If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mature Students like wtf??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Beau

Effluo wrote: »
    And i would preferably not have to endure this any longer.

Cheers for the "discussion" guys :(

In fairness dude you admitted that you are doing a bit of trolling and that you were out to get a reaction and you got one! You've done it before in another thread you started about arts being a waste of time, clearly looking to get people riled up in that one as well. Think its time I press that report button!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

You said essentially that No you can't agree that there are some mature students that go to college cause they think it will improve their performance in the sector their working in?

then go on a big rant about how you think it's great that people of all so and so come together and so and so???

What has that got to do with some mature students being annoying?
    You've changed what the thread is about completely and misunderstood my gripes.

Its about what you can reasonably state given the extent of your information. The rest of my rant was just talking, take it as you wish.

Also on terms of personal insults i'd prefer not to go into it as this can be a major cause of thread shut down.
    but t-bag "nobodies perfect... well except you" now that wasn't very nice. Efla also called me ignorant, I don't want to go on about it but you know...

You set the precedent by opening with insults.
    The whole point i was making was that some mature students are well annoying or well bad at their subjects and sometimes downright rude. Never have i painted them them all with one brush.

And clearly, we dont agree. At least not without you admitting other students can be equally annoying
    I think the mods should just close this now, it has no chance of recovery since people turned it into something "personal"

You spent a number of posts above defending your claims as personal
    And i would preferably not have to endure this any longer.

Agreed
    Maybe we should start a poll about mature students to see if "other students" find them to be generally more or less annoying than students their own age...

Cheers for the "discussion" guys :(

Go ahead, since the support here is overwhelming.

We know the sort of people you are talking about, age has little to do with it. There was no need for the opening insults (I was responding in kind).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

efla wrote: »
    Mature students are a godsend. There is nothing worse than trying to beat a conversation out of a room full of freshly minted teens. They maintain order, keep the room nice and quiet, and ask just enough to get you on a five-minute-filler monologue; and even though they think they have caught you out, they make you look as if you didnt also prepare the material the night before by allowing you to give an incisive answer.

They also worry too much. Any mature students reading this? I love you one and all.

Yes, me!!! Although I'm only 25, so not too mature just yet.

Thing about mature students is .... some of them can be annoying, but although they don't know it all, their age and enthusiasm usually means they know more than you - and they can really teach you a thing or two!!

I got 'lumbered' with a group of them in my final year ... best thing that ever happened to me!! My grades went sky high!!!!

And now I am one .. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

OP is a childish muppet imo. Going on a rant about people who had to pluck the courage up to go back to college and make something of there lives or even just to enhance their education. I myself am thinking of going back to college as a mature student, im only 28, and also thinking about NUI. Have a little cry to yourself there why people are not agreeing with your retarded rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Sweetcorn01

In fairness,I think we all know about the stereotypical "annoying" mature student you are talking about. But let's not generalise like that, I think is what most ppl are trying to say to you OP.

The very title of this thread is a generalisation.

Yes, people asking irrelevant questions is annoying and a waste of time, I totally agree. So is people giggling and making noise down the back of a lecture room. I think the latter is generally more disruptive imo, but im not gonna say "18 year old students, like wtf??!!", because it's a narrow minded generalisation to make.

You should note that one only has to be 23 to be classed as a mature student, so
    And their older with wrinkles and unwanted facial, nose and ear hair! frown.gif ugh!!!
    is totally uncalled for, it seems like you're just looking for something to give out about.

And after painting them all with the same brush, you can't just say
    Some of them are grand though biggrin.gif

I've worked with many mature students. Some asked poor questions. Some were terrible at what they were doing. Some were brilliant at it. Some were very funny, and interesting to talk to. Point being, they are all different, like the rest of the student population.

I think you had a valid point to make, but made it poorly, and is why people aren't supporting you here. Just tone it down ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭InTranceWeTrust

We have a mature student in my course and she smells like porridge and urine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

The problem is here that nearly every poster here is a mature student, budding mature student or lecturer...

Looking at it now the thread was in fact not addressed to you. It is arguable that being under the nuim list it should be for all nuim students, although if i wanted to talk about 2nd year English i would expect an electronic engineer to respond(unless he was being helpful(valid relevant points)).

Maybe if ye let people like me and other students say their bit then ye might realise what makes a lot of mature students alienated and "out of touch" from the rest of the student body.

What was this last year "Mature Student Egg hunt" that was the laughing stock of the whole college. And there won't be many who disagree with that!

and teabag i never verbally attacked anyone personally and your apology is accepted
    cheers

I'm starting that poll

In fairness,I think we all know about the stereotypical "annoying" mature student you are talking about. But let's not generalise like that, I think is what most ppl are trying to say to you OP.

