one nightclub towns?

• 20-08-2009 03:20PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

This may seem a bit strange and sorry if there is a more appropriate forum for it, mods please move if you see fit.

But I was wondering if theres many towns about Ireland that are similar to Ardee in Co.Louth?

I mean a town thats smallish but has a few nice pubs and one night club?

The only other one I can think of off my head is Kells but I wondering about somewhere down the country?

Is there any decent small towns that would be a bit of craic for a few lads to head to for a weekend?

Fed up of going to the likes of the bigger towns with multiple night clubs and people in from all over the country so looking to try a small town with a few good pubs and a nightclub.

So any towns out there that would suit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

As soon as I saw the thread title I was going to say Ardee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭veXual

Moate I believe may fall into this catagory though I stand to be corrected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

tralee has the club fabric..i dunno if theres more tho..newcastle west has a really good club apparently and a few good pubs, i dunno if it has just the one club tho too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Maynooth has a good few nice pubs, a "nightclub" and is full of college birds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭finisklin

IME the night clubs in these towns get the 18-21 year old crowd which is fine.....if your in that age bracket.....the pubs with the late licenses cater for the maturer crowd. Your probably into both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

Charleville only has one.

Tralee has 2 or 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Maynooth has a good few nice pubs, a "nightclub" and is full of college birds.
    Do you mean the one upstairs in the Roost, the one up the stairs from the Clock House, or the sh|t-hole "G" spot? Or the new one, "Mantra" above the LA? It also has a few nice pubs, and is populated by students during the college months...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Carrick on Shannon has a few really good pubs that are always good craic and the niteclub is called The Swinging Donkey. Really friendly people and nice cheap accommodation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Ballinrobe - but you takes your chances ...

Does Carrick-on-Shannon only have 1 real one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Balbriggan has a Dogclub...it's even called HOME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Carlow only has one real one to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Same as my town, around 1000 people 8 pubs and 1 nightclub.

Before the boom we had 13 pubs and 2 nightclubs but when the population went up the amount of pubs went down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

well one or two night clubs I meant, just no where thats like a big town that attracts people in for stag nights or drinking weekends away if you get me.

age range would be 22-26, the age range the places attracts could be a problem alright but as long as its not a scum hole with druggies and fights every night and not filled with underage girls then we'll give it a go.

Maynooth & Tralee have been done.

I'm liking Moate, Carrick on Shannon and Newcastle West so far.

Ballinrobe? dodgy?

Charleville might be a bit too far to travel to

Dont wanna go to Carlow they wouldn't give me a job there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Bunclody in Co. Wexford.

One nightclub called M2 (I think?) that they let the local knackers drink in. It's an absolute dive. The bouncers wouldn't let us leave one night because some knackers they'd kicked out were waiting outside the door threatening to kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Dingle, or whatever its called now, used to at least have only one niteclub

Bunclody in Co. Wexford.

One nightclub called M2 (I think?) that they let the local knackers drink in. It's an absolute dive. The bouncers wouldn't let us leave one night because some knackers they'd kicked out were waiting outside the door threatening to kill them.

Oh and what a sh1thole it is. I wouldn't work there if i was paid triple what i usually get.

Yeah Carrick has only the one club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

super-rush wrote: »
    Oh and what a sh1thole it is. I wouldn't work there if i was paid triple what i usually get.

Yeah Carrick has only the one club.

Carrickmacross in Monaghen or Carrick on Shannon?

Carrickmacross has two, and its just up the road, been there too many times.

Bunclody isn't what were after at all, were after what Carrick on Shannon was described as, decent spot with good craic and a non scummy night club to end the night in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Dave03

draffodx wrote: »

Kingscourt or carrickmacross, carrickmacross, is decent and not too far from ardee.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Dingle, or whatever its called now, used to at least have only one niteclub

Dingle is a great spot.....the night club is called the sungrove, I think. Nice choice of pubs and always a good mix of locals and visitors having the craic. The journey is humoungous from Ardee though!

Alternatively, clifden is a lively spot....one night club and plenty of bars.

Sorry Carrick on Shannon i was on about. Great place. I highly recommend it.

Was gonna say Westport but its a bit like the Killarney of the West....not sure if its what you want though......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I agree, have been down to Dingle many a time years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

The one in Dingle is the Hillgrove. Ballinasloe has one club,a few good pubs, but nobody would ever really go to Ballinasloe for a night out though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭mickos

Bunclody in Co. Wexford.

I passed that nite club the other day. They've changed the name back to 'Cesars' which it used to be called back in the day. Seemingly back then it used to be the spot to be. Christy moore even mentioned it in one of his songs. After that it was the Meadowlands and then M2. A dive anytime I was in it and full of knackers and underage. But if thats what your into work away:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Salvelinus

veXual wrote: »
    Moate I believe may fall into this catagory though I stand to be corrected.

The very town I was going to say, Athlone IT's destination for mystery tours. Silvers it's called isn't it? Also Glenties in Donegal. And hasn't Dingle only the one hotel function room, sorry nightclub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

draffodx wrote: »

Ballyconnell,Drumshambo,Manorhamilton,Ballyshannon,all great small towns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

who the hell goes out in ardee?? even the people from ardee dont!! try Carrickmacross only 10 minutes further down the road. Far better craic and it gets loads of people from all round..... but ardee!! come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

D-A-V-E wrote: »
    tralee has the club fabric..i dunno if theres more tho..newcastle west has a really good club apparently and a few good pubs, i dunno if it has just the one club tho too

Tralee has 3 night clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

mickos wrote: »
    I passed that nite club the other day. They've changed the name back to 'Cesars' which it used to be called back in the day. Seemingly back then it used to be the spot to be. Christy moore even mentioned it in one of his songs. After that it was the Meadowlands and then M2. A dive anytime I was in it and full of knackers and underage. But if thats what your into work away:D

I've only been in it once and once was enough!