Wheres the human race headed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Evolution has no goal, so neither does the human race

We'll most likely be wiped out by a virus or cataclismic event, then it'll all start over again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

A major Battle Royale type scenario,
    anarchy,chaos etc,
    it'd be good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Mr.Obvious

Humans are not evolving because there is no evolutionary pressure.

Even if we became overpopulated to the point where survival was no longer easy I doubt society would collapse completely and wealth rather than genes would determine survival. To get natural selection going again you'd need for us all to go back to the stone age.

Natural selection is primitive and cruel, thank god we have left that phase of our evolution behind us.

The era of artificial selection has already begun. Although whether we should make the leap from screening embryos to proper genetic engineering is massive issue for future politics and one that we should start thinking about now.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

well can we not just stay here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

to the finish line.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,114 ✭✭✭✭walshb

jetski wrote: »
    Curious question,

whats the general aim / common goal of the human race, are we just here to reproduce and sail along or are we heading somewhere....

Yes, somewhere beneath the ground never to surface again. I thought this would have
    been obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

have lot's o' sex and reproduce.
    (Except ugly people, natural selection doesn't like them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

jetski wrote: »
    Curious question,

whats the general aim / common goal of the human race, are we just here to reproduce and sail along or are we heading somewhere....

I'm Heavenbound...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

Splendour wrote: »
    I'm Heavenbound...:)

Well assuming your christian malarkey is true, how can you be so sure. Maybe God will be pissed off you followed the wrong branch of Christianity. Maybe christians were supposed to take Leviticus' warning about not wearing clothes made from two different cloths just as seriously as his warnings about the evils of homosexuality. Maybe you picked the wrong parts of the bible to take literally and the wrong parts to interpret as...'What the all knowing, all seeing Omnipodent, Ommniscient God meant to say was...."

Statistically speaking the odds that you got lucky to be born into/pick the one true religion and correctly guessed which Biblical rules to ignore and which to follow are very very long. Chances are, you are Hellbound my friend to roast in the hellfire for all eternity.......but remember!!

GOD LOVES YOU!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I think we all know(Waterworld)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

As long as there is religion we are headed for nowhere. Once people realise that there are no "higher beings", we can all make peace and explore space together

Nare a truer word uttered.+1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Listen to ''Do You Realize?'' by the Flaming Lips.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Mr.Obvious wrote: »
    Humans are not evolving because there is no evolutionary pressure.
    Not quite as we are still evolving. More than we ever did in the last 100,000 yrs as a species, if the rate of change of genes is anything to go by. Big hairy things trying to kill you or large scale changes in environment are not the only evolutionary pressures. Plus lack of pressure is an evolutionary pressure in of itself.

Dietary adaptations are an obvious one. The vast majority of humans 10,000 years ago were gluten intolerant. Gluten the protein found in many grains was simply not in the diet until the advent of agriculture. There are still people around today that are gluten intolerant(medically, not some hippie food intolerance BS) and they are a holdover from earlier times. Ireland has a very high rate of the condition and some have theorised that our dependence on the potato, not grains as a primary source of food for centuries may have something to do with it(if true a very short time for a local adaptation). Milk/lactose intolerance is another one. It's much rarer in Europe where we've been ingesting milk for longer, when compared to India where it is very common. The ability to metabolise alcohol is much lower in cultures that didn't use alcohol until recently. American Indians, Australian aborigines, some Asian populations. They're all adaptations and recent ones too. Last 6/7000 years. Who is to say that our very recent increase in foreign foods and proteins in europe is not part of an evolutionary pressure. Things like soya which very very few europeans would have been exposed to a generation ago.

Modern human's bodyshape has changed in the last 30,000 years. Compare a modern european skull to a 30,000 year old european skull and you can see the diffs pretty easily. Our teeth have gotten smaller, as have our palates, we've become less robust over time.
    Even if we became overpopulated to the point where survival was no longer easy I doubt society would collapse completely and wealth rather than genes would determine survival. To get natural selection going again you'd need for us all to go back to the stone age.
    Again if wealth was the deciding factor it would become a factor too. The ability to become wealthy and the characteristics required would be selected for(cunning, risk taking, social intelligence, etc).