The very title of this thread is a generalisation.

Yes, people asking irrelevant questions is annoying and a waste of time, I totally agree. So is people giggling and making noise down the back of a lecture room. I think the latter is generally more disruptive imo, but im not gonna say "18 year old students, like wtf??!!", because it's a narrow minded generalisation to make.

You should note that one only has to be 23 to be classed as a mature student, so is totally uncalled for, it seems like you're just looking for something to give out about.

And after painting them all with the same brush, you can't just say

I've worked with many mature students. Some asked poor questions. Some were terrible at what they were doing. Some were brilliant at it. Some were very funny, and interesting to talk to. Point being, they are all different, like the rest of the student population.

I think you had a valid point to make, but made it poorly, and is why people aren't supporting you here. Just tone it down ;)

Cheers for actually reading and comprehending what i wrote.
    The wrinkles and hair thing was a joke thus the :D

I don't see how i generalised them though. I clearly said, as you in fact quoted, "some of them are grand" and later saying that i'm good friends with some and some are drinking buddies.

Cheers though for actually getting what i'm on to

For the record, I'm far from being a mature student

We have a mature student in my course and she smells like porridge and urine.

how annoying would that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Sealclubber

I don't see how i generalised them though. I clearly said, as you in fact quoted, "some of them are grand" and later saying that i'm good friends with some and some are drinking buddies.

Ah, the old "I don't hate mature students, some of my best friends are mature students" retreat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

The problem is here that nearly every poster here is a mature student, budding mature student or lecturer...
    Big on assumptions.
    It is arguable that being under the nuim list it should be for all nuim students, although if i wanted to talk about 2nd year English i would expect an electronic engineer to respond(unless he was being helpful(valid relevant points)).
    I have no idea what this means.
    Maybe if ye let people like me and other students say their bit then ye might realise what makes a lot of mature students alienated and "out of touch" from the rest of the student body.
    You've been saying your bit more or less constantly. It's a very narrow-minded and mean little bit in my opinion. I've met a bunch of mature students and I couldn't say any of them felt out of touch. They were all having the time of their lives.
    What was this last year "Mature Student Egg hunt" that was the laughing stock of the whole college. And there won't be many who disagree with that!
    I don't remember anyone laughing... I, and many others, thought it might have been something for the mature students' kids. What's to laugh at exactly? And by the way you're being offensive and insulting again.
    ... i never verbally attacked anyone personally ...
    No, just generally. Every one of your posts in this thread has been offensive or ignorant in one way or another. I'd hate to think any visitors to this forum, who've just done their Leaving Cert for instance, might believe you were the norm rather than the exception. Everyone I've met in Maynooth, younger or older than 23, has been very cool indeed. Very nice people.
    Clearly I haven't met you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭InTranceWeTrust

how annoying would that be?

Not only does she smell, she often falls asleep and disrupts the class with her loud snoring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Teabag!

Looking at it now the thread was in fact not addressed to you. It is arguable that being under the nuim list it should be for all nuim students, although if i wanted to talk about 2nd year English i would expect an electronic engineer to respond(unless he was being helpful(valid relevant points)).

This thread is adressed to nobody, and what do you mean it should be for all nuim students???? nobody is stopped from reading it,
    maybe a level of decency and intelligence prevents traditional students from postin here,

who is stopping you 'saying your bit' all you've done so far is talk sh!t and avoided every question that anybody has asked you.

And Further more who said mature students are alienated, from the student population,
    people like me
    should be smothered with their own placenta (in my opinion)
    and teabag i never verbally attacked anyone personally and your apology is accepted
    cheers

i dont recall sayin i apologised, i said i would, i never said i did....
    Dont mix my words

Cheers for actually reading and comprehending what i wrote.
    The wrinkles and hair thing was a joke thus the :D

Cheers though for actually getting what i'm on to

The title of the thread is a generalisation. I don't understand how you can make statements like you have done, and then still think it's all ok if u say you like some of them. That's like the KKK coming out and saying, "oh but barry white is ok with us" (just an example)

You came on here and attacked a certain group of people. If you wanted to make a point, then the thread should have been about "people who ask annoying questions in lectures and disrupt lectures for me" or something along those lines. But you directed everything as an attack on specifically mature students. The fact that they are mature students isn't why you don't like them, it's what they do right?

