Accident & Emergency Wards *Rant*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭BearsyBoo

It always seems to be the people that have medical cards in with the minor things a friend of mine swears by going in because he is "entilted to it" really gets on my nerves. Maybe if they had to pay they wouldnt be in there so quickly always seems to be full of travelers everytime ive been in there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Spot on synper.

Don't worry though, King Enda will soon save us all.

Jesus Christ help us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Elessar wrote: »
    Airway blockages are an emergency. You did the right thing.

If in doubt, get help. Be that A&E or a doc on call. Don't feel bad for getting help in A&E, unless you are stupid. But even the stupid deserve help.

There probably needs to be some rule of thumb for going to A&E, as in; if your ailment wont get worse before a doctors visit is possible, you dont need A&E, e.g sprain, flu, earache, minor cuts, minor burn, skin rash, fever.

Bone breakages probably dont need immediate A&E admittances either, a lot of the time you will have to go back home until the swelling has gone down and a doctor can prescribe pain killers anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

So, you are bringing up the topic of people who are in the wrong place? Like, who are in one location when they should be in another? No, not should be, that's a bit harsh, just people who would maybe be better suited to somewhere else because the place where they actually are will serve a purpose but there is another area where their needs would be better suited?

Ironic.

I fail to see the Irony in being a nuisance at an A&E ward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭MelonieHead

snyper wrote: »
    I fail to see the Irony in being a nuisance at an A&E ward

I fail to build lego castles. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Well heres my thoughts.. The health service is sh^t because of years of mismanagement and no accountability... You can't go into A+E and judge people by what you think their injuries are.For example, person staggering in and slurring speech may not be a drunk but may have a severe head injury.You get the idea.. I do realise however that there are a lot of needless A+E visits. The one problem I have though is once or twice I went to Doc after an accident and he sent me to A+E for something I presumed he could treat, so amymore I go straight to A+E..
    FINAL COMMENT, The problem with the health service rests with Mary harney and her predecessors IMO....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

The crap that presents to A+E can be unbelievable alright.

I did a shift a while back where a ma brought her kid in....

"He has a rash".

"OK, how long has he had it?"

"oh about 5 years...could be 4, though".

Then another set of parents bring their daughter in coz she has a poxy eyelash in her eye.

How do these people cope in the outside world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

People are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

To be honest id rather goto the VHI clinics I mean ill pay the 80 squid to get seen right away and to not add to the waiting list in an A&E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

I was in an A+E reception area one time fixing a printer. A gentleman who I happen to knew came to the window. The receptionist asked him his details etc then what was the problem with him, He answered saying he had the HICCUPS!!!! I kid you not. Dirty time wasting medical card flashing wanker. If he was paying the €100 to be seeing id bet he would try holding his breath or a glass of water before going to A+E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

There should be an intoxication levy. If some fukwit gets pissed/gimped on yokes/whatever and gets themselves injured they should have to fork up €500 cash before they get treated and then get charged full whack after that.

If acting the cunt came with a fairly hefty blow to the pocket people would stop being such clowns and learn to behave in a semi civilised way when they're on the rip for the night. You only p1ss on the electric fence once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Daroxtar wrote: »
    There should be an intoxication levy. If some fukwit gets pissed/gimped on yokes/whatever and gets themselves injured they should have to fork up €500 cash before they get treated and then get charged full whack after that.

I'm a nurse, I've worked in A&E recently...if you took alcohol, and bloody emo kids trying to top themselves, out of the equation we'd have feck all to do...

Quote of the week last week......

Dude on Trolley(pissed, with broken Leg laments); "Oh why has this happened to me, why! why! why!.

Nurse: Ahem, this happened because you drunk a bottle of whisky and chucked yourself down the stairs. Now cop on.

Dude on Trolley: Vomits all over self.

A pretty typical exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

mentioned here before - it's also the GPs who as a precaution send everyone down to A&E for every minor thing. Now if some GP's had xray machines (like some doctors have in civilised countries) and other proper diagnostic equipment, most of these trips would not be necessary.

I've also tried to do the right thing and call Westdoc instead of going to A&E -with mixed results. The then boyfriend had sever trouble breathing, swollen joints, couldn't move, fever, the lot. I thought he was going to die on me - rang Westdoc, yer one says she couldn't make a house call, could I bring him in.
    Brought him in under severe strain, he was practically crawling into the door, the doc turns around and says "well, in your state you shouldn't have come, why didnt you say his was THAT bad'. I told her that I said that he was THAT bad, and she says "ah well, sometimes people just say they're bad, and when they get here, they're grand."

eh????

ended up in A&E for another 11 hours anyway. Super. I thought I was in the wrong movie, there, though.
    Couple of smoke-inhalation victims came in, severe shock, on trolleys. Caravan fire...Yer one wakes up, gets off the trolley, walks barefoot out of A&E to have - wait for it - a cigarette. Those people should NOT have the right to be treated in A&E. At all.

Opposite a drunk guy, sleeping off his drunkeness on another trolley. Wakes up, staggers out for a fag, comes back in, has another snooze, wakes up, orders breakfast, shouts across the hall "compliments to the chef", gets his stuff and leaves.

