Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sprint to Olympic

• 10-04-2009 4:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭

Alright, been putting this off for the last couple of weeks but need to buckle down and get this training sorted. Not working off a programme for this yet so kinda making it up as I go along at the moment.
    Background: 34, female. Used to run for a few years just for fitness really and never tried improving, entered races up to 10 mile (warriors run 2007: 1hr 34min and Adidas 10 mile: 1hr 27min) but mostly 10 km with a PB of 48min in 2005- haven't run over 5km for last couple of years as I was having knee issues so switched to triathlons. Little swim or cycle experience prior to 2007 but enjoyed 1st sprint-1 hr 40mins and improved on that last year with a PB of 1hr 24min.
    At the moment, 750 swim is about 15min, 20km cycle is 40min (38min PB) and 5km run is atrocious...24min PB but averaging 25 TBH.
    Been doing a few LSR's up to 55mins/1hr which are really enjoyable so thought I'd up the anty and go for olympic-maybe metal man in Rosses Point but probably Hell of the West at the end of June. Going to do a couple of road races in between to see how the running is progressing.
    So...
    April 9th
    AM: Run
    5 min warm up, 3 x 5min harder than 5km pace with 5min easy in between.
    5 min cool down
    PM: Swim
    10 min warm up
    5 x 200m with 1 min rest in between:
    I'll definitely get below 4 mins next time, the lane was a bit clogged...thats my excuse.
    Heading out for a spin on the bike now so I'll log in later.
    Looking forward to any advice or feedback you guys have to offer:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ladytri

Realized I had posted that my cycle times were 40km in 40mins which would make me superladytri!! Have made neccesary amendments:)
    10th April-slow cycle with mr tri. Computer busted but reckon it was only 28km in 58min. Haven't cycled all winter so need to work hard at this.
    Heading home to dub to be fed a d watered for the bank holiday so there'll be no action til tuesday:)

14th April
    After a weekend of debauchery felt I had to put a few miles into the run today so went for a lovely long slow run with the dog- I know it's a decent distance when I'm dragging him behind me for the last 10 minutes. No idea what distance I ran but went out for 60mins at a very comfortable pace. Felt great after it, it's really lovely running weather these days as spring has well and truly sprung- lovely smell of wild garlic and beehives around the park today!
    Going to do that cooper test (posted by lecheile on the main forum) tomorrow in the gym before my swim- should be an interesting bench mark.

April 15th
    20km cycle- 10km climbing:( followed by 10km downhill:pac:
    Heartbreaking on the way up, clocking in speeds of 14km/ph.
    Hitting 51km/ph on the way down. Really tough cycle and made me a bit nervous about the thoughts of doubling that distance and running 10km after it. Took 47 minutes which is way short of what I was doing in the autumn. On the up side- theres a lot of room for improvement.
    Think I'll try to structure the training a little more with something like:
    4 runs per week:
    1x long slow run(ranging from 1hr - 1hr30min), 1 x fartlek, 1 x 5km (aiming to get below 23min) 1 x 10km (aiming to get below 50min)
    2 cycles:
    1 x long cycle with club (working from 40km up to 100km)
    1 x 20km climbing
    2 swims
    Not sure what to do to improve the swim, generally just get into the pool and swim 2000m, in the next couple of weeks we'll be getting back into open water so that'll cover the distance element but ned something to concentrate on stoke...hmmm

April 15th
    So after the AM cycle I went to the gym to do the cooper test of 12 minutes running for Lecheile... I was bloody wrecked after it.
    Went for a cool down swim
    30 lengths concentrating on stroke rate
    minimum: 18 strokes in 25m
    Av: 19 in 25m
    Today, unplanned rest day. couldn't get out of the bed this morning so took that as a sign

April 17th
    After the rest day thought I'd be flying to day but wasn't meant to be.
    Speed session:
    5min warm up
    5 x 2min easy/2min 5k pace/1 min hard
    5 min cool down
    ....that was the plan- had to adjust the easy to about 2.5 min. Struggling with pacing these runs.

*Note to self- leave the dog at home for these runs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Hi ladytri,

Good luck with your log! What Olympic Tri are you training for? Your swim and bike speeds and very good. Would 10k off the bike be your main focus?

Thanks MCOS!
    Ye, I really want to bring my run times down for sprint too- its really bulking up my finish times. Its tricky balancing everything because I'm trying to get all the tri training in AND improve at my running at the same time. I love 10km distance but tend to lapse into a really lazy, easy, pace so I can just imagine how useless my run will be in olympic. I'll be doing plenty of brick sessions from bike to run so the jelly legs hopefully won't be too much of an issue!

