Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcome rookies :)

• 12-08-2009 12:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭

LC results day.

Congrats if ya got in; chin up if ya didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

Looks like I'm coming to UL!!

Can't wait.

Here's to hoping that it will live up to its reputation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Secoundrow

Looks like im moving to plassey:D

110points more than what my first choice (UL) was last year

Heres hoping I like my course:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Delta Kilo wrote: »
    Looks like I'm coming to UL!!

Can't wait.

Here's to hoping that it will live up to its reputation!

Congrats!

And UL will undoubtedly live up to its reputation!

See you here in a few weeks :)

Secoundrow wrote: »
    Looks like im moving to plassey:D

110points more than what my first choice (UL) was last year

Heres hoping I like my course:rolleyes:

Might see you down there Secoundrow. I'm staying in Kilmurray. What course are you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭snazzy

Looks like I'll be among the new throng of students coming in!
    Surpassed even my own expectations and should get my first choice!

Shall be staying in Kilmurray! Will be down next Saturday for a scounce.
    Soooo relieved.
    Can't wait.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

Congrats and welcome. Should be down a few times during the year and might see for a pint or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I'm looking for Computer Systems, last year it was 300 and I got 420. Despite the fact I'm really nervous things will randomly go pear-shaped (got the wrong paper, points shoot up, nuclear fallout etc.) it looks like I'm coming to UL :D.

So excited :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭jkeire

Congratulations to all the incoming Freshers! You are all going to have a brilliant four years and, if you all are anything like me, your first year will fly by! :)

Delta Kilo wrote: »
    Might see you down there Secoundrow. I'm staying in Kilmurray. What course are you doing?

Hey

ah Electronics/ Mobile commication & security :D
    What are you goin for!

snazzy wrote: »
    Looks like I'll be among the new throng of students coming in!
    Surpassed even my own expectations and should get my first choice!

Shall be staying in Kilmurray! Will be down next Saturday for a scounce.
    Soooo relieved.
    Can't wait.:D

Isnt there some kind of thing/tour on for incoming first years on satarday 22nd?
    got a letter a few days ago:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭not bakunin

i'm in................can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

First choice was 485 last year, got 530, surely going to UL :D

Can't wait, staying in Kilmurray

Isnt there some kind of thing/tour on for incoming first years on satarday 22nd?

Ya, Saturday the 22nd of August, 1-4pm. Not sure if I will go to this or not yet, i've been to Kilmurray before.

That sounds like a cool course. I'm doing Aero engineering, but I'm just after finding out that there is heaps of maths and the course is 30hours a week:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Blondiegirl2009

See ye there lads, no accomodation booked yet though:eek: so Im livng in the car for a while basically:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

See ye there lads, no accomodation booked yet though:eek: so Im livng in the car for a while basically:pac:

*Waits for the usuals to pounce. Looks over at Mossin :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Aww that's a shame.

I'd recommend college court for accomodation.

Having slept drunk in a car in germany, I don't recommend it for more than 20 mins.

The Don wrote: »
    *Waits for the usuals to pounce. Looks over at Mossin :P

How'd I miss that post last yesterday! :P
    Dont mind the Don, I'm not that bad ;)
    kaimera wrote: »
    Aww that's a shame.

I'd recommend college court for accomodation.

As Kaimera said, College Court is a good place to live and there is still accommodation available in College Court, but it appears to be filling up quite rapidly. Lots of parents with their kids looking around the place lately. If you know you have been accepted, then get in your car, and come down and look around. There are phone numbers in a lot of windows offering free rooms.

Mossin wrote: »
    There are phone numbers in a lot of windows offering free rooms.

^;)Really Free? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

jkeire wrote: »
    Congratulations to all the incoming Freshers! You are all going to have a brilliant four years and, if you all are anything like me, your first year will fly by! :)
    Not only the first year....the last 4 years was a blur!
    Accommodation only I'd say. Orientation week starts on the 1st of September...clear the week. If your debs is on, skip it!
    First choice was 485 last year, got 530, surely going to UL :D

Can't wait, staying in Kilmurray
    As long as it's not Law and Accounting which fluctuates massively you should be fine....come to think of it...L&A never topped 520, so you'll be grand if that's it.
    There is NO, I repeat NO shortage of Accommodation. To ensure you don't end up with some blacklisted PITA of a landlord, please, PLEASE go to the Accommodation Office for a list of accommodation.

