Belgrove....

• 19-08-2009 04:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Applied for Merville today and was landed with Belgrove. I am so dissappointed.

Can anybody tell me more about Belgrove??

Is it good craic etc???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

HOW DID THAT HAPPEN :| I chose my room and have it in merville :)

But belgrove is grand out =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 mops

i am disgusted..............ucd wont change it either..thers only 1 bathroom and 2 others living with me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 UCDHEADER

i had problems with it 2 but after a while it worked for me!!anybody in merville house 25icon7.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

mops wrote: »
    i am disgusted..............ucd wont change it either..thers only 1 bathroom and 2 others living with me..

How do you find out how many people are in with ya cos I'd like to know how many I'm in with.
    UCDHEADER wrote: »
    i had problems with it 2 but after a while it worked for me!!anybody in merville house 25icon7.gif

House 12:D

GA361 wrote: »
    How do you find out how many people are in with ya cos I'd like to know how many I'm in with.

Think there is either 4 or 5 in with ye in merville not sure tho!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

GA361 wrote: »

4 people, with 2 bathrooms with showers, belgrove is 3 with one bathroom with a bath and a shower room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Belgroves decor is akin to that of the medieval age however its a great party place on campus! It has a neighborly atmosphere now and by the end of the year you will be glad to have lived there.

The opposing argument is that its a kip in every sense of the word!:rolleyes:

how many houses are in merville??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I don't get why they're called houses ^ Aren't they supposed to be apartments ...?

Yeah I don't know very much

Anyone else have an idea of when we can move in?

I don't get why they're called houses ^ Aren't they supposed to be apartments ...?

Yeah I don't know very much

Anyone else have an idea of when we can move in?
    i think its because the apartments are within the houses

See, now that's sense

Theres at least 25 houses (probably more not sure on exact number) in Merville with 6 apartments in each house, two on each floor usually male/female on each floor. Some of Merville had been done up last year starting from house 1 on and it looked great compared to the rest of the houses. Theres a laundrettes right beside it too.

It is horribly cold during the winter though, you can see your breath.:eek: mainly down to the fact of the stupidly massive windows with gaps in them.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

They call it Belgrade for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭arthistory

I'm in Belgrove too!! now this is a strange random question but do you have to bring your own cutlery/sausepans and is there a TV? and about the electricity..is that included in utility charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kodmuffin

Just to answer a few questions....

-There is 26 houses in merville

-last year it was house 7 that was done up with key card rooms etc...

-this year theyve done up houses 11,16,17+18

-As far as i know the places wont have much-bed,matress, duvet, pillow, couches, coffee table,kitchen table and chairs and a kettle and toaster,fridge(s) and a cooker- thats pritty much it-some places have ovens (merville and belgrove i think) where as others have microwaves (roebuck and glenomena)

-as for electricity-in merville you buy it in the centra shop-it comes in the form of electricity cards!

I hope this helps people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭FreeFallin

arthistory wrote: »
    I'm in Belgrove too!! now this is a strange random question but do you have to bring your own cutlery/sausepans and is there a TV? and about the electricity..is that included in utility charge?

HA! No, there's nothing like that in the kitchen/living space whatsoever, unless its been left by the previous occupants. As for the bedroom, you do get a duvet and pillow as far as i remember. Electricity is payed once every 3ish months in the bank on campus, you will get a bill through the door.

I dont know why belgrove is getting a bad name here, I'd take it over merville any day of the week!

FreeFallin wrote: »
    I dont know why belgrove is getting a bad name here, I'd take it over merville any day of the week!

You're funny.:D

This is going to sound awfully snobby but "mammy" is insisting I take my own duvet. I, however, don't want to lug a duvet the whole way up to UCD when they'll happily supply me with a perfectly good one.

(The question here is, do they provide me with a perfectly good one? Thanks from mammy in advance.)

This is going to sound awfully snobby but "mammy" is insisting I take my own duvet. I, however, don't want to lug a duvet the whole way up to UCD when they'll happily supply me with a perfectly good one.

(The question here is, do they provide me with a perfectly good one? Thanks from mammy in advance.)

Bring the duvet! Doesn't look at all snobby and the ones that are already up there are akin to kitchen roll. I went your route in the first semester without one BIG MISTAKE! Got one for the second! Merville where I was is like the Antarctic come november.

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Bring the duvet! Doesn't look at all snobby and the ones that are already up there are akin to kitchen roll. I went your route in the first semester without one BIG MISTAKE! Got one for the second! Merville where I was is like the Antarctic come november.
    Ahh I see! Thanks for sharing your wisdom. I shall acquire a sherpa of sorts (Mammy) to transport a duvet of many tog. I shall be warm and cosy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭33% God

It's always good to have the two anyway :D
    And theirs is seriously crap.

33% God wrote: »
    It's always good to have the two anyway :D
    And theirs is seriously crap.
    I dunno why they bother if they're so sh!tty that we have to bring our own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

I had no problems with the one I had last year when I was in Merville. In fact, it was so heavy I had to get a lighter one from home.

Thanks for all the useful info!!! anything else we should bring? at this rate the car will be packed...lol!!!;) and where do you pay for accomodation? paid the deposit online but don't see where you pay the rest???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dobh

We tried to get Merville also, but were given a contract for Belgrove.

Does everything need to be brought - even pots pans cutlery etc etc ? What happens if three people bring all this stuff ? Serious excess of pots ....

I would love some advice please.

dobh wrote: »

Does everything need to be brought - even pots pans cutlery etc etc ? What happens if three people bring all this stuff ? Serious excess of pots ....

I know exactly what you mean!!! so confusing!! I mean seriously, where do you draw the line at what to bring!! mug, plates, cutlery, toilet roll!!!! at least i hear there is a kitchen sink!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Emmsy

Raphael wrote: »
    I had no problems with the one I had last year when I was in Merville. In fact, it was so heavy I had to get a lighter one from home.

So really, if you think about it, you did have a problem with your one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Emmsy wrote: »
    So really, if you think about it, you did have a problem with your one.
    ...True.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭33% God

dobh wrote: »

We had to bring our own pots and pans etc.
    There's a bit of an excess at the start, but stuff quickly gets broken, lost, or thrown away in a fit of cleaning related fury.