Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Combine Harvester on M50

• 08-08-2009 12:04PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭

There was a combine harvester on the M50 this morning at about 11am. It was going northbound between the N7 and N4 exits, proceeding at about 20kph in a driving lane, not even keeping to the filter lane to avoid obstruction. It was causing traffic in all three driving lanes to come a sudden crawl, with traffic in the left 2 lanes having to suddenly find their way around an unexpected obstacle and traffic in right hand lane rubbernecking. It being escorted by only one jeep with a small flashing amber light.

How was this allowed :eek:. Would you see this on a motorway in the UK ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

AFAIK not allowed unless the jeep has all the proper permits which by the sounds of it he didnt. Probably got lost on the way to the Tullamore Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

Or he was on his way to the 1000 combines in a feild thing today, there trying to break the world record. Its being held just outside drogheda and I think its today....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sounds like a tempting target

b52.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Berty

He is not allowed. He was breaching the terms of use of a motorway.

If he was stopped by the Gardai then he would be done for it.(hopefully)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭fintonie

not allowed, not allowed, nope no feckin way nope nope no no no handbrake please Mr,

it wasn't being towed by a Honda 50 by any chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

how about an aul fella driving at 40mph on the M1 causing absolute chaos behind.
    IF YOU DONT HAVE THE CONFIDENCE TO DRIVE OVER 40MPH THEN DONT GET ON THE MOTORWAY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

i can beat that so far this week i have seen.

a cyclist AND a car being towed on the m1

by that i mean a cyclist and on a seperate occasion a car being towed on a bit o rope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

bcmf wrote: »
    how about an aul fella driving at 40mph on the M1 causing absolute chaos behind.
    IF YOU DONT HAVE THE CONFIDENCE TO DRIVE OVER 40MPH THEN DONT GET ON THE MOTORWAY.

Let's keep this on topic please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭bold_defender

Saw a hiker on M1 last week, I was southbound and he northbound, rucksack and all. Somewhere between malahide and balbriggan I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

i work on the m50! i can assure you i have seen it all.

somebody once stopped on the mainline and asked me for directions while i was in behind the crash barrier!!! do these people live on the same planet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

Did you get the registration of the combine and report it ?

This is some of the most dangerous things you can do on a road. People maybe driving 120kph having to brake to 40kph all of a sudden. The guy who was driving is obviously an idiot. And to think that this is still perfectly legal on the Athlone bypass. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭roosterman71

He must have been going to the combine thingy in Dundalk. He'd be fair bored driving at 20kph that distance!!
    And to think that this is still perfectly legal on the Athlone bypass. eek.gif
    Athlone by-pass is a dual carriageway so oting illegal bout driving things like that on it. One day it will be upgraded to motorway status. Until then though, these things will continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,720 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Unbelievable stuff...

You wouldn't see this elsewhere...

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

fair play to him

he had to get to work too you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I once drove an old Transit from Dublin to Belfast. It could get about 90km/h on the flat but there was nothing worse than coming up behind someone in a car doing 70km/h. The overtaking lane is no place for a 1980 Transit. Especially when it is a 2005 car that is forcing you out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Omcd

This is some of the most dangerous things you can do on a road. People maybe driving 120kph having to brake to 40kph all of a sudden. The guy who was driving is obviously an idiot. And to think that this is still perfectly legal on the Athlone bypass. :eek:

Do these things even have a registration ? Wouldn't have noticed anyway as it was all a bit quick, was trying to change out of the middle lane to the lane to the right, and as I was glancing in my mirror to see if it was clear to move everything in the middle lane chose that moment to stand on their brakes so had to swerve into right hand lane and slot abruptly in behind a jeep who was also slowing. The combine driver might have thought with its size it might be visible to everyone for miles, but a few cars etc in front of you and many a times thats all you see. Had to laugh at the single jeep escort, it should at least have been followed by one of those trucks with the large illuminated arrow.

There's definitely a lesson here too in keeping a good proper distance from the vehicle in front and, to use a well worn cliche, to expect the unexpected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Posted by me already but

M 50 tractor004.jpg

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,692 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

trad wrote: »
    Posted by me already but

M 50 tractor004.jpg

Ironically enough, out of 4 cars in that photo, only 1 is actually between the lines!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

antodeco wrote: »
    Ironically enough, out of 4 cars in that photo, only 1 is actually between the lines!

What ironic about this. They are clearly changing lanes :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Combine driver should have been arrested for that.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,692 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

What ironic about this. They are clearly changing lanes :confused:

The photo must have been taken in between the flashing of their indicators! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

antodeco wrote: »
    The photo must have been taken in between the flashing of their indicators! :p

in-dic-ators please explain what they are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Was it a brand new combine harvester ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

spacetweek wrote: »
    Combine driver should have been arrested for that.

That should be combined with a fine too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

fair play to him

he had to get to work too you know...

Well he could have stuck it on the back of a low-loader and got to his work a lot quicker :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

mcwhirter wrote: »
    That should be combined with a fine too!!

EPIC.... not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

brownacid wrote: »
    Or he was on his way to the 1000 combines in a feild thing today, there trying to break the world record. Its being held just outside drogheda and I think its today....

& each combine owner is also raising at very least €1000 for charity, fair play to them for taking time out as they are already well behind with harvesting due to the weather

we need more of this spirit in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭Alun

snowman707 wrote: »
    & each combine owner is also raising at very least €1000 for charity, fair play to them for taking time out as they are already well behind with harvesting due to the weather
    Right, so because he's doing it for charity it somehow makes it alright to blatantly flout the rules like that does it? Can you not see how unbelievably stupid a thing it is to take something like that on a motorway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

It's probably just a lost kerry man still trying to get home after the match last week :D " Now where is Kingsbridge again " :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Why would ya bother, hardly mass murder. I'll give ya a hand down from your high horse if needs be