Saw this old bloke today

• 21-08-2009 04:27PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

I was on my way into work thi smorning when i saw this bloke probably 60+ behaving oddly.He was bending down every couple of minutes and picking something up and whatever it was he was putting into his other hand.
    When i got level with him he sort of straightened up and pretended he wasnt doing anything but i saw in his hand..Cigarette Butts..the poor old divil had been scrounging cigarette butts off the street.
    I've never actually seen this before..i've seen somebody cadge the occasional half-smoke at a bus-stop but he had a handfull of dog-ends in the twilight of his life and was obvioulsy too proud to beg.
    I must be getting old and soft coz i bought him a packet of players eventhough i dont smoke and never give to beggars.
    Is the country getting that bad that the senior citizens are reduced to this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

an act of kindness, from you?! WTF!

Degsy the humanitarian? Somethings not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

Degsy's account has being hacked!!!!

serious note: Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,774 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Will wrote: »
    an act of kindness, from you?! WTF!

Degsy the humanitarian? Somethings not right.
    I have to admit i was expecting this story to end with a sleeper hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fair play to you for buying him some smokes. There's still some hope for us all :pac:

Yeah it's pretty tough for OAPs who are on small fixed pensions I'd imagine, cigarettes would take up most of that probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

It's their own fault if they're spending money that could be spend on healthcare or food on smokes, I have no symathy, nobody *needs* to smoke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Fair play to you for buying him some smokes. There's still some hope for us all :pac:

Yeah it's pretty tough for OAPs who are on small fixed pensions I'd imagine, cigarettes would take up most of that probably

I mean the bloke wasnt a wino or anything like that..a bit tatty but a normal-enough sort of old geezer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I've calmed down a bit now. Degsy, fair play. Nice of you to do that.

Ireland has gone to the dogs alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Degsy wrote: »
    I was on my way into work thi smorning when i saw this bloke probably 60+ behaving oddly.He was bending down every couple of minutes and picking something up and whatever it was he was putting into his other hand.
    When i got level with him he sort of straightened up and pretended he wasnt doing anything but i saw in his hand..Cigarette Butts..the poor old divil had been scrounging cigarette butts off the street.

You sure it wasn't dog sh1te?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I've never actually seen this before..i've seen somebody cadge the occasional half-smoke at a bus-stop but he had a handfull of dog-ends in the twilight of his life and was obvioulsy too proud to beg.
    I must be getting old and soft coz i bought him a packet of players eventhough i dont smoke and never give to beggars.

It was Bono, wasn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Yeah, they squeeze all the tobacco in to their tobacco pouch for rollies. Fair play to you, very degrading for the old dude. I saw a guy knocking back a can at ll in the morning in Dublin once and there was tears streaming down his face, I mean pouring, he was obviously really really upset and his life was in sheet. I worked nearby and ended up doing him a few favours. He was on the cusp of begging, to embarrassed to do it, but getting pretty very desperate. Awful place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus, Degsy, you bleeding heart, pinko, liberal......................

That was nice of you. Though it is interesting that you took pity on an addicted smoker and maybe you wouldn't on an alcoholic.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Piste wrote: »
    It's their own fault if they're spending money that could be spend on healthcare or food on smokes, I have no symathy, nobody *needs* to smoke.

Nobody needs to eat steak, but it's nice. Nobody needs a duvet just a wool blanket but that's nice too.... Come on we all have little things we like! And at his age surely he's earned the right to balls up his own health as much as he likes?

I look forward to the day you are too poor to indulge in a little luxury (caffeine, sweets or whatever you like) and we can just walk by and say we've no sympathy.

Smoking is a horrible crappy habbit to be fair btw (and yeah i'm a smoker, no s*** eh?) but leave the guy do it!

Good man degsy! Human kindness isn't dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

K-9 wrote: »

That was nice of you. Though it is interesting that you took pity on an addicted smoker and maybe you wouldn't on an alcoholic.
    Doesn't alcohol have carbs though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

K-9 wrote: »

in fairness a few smokes never broke up any families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

That was very kind.

Unfortunately I have seen down-and-outs picking cigarette butts off the street here in Ireland before. It's nothing new. It's quite common in Europe to see people doing it. It's a very sorry sight indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭themilkyone

Must feel really good about yourself putting the already dying man to a quicker death :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

If you bought him smokes, does that mean you'll buy me that Chanel bag!? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Players? PLAYERS?

Degsy you cheapskate, could you not have bought the chap a decent packet of smokes for godsake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

Well done i say!!!

if only there was more like you in this day and age :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I dont understand whats wrong with picking up smokes from the street, i dont smoke myself its way too expensive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

If you bought him smokes, does that mean you'll buy me that Chanel bag!? :D

Oh all right then!Anything to stop you nagging!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I dont understand whats wrong with picking up smokes from the street, i dont smoke myself its way too expensive.
    The obious Hygiene aspect, both of the previous discardent and feck knows who's walked on it ( with dog **** on their shoes ) wouldn't appeal and it couldn't be that pleasent to smoke .But then I'm not a smoker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

TheZohan wrote: »
    It was Bono, wasn't it?

Somehow I think if Degsy saw Bono bending over on the street... well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭trout

out of interest ... anyone know if that McSavage chap smokes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

brummytom wrote: »
    Somehow I think if Degsy saw Bono bending over on the street... well

Thank God it was that link!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Oh all right then!Anything to stop you nagging!

hmmm... annoy degsy, get free stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

genericguy wrote: »
    in fairness a few smokes never broke up any families.

Sure they did! When someone in the family died of lung cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Maybe he was just picking up rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Amalgam

minxie wrote: »
    Well done i say!!!

if only there was more like you in this day and age :)

You... ummm... you need to get an 'overview' of Degsy with his post history before.. umm committing yourself to that *cough* statement.

Tetchy, as a way of life..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

trout wrote: »
    out of interest ... anyone know if that McSavage chap smokes ?
    It depends how much petrol you pour over him.