Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sprint to Olympic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ladytri

you're planning next years program:eek:
    think its one you should do once but there are "nicer" races out there.
    Didn't wait around for the elites, I was absolutely frozen, all my clothes were in my bag in transition so I was standing around in the cold and the drizzle for 2 hours in my scimpy tri suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Good race in Athlone ladytri, mad that the Olympics popped into your head at a moment of potential stress! Fine result on the back of Metalman

Bold training week. Did nothing since Athlone-to be honest was lossing the love there after 2 tris so close AND a really busy period workwise because I'd an exhibition opening this week which involves lots of late nights working/drinking...

Sat 25th July
    5km hard run- haven't tried to run hard in ages and I'm shocked at this because I did this in... 21.47??? Think there's something funny here but that's what the watch says!!! So more booze/more late nights makes ladytri a speedster:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

ladytri wrote: »
    So more booze/more late nights makes ladytri a speedster:)
    Thanks. I will add this to my training also, based on your success record. :)

oh I'm getting soooo distracted these days and not training at all.

WED 29th
    1000m OW swim (with speedboats for extra sense of danger)
    There was some boat rally on Lough Key last night but that didn't put us off. pretty uneventful though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

hi, Ladytri

great to see you're back!

i thought you'd retired:)

I kinda have retired, well, shifted my focus a bit these days- frantically looking for a job at the moment, all my work has suddenly dried up so panic stations at the minute, can't even THINK about tri's til I get sorted. Looks like I might need to come home to Leixlip to stay for a couple of nights a week because I reckon I'll need to work in Dublin... I've been cursing bankers and builders and the f***ing state they've left this country in for the last 2 weeks:mad:

August 5th
    Had a long, long weekend. Went home and intended to bring my running gear with me but "forgot" it so last night was first training session in....a while!

OW swim, 1000m
    Oh the pain:) It actually went fine although I've definitely lost fitness and speed here by not training in the last 2 weeks.

5KM run - Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

I kinda have retired, well, shifted my focus a bit these days- frantically looking for a job at the moment, all my work has suddenly dried up so panic stations at the minute, can't even THINK about tri's til I get sorted. Looks like I might need to come home to Leixlip to stay for a couple of nights a week because I reckon I'll need to work in Dublin... I've been cursing bankers and builders and the f***ing state they've left this country in for the last 2 weeks:mad:

ladytri keep your head up and feep faith.

Don't give up on your training, ok ease off a bit and try and enjoy it.
    You know working out whether it be running cycling etc really clears the mind. Especially on my easier sessions I find solutions to problems (work, life etc) come easier to me.

Best of luck

+1 LadyTri keep the faith. See the exercise as your escape from the stresses rather than the direction to the goal and it changes focus enough for you to enjoy and find your passion for it again. I feel you on the frustration of not training!

Ah thanks for the moral support guys!
    Nice to know ye care:)
    A lot of stuff shifting around the last couple of weeks but I think I can see light at the end of the tunnel and normality will soon follow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Ah thanks for the moral support guys!
    Nice to know ye care:)
    A lot of stuff shifting around the last couple of weeks but I think I can see light at the end of the tunnel and normality will soon follow!

Good to hear! Hope you get a second wind with the training again soon!

Sun 9th August
    Club Cycle - 53km
    Only myself and two of the lads out for this cycle so they decided to choose one of our toughest routes around the Curlew mountains. Plenty of nice climbing as well as some nice downhills. Took 1hr 58 which I'm very happy with considering I haven't been on the bike in 3 weeks:eek:

Tues 11th
    Uneventful 5km run...needs work.

Friday 14th
    Nice run this morning with the dog, not too sure of distance but reckon it's just shy of a 7km route. 31.40.
    Have a lot to try to fit in over the weekend as I've only done 2 runs and a cycle.
    Hoping to get a 3000m swim today.
    10km run tomorrow
    1000m OW swim followed by 45km cycle on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Friday 14th
    Nice run this morning with the dog, not too sure of distance but reckon it's just shy of a 7km route. 31.40.
    Have a lot to try to fit in over the weekend as I've only done 2 runs and a cycle.
    Hoping to get a 3000m swim today.
    10km run tomorrow
    1000m OW swim followed by 45km cycle on Sunday.
    10k fun run outside aura in carrick at 11am on sunday for the cancer society if you wanted to swap your training days ! should be a bit of fun , 5km loop*2

Interesting...think I'd embarrass myself though- haven't done 10km since Metalman a month ago and that wasn't pretty, think I need a few more training runs before I go public:)

it wont be that serious , it wasnt even advertised on runireland , there are always lots of walkers/joggers at these charity events so it will be very relaxed .

Sat 15th
    8km Run 38min
    Thought this was a longer route but nice all the same.

Sun 16th
    1000M OW swim
    8.45min out, not sure what the return was...got a bit disorientated in the lake which has never happened to me before.

23km cycle
    49mins
    decided to do a reckie on the cycle route for the triathlon instead of planned 40km as we haven't cycled this route in ages.

Mon 17th
    7km (ish) run 30.48min

Tues 25th
    Nice 8km run, same route as last week but a little slower 38min 40.
    Organising the tri is kinda taking over from training these days, was supposed to be doing Loughrea in 2 weeks but haven't swam in ages and the bike sessions are just non existent these days so won't embarrass myself:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Good to see you back Ladytri!

You should post about the organisation of the tri, so we can see just how difficult it is!

It's not really that hard to be honest, it's just time consuming but really enjoyable! Something has to give timewise, and that happens to be training:rolleyes:

Thurs 27th
    Quick spin on the bike this morning on a 30km out and back from the house. No times, refused to bring computer, first cycle in 2 weeks!

Quiet week, not much to report traning wise.
    Sun 30th
    Club OW swim, 1000m-nice, flat swim.
    Followed by 23km cycle.

Tues 1st
    8km run.

That's it til after Lough Key, off to brothers wedding then back at weekend to set up the course!! Hope the weather improves!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Best of luck with the event ladytri.
    The current forecast looks....well...consistent anyway..

Best of luck Running Lough Key.. hope it works out well for ye

MCOS wrote: »
    Best of luck Running Lough Key.. hope it works out well for ye
    Thanks guys! I'm certainly not the main organizer though, just working with the club chair to get things sorted;)

I have to commend you on a very well organised , enjoyable event , well done , i can see you been called up again next year for help , hope i can be of more assistance to ye next year , thanks again :)

You and all the others were a HUGE help, we were much better organised this year because all you guys were around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Tritrier

The Lough Key Tri was a super event again this year, despite the miserable weather (but you have had sunshine the 2 years before).

Fair play to you all, we'll be back again.