Mature Students like wtf??!!

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Guys this thread is about Mature students, if you wanna complain about what regular students, plz make a new thread. (this is a bit of a joke, but kinda serious too, we all know non-mature students can be a pain)

I "heart" this thread
    When I was younger I thought I knew it all. I had an attitude similar to yours.

Firstly I am aware that I don't "know it all" and my posts in general are said with a certain, "I may be wrong, but i was finking" attitude. Although I can get where you're coming from when you think this.
    I was that mature sitting at the front as you put it, askig all the questions trying not to fall behind everyone else in the clas that did all the maths for thier leaving a few months previous. I knew NOTHING! I worked my a$$ off and made it through. I managed to get my cert, gettting the highest average in the entire college that year and continued on to my Honours Degree in Software Engineering.

Fair play, anyone who wouldn't have respect for someone who has worked as hard as that and achieved as much. Won't have respect for much else!
    Imagine her feelings being exposed to hurtful comments like yours. We feel out of place enough without this.

Mate, I have never gone out to offend or indeed hurt anyone with posts on this or any forum. The point I was making was the same that people have made all over this forum.
    Some members of a Section of a group of Students can be annoying.

The young for their farmville on the pc's.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62946392&postcount=75

The people who sit at the back of the class chatting.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62946392&postcount=75

The young "know it alls" who look down on people who make mistakes aka competitive nerds(lol).

The guys who never come in and get the same mark as you.

The guys in the Library. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=62921505&postcount=30

All these sections within groups, it's all the same.
    Some matures students are asses. I for one do not laugh at them(it's a bit childish)
    And I don't have anything against anyone who sits at the front as I am a frequent visitor.
    I also ask the occasional question, after class(or if relevant in class too). As I don't see why the whole class should stop just a few times per lecture, because I have a point to make.

We are all fully aware that there are good and bad in all sections of the student body. IMO It's a bit silly that some mature students cannot admit that!
    How anyone could defend this particular womans actions...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=61669332&postcount=14
    Sure each group has to stick together, but what's been displayed on this thread at times is complete ignorance and defiance that any mature student could be the one many people on this forum had described.

But the fact is there has been, there are and there will be more in the future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

Im only 24 as as far as the whole mature thing goes i am half cracked and will be having more craic in the pubs or parties than most of these snarling judgemental jumped up tempermental teenagers waiting for one person to walk away so they can say something nasty... you are not in school anymore so chill out and just try to go along to get along. if someone wants to ask a question so what... most of the time in a lecture is just listening to the lecturer read word for word whats on moodle. seriously take it easy on the hair wax... stop starting every single story with i was so locked... you probably had 2 cans of dutch gold... look where you are going... dont look at girls like your thinking im scared to talk to you but i will imagine struggling with your bra... when telling a story dont talk crap when the people involved are in the room... the legend of the su is not the fool who doesnt have anywhere else to go... girls believe it or not we like intelligence... bored now... night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,971 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'm technically a mature student, and I sit right up at the front, it's the feckers sitting further back with their laptops on facebook that pi55 me off. If you've no intention of actually listening what's the point in going?
    As for taking copious amounts of notes, can't do it, not even for the lecturers who expect you to.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 284 ✭✭We

have much respect for all the mature students in my 1st year science subjects..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭AcePuppetMaster

Effluo wrote: »
    Guys this thread is about Mature students

Yes it is and as a previous mature student, I merely wanted to explain why all the questions are asked, why we seem to be so 'annoying' to some. Most of it is to do with insecurity. I just wanted a bit of tolerance and understanding for our perspective is all. Of course there were times when I was in class with immature students who really did some stupid, recless and inconsiderate things, but I commended them secretly for even being there, something I was not able to accomplish. I would also like to point out that they were very much the minority and the exception rather than the rule. I do not wish to tarnish all young students with the same generalization.
    Mate, I have never gone out to offend or indeed hurt anyone with posts on this or any forum.

I felt offended by this albeit edited post which kicked this thread off in the first place:
    Mature students?
    Where would you be!

Where do they get these people from?
    They sit there in the front rows with their books and several pens (in a pencil case) madly jotting down everything the lecturer says....
    If you look into their notes copy it's like a feckin dictaphone
    I mean give me a break!

Not only that but some of them think they really know it all, tut tut tut frown.gif

Disagreeing with the lecturers? Snarling at people talking during the lecture, when their silly questions are in fact much more disruptive!

Yeah that's right they ask questions! (often completely irrelevant or silly) :O

And their older with wrinkles and unwanted facial, nose and ear hair! frown.gif ugh!!! (this line is a joke btw)

These comments were entirely rude and insulting to all mature students imho. I felt I had to say something to at the very least give you something to think about. Maybe understand us better.
    Some members of a Section of a group of Students can be annoying.

I can agree with you on this one. ;) I didn't see this sentiment in your original post, however. It seemed wholefully directed to one portion of the student body(one which is insecure enough as it is already as I said earlier).
    We are all fully aware that there are good and bad in all sections of the student body. IMO It's a bit silly that some mature students cannot admit that!

I did not want to pretend that every mature student is perfect, not annoying to some but again, just wanted to represent the mature students and give an account of ourselves is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭princess_calico

If I was a mature student and I read this thread, I would be seriously pi$sed. I mean, non-mature students ask questions too? I for one will admit to it?

Maybe they actually appreciate their time in college and don't want to waste it getting wasted and sleeping in the lectures? I have to agree with asking questions if you're totally lost... Because not all of us are genii...

Firstly:
    If he contradicts a lecturer (right or wrongly) he is testing a theory. He thinks there is another option and not taking everything at face value from the lecturer, he's working at improving his understanding.

Ok... I could be completely wrong here, but isn't AcePuppetMaster right? AFAIK the whole idea of college is testing new theories and questioning the valid ones.

If you look at the marking schemes for most subjects, the only way of getting an A is by suggesting a new theory or questioning one already proven...? Or is it just the mature students that actually realise that?

Ok... I could be completely wrong here, but isn't AcePuppetMaster right? AFAIK the whole idea of college is testing new theories and questioning the valid ones.

If you look at the marking schemes for most subjects, the only way of getting an A is by suggesting a new theory or questioning one already proven...? Or is it just the mature students that actually realise that?

Finally, I think they've got it! :D:D

I'm soooo glad you posted princess. You made my day.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Now that I'm in control guys, this thread is seeing its last day or so. We have a rant thread already, you want to rant about mature students then go ahead and do it in there. Make your final points, and no petty arguing please. ;)

*Draws on Hitler tash*

I'm done...mein fuher.

I'm soooo glad you posted princess. You made my day.:)

I used to be in the girl guides so I aim to do a good deed everyday... I've made your day so that's a tick off my box!

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Now that I'm in control guys, this thread is seeing its last day or so. We have a rant thread already, you want to rant about mature students then go ahead and do it in there. Make your final points, and no petty arguing please. ;)

*Draws on Hitler tash*

¿Puedo ser Franco? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭dr.quirky

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Now that I'm in control guys, this thread is seeing its last day or so. [..............]
    *Draws on Hitler tash*

Anyone else get this? think you lose the arguement Rozabeez..... :D:D

excuse my OT-ness...( its ending anyway )