So what about non-matures who ask stupid questions and tell others to shut up? You don't think they exist aswell??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I don't have a vendetta against mature students just as someone else just said the "immature mature"

you'll see what i mean when you get there

Then why post two threads about it? May I ask how old you are out of curiosity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

padz wrote: »
    u can get a mini with hdmi or thereabouts resolution ACER are now selling them,ther 11.6 inches that can apparently take 1080p regarding the legalitly of selling verbal lectures, obviously id do the recordings for myself firstNforemost& that thaught of selling it on was just a joke:),

but if ur lecturere is reading say extracts from shakespeare which is not in copywright anymore then there are no legal issues, provided its the lecturers own notes/or own original words &not some other professor from the us or UK...if colleges had something like this set up themselves it would be a nice little earner for them:)

A little OT but I thought HDMI was a connection standard rather than a type of monitor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Is there anything funnier than an entire thread turning on the OP for being a gimp.

Makes me feel sorry for efla and his similar name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

I'm not a mature student or a lecturer. Just to make that clear. I am however a mod of this forum so:

1. Effluo, you opened a thread by insulting mature students in general both in their behaviour and in their appearance. By you opening post you set the tone of the thread. dont start crying if people take exception to your sweeping generalisations that, to be honest, say a lot more about your level of maturity than they do about the people you are criticising.

2. You start to complain about people not seeing your point of view. I think people are seeing your point of view and are disagreeing with it. OMG! how dare they! shall I permaban them all for you?

3. You asked a question, you vented your opinion. Dont get pithy if you arent proclaimed the modern messiah. You have your opinion, other posters have theirs. think of it this way, you are in the minority, that makes you special.

From my own experience of mature students: in first year finance we had one guy that constantly asked questions. lectures went over time, the lecturer went on about minutiae for what felt like hours. Thing is, even though, to me the mature student was being too argumentative, those minutiae turned out to be lifesavers in the exam. they helped the entire class understand a quite sweeping statement (about hedge fund management) and, in second and third year, made the class much more likely to ask questions of their own.

yes, SOME mature students can be annoying. yes SOME can think they know it all but equally SOME younger students can be immature and juvenile more interested in what happened on big brother than what they are being taught and really dont care if they waste other people's time. many times the student asking a question is simply asking what everyone else was thinking but was too afraid to admit because of fear of being seen as stupid or, god forbid, dilligent.

My suggestion to you would be , read the disagreeing posts in this thread, re-read your own post and maybe try to work out exactly why you arent getting as much support as you expected (and no, "you are all mature students and lecturers" isnt a valid assumption).

I would also suggest that you dont admit to trolling again. only thing that's stopping you from having a nice two week holiday is the fact that the thread is actually interesting.

to all posters: no more personal insults. I dont care if they have a smiley. I dont care if they are merely illustrating a point and I really dont care if you're only joking. if you cant form an argument without resorting to personal abuse then dont post.

LoLth wrote: »
    I would also suggest that you dont admit to trolling again. only thing that's stopping you from having a nice two week holiday is the fact that the thread is actually interesting.

Sorry mate but if you find this interesting why is my poll on whether "Mature students tend to be more or less annoying" removed from the forum?

Last time i checked it it was in fact 5 to 0 in favour of mature students being more annoying.
    No-one can argue with numbers and this was direct proof that i was (so to say) "speaking the unspoken".
    Saying what a lot of people actually thought privately of mature students but were obviously not gonna say to other mature students.

In a way the mature students who have been posting on this thread and the lecturers for that matter have only proved my point more. By jumping at what i was trying to get across, being irrational in their arguments and even defending the defenceless(when some tried to defend the mature student which my group had problems with)...

The poll should still be there! And so the people who will not agree that the conception which usual students have of them tends to be more likely to be negative.

There is no winning and losing in debates like this, there are however facts and stats. Let the facts and stats be known! So other can make their decision to without being hounded like me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Nationalist

Mature students?
    Where would you be!

Where do they get these people from?
    They sit there in the front rows with their books and several pens (in a pencil case) madly jotting down everything the lecturer says....
    If you look into their notes copy it's like a feckin dictaphone
    I mean give me a break!

Hey sonny boy, we're not all like tha...HHHHGGGGNNnnnnnnn

heart-attack6.jpg

just on that note type "mature student" into google images with safe search off.....

AHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

I tend to jot down what a lecturer says. I've asked questions in class. I've got a pencil case. I'm 19.

You really do just need to let it go. The poll was stupid, there weren't enough options and a whole 5 people voted? Wow, you should write a thesis on this.

It is an interesting topic to some, but having two threads just to bitch about the same thing? Pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Sorry mate but if you find this interesting why is my poll on whether "Mature students tend to be more or less annoying" removed from the forum?

Last time i checked it it was in fact 5 to 0 in favour of mature students being more annoying.
    No-one can argue with numbers and this was direct proof that i was (so to say) "speaking the unspoken".
    Saying what a lot of people actually thought privately of mature students but were obviously not gonna say to other mature students.