Best of luck for Monday everyone!

ninty9er wrote: »
    Accommodation only I'd say. Orientation week starts on the 1st of September...clear the week. If your debs is on, skip it!

Are you sure about that? Accommodation check in is on the 30th (Sunday) so I presumed it was on the 31st of August.

The reason I am being pedantic about it is because I have been called to the RDS as part of an Army Cadetship on Monday the 31st (Date cannot be changed, if I don't turn up I will forfeit my place) and I would love if orientation week did not actually start until the 1st!

Other people have been telling me that the day you are called for orientation is dependent on your course. Is this true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭ynwa_17

Got 475 so with UL's extra points for maths that goes up to 480. Course last year was 485, so im hoping for a fall in Law plus. Not too optimistic atm

Firstly the invite yoke says it will give a tour around the campus as well.

And oh nooooooo!
    My Debs is on 3rd Sept.
    I really do not want to miss Orientation.
    It hardly goes on for the full week does it?!

And oh nooooooo!
    My Debs is on 3rd Sept.
    I really do not want to miss Orientation.
    It hardly goes on for the full week does it?!

Yay, I'm not the only one going to be missing some of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Why is it always me who lists these things...

Orientation for:
    Faculty of Education starts on the Tuesday
    Faculty of Science and Engineering starts on the Tuesday or Wednesday, depending on the course.
    Faculty of Business starts on the Wednesday
    Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences starts on the Thursday

Each orientation programme runs over two days so add one day to your start day depending on your course. That's your "week".

It's all cleverly hidden on this webpage (which you may not reach by doing a search on the UL site for "orientation" as it tries to send you to a secure page instead for no particular reason with no included cert).

sceptre wrote: »

Orientation for:
    Faculty of Science and Engineering starts on the Tuesday or Wednesday, depending on the course.

Each orientation programme runs over two days so add one day to your start day depending on your course. That's your "week".

It's all cleverly hidden on this webpage (which you may not reach by doing a search on the UL site for "orientation" as it tries to send you to a secure page instead for no particular reason with no included cert).

That clears things up for me. Thanks a million!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭alexcorb1991

Orientation for:

So is there any point going up before the two days of your chosen course?

Thank you so much sceptre.
    I find the UL website so complex to navigate.

UNfortunately I'm in the Arts/Humanities department and the Debs is on the actual Thursday.
    Oh noooo :(

Yes, I will second that! I always end up more frustrated than enlightened when I try to look up anything on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

So is there any point going up before the two days of your chosen course?
    Not unless you want to faff around and get into the auraatmosphere. There will be very little if anything for you to do. There's nothing wrong with faffing around but personally I'd just come down for the days and see if you want to hang around for an extra day. The first week you probably won't want to. Come down the day before or night before, get settled in, do orientation, all happy.
    Thank you so much sceptre.
    That's because it is (unfortunately large chunks aren't necessarily designed from the point of view of getting information out, even when the info can be quite good). In other words, it's not you.

UNfortunately I'm in the Arts/Humanities department and the Debs is on the actual Thursday.
    Oh noooo :(
    Ways and means are possible. If everyone misses the bulk of their orientation and doesn't enrol when they're scheduled to, it's a nightmare. It one person does, it's a tiny inconvenience. It's possible that the admin people will be able to shoot you through enrollment in the morning.

The problem will be with your department, course and advisor meetings as they're all scheduled for the afternoon. If it works like former years, that's when they'll be handing out tutorial times as well as the useful but less necessary introductions to faculty and that sort of thing. If you really really want to go, you have the option to either hightail it out at 4 and make your debs wherever that is or skip the afternoon (which ideally you should go to).

Obviously there's the problem of the second day but if you go to your debs you'll miss that anyway. The most important thing you must do during orientation is to enroll. Everything else is highly useful (like the course meeting) or just useful (like the campus tour) but enrolling is essential. If you cover that, you're missing out on other useful stuff but nothing that absolutely locked-in essential (incidentally, a tiny number of people enrol on the "wrong" day every year. As long as it's a tiny tiny number (as in ten or so) it doesn't throw the universe out of kilter).

