here, who the f*uck is he, what the f*uck does he want, I didnt even vote for him, did you. Im talkin of course about, Brian Cowan. Making more money than Barack Obama, why??? money, money, money, beautiful money, thats all he wants. So who would you like to be Taoiseach? Maybe its Pat Kenny, :confused: ......Chuck Norris or maybe Willie O Dea!:rolleyes: or even your woman off the news, Sharon Ni Bheolain.

Who would you like to be Taoiseach? It can be anybody, state your reasons and hopefully if theres enough votes, they will be the new Taoiseach.
    He's here
    a) because he is an elected official, i.e. he received enough votes to place in the top 5 in his constituency, thus entitling him to represent his constituency in the dáil.
    b) he is a member of the Fianna Fáil party. All parties require a leader.
    c) Once Bertie Ahern stood down as leader of Fianna Fáil (and Taoiseach), the party required someone else to lead it. Cowen put his name forward and was unchallenged. He therefore became leader of Fianna Fáil.
    d) Fianna Fáil are the largest party, in terms of dáil representation, in the country. As such, they formed a coalition with a few smaller parties and some independents. It makes sense that the leader of the most represented party gets the number one job. i.e. Brian Cowen.

Secondly, lots of people make more money than Barrack Obama. It may surprise you, but Barrack Obama is not the yardstick by which most people measuretheir income.

Thirdly, how do you know that all he wants is money? Unsubstantiated rubbish and perhaps a libellous comment.

Finaly, no I don't want any of those people as Taoiseach as
    a) all but one of them have not been elected to represent us.
    b) one of them isn't an Irish citizen
    and
    c) the one who has been elected could never get the job as he isn't really a party politician.

If there is anything else I can help you with, please ask.

I would however be in favour of some sort of intelligence test before people could vote. This wold benefit us all by removing the votes of people who have no idea how politics work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think it's unfair Brian Cowen should be getting flak for causing the near collapse of the global banking system, or for some of the dodgy policies of his predecessors. He had the misfortune to inherit a mess at a time of global recession so I think people should judge him on his own merits and his own record.
    He was the fall guy, FF had no intention of trying to prepare for, or fix the mess we're in. The reason Ireland is doing worse than any other country is because we where building towards failure, it was no surprise that we ended up in a recession, it's just unfortunate the rest of the world that we where piggy backing on collapsed as well making our situation worse.

FF do nothing, their not actually making any changes to this failed system we call a government their just doing the same thing they always do throw money at it, except there is no money left so they raise taxes. They haven't made any changes to the way hospitals are run from what I can see. There are no changes other than financial in local government. Money isn't really the problem and they don't seem to realise that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I would however be in favour of some sort of intelligence test before people could vote. This wold benefit us all by removing the votes of people who have no idea how politics work.
    I'll second that, considering it would also clear out 90% of the Dail who were voted for because "Sure my mam and dad have always voted for X".

Nevore wrote: »
    I'll second that, considering it would also clear out 90% of the Dail who were voted for because "Sure my mam and dad have always voted for X".
    How would it do this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭johnl

There was no plan for
    Biffo. Said we'd all be grand.
    We knew better, shame.

johnl wrote: »
    There was no plan for
    Biffo. Said we'd all be grand.
    We knew better, shame.
    Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Cowens doing the best he can with what hes got, hes always going to be hated... anyone in charge of taking services away would be. Its just more fustrating that he has to play politics and keep as many people as possible content so his party dont fall. sad truth of democracy though.

if there were a rerun id still vote FF, best keep with the programme - probably switch my vote to FG when the recession passes and Enda with it.

How would it do this?
    Only speaking from a WW perspective, but the village idiots who turn up every year at my polling booth, who would be hard pressed to name a candidate and vote by looking for the pretty logo beside the pictures would presumably fail the test.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Michael O Leary

/thread

Michael O Leary

/thread
    The full page ads giving out about the opposition would be amusing at least. :D

Nevore wrote: »
    Only speaking from a WW perspective, but the village idiots who turn up every year at my polling booth, who would be hard pressed to name a candidate and vote by looking for the pretty logo beside the pictures would presumably fail the test.
    But who would the others vote for?
    Who did the 'village idiots' vote for before there were pretty* pictures on the paper? and before there were logos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

He's here
    a) because he is an elected official, i.e. he received enough votes to place in the top 5 in his constituency, thus entitling him to represent his constituency in the dáil.
    b) he is a member of the Fianna Fáil party. All parties require a leader.
    c) Once Bertie Ahern stood down as leader of Fianna Fáil (and Taoiseach), the party required someone else to lead it. Cowen put his name forward and was unchallenged. He therefore became leader of Fianna Fáil.
    d) Fianna Fáil are the largest party, in terms of dáil representation, in the country. As such, they formed a coalition with a few smaller parties and some independents. It makes sense that the leader of the most represented party gets the number one job. i.e. Brian Cowen.

Secondly, lots of people make more money than Barrack Obama. It may surprise you, but Barrack Obama is not the yardstick by which most people measuretheir income.

Thirdly, how do you know that all he wants is money? Unsubstantiated rubbish and perhaps a libellous comment.

Finaly, no I don't want any of those people as Taoiseach as
    a) all but one of them have not been elected to represent us.
    b) one of them isn't an Irish citizen
    and
    c) the one who has been elected could never get the job as he isn't really a party politician.

If there is anything else I can help you with, please ask.

Yeah I think I know how politics works.:rolleyes:
    I would however be in favour of some sort of common sense test before people could post a reply on boards.ie. This wold benefit us all by removing the stupid, serious comments, of people who have no idea how boards.ie(after hours) work. Yes one other thing, I cant get rid of all the bees in my garden shed, can you please help me.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I think it's unfair Brian Cowen should be getting flak for causing the near collapse of the global banking system, or for some of the dodgy policies of his predecessors. He had the misfortune to inherit a mess at a time of global recession so I think people should judge him on his own merits and his own record. I think he's a very intelligent and able politician and is probably the best man for the job right now. I can't see FG pulling a rabbit out of a hat, they never have done, they've only ever been slightly more photogenic.

And although I hope people reject the Lisbon Constitution, please don't do so to give a dig to Brian Cowen, that's a really stupid reason.

Brain Cowen was been a Senior Cabinet Minister (including Finance) for 10 years before becoming Taoiseach. He has been one of the most influential voices in FF for about 20 years.

While I accept some of his criticism is unfair, let’s not pretend he just woke up one morning and was landed with the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 W1ct0ry

Why is he here, who the f*uck is he, what the f*uck does he want, I didnt even vote for him, did you.

Did you vote for Bertie Ahern?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

nah I was too young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 W1ct0ry

nah I was too young.

But you can only vote for him if he is in your constituency, so not having voted for Brian Cowen makes no difference. Its not like you elect them to a certain post.

And Brian Cowen was elected, so yes we did vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Realisticly the country should be run by a group of 5 successfull business people that make decisions based on 3/5 voting for it.

People running the department for health should be five consultants

People running the department for finance should be 5 accountants

People running the military should be 5 generals

People running anything should be successful and the best in that field

What is the point of putting people with no clue of what their doing, no education in that field in charge of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

I would definitely vote for Face Kicker