Had hoped to do Hell of the West at the end of June but just found out I might be away with work so have to rethink that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Hi Ladytri
    Good luck with the training and log! Which olympics are you thinking of instead?
    Hope the running is coming along- at least the jellylegs feeling is the same in an olympic as a sprint!

Thanks Mr Creosote,
    I'm also thinking of MetalMan in Sligo but I'm doing TD at it so not sure about competing after doing my duties (its my first time to be a TD so not sure how much work is involved on the morning) Eireman looks pretty cool too so will definitely do that-gives me all summer to train!

Sat 18th
    Beautiful day for a cycle so did a bit of a climbing session around Arigna mines and wind farms. Bike computer says 58km in 2.28hrs, mapmyride says 66km (?)
    Max elevation: 320m - Had to push the bike up part of it, the steepest ride I've ever been on!

Today- had planned a run but got lazy (and had a bit of a hangover)
    Tomorrow- Secretly hoping to go for a swim in the lake, might've warmed up a bit with all this sunshine:)

April 20th
    AM
    Thought I'd do a timed 10km today to see where I'm at so brought the iPod instead of the iDog because I reckoned he'd cramp my style...
    Realised after 1st Km that the legs where still hurting after saturdays cycle so did 5km instead and managed to come in at 23.52:) Very happy with myself because it was only when I was half way round that I felt normal- legs were very heavy and tired, so new PB for 5km. I WILL get below 23!
    PM
    Still hoping to get to the lake tonight but have to see if I can convince a swim buddy to come along...

Good run ladytri. Have you entered the HOW yet, last few places are up on Friday Morning as far as I know

Hi MCOS
    Was waiting for Fridays registration alright but just heard last week that I MIGHT have to go to Italy for work that week so hoping to get confirmation from them before I book. What's your plan now that the dreaded 1st tri is over?

April 21st
    Nobody wanted to play ball last night and go for an open water swim so went to the pool this morning instead. I can't wait to get back into a wetsuit so I can stop this incessant kicking!
    100m warm up
    200m x 2
    1250m main set
    1550 total- pretty slow I think but forgot my watch so not sure.

ladytri wrote: »
    Hi MCOS
    Was waiting for Fridays registration alright but just heard last week that I MIGHT have to go to Italy for work that week so hoping to get confirmation from them before I book. What's your plan now that the dreaded 1st tri is over?

Oh no! Was HOW your main goal? Next one for me is Joey Hannon next week.

Kinda was yeah,
    Would be happy if I could do Metal Man (olympic) in Sligo in July, Tri-athlone (sprint), eireman (olympic) and Loughrea (sprint) in Sept BUT in these recessionary times I need to be selective-can't afford them all!

22nd June
    One rest day and I get bumped to the second page! Had to go to Dublin yesterday for my graduation from my Masters, intended on doing a cycle before I left but common sense prevailed.
    Going to do a bit of speed work tonight in the gym before my swim, I'll log times in tomorrow.

Last night tried doing a bit of speed work on the threadmill (I hate gyms, just too hot and sweaty)
    Run
    Intended on doing:
    5 x 1km at 4.14min each with 2 mins rest
    Did 5min warm up
    1 x 1km at 4.14min with 2 mins rest
    2 x 1km at 5min with 2mins rest, then was too pooped to do another set so just jogged the final 2 km in 12mins...was a little hungover and thats my excuse.
    Swim
    200m warm up
    600m working on stroke rate / arm pull & kick
    200m cool down
    100m dash 1.54min
    (wanted to do a 200m TT but pool was bloody closing so only had time for a quick one!)

April 26th
    Eventful cycle today. Few of us from the club went for 60km cycle around Carrowkeel tombs, lots of nice climbing which all felt great until we net a farmer and her 2 dogs who starting kinda chasing us on the bikes, I slowed right down so as not to scare them when one of them made a lunge at my leg-I'm a big dog lover and have zero fear of them so wasn't expecting it! I thought it had just scraped me with his paw but when we stopped about 30mins later noticed a round bruise with teeth marks coming up on my leg- nothing serious but have to get it checked out tomorrow. Sounds hardcore to cycle another 30km with a dog bite on your leg:)

April 27th
    Took it easy yesterday, the dog bite swelled up and bruised quite a bit on Sunday night so thought it best not to push it yesterday.

April 28th
    12km easy run.- 1hr
    intended on doing 15k but could feel my leg pulsating a bit

April 30th
    AM
    40 minute moderate run at 7.50 pace.