The era of artificial selection has already begun. Although whether we should make the leap from screening embryos to proper genetic engineering is massive issue for future politics and one that we should start thinking about now.
    I agree its an issue alright. Interesting one too.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

very true, people might start to live their lives instead of waiting until they are dead to enjoy happiness, how sad a sentiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

More Coke
    More Hookers

Simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

To this. With any luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

Calibos wrote: »
    GOD LOVES YOU!!

And you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

Oh great. You had to go and mention religion, didn't you? Now Jakkass is going to come in here and this'll become another 15 page argument about religion that will go nowhere. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭gerry28

We're heading for big trouble.

The green movement of the last 10 years have got more and more ridiclous to the point where someone will 'tut tut' at you for throwing a crisp packet on the fire.

Yet the elephant in the room is the 6.8billion global population and rising. The world population doubled from 1950 to the year 2000. This is hardly mentioned by al gore and the rest of the greens.

Where will we be in another 50 years.... its terrifying to think :eek:

Tipperary

but don't worry, it's a long way off yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

I'm sure it's been said already, but biologically speaking we have no goal, and the idea that evolution is headed in a particular direction was refuted by Darwin himself.

Tipperary

but don't worry, it's a long way off yet
    Why pick Tipperary?What did it ever do to you?
    You could have at least picked Cavan over us!!

Why pick Tipperary?What did it ever do to you?
    You could have at least picked Cavan over us!!

Cavan doesn't have a song that would fit the subject

probably because they were too tight to pay for one

having said that, Tipp town is fairly dodgy tbh =p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cavan doesn't have a song that would fit the subject

probably because they were too tight to pay for one
    I lolled :D It's funny cos it's true. The Tipp lads would stump up a few quid at least. Though if you want the apogee of the perfection of cynicism then the Cavan types are the boyos.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

To the garage to get some Jaffa Cakes, I'm pretty baked right now.

You want anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭procure11

genericguy wrote: »
    not really sure where we're headed, but i hope africa catches up with the rest of us, cos I'm sick of being asked to donate money for them to spend on machetes to kill each other.

How would classify the rest of us...the way Ireland is heading lately...not really better off really.Plus I wont really take you seriously when you refer to Africa like its a country.

Admittedly..the African continent has a lot of challenges and some due to their ineptitude...and a lot due to present and historical factors....but there are some countries like Ghana,South Africa ,Botswana that could be models for other countries on how to be prudent and frugal ...especially if you put into perspective a former Tiger that has now become a laughing stock.

My advise for you is to stop donating money to AFRICA and save it...you would need it ...believe me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Calibos wrote: »
    I can see the Ginger gene lasting forever. Although the Gene is recessive, the fact that only another Ginger would fcuk a Ginger means that the Ginger Gene will be perpetuated in the genepool for eons to come. :D

Told you we'd rule the world :D
    Although I'm currently in disguise as a bald man so the women can't cop it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Lirange

(Hu)Man and Machine will become one.

We'll eventually live forever. Consciousness will be downloaded to new hosts just like you move your rubbish to a new hard drive. Imagine the processing power merged with human creativity. Fascinating and foreboding.

Scoff if you like. But it's coming. The world is also not likely to end soon. Not in a million years let alone 2012. Somehow the notion that the end is nigh comforts some people. They'd rather believe this because they can't get their heads around what human existence would be like 1,000 years from now let alone 10,000 years from now given the exponential growth of technology. Even if there is an apocalypse or dark age humanity will pick up the pieces and use the foundations of knowledge to rebuild. Just like the Renaissance stood on the shoulders of the Romans, Greeks, Egyptians, etc after the nadir of the middle ages.