Ian Brown - 2009 Irish Tour

• 01-09-2009 03:10PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭

Onsale this Friday @9am

http://ianbrown.co.uk/news/full/25
    Ian Brown will play the following dates:

St. George’s Market, Belfast
    Sunday 22 November
    Tickets £27.00 including booking fee
    www.geturticket.com Telephone: (028) 9032 7007

The Olympia Theatre
    Monday 23 November
    Tickets from €39.20 including booking fee
    Box Office: 01 6793323. Booking Line: 0818 719 330
    Web: www.ticketmaster.ie

Theatre Royal, Castlebar, Co. Mayo
    Thursday 26 November
    Tickets €30.00 including booking fee
    Box Office: 0818 300 000, Web: www.royaltheatre.ie

The INEC, Killarney, Co, Kerry
    (Under 16s must be in seated area and accompanied by an adult 21 yrs or over.)
    Friday 27 November 2009
    Tickets €30.00 including booking fee
    Box Office:
064 71555, Web: www.inec.ie
    Tickets On sale: Friday 04 September @ 9.00am
    24hr hotlines: Tel: (ROI) 0818 719 300, (NI) 0844 847 2455

Buy online: www.ticketmaster.ie

Who's going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I'd love to but its on a Monday :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i think il get a ticket,seen him when he played here in the phoenix park and he was pretty good!

Count me in.

I doubt I do Dublin, Monday:eek:.

Killarney would be good if I could get a few together (which shouldn't be difficult).

Seen him in the park also, and Dublin Castle (which was class in the rain), Brighton, and many others though I think that tour he did here 4 or 5 years ago was brill, caught him in Dorans in Limerick, a great venue and a great gig, so intimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 jocksandsocks

NoDrama wrote: »
    Count me in.

I doubt I do Dublin, Monday:eek:.

Killarney would be good if I could get a few together (which shouldn't be difficult).

Seen him in the park also, and Dublin Castle (which was class in the rain), Brighton, and many others though I think that tour he did here 4 or 5 years ago was brill, caught him in Dorans in Limerick, a great venue and a great gig, so intimate.

great gig in Dolans that time and the man himself mingled with the good people of limerick in the bar beside the venue beforehand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,042 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Defo going to go..Monday or not it suits me..

cant wait he legend

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Picked up me standing tickets today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭RodVelvet

Standing tickets for the olympia, am really looking forward to this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭L.S.F

Seen him in Pheonix Park & Oxegen the other year, would love to see him live again. If I can get tickets closer to the date I'll deffo go to the Olympia!

Hey,

I should prob create a seperate thread for this?
    Can anyone suggest somewhere open late in town after the Monday gig?
    The later the better. Am I right in saying most places close at 1am on Monday?
    I was thinking Solas or Dicey's beer garden afterwards.

Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I've 2 spare tickets for the killarney gig,anyone interested?Let me know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

Does Whelans And The Village not open late that night?
    Myself and the GF are booked into Jurys that night so Residents bar if all else fails.
    I hope he is on form that night coz Ive seen him 4or5 times now and only twice that I can remember was he truly brilliant. Loving the new album too and I reckon we'll get treated to a nice few Roses tunes too.
    Maybe a meet up could be sorted for the gig

Yeap they prob open till 1am too. I was thinking Solas meself. We'll see what she fancies. She's listening to the Roses herself now in anticipation he'll play a few. Hurry up November!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 contraflow

Was anyone at the Olympia last night?? Can you post a quick review i.e. what tunes did he play? The new album, some older classics of his own and a few Roses classics I hope. Off to tonight's performance with my burd, haven't seen the great man since Witness 2003 so looking forward to it.

Yeah a review would be nice.

I'm going myself on friday to see him in killarney.

Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I reckon you're already outside the venue now but how and ever...

...he opened with love like a fountain and in no particular order played.....longsight,FEAR,corpses,all ablaze,stellify,my way,keep what you got,time is my everything,golden gaze,just like you,vanity kills,marathon man....I think he played sister rose and I am sure there were a few more but my memory is..ahem...hazy......oh and he did one cover.....fools gold.

His voice went after about 4 songs....one or two songs he did perfectly in tune with himself but in a different key to the music which was impressive!!

But everyone knows that about Brown anyway......he was brilliant,in flying form and entertained from start to finish......he even told a joke......but I won't try to repeat it...you had to be there.

He pretty much stuck to the same song list from Monday then. His voice didn't project very well, but nothing new there I suppose, I thought the sound engineer could have upped his mike volume a bit. It's only a minor criticism though, I thoroughly enjoyed the show, his stage presence is second to none and when combined with the great tunes and lyrics, it’s a winning formula. Hopefully he will play at the weekend next time.

Was the joke he cracked on Monday: “did anyone here buy my new album or did you just download it off the internet?”

I laughed and stared at my runners in case the great man caught my guilty grin and decided to demonstrate his karate skills.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

No .....that wasn't the joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vixenbees

I got a quick clip of Stellify...a little blurry at the start but the lights and atmosphere is great :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKHJChG9DRs

vixenbees wrote: »
    I got a quick clip of Stellify...a little blurry at the start but the lights and atmosphere is great :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKHJChG9DRs

Nice vid... ;)

Thanks! I got a minute of F.E.A.R. and Fools Gold as well, I must throw em up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭keryl

Does anyone know what time he usually gets up on stage. His gig tonight kicks off at 8, some friends won't be there till 9...

keryl wrote: »
    Does anyone know what time he usually gets up on stage. His gig tonight kicks off at 8, some friends won't be there till 9...

It was around 9 but probably a bit after 9 that he came on stage on tues nite. I wasn't paying much attention to the time tho... so I could be wrong. But I reckon if your friends are in by 9 they will catch the whole show.

he started around 9:15 on monday night so you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭mikekerry

i saw him in killarney friday nite, he was in top form.
    great gig,hi had a pretty good band with him also.
    a few more than he normally has.
    he finished the set with stellify, the place was rocking