In a way the mature students who have been posting on this thread and the lecturers for that matter have only proved my point more. By jumping at what i was trying to get across, being irrational in their arguments and even defending the defenceless(when some tried to defend the mature student which my group had problems with)...

The poll should still be there! And so the people who will not agree that the conception which usual students have of them tends to be more likely to be negative.

There is no winning and losing in debates like this, there are however facts and stats. Let the facts and stats be known! So other can make their decision to without being hounded like me.

yes yes, they can take our land but they can never take our FREEDOM yada yada yada

very rousing altogether.

the poll was pointless as there is already a thread discussing the topic and, as you so rightly point out, there is no winning so what difference do anonymous numbers make?. it got removed. You dont like it, please feel free to lodge a complaint with the admins, I will happily abide by whatever decision they make.

As for the mature students and lecturers posting on this thread: if you actually read the responses you received you will find that the majority of them are quite rational and well thought out. In fact, the only irrational and trollish response comes form the only person here who actually supports your argument!

I'm sure that students can make their own decision without you particular brand of "fact" and "stat" (i'm sorry, but since when is an internet poll on a forum considered a valid stat? surely you'd have to allow for the demographic being polled, the medium being used, the black and white nature of the response optiosn not to mention the vagueness inherent in the wording - the grammar made the second decision hard to understand and so would skew the result toward the first option). Also, what is the FACT that you refer to? How is it a fact? where is it quantified outside of your perception?

as for "no one can argue with numbers"... really? your'e absolutely sure about that? Are you absolutely sure you didnt reg 4 new accounts and vote for your preferred choice 5 times to skew the results or perhaps with teh innocent intention of showing people that they didnt need to be afraid to voice their opinion by ticking the box? honestly, those that voted cant really be all that worked up about it if they'll vote in a poll but wont post in a thread to save you from the vicious savagery that is the mature student urged on by their lecturer masters.

You want to debate this topic, fine, here's a thread to do it in. You want to kick and sulk because you're not allowed do everything you want, fine, go somewhere else. play nice or dont play at all.

finally, a word of advice, if you resent being "hounded" then dont post up material that you actually have to defend and/or justify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Nationalist

Most of the matur-Os in my classes are complete wreck-the-heads. I was paired up with one as a 2 person project. I did most of the work, the partner just held me back because of his/her idiotic 'creative' ideas. So we got worst in the class for that, and I really needed that project for my work experience.

Other maturos in my classes are annoying. They seem so attentative in classes, always with the big mouth, answering easy questions the lecturer asks, but when it comes around to project time, they know nothing.

(Oh and I speak of the ones in my classes, not maturos in general)

And Effluo, the ones who sit at the top of the class wouldnt really annoy me, they can write as much as they want, people learn in different ways.

That said, I do get annoyed when someone asks questions and then bring the lecture completely out of topic. I only want to learn what coming up in the exam, if i want to learn more, i do it in my own time, not lecture time. And unfortunately, the majority of times, the people who ask those questions, are the maturos themselves. (In MY classes)

College starts in 6 weeks. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO-AARrrgggggnnn
    Heart.Attack.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Makes me feel sorry for efla and his similar name.

What do you mean?

Your poll is representative of 0.001% of the student body, and from the comments above, it seems as if you voted yourself into the majority more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

efla wrote: »
    What do you mean?

Your poll is representative of 0.001% of the student body, and from the comments above, it seems as if you voted yourself into the majority more than once.

She means that you're efla and Effluo has similar name to you and people might confuse you.....

Perhaps someone has a vendetta :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

You said earlier that mature students annoy the lecturers.

Half the people in my course are mature students and they are all great. I've yet to have a problem with them. I also tutor the undergrads and like Efla I have to say, Thank God for matures. Trying to get the normal undergrads to discuss anything is like trying to get blood from stone.

You said earlier that mature students annoy the lecturers.

Half the people in my course are mature students and they are all great. I've yet to have a problem with them. I also tutor the undergrads and like Efla I have to say, Thank God for matures. Trying to get the normal undergrads to discuss anything is like trying to get blood from stone.

I never said that mature students annoy the lecturers more so than other students. Sorry if you interpreted anything i said that way.

Efla again how through any reasoning does what i said in that post suggest that i voted 5 times....
    I'm not that childish and when i make a poll or start a thread i intend on discussing it like an adult, i don't throw out their opinion cause it's not what i want to hear.

That poll is of a lot of significgance to this thread and argument. I looked for other places on boards to put it but could find none which were suitable.

And cheers nationalist not for agreeing with me, but for justifying that it's not me having a go. It's me being honest