April 30th
    PM
    Total swim:2600m
    300m warm up
    400m with pull buoy
    4x200m
    Splits:3.54
    3.54 all done with 1'30" rest
    500m x 2 concentrating on technique
    100m cool down

Hi ladytri has the dog bite cleared up? Some good training going on there

Cheers MCOS- Really not getting enough training in though. I'm working on a contract basis at the moment so everyday the workload is different and the hours are all over the place, but thats life.
    Doing some super training yourself over there- you're pretty savage on the bike!
    Dog bite is getting blacker by the day but the swelling is gone:)

Lazy bank holiday weekend- did no training
    Monday 4th
    Went for an easyish run.
    7km in 35mins.

5th May
    Swim
    Total: 3000m
    500m warm up
    1500m timed*
    800m strong stroke
    200m in 9.56.
    * was 3/4 of the way through timing my 1500m- hadn't timed this distance before. This knob jumped into my lane from the ledge and stood with his back to me, while his giggly girlfriends hung out on the poolside laughing as he blocked me in the lane- what a bloody dick...so bang went my timed 1500!
    Apart from that could've swam all night, felt great and got stronger as the session went on. I'm starting to think olympic might be a much better distance for me than sprint- I've never had much ability for speed but I'm a grafter. Felt like a sprint at the end so pushed the last 200m.
    All in all a good day at the office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

* was 3/4 of the way through timing my 1500m- hadn't timed this distance before. This knob jumped into my lane from the ledge and stood with his back to me, while his giggly girlfriends hung out on the poolside laughing as he blocked me in the lane- what a bloody dick...so bang went my timed 1500!

This is very annoying!
    Training seems to be going well?
    Must agree with you about the longer distances too...I find an olympic easier to pace than a sprint. Must get up to the HIM next...

Not sure about the half iron man JUST yet, I'll see how the 1st olympic goes:)

Man that sucks about the timed 1500 ladytri! some people tshh 3k is a nice session, training seems to be going well. Finishing your first Olympic will feel like a nice reward for your efforts :)

shucks, thanks MCOS
    Really looking forward to racing alright but it'll be July before I get around to it! Still haven't managed a week where I've met my planned training target yet- really slacking off in bad weather using work as an excuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

5th May
    Swim
    Total: 3000m
    500m warm up
    1500m timed*
    800m strong stroke
    200m in 9.56.
    Apart from that could've swam all night, felt great and got stronger as the session went on. I'm starting to think olympic might be a much better distance for me than sprint- I've never had much ability for speed but I'm a grafter. Felt like a sprint at the end so pushed the last 200m.
    All in all a good day at the office
    hey girl , so we have sussed each other out i think , your swimming is going well , must say alot of people in that pool go to lounge about which is ok but dont really have any consideration for people who want to swim
    Dont konw if i am ready enough to get into ow at the weekend , need to build up base training a little in the pool .
    mainly run training at moment for 10k , if you want to meet up for some speed sessions some time pm or email me

Thanks Seres for the kind offer of speed sessions-
    although it puts the fear of God in me the thoughts of running at your pace I might just take you up on that- if you don't mind being severely held back!
    If I can repay the favour or assist at all in your swim or cycle training let me know...

headin out tonight for 6*1k with 90sec recovery , 1k circuit round carrick on shannon , will be there around 9 o clock ( have to put kids to bed first and stuff ) , come along if it suits , you can do less 1k reps if you think 6 is alot on the first day. let me know if you can come

7th May
    Run
    5.5km
    .5km warm up
    4x1km at 4.24 pace with 2 min rest
    1km cool down....
    ...ouch! I'm so not built for (attempting) speed

Swim
    100m warm up
    500m with pull bouy
    1000m straight swim

how did you find the speed session ?
    good session at the gym :)

Seres wrote: »
    how did you find the speed session ?
    good session at the gym :)

HATE IT!
    My ass is sore today- go figure?

Sat 9th may
    Long slow run-haven't done one in well over a week.
    Just over 14k in 1hr11min-distance is a bit of a guess-timate.
    Sun10th may
    FIRST OPEN WATER SWIM OF THE YEAR!
    Beautiful morning,lake was like glass, only 3 people from the club were there so we just gave it a lash to test out how cold it was... My teeth were numb after the first 550m, never felt that before!
    No times, 1100m approx.
    Followed by a very relaxing spin on the bike-did more chatting than pushing which was lovely- 24k in 1hr:)

FIRST OPEN WATER SWIM OF THE YEAR!
    Beautiful morning,lake was like glass, only 3 people from the club were there so we just gave it a lash to test out how cold it was... My teeth were numb after the first 550m, never felt that before!
    No times, 1100m approx.
    Followed by a very relaxing spin on the bike-did more chatting than pushing which was lovely- 24k in 1hr:)

Sounds like a nice session there, my first EVER OW swim tonight... how do you judge distance?