For the rest of you, I didn't say any of that - if you've not got a debs you reckon is essential to attend then you should go through your entire orientation as it's very important to your future happiness and well-being. But if you have a debs or a funeral or wedding to go to, there are things that can be arranged (and by "things" I basically mean getting someone to sort it the people in the enrollment hall so you can skip the queue if necessary if that's what it takes to get you there).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

Sceptre, all those years as a guide and senior guide have paid off. Well done! :)

To all the incomings, one VITAL piece of information that NO ONE tells you: the photo they take for your ID card during enrolment is the SAME photo that UL will always use for you if you ever need a re-issue or you enrol as a postgrad. Smile cos you're stuck with that image for at least four years.*

*There are ways and means. But again, I didn't say that. /runs away.

ah Spectre what would we do with out you:p

Great info thanks a mill:)

Ways and means are possible. If everyone misses the bulk of their orientation and doesn't enrol when they're scheduled to, it's a nightmare. It one person does, it's a tiny inconvenience. It's possible that the admin people will be able to shoot you through enrollment in the morning.

The problem will be with your department, course and advisor meetings as they're all scheduled for the afternoon. If it works like former years, that's when they'll be handing out tutorial times as well as the useful but less necessary introductions to faculty and that sort of thing. If you really really want to go, you have the option to either hightail it out at 4 and make your debs wherever that is or skip the afternoon (which ideally you should go to).

Obviously there's the problem of the second day but if you go to your debs you'll miss that anyway. The most important thing you must do during orientation is to enroll. Everything else is highly useful (like the course meeting) or just useful (like the campus tour) but enrolling is essential. If you cover that, you're missing out on other useful stuff but nothing that absolutely locked-in essential (incidentally, a tiny number of people enrol on the "wrong" day every year. As long as it's a tiny tiny number (as in ten or so) it doesn't throw the universe out of kilter).

For the rest of you, I didn't say any of that - if you've not got a debs you reckon is essential to attend then you should go through your entire orientation as it's very important to your future happiness and well-being. But if you have a debs or a funeral or wedding to go to, there are things that can be arranged (and by "things" I basically mean getting someone to sort it the people in the enrollment hall so you can skip the queue if necessary if that's what it takes to get you there).

Thank you so much for this info. :)
    But to be honest if my Orientation "week" does begin on the Thursday I reckon I will have to give the Debs a skip. :confused:
    I really do not want to miss any of this stuff and as you say it is super important in order to get into the swing of college life.
    I'm not too upset. The Debs is more trouble than it's worth and is only one night. The orientation is the beginning of 4 years!

Not unless you want to faff around and get into the auraatmosphere. There will be very little if anything for you to do.
    Ahem!!!
    I didn't rain on your parade when you and the lads were organising stuff for orientation week!!!

During orientation week you will be able to try out a number of clubs and societies (mainly clubs as societies are less activity based), go to gigs each night (which will be FREE...yes FREE*)
    I really do not want to miss any of this stuff and as you say it is super important in order to get into the swing of college life.
    I'm not too upset. The Debs is more trouble than it's worth and is only one night. The orientation is the beginning of 4 years!
    That's the spirit!

Really though...come down, move in, get to know your housemates...you'll be spending a year with them, and they'll be getting to know people in their course more and more from Week 1 (Orientation week is Week 0), so seize the opportunity while it's there.

Also...UL is trying to move back to a 7 day campus model, so if you haven't got a weekend job but are looking for one, try Limerick.

*May involve going to Day 2 to get the tickets in the Concert Hall

gigs each night

Really:rolleyes: anyone good lined up??:D

ninty9er wrote: »
    Ahem!!!
    I didn't rain on your parade when you and the lads were organising stuff for orientation week!!!

During orientation week you will be able to try out a number of clubs and societies (mainly clubs as societies are less activity based), go to gigs each night (which will be FREE...yes FREE*)

So I'm doing business so I Should or Should'nt go Tuesday:confused: I sense an arguement approaching:D

Yes, most definitely!

