If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Welcome rookies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

not sounding like a lazy ass now but are the lectures difficult when ya start...:confused: and is there many projects/work in the early weeks of college:eek:

They are generally easy and just introduce you to the topic and increase in difficulty as they go on. It really depends on the course you are doing as some are harder than others and require more effort. I wouldn't think that you will have much work to do in the first week. Projects won't start until a few weeks after labs and tutorials start.

Just reading over the lecture slides for the first 2 weeks so that it sinks in should be enough work for those weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

snazzy wrote: »
    Thank you so much for this info. :)
    But to be honest if my Orientation "week" does begin on the Thursday I reckon I will have to give the Debs a skip. :confused:
    I really do not want to miss any of this stuff and as you say it is super important in order to get into the swing of college life.
    I'm not too upset. The Debs is more trouble than it's worth and is only one night. The orientation is the beginning of 4 years!
    You're as well off. Better to make a good start to the four years anyway:)
    ninty9er wrote: »
    Ahem!!!
    I didn't rain on your parade when you and the lads were organising stuff for orientation week!!!

During orientation week you will be able to try out a number of clubs and societies (mainly clubs as societies are less activity based), go to gigs each night (which will be FREE...yes FREE*)
    Free gigs sounds good. For the past few years it's just been the obligatory clubbing which tends to pull people off campus before they've even started. I heartily approve of gigs, free or not.

The clubs (and possibly socs) activities are a great idea, again it gives people a proper taste of what's available and again it's something that hasn't been done in a while (it used to be done but that was quite a few years ago and it shouldn't have been done away with). Another strong thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Liffordkeeper

Hey!! Heading to UL this year doing physiotherapy. Staying in Thomond. Guess i'll see ye all there :) Any1 else doin physio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭snazzy

General Windows Laptop recommendations?
    Or ones to avoid? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 reindeerarmy

Hey!! Heading to UL this year doing physiotherapy. Staying in Thomond. Guess i'll see ye all there :) Any1 else doin physio?

its not physio but im starting sport science, living in thomond with another fella in a house of 6, we could be in the same houseicon4.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 barahsug

I'm doing european studies but I'm living in Thomond too, we could all be housebuddies!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭alexcorb1991

barahsug wrote: »
    I'm doing european studies but I'm living in Thomond too, we could all be housebuddies!:)
    its not physio but im starting sport science, living in thomond with another fella in a house of 6, we could be in the same houseicon4.gif

I'm doing business and living in thomond. We only need two more:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 reindeerarmy

we'll all get together for board beers on orientation week anyway.......Free gigs :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭alexcorb1991

we'll all get together for board beers on orientation week anyway.......Free gigs :pac:

under 18 boards beers for me:pac:

I'm so looking forward to the outdoor pursuits club it looks the dogs .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Treetirty

Doing HPSS and staying in Thomond:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 barahsug

yay, we only need 1 more! I've a friend staying in Thomond and she got a call off the college saying that she definitely got her place.....did anyone else? because I didn't and now I'm afraid!

Still no phonecall here.
    I imagine we'll find out tomorrow.
    Might pop into the Accommodation Office

barahsug wrote: »
    yay, we only need 1 more! I've a friend staying in Thomond and she got a call off the college saying that she definitely got her place.....did anyone else? because I didn't and now I'm afraid!
    I got my call today, was a bit disappointed when I learned I didn't get Dromroe/Kilmurry (my first 2 choices) but I'm sure Thomond will be great too.

But anyway, According to them Kilmurry/Dromroe filled up early this year but Thomond had spots up until last week so if that was your first choice you should be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

Treetirty wrote: »
    Doing HPSS and staying in Thomond:D

Yay! A HPiSSer at last to carry on the UL Boards Baton! :) I graduated from it last year. I did a run down of the subjects I picked in the 'info about courses' sticky at the top of the forum. Aw, HPSS rocks...and don't mind what anyone else says to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭corridon69

going doing business stayin in plassey but no nobody at all seriosly considering going to i.t tralee cause of this . anyone else in same situation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

Im sure you'll make loads of friends in UL and you are not the only one in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭ninty9er

corridon69 wrote: »
    going doing business stayin in plassey but no nobody at all seriosly considering going to i.t tralee cause of this . anyone else in same situation!

I wouldn't worry about it. I'm from Limerick, one of my best friends, 2 actually, came from the arsehole of Kerry to UL and met me...so yay!! Business is big enough and Plassey is mad enough for you to find some people and some place to fit in. There really is something for everyone. If you're still worried about it after a week in UL com and visit me in the SU and I'll find some thing for you to do that will get you talking to people.

Yay! A HPiSSer at last to carry on the UL Boards Baton! :) I graduated from it last year. I did a run down of the subjects I picked in the 'info about courses' sticky at the top of the forum. Aw, HPSS rocks...and don't mind what anyone else says to you!
    I've read it and it was really helpful so thanks alot!
    I don't know anyone going either but I thought that was kinda part of the college experience - getting to know new people, making new friends, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Gonna be doing business in UL!
    And I'm from Limerick.

So any business (or non business) people looking to talk to me before you go I can give you the heads up on the city and what it'll be like.
    Plus I'd like to meet a few people before I start

Just pm me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭JimmyMoose

I'm all on my own too! Big billy no mates hahaha. Hopefully it'll all be grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

Got my call yesterday turns out I'm in Plassy not Kilmury. Meh I'm not that fussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 iFada

Oh damn, did everyone get notifcation of getting on campus places yesterday? I have a place in UL accepted and all, and i had applied for campus like a month ago. I rang on tuesday, the girl at the office said she couldnt confirm anything until friday or monday, but she looked up my name and said she couldnt see any reason i wont get it. Yesterday was a bit hectic for me so I decided to wait until monday to ring. I didnt know theyd be sending people out confirmation yesterday. Jeez, starting to panic now. Does this mean I havent gotten a place? :(

iFada wrote: »
    Oh damn, did everyone get notifcation of getting on campus places yesterday? I have a place in UL accepted and all, and i had applied for campus like a month ago. I rang on tuesday, the girl at the office said she couldnt confirm anything until friday or monday, but she looked up my name and said she couldnt see any reason i wont get it. Yesterday was a bit hectic for me so I decided to wait until monday to ring. I didnt know theyd be sending people out confirmation yesterday. Jeez, starting to panic now. Does this mean I havent gotten a place? :(

I'm in the same boat my friend. They left a note on their blog yesterday saying that anyone not informed yet will be in the next few days. After Monday, I will be getting worried however. Come on Kilmurry! I applied back in January!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 aaronlippy

ya...i applied kilmurry too but got plassey!!..not fussed either....my mate was in limerick last year he said plassey is da best craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Blondiegirl2009

hiya to everone startin the BBS this year :) and incoming first years in general. Not long left now :eek:

Got Kilmurray. Delighted!

snazzy wrote: »
    Got Kilmurray. Delighted!

How did you find out?

I was in the same boat as all of ye were, no welcome packet/invoice and no phonecall but the accommodation office was open today so I just went in and asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

hiya to everone startin the BBS this year :) and incoming first years in general. Not long left now :eek:

:high five: BBS ftw :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

BBS FTW :D