We swim in Lough Key (don't know if you know it??) but it has an Island in the middle of the lake so we swim out and back, one of the lads measured it last year on his GPS. Absolutely beautiful- my favourite part of training is getting to swim in such amazing places and see them from a new perspective.
    Good luck with your own OW!! Its great craic trying to go in what you THINK is a straight line:)

jesus you did well to swim 1100m , are ye headin out next weekend , or will your body have warmed up by then ?

Seres wrote: »
    jesus you did well to swim 1100m , are ye headin out next weekend , or will your body have warmed up by then ?

Hey, you've done it yourself girl! Thats the distance out and back to the island.
    We sure are going out on sunday- in fact we're also going out on Wed night if you're around?

Hey, you've done it yourself girl! Thats the distance out and back to the island.
    We sure are going out on sunday- in fact we're also going out on Wed night if you're around?
    never this time of the year though , dont know bout wednesday , ye are prob going out too early , dont know if i would be up to it yet , havent really done much swimming yet this year , just started back in the pool a week or two ago. sure let me know anyway what time ye will be out and sure who knows !

will you PM me your mobile number?

May 11th
    Went to the local pool for what was supposed to be a 'lane coaching session'.
    For €8 you get a swim teacher to check out your stroke and write you up a training plan...sounded too good to be true, but there was no swim teachers there so they gave us a free swim and apparently the swim teacher is going to give me a call about the sessions for next time...score! Private sessions for €8:)
    Met super runner Seres there!
    No idea of distance...maybe did 750m- but went pretty flat out after this speedy guy who was in our lane, I'm sooo childish and competitive:)

May 12th
    Not a good day, supposed to go for 45min 10k paced run but my bloody legs were useless so only did 30mins of slow paced torture instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭huber

Hi
    Im doing my first sprint triathlon on saturday. Looking for advice....What training should I be doing for rest of week???What should I be eating now and morning of race(10.30am start) besides the usual pasta etc. Any advice at all on doing 1st tri appreciated!!!

Hi Huber,
    Its hard to say really without knowing what your fitness is like and what your training has been up to this but there's some good advice in this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055560892
    Personally, I eat the same thing the morning of a race as I do every other day- PORRIDGE! I never really change my diet either apart from the obvious avoiding alcohol and drinking plenty of fluids. On the morning bring some fruit and an energy bar with you for if you get hungry while hanging around.
    Good luck with it and try to just relax, enjoy it and you'll have a ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭huber

Thanks ladytri

May 11th
    Went to the local pool for what was supposed to be a 'lane coaching session'.
    For €8 you get a swim teacher to check out your stroke and write you up a training plan...sounded too good to be true, but there was no swim teachers there so they gave us a free swim and apparently the swim teacher is going to give me a call about the sessions for next time...score! Private sessions for €8:)
    Met super runner Seres there!
    No idea of distance...maybe did 750m- but went pretty flat out after this speedy guy who was in our lane, I'm sooo childish and competitive:)

May 12th
    Not a good day, supposed to go for 45min 10k paced run but my bloody legs were useless so only did 30mins of slow paced torture instead

when we were all at it together i think we did 16*25m first time and 8*25m the second time , i kinda lost count as to the lenght i did too ,
    you didnt seem to be doing to bad keepin up with speedy guy , i was trying to stay close to padraig whisch meant i ended up been a bit fu*ked

Hey going for speed session morro , but will prob be early ( 6.40am) , dont really like doing speed sessions early morning but evening is out, will text you my no. and let me know if you can come , this is what i will be doing if you fancy doing them by yourself

6*800m with 70/80sec recovery
    if your thinkin of doing these and 6 seems alot try 4/5 with 2mins recovery

May 13th
    Another OW swim this evening- felt pretty good. Apparently the lake is only 1000m out and back which I did in about 8mins over and the same back. Happy days, if only my running was coming along as good

jesus, that was savage , welldone , if only my swimming was as good as that , how was the water ?

Thats great swimming ladytri. 16 mins approx is that much faster than a pool 1k for you?

I think it probably is. I know I was aiming to get as much below 30mins for the 1500m in the pool as I can get but haven't timed it in a while so don't really know....bloody hope so, I've been doing alot of swimming these days!

May 15th
    Interval run
    5 min warm up
    5 sets of 2' mod/ 2'mod-hard/1' hard
    8 min cool down
    Managed to get through this, barely. When is this running lark going to get easier!
    Intend on doing cycle tonight but I'm a fair weather cyclist so reckon thats ot going to happen...we'll see