Next to us an old lady, practically dying, on a respirator - she seemed very very sick. She was on that trolley for 18 hours, the lady who was with her told us. I hope she survived, she was still there when we left (not because we saw a doctor and got treated, but because by then it was early enough for a GP to be open to refer us to a private clinic with proper facilities.

At any one time, there were at least 10 trolleys in that corridor. Blood-soaked people walked back and forth, one drug-addict kept walking in and out (dunno why), and it was a normal Thursday night, not even, say, Paddy's day. I have plenty more stories - hubby is kinda accident prone, so we see a LOT of stuff. I've already said - if anything should ever happen to me, put me on a plane, I fly home. I will not ever set a foot into Galway A&E as a patient, ever.

How the nurses work in A&E is beyond me, I really feel for them, I really do. I could not put up with that kind of sh*t day in, day out. You guys deserve respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭RolfHarris

Are emo kids trying to kill themselves really an issue in A&E? I had no idea.

Not being sarcastic. I just thought they hung around the central bank then got the 46A back to Foxrock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

toomevara wrote: »
    bloody emo kids trying to top themselves,

They're only confused misguide young kids, as a nurse you should really be trying to help and guide them, if they fail at suicide you should be showing them the correct technique to ensure success.

RolfHarris wrote: »

Being serious for a minute, self-harm is a major issue in any A&E dept. The vast majority of self-harmers are teenage girls. They cut and mutilate themselves in ways you would not believe possible. Then of course there are the endless overdoses...paracetamol, codeine, ibuprofen, folk who drink bleach or other dangerous liquids they an get their hands on...IVDU's who overdose on heroin etc...you name it, it comes through the door and the huge majority of it is self-inflicted and avoidable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭RolfHarris

I honestly had no idea that it'd be such a regular event at A&E, nor did I think that Emos ever did anything beyond congregating outside public buildings and hugging each other.

Senna wrote: »
    They're only confused misguide young kids, as a nurse you should really be trying to help and guide them, if they fail at suicide you should be showing them the correct technique to ensure success.

hmmm yes, I didn't think I was going to have to point this out, but then a part of me said, don't post that last comment because someone will take it literally...sigh...I was being massively ironic and tongue in cheek of course. I love my job and I do it professionally and with sensitivity at all times, however in order to remain sane you need to have a certain sense of humour about it all and cultivate a certain gallows style approach.

You will find this on every ED, otherwise we'd all go mad....I don't know what you do for a living but I doubt you encounter the level of abuse and physical danger we encounter on a trauma unit every day....love it though, best job in the world, woudnt do anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

RolfHarris wrote: »

Not being sarcastic. I just thought they hung around the central bank then got the 46A back to Foxrock.

yep, they can be. They can be really troubled kids :(

I wouldn't say any one group in A+E are a problem though. Everyone deserves care if they need it, junkies drunks and knackers and spicks and people from Crumlin. It's just some people go reaching for A+E a little too easily :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,869 ✭✭✭cython

Daroxtar wrote: »

If acting the cunt came with a fairly hefty blow to the pocket people would stop being such clowns and learn to behave in a semi civilised way when they're on the rip for the night. You only p1ss on the electric fence once.

I think there may be something similar in place for ambulances, depending on where you are in the country. A mate of my brother's had to get an ambulance when he was hammered a while back, and got a bill through the door at home a few weeks later. However, I broke my arm a little under 5 months ago, and had to get an ambulance to hospital, and I haven't received any charge for that. This may just be down to the fact that I was in Kildare, and a different authority, but I'd wonder at that, in these times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Ranting and raving forum -->

I agree though. Wow you hurt your foot so you decide to go to A & E. GO TO THE PYSIO YOU GOB****E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Hmm, so if we want to go to A and E we have to be screaming and roaring with pain before other people think we are justified? :rolleyes:

Lots of people get referred to A and E by their GPs without being in obvious pain but needing treatment the GP can't provide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

toomevara wrote: »

You will find this on every ED, otherwise we'd all go mad....I don't know what you do for a living but I doubt you encounter the level of abuse and physical danger we encounter on a trauma unit every day....love it though, best job in the world, woudnt do anything else.

Wow ! hope your on A&E if i ever need it.

"Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others" - Winston Churchill

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Lucky enough to have only ever used A&E twice in my life. Once when I was very young, and again 10 years ago. I went to A&E because I had a severe pain in my side and was vomitting, and I did not have a doctor. Still don't, regional hospital so given a bed straight away, Have to say if it were not for the nurses in our hospitals we would be all scr*wed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Hmm, so if we want to go to A and E we have to be screaming and roaring with pain before other people think we are justified? :rolleyes:

Lots of people get referred to A and E by their GPs without being in obvious pain but needing treatment the GP can't provide.

not at dude, in fact a lot of the time its the quiet ones you've gotta watch out for. you have to agree though that there is a lot of time taken up by really minor stuff in A&E departments across the country that really should be somewhere else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭DublinDes

A friend of mine is a bouncer and he says he worked in an A nad E dept. before doing nightclubs and A and E depts are worse for trouble. Serious.