Business has massive numbers every year, so meeting some of your class on the first day will be daunting, but knowing some of them from orientation week ought to make the transition easier.
    I know this, as I was in your shoes 4 years ago, and I am still good mates with 4 people I met during my orientation day for BBS.

Yes, most definitely!

Business has massive numbers every year, so meeting some of your class on the first day will be daunting, but knowing some of them from orientation week ought to make the transition easier.
    I know this, as I was in your shoes 4 years ago, and I am still good mates with 4 people I met during my orientation day for BBS.

Okay good because I'm kindka flying solo up there and the last thing i want to happen is showing up and jus wandering around with nothing to do or not knowing anybody

Well, if u want to meet for a drink, send me a PM during orientation week, and I'll meet up if ya want.

And anybody who is coming as an Access Student, the week prior to orientation week will get to meet me also :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭SmellySockies

Cant believe this time last year I was going through all this. Everyone worries about knowing nobody in UL but you make friends so easily! Especially when you live on campus :D We used to wander around our building in thomond making friends with our neighbours its soo fun :D Cant wait to be back in 3 weeks time! Hope my timetable is nice this year!

Really:rolleyes: anyone good lined up??:D
    I've been told alright, but I can't for the life of me remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Sceptre, all those years as a guide and senior guide have paid off. Well done! :)

To all the incomings, one VITAL piece of information that NO ONE tells you: the photo they take for your ID card during enrolment is the SAME photo that UL will always use for you if you ever need a re-issue or you enrol as a postgrad. Smile cos you're stuck with that image for at least four years.*

*There are ways and means. But again, I didn't say that. /runs away.

i actually look like a 14 year old in my student id picture. I hate it.

Well, if u want to meet for a drink, send me a PM during orientation week, and I'll meet up if ya want.

And anybody who is coming as an Access Student, the week prior to orientation week will get to meet me also :)

Thanks but i guess its sink or swim time. Plus trying to find a job could occupy me for quite some time
    Cant believe this time last year I was going through all this. Everyone worries about knowing nobody in UL but you make friends so easily! Especially when you live on campus :D We used to wander around our building in thomond making friends with our neighbours its soo fun :D Cant wait to be back in 3 weeks time! Hope my timetable is nice this year!

:o

Okay.. I'll be starting business so I'll head up the Tuesday. Will classes be starting the following week or is there a break in between?:confused:

Classes start the following week: Monday 7th Sept...you will receive your timetable during orientation week anyhow, so you will know when your lectures are on.
    Thanks but i guess its sink or swim time. Plus trying to find a job could occupy me for quite some time

Shot down for a pint already! Whats with these new 1st years! Never has a boardsie declined the offer of meeting for pints! :eek: :p:p:p

Best of luck with orientation anyhow! :)

*Reminds me to start a BULBS for early sept*

Classes start the following week: Monday 7th Sept...you will receive your timetable during orientation week anyhow, so you will know when your lectures are on.

Shot down for a pint already! Whats with these new 1st years! Never has a boardsie declined the offer of meeting for pints! :eek: :p:p:p

I'll come anyway. Unless you're a weirdo;)

Aww thanks! I'm not that much of a weirdo!
    *waits for the abuse from other regular posters here*

Send me a PM with a time and place :)
    *Stables in d evening is good!

Aww thanks! I'm not that much of a weirdo!
    *waits for the abuse from other regular posters here*
    Well I won't decline an invitation to abuse, I would if I didn't know you Moss, but yes Blondegirl2009, that much is the operative part of that sentence:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

I agree with Mossin.....defintely go for a pint with your house mates and the people you meet during week 1.....if I didn't I wouldn't have met that kaimera fella + plus a few others and I'd probably be a lot worse off now.

Well if your buying?:D

Btw is that accomodation opening day worth anything because my debs is that saturday and I do not fancy a hungover bus ride

Got 510 in the LC(540 with maths bonus:)) so Ill be seeing ye all this year coming!

Doing Music, Media and Performance Tech!

I have a feeling with all this talk of pints, the first two months of college are going to be hell as im still 17!:(